Life in the heart of Indian government

ppgj

Life in the heart of Indian government

Page last updated at 08:22 GMT, Wednesday, 6 January 2010

Guest columnist Kaushik Basu, who has been appointed chief economic adviser to the Indian government, bids farewell and explains why he took up his new job.

It is less than a month since I relocated to Delhi to be chief economic adviser to the government, in the ministry of finance.

The offer came out of the blue and I agonised over it.

As a researcher I did economics for the love of aesthetics - not for relevance.

In defence, I will simply say that that is the only way to do good research.

The primary motivation that drives a researcher is a creative urge, the urge to unearth beauty and order, be it in nature, society or the chaos of the market.

I did not expect the level of professionalism and commitment to work that I encountered in my ministry

Send your comments on Kaushik Basu's article
If I moved from the ivory tower to the world of policy and politics, I would not only be working in a setting totally alien to me - the daunting world of Indian bureaucracy - but I would have to reorient my objective, for one thing was clear to me: if I did make this major move, it would be to get something worthwhile done for society, to give my absolute best towards creating a better India.

This is an intimidating objective where failure is more likely than success. The only consolation was what a colleague at Cornell laughingly told me - "if you fail, you can come back and write a sizzler on Indian politics and policy".

I dithered for a day or two and took the plunge.

In early December I moved to my high-ceilinged, Raj-era office in Lutyens' Delhi, the North Block. I had landed in the belly of the beast that I had studied for so long from outside through the analyst's neutral lenses.

Harrowing

The first week was harrowing.

My in-tray reached for the ceiling till someone pointed out that on my right was an out-tray.