How to curb honeytrap issue perversive in our defense setup , only serious suggestions

Can’t even believe this is a serious thread on a Defence forum
On serious note, try everyone of these guy/gals for treason & make example or of them by a life-sentence. Workshops to let the rest know what's waiting for them.

Edit: Also lotta these guys try to showoff a bit if you ask them about achievements. Guys like me & Kuntal may get in unnecessary trouble because of them. That's why I've given up.

They ought to do some psychological test of their spie, this is too many cases of spies being trapped. Other nations had them too buy not to this extent not with spies.
There is nothing abnormal about the no of cases in India. It seems to be in line with what happens around the world.
We just don't know how to handle these cases and what policies to implement in govt labs/agencies/offices.

have every employee who works in critical sectors sign to be under constant electronic and physical surveillance.
They are only allowed to use devises approved by govt.
no social media accounts.

Sanglamorre

Absolute state of "Serious thread"

Anyways.

The very basic things like a seminar and training should be carried out. It should be made clear that their are people out there who want to con you and if you get conned by such low effort stunt than the consequence will be severe.

Communication related to work should be prohibited outside the Defence establishment.

Maybe they have never been made to understand this.

I don't know why a scientist went on with the chat anyway.
Didn't he realize, "I am not supposed to do this"
Boomers have serious issues. I know college professors who post "hi how r u" on those video ads😂

Those born before IT revolution and are now using Smartphones have no realization of Online etiquettes.

One of the known person was searching for bride for his son. He would literally open any girl profile on FB and would post on her pic: "Mera Beta Btech engineer hai. Usse shaadi karlo!"

Indrajit

Would being everyone's attention to a more intriguing point. Why do you think we are hearing all these details if a lot of this was heavily classified and not meant for anyone to know? The way the details on this are being shared, its almost like it's deliberately been disseminated to a wider audience.

Cheran

When basic human urges/emotions cloud over the areas that control logic, reasoning, situational analysis such things happen. It does not matter whether you are high IQ/good at encryption or aeronautical designing etc, it;s just basic human behavior that does all these people in. At some point the decision center in the brain gives a go ahead for the risk as it is "clouded" by more basic/primitive obsessions.

In addition to strong info-sec policies, counter intelligence, a safe outlet for these urges should be examined. Of course this is to be done at the individual level. State cannot be expected to jerk it for you. Access to porn sites, Silicon dolls, dildos etc can help.

have every employee who works in critical sectors sign to be under constant electronic and physical surveillance.
Easier said than done. You can try but it’s like playing whack a mole.

Crazywithmath

Have a dedicated agency to honey trap the guys before the Pakis do.

If they get "caught" they must face consequences, right from pay cuts, disciplinary actions to 5 guys randomly grabbing you and giving such a thrashing you will never forget.

It's like red team, blue team in cybersecurity.
It "hardens" our scientific resources vs bad actors "hardening" them in other, anti-national ways.
The chats are truly hilarious though. :bplease:
Typical 'boys played well' English from the paki and the DRDO guy was like;
download (3).jpeg

Read like a convo between 8th standard nibba nibbis :facepalm:

jai jaganath

I think, is desh ki ladkiyon ko desh seva keliye mauka dena chahiye
They must contribute to our nation by satisfying our honorable scientists and engineers

here2where

most effective solution is to officially inform that honey-trap / social engineering attempts will be conducted periodically on all those assigned to sensitive divisions. and that those who fail the test will be sacked.

These scientists know their programs in great detail, and even if they can't communicate through their office devices or share documents, they can blabber as they please at home via whatsapp, Facebook etc.

Priority should be greater security measures and much greater electronic surveillance through constant monitoring of their chats and social media. Every conversation of theirs should be monitored, even if it's under a pseudonym and VPN. The moment he starts chatting with a "babe" through any account or device, it should be found, stopped and not be allowed to reach this stage.

Apart from this, perhaps we need to change the recruitment process in the interview phase itself, where they can incorporate psychologists to determine whether the candidate has personal insecurities and whether they've had any contact with women and dated. You can't hire someone who may be technically skilled but is showing signs of despo mentality and lack of socialization for such sensitive roles. Tough in India, but this is our pseudo conservative and sexually repressive environment coming to bite us in the ass. Even people who are genuinely high IQ and competent are repeatedly falling for this due to their inceldom during youth which warps their minds to these irrational levels.

Narasimh

All agencies involved in national security should be governed by special laws and should be tried by special NATSEC courts something similar to military courts.

Regular training, evaluation, counselling, remediation steps must be taken. Meditation and Yoga should be taught for better control of thoughts. Regular Psych eval, hypnosis, medications etc could be tried for people with critical access.

For married people, the family should be involved in trainings and anonymous counselling services should be provided for having better relations and sexual health.

For bachelors, I think they are less vulnerable any ways as they have options that married people don't have.

skunk works

Just finished a book about Robert Hanssen, the most damaging spy in US history, so have some points.

1. What is security structure like in PSUs- or is there even one.
  2. Is there a system of a federal background check for appointees to high positions?
  3. Are people security-interviewed for senior positions? Are polygraphs done?
Back in the 1990s there was a big flap at RAW HQ when a security check revealed almost every senior employee was taking documents home. Of course our eminent bureaucrats put the heat on the security officer, because how dare he question 'seniors'.
This was at a time when the most damaging RAW spy in history was active. Question: are senior people treated above the law? If suspected, is there a provision for sitting them down and interviewing them?

What are punishments like? The american model relies on terrifying prison sentences to act as deterrence- like the Indian origin Lockheed engineer who betrayed B-2 Bomber secrets to China (thank him for the Xian H-20).
The British model relies more on extracting a confession and knowing the full depth of the penetration.
Both have advantages. In the 1990s when a high level CIA penetration was discovered in the RAW field office in chennai, the guilty parties were allowed to retire quietly. It is totally possible their families never knew and everyone thought of them as deshbhakts!
The reason is say this is: while a polygraph won't tell you if the person will betray national secret on this day and date for this reason, it WILL tell you if the person has a PROCLIVITY for doing so. It will expose the weaknesses in the person.

Sanglamorre

What we need to plan for is the current and coming crop of scientists who will be more comfortable and adept at choosing partners online. We can't do a full stop in their dating life, it will make them disaffected.

Forget them giving info by themselves, their devices might get bugged by the tinder date they took to bed.