Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Management simply.

Government is light years ahead of private companies in R&D but private companies would be able to manufacturing at better rate. I've been in both sectors and there's large gap in cultures of both.
You'd need a stable mind in comfort zone to think but you'll need pressure & to work like robot to produce.
Government sector is definitely ahead but look at our stupid government. No R & D budget is increased for research. As Elon Musk said , ISRO should do 2 bn USD business per Month bu our vision less Modi government is also not better than Khnagress. They should have identified the strengths of India and should have taken necessary steps to boost R & D. They should have involved colleges in R & D but nothing is been done. Subsidy eats all money and no political party has to guts to challenge it unless some some miracle happens.

What are you talking about?

Both DRDO and ISRO are doing a good job, given their budgets. They probably are even punching above their weight.

Please come out of this “govt is Maibaap if everything” attitude.

Govt’s job is to promote research, which they are doing by promoting IP generation both in public and private institutions...

Haldiram

What the hell brother, 1hr felt like 5 minutes. Excellent orator Bhagwat ji is.
The things he said in the final part of the speech were deep spirituality with a practical outlook. Really liked the essence that Dhan and Shakti is not evil. Hindus must give up the Buddhist/austere/nihilist version of Dharma and spread Dharma on mission mode.

Doval had echoed the same recently. Mission India 2030.

Both DRDO and ISRO are doing a good job, given their budgets. They probably are even punching above their weight.
They are doing but could do much better and we wouldn't even have been giving this budget excuse to ourselves here.

India spends barely 0.6% to 0.8% of of its GDP on R&D and can easily be increased to 1.2-1.5% with minor plugs in lot of useless overheads.
I posted earlier, India is years ahead of all other lower middle income countries in Economic Complexity Index but our index hasn't changed for past decade.
Indeed, private players need to be motivated but that doesn't mean that goverment shouldn't do itself if technology isn't available at the moment.
Lot lot of our civil & military projects are stuck coza this. And later we are going to start, gap to catch up will be higher.

This will change after 10-15 years... for now there is enough scope for earning profits without massive innovation, simply by expanding into various geographies within India and neighbourhood.
@ezsasa @Indx TechStyle I doubt that it ill change in 10-15 years. Remember same stuff was said about IT sector in India during early late 90's - early 2000's. Let them earn profits through body shopping - Later down the line in next decade they are going to churn globally competitive Indian software products. Now profit margin for this sector was never issue - they only saw dent in their margins pretty recently.

You innovate if you're comfortable. Private Companies in west are financially much more capable of providing a comfortable life to their employees. Financial assets are needed for test facilities too.
In India, nearly only government guarantees that all.
Sorry bro - in west be it govt or private sector - if a research doesn't bear fruits or if there is budget crunch, they don't fear to cut loose their researchers - Be it private Microsoft R&D lab in building 90 or govt owned Fermi Labs.

Did you ever Shark Tank - in few of the case studies pitched for innovative products, startups chose not to make profits for next few years because they were ploughing back all profits earned back to R&D. So this is just sugar coating miser "Lala mentality" - heeng lage na phatkari rang chaukha <- Its not just an idiom but vision & mission of most of our Indian companies

Advaidhya Tiwari

Are you smoking high quality weed? DRDO, ISRO etc are developing technology at the best possible extent without any budget constraints regarding strategic technology. Govt has been funding wholeheartedly for R&D of DRDO, ISRO, BARC etc.

You are speaking as if Saud Arabia can suddenly make everything just because they can afford to spend $100+ billion dollars. There is only so much fast any technology can be developed and that is restrained by the speed of human mind and speed fof Natural process like chemical reaction, physical constraints etc.

They are doing but could do much better and we wouldn't even have been giving this budget excuse to ourselves here.

India spends barely 0.6% to 0.8% of of its GDP on R&D and can easily be increased to 1.2-1.5% with minor plugs in lot of useless overheads.
I posted earlier, India is years ahead of all other lower middle income countries in Economic Complexity Index but our index hasn't changed for past decade.
Indeed, private players need to be motivated but that doesn't mean that goverment shouldn't do itself if technology isn't available at the moment.
Lot lot of our civil & military projects are stuck coza this. And later we are going to start, gap to catch up will be higher.
Do you know what is 0.7% of GDP? It is 1.3 lakh crore rupees. 55% of these are done in central govt and PSU & central Universities like IISC, IITs which account for 75000 crore rupees. Most of these are strategic R&D. So, you can say that 0.4% of Indian GDP is hoing towards strategic research. How is this a small amount?

The R&D by western countries generally include R&D for things like Electric cars, highly bloated pharma R&D, cosmetics, new softwares, computer games, toys, designing, useless thesis by college students, thesis on useless subjects like arts, cost for research tourism etc. These are highly useless research and serve no long term purpose. These research form the majority of the research in western countries. This is why we see countries like Germany having 3% R&D funds while countries like Russia which follows utilitarian approach like India, having 1.2% R&D expense.

Indian R&D are result intensive and focused whereas western ones are very vague and simply done for fun.
Sorry bro - in west be it govt or private sector - if a research doesn't bear fruits or if there is budget crunch, they don't fear to cut loose their researchers - Be it private Microsoft R&D lab in building 90 or govt owned Fermi Labs.
Just read what I wrote above. USA is filled with wasteful research. There is not enough firing of real researchers anywhere. Research always involves uncertainty and there is no guarantee of success. Firing people for things out of their control doesn't work well.

The Microsoft or Facebook research is a big joke. Can you tell me what useful things they have done which benefits in the long term? They just hire some engineer and make new softwares. There is no discovery or inventions. INNOVATION IS NOT RESEARCH. Innovation is just modification and manipulation of existing knowledge to suit a different scenario. There is nothing new being made here

If *you* have done the same - please go ahead and pontificate otherwise its just hot air. Just go though no of patents they have filed and their earnings through them. Innovation comes through sustained research & development.

Are you smoking high quality weed? DRDO, ISRO etc are developing technology at the best possible extent without any budget constraints regarding strategic technology. Govt has been funding wholeheartedly for R&D of DRDO, ISRO, BARC etc.

You are speaking as if Saud Arabia can suddenly make everything just because they can afford to spend $100+ billion dollars. There is only so much fast any technology can be developed and that is restrained by the speed of human mind and speed fof Natural process like chemical reaction, physical constraints etc.

Do you know what is 0.7% of GDP? It is 1.3 lakh crore rupees. 55% of these are done in central govt and PSU & central Universities like IISC, IITs which account for 75000 crore rupees. Most of these are strategic R&D. So,you can say that 0.4% of Indian GDP is hoing towards strategic research. How is this a small amount?

The R&D by western countries generally imclude R&D for things like Electric cars, highly bloated pharma R&D, cosmetics, new softwares, computer games, toys, designing, useless thesis by college students, thesis on useless subjects like arts, cost for research tourism etc. These are highly useless research and serve no long term purpose. These research for the majority of the research in western countries. This is why we see countries like Germany having 3% R&D funds while countries like Russia which follows utilitarian approach like India, having 1.2% R&D exense.

Indian R&D are result intensive and focuses whereas western ones are very vague and simply done for fun.

Just read what I wrote above. USA is filled with wasteful research. There is not enough firing of real researchers anywhere. Research always involves uncertainty and there is no guarantee of success. Firing people for things out of their control doesn't work well.

If you wrote all the above :bs: on a PC, laptop there are high chances you were using Windows software which is a wasteful product developed by Microsoft.
:dude:

Advaidhya Tiwari

If *you* have done the same - please go ahead and pontificate otherwise its just hot air. Just go though no of patents they have filed and their earnings through them. Innovation comes through sustained research & development.
We are speaking of strategic research,not business research. India is not focused on business research as the geopolitical atmosphere is not conducive. USA does opposite because of dollar being international currency and hence requirement & opportunity to extend all services anywhere with little restrictions. The same research done in India may not yield same return due to different geopolitics.

If you don't understand the complexity of finance & politics, please don't talk on these topics. There is a reason why I always speak of strategic R&D rather than commercial R&D. Strategic technology is absolutely useful whereas commercial ones depend on complex parameters

Advaidhya Tiwari

If you wrote all the above :bs: on a PC, laptop there are high chances you were using Windows software which is a wasteful product developed by Microsoft.
:dude:
I could have use linux too. So, the windows is not strategic product. Hardly any problem will happen if linux li used instead. Only place where windows wins is in application compatibility with various softwares. Things like video games, mouse controller software, subtitle editor, matlab etc don't work on linux. But otherwise, there is indeed very little to brag about the R&D of windows

Did you ever Shark Tank - in few of the case studies pitched for innovative products, startups chose not to make profits for next few years because they were ploughing back all profits earned back to R&D. So this is just sugar coating miser "Lala mentality" - heeng lage na phatkari rang chaukha <- Its not just an idiom but vision & mission of most of our Indian companies
I understand but I'm talking of Indian context. Here, goverment has funds.

Haldiram

This goes well with Mohan Bhagwats speech; everyone should get an equal opportunity, even the small time vendors.

Fuk off if u cant accept that.
They will exit after having made 14 billion? sure, someone show them the door. Thanks for the free 14 billion.

If one reads the FDI rules, it's not even an unfair rule. The rule just says that if you register yourself as an ecom site, and want to qualify for Indian FDI incentives then the site has to allow all vendors in India to list their products on the site. It basically means that Redmi cannot have an ecom store for selling only Redmi phones and then claim the incentives. If a brand wants to sell its own stuff on its own site, is still can, but without the incentives. If you want incentives from the people of India, then you need to allow the people of India to sell on your platform, otherwise leave the incentives and make a site like Apple, and sell only your products. They don't ask for FDI incentives. They pay full cash and run their own supply chain.

This rule was introduced to make sure that big MNC brands don't smother out smaller sellers with their size. Such rules exist in all countries. Even in Europe, there are restrictions on how Google ranks brands in their search results, to make sure European companies don't get smothered in the search results.

And these companies are crying like small children for that. I am pretty sure they will use paid media to make the government look bad. I remember the time when RBI had restricted Paypal in India. Everyone was complaining against the RBI, but they were looking out for public interest. RBI had told Paypal that if you operate like a bank in India then you are subject to banking regulations, which means you have to pay interest on the money that Indians store in their Paypal account. In order to dodge this rule, Paypal started forced auto-withdrawals to avoid registering as a bank. These American companies think they are teflon-coated from domestic rules. They just want to profit from our money, but don't want to follow our rules. And our companies like Sun Pharma are sanctioned in the US for their domestic FDA violations.

Flipkart itself is registered in Singapore, not India, to avoid paying taxes in India. So even they can go fuck themselves. The smartphone companies can do tie ups with the same Indian courier services which all ecom sites hire, and continue their delivery. They don't need to rely on ecom sites at all.

Haldiram

Italy tumbles into recession

Public debt, already 132 percent of GDP, could rise further. The budget deficit will probably exceed the government's target of 2 percent of GDP. The IMF expects growth of 0.6 percent in 2019, down from its forecast of 1 percent in October. That worse fiscal position could, in turn, make it harder for the government to stimulate the economy.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is the first among many more to come.

How it affects India :

Italian companies invested €694 million in India in 2011, and over €1 billion in 2012. As of December 2012, Italy had an accumulated investment of €3.75 billion in India, or 9% of the total European Union FDI in India. Indian investment in Italy grew from €584 million in 2004 to €10 billion in 2011.

In 2016, Italian exports into India amounted to US$3.9 billion dollars; Indian exports into Italy accounted for US$4.9 billion dollars.

Haldiram

France and Germany on BRINK of major RECESSION

Germany :

Germany faces its lowest industrial productions since 2008.

The country’s economy shrunk by 0.2 percent in the third quarter of 2018, another drop in the fourth-quarter would mean Germany will have entered a recession, defined as two straight quarters of negative output.

France :

Data showed a 1.3 percent fall in industry output in November, which left production down an annual 2.1 percent, the most in four years. After two quarters of negative growth, industrial production growth only each 0.7 percent in the third quarter.

Britain :

How it affects India :

The EU is India's largest trading partner with 12.5% of India's overall trade between 2015 and 2016, ahead of China (10.8%) and the United States (9.3%). India is the EU's 9th largest trading partner with 2.4% of the EU's overall trade.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

First Greece collapsed > then Italy > next France > Germany > Britain > USA

And Western analysts are busy predicting a collapse of China and India.

France and Germany on BRINK of major RECESSION

Germany :

Germany faces its lowest industrial productions since 2008.

The country’s economy shrunk by 0.2 percent in the third quarter of 2018, another drop in the fourth-quarter would mean Germany will have entered a recession, defined as two straight quarters of negative output.

France :

Data showed a 1.3 percent fall in industry output in November, which left production down an annual 2.1 percent, the most in four years. After two quarters of negative growth, industrial production growth only each 0.7 percent in the third quarter.

Britain :

How it affects India :

The EU is India's largest trading partner with 12.5% of India's overall trade between 2015 and 2016, ahead of China (10.8%) and the United States (9.3%). India is the EU's 9th largest trading partner with 2.4% of the EU's overall trade.

First Greece collapsed > then Italy > next France > Germany > Britain > USA

And Western analysts are busy predicting a collapse of China and India.
be wary about any news on Europe originating from UK.

For last 3 months brits are pushing the narrative that Europe will go into crisis if Britain leaves...