Indian Economy: News and Discussion

DG7867

Anybody has idea what's the bulk of our foreign imports consist of?

And I don't need vague pie charts, I want actual data that highlights the machine which make the bulk of it.
For example passenger airplanes, it's all imported or assembled.
From China, SKor, Japan, its mostly finished electronic goods
From gulf, its crude oil
From US, its crude oil, aircraft,mil hardware
From Russia& Israel, Its mil hardware
From UK n EU, Its industrial equipment, aircraft , mil hardware, construction machinery, that sort.
From Australia n Canada, its mostly mineral ores

Haldiram

@Haldiram where r u my nigga.
U missing out on all the fun.
There were no big bang announcements matching the scale of corporate tax cut, but the personal income tax slab revision and subsequent tax discount withdrawal will lead to more money being spent, rather than being stashed in the PPF/ELSS account. It's a positive step. People have underestimated the move.

People in the 5L-10L income group tend to use PPF/ELSS/loans as a tax saving instrument. Now they will either have to spend the money, or invest it somewhere. Either ways, it will be reflected in the market.

DG7867

There were no big bang announcements matching the scale of corporate tax cut, but the personal income tax slab revision and subsequent tax discount withdrawal will lead to more money being spent, rather than being stashed in the PPF/ELSS account. It's a positive step. People have underestimated the move.

People in the 5L-10L income group tend to use PPF/ELSS/loans as a tax saving instrument. Now they will either have to spend the money, or invest it somewhere. Either ways, it will be reflected in the market.
In one of her recent interviews with Swarajya, Nirmala Sitaraman said the exact same words you said before.. "we dont want people to keep money in ppf, we want them to invest in stocks" ...its almost like an omen :biggrin2:

Haldiram

In one of her recent interviews with Swarajya, Nirmala Sitaraman said the exact same words you said before.. "we dont want people to keep money in ppf, we want them to invest in stocks" ...its almost like an omen :biggrin2:
Me had said it last year itself :

https://defenceforumindia.com/forum/threads/chit-chat-thread.4046/page-1684#post-1575126

On budget day everyone panicked and sold off their stocks. It was completely unnecessary. Such a bluff correction happens before every major rally. It took just 90 minutes to recover 2 days of panic selling. Now everything is in the green.

>> Equity investors make Rs 2 lakh crore in 90 mins

@Holy Triad @Why so serious?

Modi was never supposed to know the economy. He was supposed to select innovative people who do know the economy, and give them freedom to implement their plans. Instead, from the beginning of his government, he has picked random people who don't know much about the economy themselves, and now Nirmala Sitaraman who is a certified idiot, and arrogant on top of that. He has really lost the plot on how to run the country. There are so many areas apart from economy, such as Environment, Education, Infrastructure, Defense, where we need guys who are brilliant to handle and transform these sectors. None of these have happened. The only good posting is Amit Shah as home minister.
Modinomics is different from pure economy. Modi called LED bulb manufacturers and asked why they do not sell bulbs at 50 to 60 rs instead of 400? They told that it will require an order in crores. Modi gave order of some 22 crore bulbs and distributed them through Electricity board. These measures saved 20000 MW electricity which will require an outlay of Rs 1.5 lakh Crore or more. Lots of resources saved such as Coal, water etc are different. Earlier, when government used to give employment to people, they used to engage them in Pit digging. Modi used them for creating water bodies or to revive water bodies and tree plantations. These are the measures which economist will not think. This will require a typical Gujju Mind.

In other examples. Modi gave Free gas connections to poor people. Now the cost of free cylinders shall be easily be recovered out of duty on gas within couple of years. The additional duty so collected will add billions to government treasury.

Modi gives subsidy in interest on housing. It amounts to Rs 2.65 lakh over a period of 15 years on an average. Now consider only 7 lakh Rs of materiel in making of 1 home. Duty of 18 pc on same will amount to Rs 1.20 lakh. So modi collected Rs 1.20 lakh as duty on material so used in housing in advance against Rs 2.65 lakhs to be given over a period of 15 years. So there is almost no cost to government.

Now what is the effect of these measures? One guy from Orisa met me. He was telling how his life changed by these measures. He told me that his light bill in village reduced to Rs 160 from 400 by arrival of LEDs. Out of Rs 240 so saved, he can buys a gas cylinder in 2 months of time. Earlier , he used to buy a big piece of wood for Rs 1000. Every time when he required to cook food,it was required to be ignited with Kerosene. Laddies will face a lots of problem in cooking in rainy season and there will be a lots of smoke. Now , laddies can take full rest in night and wake in time , switch on gas and cook food. Earlier, they used to wake up early to ignite choolha. The most important thing he mentioned is that all the trees were cut for fire wood. Now the area has once again has become full of trees. So these small measures have changed the life of millions.

Most of us here are privileged class people. We get 24 hours water, 24 hours electricity, 24 hour gas by gas line. We do not realize many time how these small measure can change the life of many.

If any of you have studied economics, you may be knowing the theory of Marginal utility. There was a riddle in economics that why water is so cheap even though it is vital for life and why diamonds are so costly compared to water? When the theory of marginal utility came in, this riddle was addressed. This theory says something like this that when any resources is available to you, its value for you will be equivalent to how much of the same thing is available to you. The water is desert when you die of thrust will be way more than a heap of diamond. Same way, the value of same amount of money to a poor or who does not have it ,is much more than a guy having big balance.

So this is Modinomics. When he planned to double the farmer's income, he met a lots of guys who have pioneered the techniques of Zero budget or very low cost farming. He did not double the price of food grain or agriculture producer but focused on how the hefty fertilizer and insecticide as well as water bill can be reduced. Money saved is money earned. Some time a rupees saved is much more than a rupee earned.

Modi was never supposed to know the economy. He was supposed to select innovative people who do know the economy, and give them freedom to implement their plans. Instead, from the beginning of his government, he has picked random people who don't know much about the economy themselves, and now Nirmala Sitaraman who is a certified idiot, and arrogant on top of that. He has really lost the plot on how to run the country. There are so many areas apart from economy, such as Environment, Education, Infrastructure, Defence, where we need guys who are brilliant to handle and transform these sectors. None of these have happened. The only good posting is Amit Shah as home minister.
Modi has wandered across the length and breadth of India. he has a dip understanding of the problem of people compared to bookish knowledge of Economist. look at many of his measure including I mentioned above and cheap medicine scheme etc. Modi is a one who has the ability uplift the life of people even in case of economy doesn't show big performance on paper. Modi is a great politician having a deep understanding and solution of people which many good economist even can not provide.

rkhanna

Liberals getting their ass burned......
Que? What has liberals or conservative have to do with it. The Market has climbed down from 12500 to 11700. The whole world and their uncle are going long. its just playing open interest and hedging your positions. this is a traders market.

Modi has wandered across the length and breadth of India. he has a dip understanding of the problem of people compared to bookish knowledge of Economist. look at many of his measure including I mentioned above and cheap medicine scheme etc. Modi is a one who has the ability uplift the life of people even in case of economy doesn't show big performance on paper. Modi is a great politician having a deep understanding and solution of people which many good economist even can not provide.
Really? You think Economist dont travel the lenght and breath of India to do research on the context of data? Please dont make random statements with no basis in reality. Economist actually dont have "bookish" knowledge they tend to have real world knowledge.

On budget day everyone panicked and sold off their stocks. It was completely unnecessary. Such a bluff correction happens before every major rally. It took just 90 minutes to recover 2 days of panic selling. Now everything is in the green.
You need to spend more time looking at monthly data on fund flows of retail investors, DFI, FPIs, HNIs you will get a better picture. then you need to do a trailing rolling return analysis of the broader marker visavis the headline index.

Yea . sorry no. the old tax regime is pretty much better in most senarios. PF is a function of regulation, your employer cuts and contributes and you pay out of your salary. ELSS contribution as a % of PF is alot less. Not to forget that life insurance is also a big part of 80C. then there is 80D - medical insurance,, housing loan? Student loan. You think people in 5-12 lac brack dont do that? Infact they do that BEFORE ELSS. if they dont avail these deductions their tax liabiliity is higher.. not lower.

Below 10 lacs its pretty much even stevens which ever tax style you choose. Majority of salaried will end up choosing the old.

If you leave out all the other deductions and only do 80C + Standard deduction + Medical - the tax effect is exactly 78000 rs. And you WANT people spending on investment (saving), medical insurance rather than buying iphones.

Tax Slab analysis.jpeg

rkhanna

India Manufacturing Growth: India's January manufacturing activity hits near eight-year high as orders jump | India Business News - Times of India
BENGALURU: India’s manufacturing activity expanded at its fastest pace in nearly eight years in January with robust growth in new orders and output, a private survey showed on Monday, suggesting the economy may be getting back on firmer footing.

"On the employment front, hiring activity improved in January, with firms increasing employment at the quickest rate in close to seven-and-a-half years. New business growth and projects in the pipeline were cited as the main reasons for job creation.
“The rise in total sales was supported by strengthening demand from external markets, as noted by the fastest increase in new export orders since November 2018. Manufacturers particularly noted higher sales to clients in Asia, Europe and North America, with favourable exchange rates assisting the upturn

With improvements in a number of leading indicators, including goods and services tax (GST) collection and core sector industries, analysts expected factory output to report modest growth in January."

We aint out of the woods yet. Long long way to go

Que? What has liberals or conservative have to do with it. The Market has climbed down from 12500 to 11700. The whole world and their uncle are going long. its just playing open interest and hedging your positions. this is a traders market.
When sensex goes down everyone start claiming that mudi is the reason india is heading towards destruction and other bla bla bla.
Liberals and congis are working to create fear among business man and other chaps to gain vote.

When market starts to show some improvement then their is no praise.

Copied a tweet From the post.

Liberals after fall : See Economy is crashing. Even BSE isn't responding properly. Budget was worst.

Also Liberals after Rise : Market has nothing to with Economy. What abt GDP. BSE is Sanghi. RSS ppl are simply doing this to show Budget was good‍

rkhanna

When sensex goes down everyone start claiming that mudi is the reason india is heading towards destruction and other bla bla bla.
Liberals and congis are working to create fear among business man and other chaps to gain vote.

When market starts to show some improvement then their is no praise.

Copied a tweet From the post.

Liberals after fall : See Economy is crashing. Even BSE isn't responding properly. Budget was worst.

Also Liberals after Rise : Market has nothing to with Economy. What abt GDP. BSE is Sanghi. RSS ppl are simply doing this to show Budget was good‍
Well let's rise up above pointless tweets and let's learn to look at reality without the our biases.

I leave it to you to know the reality . We are educated enough.

Haldiram

All the libtards were in full force yesterday.

https://twitter.com/ajaishukla/status/1223518988577099776

https://twitter.com/VineetPunia/status/1223619495794626560

https://twitter.com/CBhattacharji/status/1223543027362193409

Sensex down = Budget bad.

Sensex up = Liberals ate Fevicol.

What Nibbers ain't know is that there have been budgets after which the markets have tanked twice as more (upto -6%). Budget day is always volatile. Seasoned players know better than to take the bait.

Meanwhile, libtard's favorite news channel be like..

Holy Triad

Me had said it last year itself :

https://defenceforumindia.com/forum/threads/chit-chat-thread.4046/page-1684#post-1575126

>> Equity investors make Rs 2 lakh crore in 90 mins

@Holy Triad @Why so serious?

I applaud your skills on market prediction :clap2:

Hope the lucky streak continues,
Insha Ganesha

Seems right but have people wondered what they will do when they will be real liability on country in their old age... govt expect them to take katora in hand and beg when they have spend everything in their young age ..Oh perhaps they have started a hidden pension scheme or social security benefit scheme which will take care of them in old age....

Question - Where the PPF / ELSS money goes once deposited in banks ??

rkhanna

Question - Where the PPF / ELSS money goes once deposited in banks ??
PF is govt of India borrowing. They use it for govt expenditure. They pay you an interest rate for lending money to them.

Elss is a equity mutual fund like any other. With only difference is that there is a 3 year lock in.

Many savvy investors - retail and hni alike will invest in ELSS funds even outside of tax requirement. Because they have less volatility to fund in and out flows. Small AUM and managers like Jinesh Gopani (axis ) and mirae can run far more effective stock picking strategies

PF is govt of India borrowing. They use it for govt expenditure. They pay you an interest rate for lending money to them.

Elss is a equity mutual fund like any other. With only difference is that there is a 3 year lock in.

Many savvy investors - retail and hni alike will invest in ELSS funds even outside of tax requirement. Because they have less volatility to fund in and out flows. Small AUM and managers like Jinesh Gopani (axis ) and mirae can run far more effective stock picking strategies
Right so baring ELSS, money still gets into Govt hands .... India was never a consumption driven market...we were more or less conservative savings type where onsumption is basically need driven. With current budget, JNU schoolar is ppushing us to be consumption driven moore that by taking loans... it worked in Europe & US b,cause they have a robust social security framework post retirement and people did not have to worry about their medical expenses in old age unlike here where u r on your own... Thats my only worry with her statements that we do not want people to save...We want people to spend... where is the money to spend with a taxation of almost 58 % on a car ...She is putting money in manufacturing but how do this get consumed... when people have no money to buy....

and than they justify everything by saying it is at par with other developed world.. For god fuck sake, thats most absurd statement a govt babus shud make..... we are still third rate deveoping nation.. they cant apply those rules here....why dont they say that when people complain about rat holes called govt hospitals...

Akshay Fenix

Right so baring ELSS, money still gets into Govt hands .... India was never a consumption driven market...we were more or less conservative savings type where onsumption is basically need driven. With current budget, JNU schoolar is ppushing us to be consumption driven moore that by taking loans... it worked in Europe & US b,cause they have a robust social security framework post retirement and people did not have to worry about their medical expenses in old age unlike here where u r on your own... Thats my only worry with her statements that we do not want people to save...We want people to spend... where is the money to spend with a taxation of almost 58 % on a car ...She is putting money in manufacturing but how do this get consumed... when people have no money to buy....

and than they justify everything by saying it is at par with other developed world.. For god fuck sake, thats most absurd statement a govt babus shud make..... we are still third rate deveoping nation.. they cant apply those rules here....why dont they say that when people complain about rat holes called govt hospitals...
LOL who said people in the US don't have to worry about medical expenses. Why do you think these goras are coming to India for health needs.

OCI card holders from US use their annual India trip to get their basic dental care done .bills don't drill a hole in their heart here in India compared to what they will pay in USA .

@Kumata care to explain your 58% tax on car jibe please ?