Indian Economy: News and Discussion

India is now world's second largest mobile phone producer: ICA

"We are happy to inform you that with the strenuous and calibrated efforts of government of India, ICA and FTTF, India has now emerged as the second largest producer of mobile handset by volume," ICA National President Pankaj Mohindroo said in a letter to both the union ministers on March 28.

According to the data shared by ICA, annual production of mobile phones in India increased from 3 million units in 2014 to 11 million units in 2017.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...share&utm_campaign=socialsharebutton&from=mdr
Which phones are made in India? I find this surprising.

Nothing all r assembled in india. Value addition in india is less than 10%
We could have argued the same for China sometime back.
Anyway you didn't answer the question. Which phones are manufactured/assembled in India?

YagamiLight

17% growth in tax is not important.

GST was badly executed.

Mudi shud regine...

@YagamiLight what say!?
:bplease:yes increasing tax rates and tax collection is such an achievement, every one from Mugabe, Madeiro to Indira Gandhi did it. Modi must be great to follow their footsteps by your own admission:lol:
https://thewire.in/business/fact-check-claims-increase-income-tax-base-direct-taxes

This is the difference between bhakths and people like me. You ppl fap to every piece of propaganda bull shit spewed by your fellow bhakths and the useless govt in power . 17% growth in taxes is no biggie when considering that even without demonetization, 13-18% growth rate in revenue was common. Now go back to fapping to the fake feel good news about being how GST was great even though gdp growth rate (which is what actually matters) has fallen by 2%

BTW, direct taxes aren't actually affected by GST as much as bhakths think. GST is mainly concerned with indirect taxes

Akshay_Fenix

:bplease:yes increasing tax rates and tax collection is such an achievement, every one from Mugabe, Madeiro to Indira Gandhi did it. Modi must be great to follow their footsteps by your own admission:lol:
https://thewire.in/business/fact-check-claims-increase-income-tax-base-direct-taxes

This is the difference between bhakths and people like me. You ppl fap to every piece of propaganda bull shit spewed by your fellow bhakths and the useless govt in power . 17% growth in taxes is no biggie when considering that even without demonetization, 13-18% growth rate in revenue was common. Now go back to fapping to the fake feel good news about being how GST was great even though gdp growth rate (which is what actually matters) has fallen by 2%

BTW, direct taxes aren't actually affected by GST as much as bhakths think. GST is mainly concerned with indirect taxes
Yeah because 17 percent growth on 8 lakh crores is equal to 17 percent growth on 4 lakh crores. :rofl:

You outdo yourself after each post.

You had missed Two big elephants in the house Samsung And Xiaomi Both manufacture most of their models not all here in india and both are the top selling mobile brands in the country . Xiaomi is even planning to bring its ancillaries to india to beef up the supply chain and challenge the Samsung

Now, India is the third largest electricity producer ahead of Russia, Japan

India’s electricity production grew 34% over seven years to 2017, and the country now produces more energy than Japan and Russia, which had 27% and 8.77% more electricity generation capacity installed, respectively, than India seven years ago.

India produced 1,160.10 billion units (BU) of electricity–one BU is enough to power 10 million households (one household using average of about 3 units per day) for a month–in financial year (FY) 2017. Electricity production stood at 1,003.525 BU between April 2017-January 2018, according to a February 2018 report by India Brand Equity Foundation (IBEF), a trust established by the commerce ministry.

With a production of 1,423 BU in FY 2016, India was the third largest producer and the third largest consumer of electricity in the world, behind China (6,015 BU) and the United States (4,327 BU).

http://www.business-standard.com/ar...cer-ahead-of-russia-japan-118032600086_1.html

Do check out the link, more info out there with graphs.
What's there to boast off? Is it good enough?

I mean look at the size of Japan, it's not more than Maharashtra with population of around 13 crores and for Russia it has total population of 16 crores..... While India is maybe 20 times bigger than Japan with 10 times bigger Population and though Russia is Bigger in land mass but population wise we are almost 8-9 times bigger So our electricity output/consumption should reflect that...... It should have been at least 5 times bigger and more comparable to China.........

Kyubi

I mean look at the size of Japan, it's not more than Maharashtra with population of around 13 crores and for Russia it has total population of 16 crores..... While India is maybe 20 times bigger than Japan with 10 times bigger Population and though Russia is Bigger in land mass but population wise we are almost 8-9 times bigger So our electricity output/consumption should reflect that...... It should have been at least 5 times bigger and more comparable to China.........
True every other achievement is being tabled across all media platforms as a miracle.. unfortunately for the present dispensation it has become a requirement to keep morale high and showcase itself. it is good, but once you achieve your short term goal, you still are way behind the curve when it comes to your rival ( china) .. frankly we needs to be adaptable to change and not give into political complusions, cast , creed and economic disparity among people. Infrastructure development is the key we need last mile connectivity in telecommunications , roads , water , electricity etc.. that should be the goal and we have to keep looking at china and understand how they have stimulated growth by investing in infrastructure. Although We do need to keep in check for croony capitalism and implement the best practices that balances ratio between infrastructure availability and requirement. we need to revamp our Urban infrastructure , Energy requirement etcc for stimulating growth.

In the other thread you were complaining on lack of hazard signs on 1500 km(1000 km work completed) long trans arunachal highway, and in this thread you are complaining that we need for last mile connectivity.

make up your mind mate!!!

Kyubi

In the other thread you were complaining on lack of hazard signs on 1500 km(1000 km work completed) long trans arunachal highway, and in this thread you are complaining that we need for last mile connectivity.

make up your mind mate!!!
:) Dear sir , i have made up my mind, what is wrong about expressing an opinion on the lack of Hazard signs which i believe it comes under the ambit of quality infrastructure and still expecting connectivity everywhere such that it will enhance the general well being of the populace , are they mutually exclusive.
I think not.

:) Dear sir , i have made up my mind, what is wrong about expressing an opinion on the lack of Hazard signs which i believe it comes under the ambit of quality infrastructure and still expecting connectivity everywhere such that it will enhance the general well being of the populace , are they mutually exclusive.
I think not.
My humble submission, "Rome was not built in a day".

Akshay_Fenix

UNTRUE! When it comes to electricity, less is better.

Wanna be number 1, just cut the cess on luxury items and allow people to buy 2 to 4 Air Conditioning units. But is it right for mother Earth?

Prashant12

India pips Japan to become second largest crude steel-maker

MUMBAI: In a major achievement, India has overtaken Japan to become the world's second largest producer of crude steel in February, according to the Steel Users Federation of India (Sufi).

At present, China is the largest producer of crude steel in the world, accounting for more than 50 per cent of the production.

India's crude steel production was up 4.4 per cent and stood at 93.11 million tonnes (mt) for the period April 2017 to February 2018, compared with April 2016 to February 2017, which has helped India to overtake Japan and becomes the second largest producer of crude steel in the world, the federation said in a statement here.

India overtook the US in 2015 to become the third largest producer of crude steel.

Attributed the growth in steel production to the right policies undertaken by the Modi government, Nikunj Turakhia, president, Sufi said, "The government has taken host of steps to curb imports, push local demand with initiatives like 'Make in India', implementation of the GST and infrastructure projects, to encourage the domestic market."

According to the World Steel Association, India produced 8.4 mt of crude steel in February 2018, up 3.4 per cent over February 2017.

Turakhia said the steel ministry is working proactively to lay down the road map to achieve 300 million tons by 2030 and "we seem to be on the right track".
"In addition, quick resolution of various big-ticket steel mills under the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code and the National Company Law Tribunal is expected to further hasten the process of achieving higher capacity utilisation," he added.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=TOIDesktop

YagamiLight

Yeah because 17 percent growth on 8 lakh crores is equal to 17 percent growth on 4 lakh crores. :rofl:

You outdo yourself after each post.
Once again, bhakths prove that they are no different than congtard and commies in understanding economics:pound:. By using the same logic as you, a congtard would have claimed in 2014 that their govts' 5% economic growth is better than 7% growth during NDA rule because India was a 1.5tn$ economy during NDA and is a 2tn$ during UPA rule and hence 5% of 2tn$ during UPA rule is bigger than 7% of 1.5Tn$ durign NDA rule, even though in reality UPA rule was terrible for Indian economy

So yeah, only % of growth matters and not volume as it is irrelevant for meaningful long-term economic surveys . When GDP growth(nominal) is 11-18%, you expect tax collection increase to be 11-18% as well. This is just common sense, something bhaktals seem to desperately lack. But at least it will keep you fapping to the BS feel good crap the govt Spews for your consumption :lol:

Abhijat

UNTRUE! When it comes to electricity, less is better.

Wanna be number 1, just cut the cess on luxury items and allow people to buy 2 to 4 Air Conditioning units. But is it right for mother Earth?
Cow + Communism = Neo-Right.

Sent from my SM-A700FD using Tapatalk