LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

MirageBlue

aren't we looking for help from british in terms of High Thrust Engine?
They are AS INTERESTED in it as DRDO. Rolls-Royce needs a new engine program to help itself as well. They were even willing to support Turkey with a turbofan engine development program.

Just as India had trade and defence relationships with the UK even when it was supplying to Pakistan, India must be strategically autonomous to be able to supply Argentina and continue with a defence and trade relationship with the UK.

Covfefe

Anyone here thinks India supplying Tejas to Argentina is a good idea when Britishers will be naturally against it ?
Even from Brits' standpoint, India supplying 12 of the 4+ gen fighters is a better deal than to have Chinks make inroads into S.Americas with defence hardware. However, optics management can be difficult for the government- on the one hand they have some comprehensive economic program going on, and on the other India as a partner is selling military hardware to their Falklands rivals.
P.S- I mentioned Brits standpoint for a reason. Please don't comeback with "but Brits supplied shit to Pak", we all know that but Brits don't consider anything wrong in it. There are a lot of fundamental differences between the both our standpoints- they see Pakistan as a necessary hedge against India, there is a sizeable influential Pakistani community (that works for the interests of Pakistan, unlike a lot of Indian mofos), a penchant for sucking upto Islamists prevalent all over the liberal sphere especially the UK, and the good old "Divide and Rule" in the name of "balance of power", "rules based world order", and other convenient phrases in English as such.If there is an economic feasibility of supplying these jets to Argentina, imo, India must go ahead with it even if HAL's not to make any money out of it immediately. A few heartburns in the UK Parliament are manageable affairs

Dude please don't post bs with official account, lots of people follow it including big names. I kinda like how it has gained traction.

There's a difference between 'can' and 'will'. I can beat your ass doesn't mean i will do it. Of course I have no authority about it so please consider as a request/suggestions. Keep DFI 'official' handle strictly to the point, no nonsense sort of type.
Ya'll Nibbiars Not BS but statement from hal officials and also this is in preparation for capacity building as HAL is preparing for International orders.

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
The Brits have worried about India's concerns when they armed Pakistan in the past? Do you believe that if Pakistan had the money to buy British weapons, the Brits would refuse out of concern for India?

Exports help drive down the unit prices for the airplane, help in improving the pipeline for the suppliers as well as HAL, which is extremely important. It will mean HAL and its suppliers have to increase the production rate, which will be of benefit to the IAF in the long run.

This will help us with driving down costs for spares, etc. It will also help HAL break into the Latin American market where there are other nations that could also be offered the Tejas, such as Colombia and Peru. Equador may not bite given the ALH Dhruv experience, but there is opportunity there for us, rather than sit and cede it to the Chinese.
Even from Brits' standpoint, India supplying 12 of the 4+ gen fighters is a better deal than to have Chinks make inroads into S.Americas with defence hardware. However, optics management can be difficult for the government- on the one hand they have some comprehensive economic program going on, and on the other India as a partner is selling military hardware to their Falklands rivals.
P.S- I mentioned Brits standpoint for a reason. Please don't comeback with "but Brits supplied shit to Pak", we all know that but Brits don't consider anything wrong in it. There are a lot of fundamental differences between the both our standpoints- they see Pakistan as a necessary hedge against India, there is a sizeable influential Pakistani community (that works for the interests of Pakistan, unlike a lot of Indian mofos), a penchant for sucking upto Islamists prevalent all over the liberal sphere especially the UK, and the good old "Divide and Rule" in the name of "balance of power", "rules based world order", and other convenient phrases in English as such.If there is an economic feasibility of supplying these jets to Argentina, imo, India must go ahead with it even if HAL's not to make any money out of it immediately. A few heartburns in the UK Parliament are manageable affairs
I understand the rubbing salts on British wounds, but can and should we do it?

For example, we supply weapons to Myanmar while Bangladesh is its staunch enemy. We don't care, because what will Bangladesh even do? But now if Bangladesh gives a naval base to China, this is seriously rubbing us in the wrong way, right?

What I am trying to get it is, we have some dependency on the British, either for Tejas parts, or other weapons (M777), and probably more in the future. Argentina is a failed economy with high inflation, naturally prone to corruption and Chinese influence.

We should not go the Soviet Union way of selling weapons to every war-lord with cash but instead, use it diplomatically like NATO.

Ya'll Nibbiars Yeh kya hai?. Capacity aur Design ka sambandh hai aur design thik se nahi hua?. Agar design this se nahi hua to phir order kaise Mila. Aur Mark 1A mein kya changes the ki redesign nabu hua.

Covfefe

I understand the rubbing salts on British wounds, but can and should we do it?

For example, we supply weapons to Myanmar while Bangladesh is its staunch enemy. We don't care, because what will Bangladesh even do? But now if Bangladesh gives a naval base to China, this is seriously rubbing us in the wrong way, right?

What I am trying to get it is, we have some dependency on the British, either for Tejas parts, or other weapons (M777), and probably more in the future. Argentina is a failed economy with high inflation, naturally prone to corruption and Chinese influence.

We should not go the Soviet Union way of selling weapons to every war-lord with cash but instead, use it diplomatically like NATO.
It's just too small a wound to matter even to the Brits. The relationship between India and the UK is beneficial to both the parties- India is a huge market to technologically superior British goods and services, while the British can substitute its low-tech imports from elsewhere to India. RR, if it gets into a JV with GTRE, is looking at an order book of close to 500-600 engines within a decade (from IAF alone). India is only the 15th largest trading partner of the UK, there is a huge scope of improvement there with the recent decade-long economic partnership announced. Also, India's quality of exports(in terms of value added products being exported) have improved-
1637749379262.png

UK might not wanna risk all that over the sale of a dozen odd 4th gen jets, nor would India. Agreed that India might drop the plan (if Tejas gets selected at all) to export to Argentina if Brits put up a strong objection, but the question would still remain- if not India, would the UK (and its partners, read the US) be okay with either Chinese or Russian presence in South Americas? Argentina may slip to China, but blocking every other avenue would ensure that it does.