DRDO 155mm Artillery Program

Can DRDO design Artillery able to pass into mass production?

You are kidding me, right??!!Hauling a 155 mm artillery piece by a mule train??!!Really??!!Dude, it's a bloody medium artillery piece we're talking about, not a fucking pack howitzer or an 84mm field gun for crying out loud!!No one with even one tenth of a brain would ever think to do what you are saying even in one's dreams!!
That is exactly what I said when I saw the statement.

Please do note that I'm not against your insistence on mobile warfare, in fact I'm all for maneuver warfare (not at the cost of armor protection mind you but that's a debate for another time and place) but doing that over the mountain ranges is simply not feasible and that too against an enemy as the Chinese.Against them, all we can do is defense and hope to tie up their forces, hold out for as long as we can and hope for the best, for the foreseeable future at least.
The disparity between Indian and Chinese heavy artillery is around 5:1. If India sets a static defence they are going to be so outgunned the Chinese will just pound them for weeks while Indian guns will be silenced in the first couple of days. Even if China can't do an effective counter battery fire, they have far more ammo. India would find itself being in a reverse Kargil situation. China might have to storm your position, but how many will you lose before then and how willing are Chinese willing to die to push you off. History says they have no problem being cannon fodder.

Hoping for the best is not a coherent military strategy,

That is supplied to the artillery regiments, according to the Pak Orbat it was light infantry and SSG.

Pushing an enemy like the Chinese behind, yeah okay pal.Any suggestions as to how we are supposed to do that??And in any case,
The same way China would be pushing India, by an extensive network of infrastructure on multiple points of contact. Once a breakthrough is made push and envelop. India needs to build it's infrastructure right up to where the Chinese roads end, push them and use their own infrastructure against them. With Indian troops pouring into the TIbetan plateau and Free Tibet. That is the only way India will ever be safe from China. The more you catch the Chinis off guard, the easier it will be. They would never expect India to pull such manoeuvres.

Kshithij

DharmaYoddha
That is exactly what I said when I saw the statement.

The disparity between Indian and Chinese heavy artillery is around 5:1. If India sets a static defence they are going to be so outgunned the Chinese will just pound them for weeks while Indian guns will be silenced in the first couple of days. Even if China can't do an effective counter battery fire, they have far more ammo. India would find itself being in a reverse Kargil situation. China might have to storm your position, but how many will you lose before then and how willing are Chinese willing to die to push you off. History says they have no problem being cannon fodder.

Hoping for the best is not a coherent military strategy,

That is supplied to the artillery regiments, according to the Pak Orbat it was light infantry and SSG.

The same way China would be pushing India, by an extensive network of infrastructure on multiple points of contact. Once a breakthrough is made push and envelop. India needs to build it's infrastructure right up to where the Chinese roads end, push them and use their own infrastructure against them. With Indian troops pouring into the TIbetan plateau and Free Tibet. That is the only way India will ever be safe from China. The more you catch the Chinis off guard, the easier it will be. They would never expect India to pull such manoeuvres.
War time manufacturing will be vastly different and higher than what one has now, Also, India will have logistical advantage in LAC making easier for India artillery to be well supplied and in large numbers. Next, one child policy of CHina has hit CHinese demography the hardest and they are not capable of being cannon fodder

patriots

Defense lover

Here's a schematic for @DRDO_India 155 mm/ 52 calibre ATAGS Howitzer which successfully completed mobility and high altitude trials recently. User trials are scheduled for September 2018. DRDO is confident that ATAGS will pave the way for a mounted gun system & SPH in the future

Prashant12

Even the current ATAGS prototypes (i.e G1 & G2) cleared all mobility parameters in the hills. This 'weight issue' is nothing but a canard being used by certain people in an attempt to derail a highly successful program that has the potential to uplift Indian pvt industry.

I hope that this puts an end to the shit flinging that usually happens here.

AUSTERLITZ

ATAGS is the one great success DRDo has given us finally.Should be produced only by pvt industry,no OFB .

Prashant12

Army may launch summer trials for towed guns

HYDERABAD: The Army, which has been looking for an Advanced Towed Artillery Gun System (ATAGS), is likely to take a decision soon on whether to conduct summer trials on the ATAGS offered by the Kalyani group, sources close to the development said Thursday.
The Pune-based Kalyani group, whose flagship is Bharat Forge, had developed the ATAGS in association with the Armament Research & Development Establishment (ARDE), which is a part of the Defence Research & Development Organisation (DRDO).

According to the sources, the Army had completed the “winter trials” on the ATAGS earlier this year.

“The army prefers to conduct both winter and summer trials on new weapons systems, to ensure that they function as per the army’s specifications. The summer trials are likely to be held in Rajasthan,” the source said.

Apart from Bharat Forge, the DRDO also has a partnership with Tata Power (Strategic Engineering Division).

“The tests have to be sought by the client, the Indian Army, or by the DRDO. The Indian Army will place orders only after the ATAGS pass the trials. The biggest challenge for the ATAGS is the stability and consistency of the gun barrels and breeches, which require precision engineering and the ability to fire consistently without melting or the barrel bending out of shape because of the heat generated in the barrel,” the sources said. More importantly, the sources, another area that was intensively scrutinized by the army, through tests, was the recoil of the ATAGS.

Besides the ATAGS, the Indian Army was also looking to buy another gun called the Bharat 52, a 155mm, 52-calibre gun similar to the ATAGS. The army had tested the Bharat 52 in Itarsi, Madhya Pradesh.

The Indian Army has been scouting for an ATAGS because the last major supplier of towed guns had been Bofors, back in 1986, when India purchased 410 guns from the Swedish arms supplier. The purchase later turned controversial with claims that Bofors had paid bribes to senior government figures to win the contract. The Bofors contract cost former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi a second term in 1989.

If the trials are successful, the government is likely tin instruct the Indian Army to procure up to 40 ATAGS to begin with. The procurement of the ATAGS is expected to cost the government well over Rs. 900 crore.

“ATAGS are a critical component of the Indian Army, which has not procured any new towed guns in over 32 years. I think the two Indian companies, Bharat Forge and the Tata group company, will probably be the first recipients of the contract for the purchase of ATAGS,” the sources said.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...rials-for-towed-guns/articleshow/64591932.cms

Pandeyji

Why is indian Army pussy footing on ATAGS trial? If it is a critical requirement then these tests and trials must be speeded up.
Because they are made in India. The army has done winter trials would do summer trials then extended user trials then yoga trials & then say the gun is too heavy & we should buy some Amreeki or Roosi gun

delbruky

THE VALOR OF BHAI SATI DAS 1621-1675
Because they are made in India. The army has done winter trials would do summer trials then extended user trials then yoga trials & then say the gun is too heavy & we should buy some Amreeki or Roosi gun
TRIAL AFTER TRIAL AFTER TRIAL.....then we wonder why the procurement is so slow or non existent (in some categories), the REAL culprits here are the corrupt ARMY OFFICERS, these officers are implicit in corruption at every stage of trial, procurement and payments by deliberately honey trapping themselves among other things including subversion. BUT the janta is cool about that and would instead be judgmental of modi and assign most the blamed upon him followed by nirmala and the babus.