China Reaction To Agni V Test

8,000 Km ?

V K Saraswat said it's 5,000 Km range only. Few news agency quoted 5,000+ and 5,500. Not read anywhere about 8,000. Yes, in next 2-3 years during various upgradation range might increase to 6-7k but that is not yet happened.

Well, We need something in range of 7,000 Km including K-5 for SLBM. To hot China north and han populated Eastern coast from IOR/ Central India.

We don't need more than 7,000 Km till 2022-2025. After that, Anything possible!!
It is 8000km...we are downplaying it because we still buy weapons from west.

It is a matter of faith since officially it is 5000km only but think about it logically!

It is 8000km...we are downplaying it because we still buy weapons from west.

It is a matter of faith since officially it is 5000km only but think about it logically!
I will not believe the Chinese sources. They want to create "8,000" factor so that Europe gets jittery about our A5. It's their strategy. We might upgrade to 7,000 Km and we need also for China.

According to DRDO, It's 5,000 or Max 5,500Km.

You are over-estimating DRDO capability. They are very bad in hiding any success. They always announce more and more and deliver very less. 2 decades and most of the projects are still pending. It's not all their fault but they are not so good either.

China is frustrated so much that it is creating unnecessary scare because they know they are the target.... but its funny to see that the "West" is not really interested in giving any comments so it means "Hey arrogant China it doesn't matter to us if India creates another missile because you are the target"

Exactly. That is what their strategy is. China wants to give impression to the world that our A5 is not for China only but for Europe/Australia too. We are trying to be aggressive with hegemony mindset. But the fact is it's 5,000-5,500 km range only and meant exclusively for CHINA.

China should be worried not any other country in the world!! :lol:

charlyondfi

Well,well,well.Frankly, I think Beijing is a wee bit perturbed!!
And that has got China's pant yellow...
... So it has riled them no end to see India actually come up with a good weapons platform.
.. ...i want to see them squirm like little worms. :che:
First of all, congratulation on India for another milestone in self-defence. Despite my belief that strategic ballistic missile has been proved one of the most wasteful weapon in mankind history, the technical advancement is remarkable, no dispute.

Then come to the topic: so for group one of fellows in this thread, they believe the CCP or their military strategists are like bunch of no-brainers: wake up in the morning and shouting "what? India got its missile of 5000km? what happen? this can not happen overnight? what we gonna do? what we gonna do? Oh, god, we are so doomed."
-- if that did happen, I shall more congratulate on you -- not because they are like you prefer as cowards, but instead, "NOT prepared" for anything

Or -- well, actually Godless-Kafir did hint it -- group two believe those people will open a file perhaps written as early as 10~15 years ago: "given the technical progress and rarely-seen political will to develop an ICBM, India should be able to get this missile capable to hit even northern China by 2015, most likely much sooner. However, this does NOT change below strategic factors: 1) ballistic missile unless with much higher accuracy, may prove useless in geopolitical games, unless 2) there is strong political will to use them, and 3) the strategic value or protection you can truly get from them is so minimal since such as economic globalization makes it so hard to use them logically, unless those holding these buttons are real no-brainers. However, fast development of this only indicate that we should more focus on such as missile defense, sattlelite killers... ... ..."

It's up to you to believe what you believe

charlyondfi

They touched so many topics at once, all in 100 words.:rolleyes:
Nothing wrong with that, right?

Perhaps after every initial proud & passion of the achievement -- I believe you & all Indians are entitled to every bit of it - you might even think that 100 words is a pretty fair assessment.

With all due respect.

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
Agni-V: China tries to provoke Agni-V fear, says it can hit Europe

BEIJING: China's strategic experts and the official media are trying to provoke western countries saying the Agni-V missile has a longer range than India would admit, and it can hit cities in Europe.

In comments that are obviously authorized by the defence ministry, Chinese experts said the Indian missile actually has a range of 8,000 kilometers and not the shorter range of 5,000 kms, as claimed by India. There are signs China will try to pressure the US and Russia not to sell missile guidance systems to India.

"The missile brings the whole of Asia, 70 per cent of Europe and other regions under its strike range and puts India among a select band of countries in the world to possess the technology of intercontinental ballistic missiles," the official Xinhua news agency said in a dispatch published in dozens of Chinese newspapers. Another paper, the Global Times, even carried a map showing Moscow, Tehran and Jakarta among cities coming within the range of Indian missiles.

An expert at the PLA Academy of Military Sciences said the Agni-V actually has the potential to reach targets 8,000 kilometers away, according to the Communist Party-controlled Global Times. It quoted the researcher, Du Wenlong, saying the Indian government had deliberately downplayed the missile's capability in order to avoid causing concern to other countries.

"According to China's standard, an ICBM should have a range of at least 8,000 kilometers. The Agni-V's range could be further enhanced to become an ICBM," the paper quoted another expert, Zhang Zhaozhong, a professor with the People's Liberation Army National Defence University, as saying.

But some Chinese experts have raised questions about New Delhi's capability to actually use the missile.

"India does not posses high-precision guidance system. To make up for the shortfall, it has to buy it from US and from Russia. These counties may be reluctant to sell their most advanced technology," the official China Central Television quoted some experts as saying.

CCTV even questioned India's infrastructure capabilities. "The missile weighs 50 tonnes. It has no suitable loading vehicle to transport it. Due to India's poor infrastructure, the country's bridges and roads cannot bear the weight of the missile". "So far, it can only be launched from a fixed position. Even though it was successful, it will take a long time to build an operational missile force," it said.

In the Global Times interview, Zhang suggested the Agni-V would help India rise from a regional to a world power. China must work on developing defence systems against the threat of ballistic missile. "It is India's goal to possess an ICBM, as the country seeks to improve its status and become a major world player. Without it, India will remain a regional power," Zhang said.

By itself, the Agni-V will not take away China's superiority in this technology, Zhang said. "But for the sake of regional stability, China should continue to develop defence systems against ballistic missile threats," he said.

The Communist Party's main organ, the People's Daily, ran a commentary, "Risks behind India's military build-up" saying the Agni-V development shows Indian's intention to seek a regional balance of power.

"However, in the context of the eastward shift of global economic power and the changing Asian geopolitical pattern, India should cooperate with neighbouring countries and reduce its own persecution mania," it said.

China successfully conducted its first ground-based mid-course ballistic missile interception experiment in January 2010, becoming the second country in the world to conduct this kind of missile defence test, the local media pointed out.

These views, mostly fuelled by experts connected to China's ministry of defence, were different in tone and content from comments made by the foreign affairs ministry on Thursday. The foreign affairs ministry said China was for "cooperative partnership" with India as it was not a rival.

Agni-V: China tries to provoke Agni-V fear, says it can hit Europe - The Times of India

Chinese response?

Let me think,......nothing!

Should china feel threatened? Well, not really. You have to remeber, from the day one of chinese nuclear force, China has been confronting with most powerful countries in the world: USA and then USSR. Comparing to their 5000+ missles forces, india's ICBM is really nothing.

Both china and india are carrying nuclear deterrence policy which neither of them have capacity and intention to start a nuclear war proactively.

So, you should come back and ask the chinese feeling after india got 1000 ICBM.

^^

Fear mongering, as usual. PRC is scared, now they want to scare others to, in the vain hope someone will put a cap on India's missile programme. It ain't happening.

Agni-5 can hit Europe, yeah, probably western Kazakhstan or the Orenburg region. Technically, that is in Europe. :lol:

Just a perspective. The geodesic distance from Delhi to London is 6713 km. Sorry, Agni-5 wasn't designed to threaten UK, or for that matter even Central Europe or Russia (even if part of it comes in range). It is designed keeping PRC in mind.

I think most world capitals understand that, and hence, this stoic silence (or lack of criticism of India).

Let PRC bark!

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
Agni-V: China tries to provoke Agni-V fear, says it can hit Europe
CCTV even questioned India's infrastructure capabilities. "The missile weighs 50 tonnes. It has no suitable loading vehicle to transport it. Due to India's poor infrastructure, the country's bridges and roads cannot bear the weight of the missile". "So far, it can only be launched from a fixed position. Even though it was successful, it will take a long time to build an operational missile force," it said.
after reading that paragraph i literally falled from my chair, can't stop laughing.. :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

China successfully conducted its first ground-based mid-course ballistic missile interception experiment in January 2010, becoming the second country in the world to conduct this kind of missile defence test, the local media pointed out.
china is the 4th country i guess.. USA, RUSSIA AND ISRAEL already have missile defense shields. even India has a developed/developing it's own missile shield..

India does not posses high-precision guidance system. To make up for the shortfall, it has to buy it from US and from Russia. These counties may be reluctant to sell their most advanced technology
:rofl: :rofl:

correct me if i am wrong, AGNI 5 contains indigenous ring Laser Gyros based high accuracy INS (RINS) and Micro Navigation System (MINGS) developed by DRDO itself :D i think these also has been test fired in agni-4.. right?

pi314159

It is equally interesting to watch how India reacts to Chines reaction:)

Now I am reacting to your reaction to how Indians have reacted to the Chinese reaction to the Agni-5 test.

After reading this, if you get a headache, quit reacting! :thumb:

pi314159

Now I am reacting to your reaction to how Indians have reacted to the Chinese reaction to the Agni-5 test.

After reading this, if you get a headache, quit reacting! :thumb:
I do feel dizzy after reading your thing, so quit reacting as you kindly recommend.

what the ................ :D

On a par with China, India didn't inform neighbour about launch

India did not formally inform China about the launch of its intermediate-range ballistic missile Agni-5 from the Odisha coast yesterday, although it did notify all the other big powers about the event. According to government officials, who spoke on condition of anonymity, China was the only permanent member of the UN Security Council that Delhi did not speak to about the launch.

In fact, in the wake of the highly successful test that makes India the only developing country on a par with other missile powers like the US, China, Russia and France, and brings most of China under its radar, the ministry of external affairs continues to deliberately down-play the event. The Agni-V launch finds no mention at all on its website.

The officials pointed out that a general notice to marine traffic (NOTAM) had been issued and certainly with the Indian media widely talking about it, "there was nothing secret about the launch of the Agni-5."

Delhi's refusal to beat its chest is part of its recent pragmatic approach to foreign and security affairs, borrowed from the Deng Xiaoping school of thought, that it should keep its head down while pursuing a goal of making India a country to be reckoned with, which includes the maintenance of high economic growth.

According to Srikanth Kondapalli, professor of Chinese studies at the Jawaharlal Nehru University in Delhi, "Even if you have hundreds of Agni-5 missiles, the fact is that a nuclear weapon is a political weapon, it is a deterrent, it is never going to be used. However, the successful launch of the missile demonstrates to the Chinese that if you cross the red lines, India will have to think twice."

That is why, government officials said, Delhi would continue to engage with the Chinese government as if it were business as usual. "The Chinese respect strength. We are not here to poke each other in the eye, but to continue to engage as equals," one official said.

The officials, who said they were happy that missile man and Defence Research and Development Organisation chief V K Saraswat had been much more restrained in his reactions this time, noted he had said the Agni-5 needed a couple of more validation tests.

Over the next three months, Indian and Chinese officials and experts will meet on three occasions to talk about diverse issues, from a conversation on trans-border rivers and consular matters, as well as a maritime dialogue in which everything from deep sea mining to keeping the Indian Ocean lanes secure and free for trade traffic.

The decision to keep the Chinese engaged flows from the highest echelons, from none other than National Security Adviser Shivshanker Menon, former foreign secretary and China hand. At the same time, Delhi has decided to ramp up its engagement with the US and Japan, both powers keenly interested in the rise of the East Asian power.

Only a few days ago, US pointperson on China Kurt Campbell concluded a dialogue on East Asia with his Indian counterpart in the MEA, Gautam Bambawale. Both sides discussed a range of issues from Myanmar to the failed North Korean missile test to the transition of power in Beijing this year.

The US, of course, describes its interest in Asia as a "strategic pivot," while India, much more reticent, prefers the 'Look East' umbrella designation.

Besides the East Asia dialogue, now in its fifth round and having lasted more than two years, and in which officials from the ministry of defence, as well as the National Security Council Secretariat participate, the deepening India-US engagement can be seen in the upcoming trialogue with Japan, slated for next week in Tokyo.

No wonder US State Department spokesperson Mark Toner said he wasn't surprised by India's Agni-5 test launch, admitting the US had known beforehand. India has a solid non-proliferation record, Toner added, and engages with the international community on non-proliferation issues, in what amounted to a thinly-veiled endorsement of India's missile test.

Russia's Pravda newspaper, once the official organ of the state but now privately owned, noted that India was now 'capable of striking Beijing and Shanghai,' while Germany's Deutsche Welle news-site described the Indian military as making "strategic strides."

The international reaction was in sharp contrast to the angry positions taken by some of the Chinese media, notably the Global Times, widely stated to reflect the more nationalist as well as righteous positions mostly articulated in China's powerful People's Liberation Army (PLA).

A cartoon in the Global Times, illustrated by Liu Rui and called 'Fire from the Sky,' probably best captures this nationalist mood. The cartoon depicts a missile with the Indian flag on it that has crash-landed on an ocean bed, while a startled mermaid is busy protecting sundry whales and other ocean life.

Kondapalli noted that the official Chinese reaction to India's missile test was fully restrained and mature (both countries are "emerging powers, we are not rivals, we are cooperative partners," said spokesman Liu Weimin) and described the contradiction as the "turbulence of a rising country."

At a time of shifting power equations in Beijing, the Communist Party of China's general secretary-designate Xi Jinping, as well as outgoing general secretary Hu Jintao, will be the only two civilians in China's all-powerful Central Military Commission, Kondapalli said, pointing out that China's generals will continue to dominate a section of the rhetoric for some time to come.

The PLA is believed to have its own ballistic missile programme and is said to have considerably aided both Pakistan and North Korea in the creation of their own missile programmes. That is why the failure of the recent North Korean missile launch is "so interesting," the anonymous Indian officials said.

But they also admitted that India should look carefully at the patronising tone adopted by newspapers such as the Global Times, instead of dismissing them out of hand.

In a widely-quoted article called 'India being swept up by missile delusion,' the newspaper said, "China understands the Indian desire to catch up with China. China, as the most appropriate strategic target for India, is willing to take India as a peaceful competitor.

Adding: "Due to historical reasons, China and India are sensitive toward each other. But objectively speaking, China does not spend much time guarding against India, while India focuses a lot of attention on China. China hopes India will remain calm, as this would be beneficial to both giants."

India is sending out a message. The message is that PRC should not be a PMoUNSCwV, and that India is just behind PRC and is poised to catch up any time in the foreseeable future, and that India does not give a tuppence about what PRC thinks, and that PRC's importance to India is insignificant. Whether intentional or otherwise, this message is going out, and I am pretty damn happy about it!

Great going!

PMoUNSCwV - Permanent Member of UN Security Council with Veto

asianobserve

India did not formally inform China about the launch of its intermediate-range ballistic missile Agni-5 from the Odisha coast yesterday, although it did notify all the other big powers about the event. According to government officials, who spoke on condition of anonymity, China was the only permanent member of the UN Security Council that Delhi did not speak to about the launch.

Expect China to ask ISI to do something spectacular against Indian targets using proxies... The Chinese strategy is to preoccupy India with Pakistani-sourced headaches...

(Just my thoughts)

^^

I don't see anyone disagreeing with you. This has been PRC's strategy since a long time.