Indian Economy: News and Discussion

sure, how does taxpayers being only 1% of the population fit into this argument?
Where did I say that? This is an excise duty and hence whosoever uses Petroleum contributes in payment of this taxes. This is not direct tax and Hence that 1%, 2%, 3% argument does not apply here.

ultimately the reason this discussion keeps popping up is because of the revenue deficit i.e expenses being more than revenues. gormint having to rely on other sources of revenue to cover for deficit that exists because of low tax base.

Ya'll Nibbiars The Taiwan labor minister: Taiwan will recruit small batches of Indian migrant workers from Christian areas of northeastern India where skin color and dietary habits are similar to those in Taiwan. First workers will arrive in 6 to 12 months.

GHwliLQXIAA0uog.jpeg

PVNR+MMS were forced by IMF to liberalize. Otherwise they would have followed the same license raj. 90s was a total mess in Indian politics. And socialism/license raj almost came back with the Mandal riots and the several socialist PMs. It really was Vajpayee and his ministerial team that changed India’s fate and put in place strong infrastructure investments. Then the UPA tried to destroy all that. So, no, MMS does not get credit. He was always remote controlled - whether as FM or PM. He was a katputhli.
Even if they were forced by IMF, it needed to be pushed through legislature , beaurocracy and above all Rajmata . MMS being a beaurocrat was never the front man..he was selected as PVN wanted some body with credentials and who can follow the order..

vajpayee did took the base from PVN and build .. at the end of day it is team work ... so MMS being katpulti played good when he was FM with PVN r and backfired when it was Rajmata.. it all depends on how u use the pupper...

As much we can critiques MMS fact remains that he was part of all those imp decisions ( even if he was puppet) and helped PVN ..

Read PVN's biography based on his pvt papers...pls authored by vinay sethupati .. hope author name is correct..

ultimately the reason this discussion keeps popping up is because of the revenue deficit i.e expenses being more than revenues. gormint having to rely on other sources of revenue to cover for deficit that exists because of low tax base.
That is another achievement of my Fav Tai and reason for my grouse.. these 1.5% pay double taxes.. while majority enjoys subsidies ..I know i am again sounding like a broken record..

thebakofbakchod

Ya'll Nibbiars The Taiwan labor minister: Taiwan will recruit small batches of Indian migrant workers from Christian areas of northeastern India where skin color and dietary habits are similar to those in Taiwan. First workers will arrive in 6 to 12 months.

View attachment 242725
Why should we allow this? And this is a good way to fk up the NE even more. The last thing we need is for every other ooga booga tribe to migrate to Taiwan and learn Chinese, and then start more separatist nonsense.

That is another achievement of my Fav Tai and reason for my grouse.. these 1.5% pay double taxes.. while majority enjoys subsidies ..I know i am again sounding like a broken record..
just curious, is it the case that you entered income tax paying bracket in last 10 years?

another aspect about India that does not get recognised, is that almost every other country taxes at a flat rate right from year one of the salaried income irrespective of how much they earn. GoI keeps the tax burden low for individuals during the initial years depending on the salary.

View attachment 242725
We should not allow our workers to go to this racist country. If you are searching for skin color, search somewhere else. This country is not for you.

another aspect about India that does not get recognised, is that almost every other country taxes at a flat rate right from year one of the salaried income irrespective of how much they earn. GoI keeps the tax burden low for individuals during the initial years depending on the salary.
But GOI charges more tax to those individuals who earns more than 15 lakh compared to corporates who tarns multiple billion dollar profit.

Why should we allow this? And this is a good way to fk up the NE even more. The last thing we need is for every other ooga booga tribe to migrate to Taiwan and learn Chinese, and then start more separatist nonsense.
We should not allow our workers to go to this racist country. If you are searching for skin color, search somewhere else. This country is not for you.
Ya'll Nibbiars as already said most Far Eastern countries are Xenophobic, the Korea tops at that in the world followed by the Mainland Chinese and the Taiwanese, the Japanese are less compared to them, probably due to the American Occupation from 1945 till 1951 which was a high himulation.

But GOI charges more tax to those individuals who earns more than 15 lakh compared to corporates who tarns multiple billion dollar profit.
if corporates are taxed at higher levels, there will be less number of people who earn more than 15 lakhs, isn’t it? corporates are paying for most of the jobs that pay 15 lakhs and above in the first place.

corporates are here to do business and make profits, they can just setup shop in another country where their returns are higher than here.

and by the way, there are only 25 listed corporates in India that make above billion $ profit, of this 5 are public sector companies.

Reactions: SKC

How would you stabilize? Money coming from expats is huge and helps but like someone else said, it isn't something to depend on. India is nowhere in terms of exports of finished goods other than agri and few other areas, perception is reality in this case, how many made in India products do you see around the world going into department stores, or hardware stores or duty free or anything else? Used to be more textile products made in India but frankly I never thought they had the quality, just totally inconsistent in sizes, stitching is so bad and so on. Now you see Vietnam, Chaddiland and soime Pakis (again no quality unless athletic companies apparel), when I had abroad stints for few years here and there in west, this is what I noticed.

China's economy went from 2 to 10 T because their massive infra investments like three gorges dam and many other power plants, ports, and everything else logistically and labor wise was aligned as one unit to make sure massive manufacturing is viable.

Let's see if India is a dud or just a tortoise, there is also a luck factor and with changing geo political shit, our luck may not play out in getting to what China did from manufacturing aspects. Congi's just sat on their butt for decades.....atleast this govt is putting priority and somewhat being successful in some sense, more BJP local governments minus karnataka may see the rewards in terms of seeing investments.
INR is already being stabilised. It has been hovering between 82 and 83 for almost 2 years now.

fooLIam

weird move , i think EU did same . only people this will benefit is US/china .

the guy who runs openai sam altman is also pushing for regulation , goal is to keep us/openai no 1 in this field.

Indian corporate are simply not interested in doing anything if they did we had desi googke,Facebook,os etc etc. by now.

Extreme regulation coupled with your typical Indian problem is what have killed and killing indian industrialisation since you can’t expect chapri corrupted clerk ,babus to be impartial and “not create problem”.
IT industry flourished simply becoz there was no regulation.

That's by design. babus know that they are giving ZERO in return via facilities to tax payers so they are forced per se.

I am on opinion that we get taxed similar to developed world in the end. May be +-5% here or there considering the amount of Cess + excise + Surcharges ..all adds up...and in the end, all we get is shitty infra , corrupt to the core babus and a system suited for rich and power ful All legacy of British raj ....

omaebakabaka

INR is already being stabilised. It has been hovering between 82 and 83 for almost 2 years now.
I don't get it, Yuan went from 8 to 6 while INR went from around 40+ to 80+, if expats decrease the remittance then it will take a hit possibly. We run deficits pretty much with every country outside west and what we export aren't necessarily finished products.

Now I am not saying all is gloom as we are trying and GOI is trying but our local governments are different completely with no vision. Until, our finished manufacturing exports take hold, any talk is idle talk and just that no matter you are #3 or #2 or #1 economy.....infrastructure while not world class is taking root from ports to highways and railways. But change in geopolitics is a big risk for us.

MuffleParch

I was expecting Kerala to top this chart but then again this is just a survey. People could be lying:

1709557270184.png