Indian Economy: News and Discussion

This is really great news.
I did not read this news in a single main stream news paper.
All I read about is that Sanjay dutt biopic making this amount n that amount.

The government also completed the first bridge for the Mumbai Amdavad bullet train. Also no news.
Great, any link. ....................

Updated World Bank figures for 2017 show that India is now the world's sixth-biggest economy, having muscled past France, which was pushed to the seventh spot, news agency AFP reported on Wednesday. India's gross domestic product (GDP) stood at $2.597 trillion at the end of 2017, compared to $2.582 trillion for France.

The US continued to be the world's biggest economy, followed by China, Japan and Germany. Britain remained the world's fifth-biggest economy with a GDP of $2.622 trillion at the end of 2017.

Backed by government spending and investment, India's economy grew at a seven-quarter high of 7.7 per cent in the January-March quarter of the financial year 2018. But this did not prevent GDPgrowth, at 6.7 per cent in 2017-18, from falling to its lowest rate in four years of the Narendra Modi government.

The finance ministry said India's economywould clock 7.5 per cent growth in 2018-19, the upper range of growth projected by the Economic Survey.

India is expected to grow at 7.4 per cent in 2018 and 7.8 per cent in 2019, leaving its nearest rival China behind respectively at 6.6 and 6.4 per cent in the two years, the International Monetary Fund (IMF) said in April this year.

Last year in December, the World Economic League Table (WELT) 2018 released by the Centre for Economics and Business Research forecast that Indiawould "leapfrog" Britain and France to become the world's fifth largest economy in 2018, ahead of an oncoming major global economic shift towards Asia.

https://wap.business-standard.com/a...ts-france-for-spot-report-118071100398_1.html

If rupee appreciates, then we might have overtaken britain as well. Still a ling way to go before 2019 and we can do it this year.

Jumbo

http://www.indiandefensenews.in/2018/07/asia-responds-to-trumps-trade-war-by.html

Asia Responds To Trump's Trade War By Forming The World's Largest Economic Bloc
Thursday, July 12, 2018 by Indiandefense News

The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) is emerging as the world's largest economic bloc in terms of population. The Trump administration's protectionist policies have prompted the Asia-Pacific countries to team up and form a united front

Donald Trump's tariff wars have given a boost to the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP), a 16-member Asia-Pacific economic bloc which includes three of the world's four most populous countries as well as two of its three largest economies...……………….

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

https://sputniknews.com/asia/201807101066229452-asia-trade-bloc/

It was only a matter of time, next Germany and finally China.
Germany, Japan, then US and then maybe China.

BTW, Japan is sad that it was not counted. Sad but not offended. They threw away their right to take offense with the pacifist constitution.

If rupee appreciates, then we might have overtaken britain as well. Still a ling way to go before 2019 and we can do it this year.
This is one aspect that always confuses me....

I don’t think GDP in $ Terms has any thing to do with current currency conversion, You will get 2.1 trillion $ GDP if you base it on current $ conversion rates. IMF must be calculating GDP at base value of 53₹ per $.

GDP is currently at 136 lakh crores(could be slightly off).

What really matters is the purchasing power parity and GDP per capita. I m sure we re pretty low as compared to France or Britain on both these counts. Need to pull those numbers.

Overtaking China would be very very difficult in our lifetime.It might happen but in the second half of this century.
China hasn't had any sustainable growth since 2008, figure where they were then and how long it will take India to surpass that.

What really matters is the purchasing power parity and GDP per capita. I m sure we re pretty low as compared to France or Britain on both these counts. Need to pull those numbers.
We're much higher in Purchasing Power Parity (PPP), at around 10 trillion dollars. But yeah, per capita income is nothing compared to France or UK. (Yet).

Icarus

Per capita income is the most important factor, which is what distinguishes the first world from the third world. India has a long way to go.

yes, when Rupee had broken the bottom of Rs 64, I had written one article on it. Actually our economy has strengthen against all currencies except USD. Lets us hope that rupee will bounce back.

Can only read Gurmukhi Mb. You would Like Karni Nama By Guru Nanak Dev Ji where Guru Sahib describes in detail how True Hindu Dharma Khalsa will lay waste to Mecca & erase Quran Masjid from Existence।।

ਵਾਹਿਗੁਰੂਜੀਕਾਖਾਲਸਾ।।ਵਾਹਿਗੁਰੂਜੀਕੀਫਤਿਹ।।

Ohhhh this is great. I woould like that to happen soon.

Tanmay

India population: 1.3 billion
France population: 60 million

We have a long road ahead of us, we need at least 6 trillion ecnomy by 2030.
While being ranked 6 is reason to celebrate for political and market pundits, GDP of France and UK is totally fine for their low population.
France has 60 million population. Mumbai itself has 20 million .We need to think and act big

While being ranked 6 is reason to celebrate for political and market pundits, GDP of France and UK is totally fine for their low population.
France has 60 million population. Mumbai itself has 20 million .We need to think and act big
There is nothing stopping indian business houses to think and act big, it's just that they don't have a vision beyond 3-5 years at a time(except for reliance, they think 10 years in advance)..