Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Indian Sniper.001

Attacks on women - India very highly ranked
Terrorist attack - India again 8th in world
Required points for a discussion.

But my 2c.
Attacks on women in India are over-rated. As I have already told, it is over-magnified. I'm not saying it happens less or doesn't happen at all, but it doesn't happen as much as it is hyped. Though that's a problem which need to be rectified, the sooner the better.

India is very highly ranked in terrorism taking into accounts of events unfolding in Kashmir and the 'Red Corridor'. Maoists/naxals are the 3rd/4th most dangerous terrorist org in the world according to a survey IIRC. But, when we see the overall security status, India is far more safer than its western counterparts.

in india, main problem is attitude of local police over citizens. india needs to bring more police reforms so that citizens are able to trust police. half of the time, citizens don't file complaint because they never expect it to proceed smoothly. lower level police is so corrupt its absolutely shameless. these people join police with only one intention, which is to make as much money as possible and show their power towards citizens. however, citizens are not clean either, they only look after their own interest as well.
No second thoughts there, and for a fact, it can't be disputed. It's funny that the civil services rules still date back the the immediate post-Independence era, where many of the service rules are from pre-Independence era.
Local police take bribes because they pay for their job or their posting, and they want to recover their amount spent in paying off. That's how the system works. One of the reasons my dad took a VRS. Again, the corruption falls in the feet of politicians/power-brokers. No govt. will touch police reforms, or perhaps I should say that 'only a govt. with a spine can touch something like police reforms'. No govt. would like to create unwanted enmity with the L&O personnel. When we see bandhs by other profession's, the police boots gets on the ground, but can one imagine the L&O problems, once police protests back against the govt en masse? That would be a disaster waiting to happen. And most of all such reforms are required to be done by the state, so it can happen only when all the states come together or request the parliament to legislate on behalf of them, and haha that will never happen. As of now, the politicians view the police as their personal force, and they don't want to give that away, and why would they?

Indian Sniper.001

The reason China has advanced so fast in last 20 years is the golden handshake between Deng zeo ping and Richard Nixon in 1975 when USA gave contract that whatever consumer goods China will produce will be bought by the USA. This led to manufacturing boom and investment flowing in big way to China. Big reason for China's prosperity.
I see a lot of such comments/opinions, and in their way it might be true, but why don't people simply also put in the fact that it is a dictatorial country, and the laws can be made with a swish of the hand by their leader. And you really don't want me to begin about Indian democracy. That's the difference b/w China and India.

I was never a big fan of these bull shit made up indices but this one takes the cake. This is probably the shittiest of indices I have ever seen.

According to these geniuses, Nepal and Rwanda are more prosperous than Turkey or China or India. Bangladesh is more prosperous than Iran. Costa Rica is more prosperous than South Korea and Italy.:crazy:

Butter Chicken

Hyundai exports first shipment of next Gen Verna to Riyadh from Chennai Port

Hyundai Motor India Limited (HMIL), the country's second largest car manufacturer and the number one car exporter, exported the first shipment of the Next Gen VERNA (globally known as Next Gen ACCENT) to Riyadh in Saudi Arabia.
The dispatch of 2,022 units from Chennai Port was the first consignment out of the 10,501 units of initial export order for the Next Gen VERNA from the Middle East market, a company release on Friday said.

The full order of 10,501 units of Next Gen Verna would be completed bythis year end.

Commenting on the milestone, Mr Y K Koo, MD and CEO- HMIL said "Next Gen VERNA is a global sedan and we are very happy to receive such an overwhelming response from Indian and global customers.''

''Keeping our commitment to Make-in-India program, we are proud to export the first shipment of the Next Gen VERNA to Saudi Arabia'', hesaid.

The Next Gen VERNA will also be exported to South Africa, other Gulf and Asian countries from the beginning of 2018, he said.

=========================================================================

Auto sales see double-digit growth in November

I was never a big fan of these bull shit made up indices but this one takes the cake. This is probably the shittiest of indices I have ever seen.

According to these geniuses, Nepal and Rwanda are more prosperous than Turkey or China or India. Bangladesh is more prosperous than Iran. Costa Rica is more prosperous than South Korea and Italy.:crazy:

Prosperity doesn't mean just money.

Sure money is in the picture, but there is more.

CrYsIs

India is certainly on the path of economic prosperity...there is no doubt about it..BUT..India still lags much behind China in over all economic development.

India has tremendous potential but, unfortunately was unable to perform well due to confused govt. policies, extreme corruption, unstable govts. and foolish political leaders(read Lalu, Mulayam, Maya types)
Socialism is a beautiful concept but IT DOES NOT WORK !

Finally, India has got a Govt. which is stable, decisive, pro business and is hellbent to destroy corrupt system and that's why I see that Indian economy is likely to skyrocket.
The gutsy structural reforms undertaken in last 2 years amazes me...These will bring fruits after a temporary slowdown. I am most optimistic about Indian economy than ever before ....But as I said there is much catching up to do when it comes to China.
India is all about endless optimism and futuristic talks with no focusing on present.

The current scenario is that there is virtually very few jobs or employment opportunities in the country for the teeming masses.The industrial and manufacturing sector,to which i belong to, the things are going downhill.

Whats even more painful to watch is that majority of graduates remain unemployed,of those who do get employed are very lowly paid and into jobs that very menial in nature and requires no technical education.

So without creating a strong industrial base and without focusing on job sector,the only path India would be heading towards is the path of self destruction and not prosperity.

SELVAM

Vietnam and Bangladesh is grabbing lot of manufacturing industry. As usual we r sleeping. While most of our engineering graduates remain jobless. They r yearning less than mechanic :facepalm:

Nepal is ahead of India in reducing hunger and starvation(ranked 78th,India is ranked 97th)
Not a criteria for "prosperity" in the index.

http://www.prosperity.com/globe/india

Add Nepal for comparison and then do it once again with China and Nepal.

Nepal is more prosperous than India because of Social Capital (Interpersonal relationships), Safety and Security, Personal Freedom.

Nepal is more prosperous than China because it has better governance. Yep, Nepal is being better governed than China.

============================

As I said, another bullshit index in long list of bullshit indices. This bullshit index just like others is the brainchild of a Western think tank or NGOs.

One of the most important “thinktanks” behind the Brexit propaganda machine is the Legatum Institute. It is a fountainhead of false predictions, delusional thinking and empty promises. Its funding comes from a Dubai-based private investment groupbacked by a New Zealander who, in the words of a recent Times article, allegedly made his money by “exploiting trading opportunities created by extreme political disruption”.
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/nov/14/john-redwood-brexit-money-britain-eu

Indian Sniper.001

Oh man, you are a piece of work, you know?

modi government is huge failure in economic front. Nothing special about this governtment
Go and say this to the crores of people who have been funded by MUDRA. First of all, if you would have known ABC of economics, you wouldn't have ranted here. Criticize, but do it with proof.

As usual we r sleeping. While most of our engineering graduates remain jobless. They r yearning less than mechanic
Fuck man, do you engineering in India is just 3 years old. There was nothing called engineering for the last 60 odd years.

Vietnam and Bangladesh is grabbing lot of manufacturing industry. As usual we r sleeping. While most of our engineering graduates remain jobless. They r yearning less than mechanic :facepalm:
Why don't you just stop cribbing and do something about it if you have all the solutions so according to you all the stats and economic basis r just false written by paid authors and other Pro government intellectuals it is quite sad that critics in India suffer from an acute form of hipocracy

Berkut

India is all about endless optimism and futuristic talks with no focusing on present.

The current scenario is that there is virtually very few jobs or employment opportunities in the country for the teeming masses.The industrial and manufacturing sector,to which i belong to, the things are going downhill.

Whats even more painful to watch is that majority of graduates remain unemployed,of those who do get employed are very lowly paid and into jobs that very menial in nature and requires no technical education.

So without creating a strong industrial base and without focusing on job sector,the only path India would be heading towards is the path of self destruction and not prosperity.
Pata nahi bhai tum kis India ki baat kar rahe ho but I am in India after 8 long years and the changes are phenomenal.
Bhai you are talking about engineering grads doing menial jobs whereas I meet uber drivers, some of whom have never been past class 5 but are making 30k n above a month.
I meet delivery boys who aren't college grads who make enough to send money home n sustain themselves in a city like Delhi.
Staff (naukrani) employed by my parents in BACKWARD Kolkata make 3k n 5k for an hour of work, they make around 20k to 25k a month. Both haven't been to school but have big dreams for their children.
Not sure which engineering grads you are speaking to but there are jobs aplenty. I just scratched the surface n the general level of optimism n satisfaction is very high.

Nepal is ahead of India in reducing hunger and starvation(ranked 78th,India is ranked 97th)
Nepals' population - 28 million.
India's population - 1.3 billion

So it's a gazillion times tougher to reduce poverty in India than Nepal! And add to it the type of governance we've had since the last almost 70 years of Congress rule. Indira Gandhi's 'Garibi Hatao' slogan was...well...just a slogan.

SELVAM

So this demonetisation and injections of money into PSU banks is to help corparate cronies