Kamra Air Force base in Pakistan under siege

From the Dawn

Eight militants killed in Kamra airbase attack: PAF officials | DAWN.COM

PAF officials confirmed that all eight attackers have been killed. One Pakistani soldier also lost his life in the attack, confirmed officials.
The base has been cleared. The operation has been completed," a PAF spokesman said.
The gunmen disguised themselves in uniforms and got inside the facility will renew questions about security, particularly at a base which has been attacked twice before.
"Other miscreants then fired RPGs from outside the base boundary wall. As a result one PAF aircraft got damaged," the air force said in a statement.
Base commander, Air Commodore Muhammad Azam, who led the operation against the attackers, was wounded, but is in stable condition, said the spokesman.One other security official also received injuries.
Officials also said that one of aircraft at the base was damaged in the attack, which appeared to have been targeted at the PAF's fighter jets parked at the Minhas base. Air Force officials confirmed that over 30 planes parked, including state-of-the-art JF-17 Thunder fighter jets.
During the search operation, the officials disabled two landmines which were planted in the area.
The militants were reported to have attacked the base from Pind Salman Makhan village at around 2:30 am, sources said. When security officials at the check-post attempted to halt them, the militants opened fire. An intense gun battle lasting hours followed. Commandos of the Army and PAF were engaged in the operation against the attackers.

The foreign hand has been pointed as expected

Involvement of foreign elements cannot be ruled out: Qamar | DAWN.COM

The Federal Defence Minister Naveed Qamar said on Thursday that minimum loss of life and elimination of terrorists on Kamra airbase show that this was not a security failure, DawnNews reported.

While talking to the media in Islamabad, Naveed Qamar said that the terrorist took advantage of one of the most revered Ramazan nights to attack Kamra airbase.

Moreover, he said that in an attack on airbase, no terrorists were caught alive, all have been killed.

According to the sources, Eight to nine terrorists were killed during the operation, while, a security official was also killed, he added.

"Security measures can be taken to a certain extant, however, the involvement of foreign elements cannot be ruled out," said Qamar.

Furthermore, he said we will consider relocation of Kamra as the airbase is located in an urban center which creates security issues.

On the 10th of August Media had reported about Intelligence agencies were forecasting terror act on PAF Bases.

Threat alerts: 'Terrorists planning attack on PAF base' – The Express Tribune

The Tehreek-i-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) is planning attacks on the Pakistan Air Force Base and other military and security establishments in Lahore before Eid, according to intelligence reports received by the Home Department.
The intelligence reports, which have been forwarded to the inspector general of Punjab Police and other officials concerned, stated that at least two TTP teams had made arrangements for attacks in revenge for the killing of Ghaffar Qaiserani alias Saifullah, an alleged TTP leader, in a shootout with the police at Dera Ghazi Khan on August 1.
According to one report, members of the Qari Yasin Group, initially a part of the Harkatul Mujahideen, which started in the Punjab and was later based in Miranshah in North Waziristan, were planning to attack the PAF base and installations near the PAF Market on Ramazan 27 or 28 (August 21 or 22).
Another stated that a team led by Qari Aslam alias Ustad of the Moavia Group, also based in Miranshah, was also planning terrorist attacks towards the end of Ramazan. Their main target was likely to be the PAF base, or other security establishments like the offices of the Inter Service Intelligence (ISI), Military Intelligence (MI), Intelligence Bureau or Counter Terrorism Department. Reconnaissance of the targets has already been done, the report states.

It stated that the plots had been financed by the kidnapping of some doctors from Taunsa Sharif, Dera Ghazi Khan, which had netted Rs2.5 million in ransom,
Despite these warnings the attack could take place resulting in destruction of one aircraft.

So it takes Pakistani Rupees 25 Lakhs to attack an Air Base. Damn cheap

Predator

These were all home grown terrorists, trying to find "foreign elements" is a diversion to save face

Predator

Becoz there are terrorist sympathizer within the PAF, the terrorists crossed 3 barriers without being challenged, PAF TTP bhai bhai
chor chor maursere bhai. In this case freedom fighters, paf mausere bhai

Some comments form Pakistanis on this attack...............

Haider · 6 hours ago
May the departed souls rest in peace. Salute to the soldiers who laid down their lives. Whether or not one fully agrees with this war, there is no escaping the fact the soldiers fighting the war represent ME as a Pakistani and I need to be firmly standing behind them.
+52
Irfan Ullah · 4 hours ago
Pakistan Air force Men proved that they cant be defeated by such coward activities. we pride to have such brave forces....
Irfan Ullah Bsc Student Peshawar university
+42
Javed · 4 hours ago
This incident again shows that these militants/Taliban are waging a war against the country and its people and attempting to damage its strategic assets/institutions and weaken the country. They are enemy No. 1 of our beloved country and our people and therefore we should collectively stand up against them to eliminate them from the face of the earth so that peace, tranquility and prosperity return to the country.
+36
Furqan Ali 64p · 4 hours ago
Good job done by SSG and PAF commandos. They handled this attach very well and proved that they learnt a lot from Mehran base incident!
+30
Ali · 6 hours ago
Now the Zaid Hamid "type" conspiracy theorist will blame India, Zionist and USA for this attack...
4 replies · active less than 1 minute ago
Destroy zionism · 1 hour ago
who gave them sophisticated weappons?????????????????????
Farhan · 2 hours ago
Dear kid, you aren't aware of the circumstances. Grow up!
Asad · less than 1 minute ago
Are you saying they ( India, zionist and USA) are not behind it???
Dua Goh · 2 hours ago
What is wrong with this 'type', if I may ask?
+30
Badar · 6 hours ago
Pakistan's enemies are very dedicated. They need to be defeated at all costs. We all should be thankful to those security forces men who laid their lives today so Pakistan is safe. We should all pray for them and their families.
1 reply · active 1 hour ago
+4
Sadam Shahzad · 2 hours ago
thankss bro.. apke duaye chahiay
+24
Moiz · 5 hours ago
It is next to impossible to stop fanatic attacks. Well done PAF. Allah has been very kind. May Allah keep all of Pakistan safe from fanatics, terrorists, extremists and their foreign Masters.
+16
Tauseef · 6 hours ago
Job Well Done by our soldiers. Pak Army Zindabad
+14
orion · 5 hours ago
When is it going to end? How is it possible forjust seven militants to enter a highly secure facilit y?Is Pakistan loosing its battle against these militant pigs?People of Pakistan are you just going to standby and watch your country getting picked apart by these militant pigs? Stand up fight back with brute force because that is the only language bullies understand.Now is not the time to offer the other cheek, too much innocent blood has been shed, too many brothers, sisters,husbands and sons have lost their lives in fighting this enemy from within.
2 replies · active 1 hour ago
+6
@imy · 2 hours ago
A house divided among itself cannot stand...we need to stand united to overcome this difficult phase
+3
Shafi · 1 hour ago
Follow Jinnah's path "UNITY FAITH AND DISCIPLINE".
+12
Waqas · 4 hours ago
Still not the time to take effective action against the extremist elements in our society - wherever they may be?

Isn't it time to shed hatred against those who may disagree or have a different opinion/belief?

Isn't it time to realize that we are at war?

I'd implore to the nation to filter out the extremist elements or people with extremist thoughts among us and say no to their banter - wherever they may be.

May Allah save and protect our Country.
+10
Yawar · 6 hours ago
I think we are the only country in the world that protects the privacy of those that threaten our national security. Please change this norm. Make public as much information on the attackers as possible. We need to know exactly who the enemy is.
+9
Dawood Murtaza · 2 hours ago
What worries me who provides logistic support, training, guidance map, Ordnance records and transport facilitites to these terrorists?
I am more concerned about training provided to these terrorists, with this training they can hold specialy trained SSG and Commandos for hours. Use of armed forces unform is another area of concern. Forces should adopt electronic entry system like Chip & Pin entry cards verified through machine reading and stop believing person in uniform is one of them. this may create lot of hassle but bigger problems have complex solutions
1 reply · active 18 minutes ago
+3
AHK · 1 hour ago
Good questions. We never get to know who is behind such acts of terrorism. Are they from within or from outside? If the former, they must be totally eradicated. If from outside, the source should be disclosed and internationally taken to the laundry.
+9
Karim · 6 hours ago
I wish couple of these terrorists had been captured alive so we could get some intelligence on their group.
+8
Hikayat shah · 4 hours ago
we pray for the quick recovery for injured persons, and may Allah keep the sheed soul in eternal peace Ameen Inshallah our security forces will defeat the Enemy of the country the Enemy of the nation..
+8
Pakistan · 5 hours ago
Attack around Aug 14 shows a very clear anti-Pakistan force behind the attack. Has Pak Army learned anything from Meharn base? Any Joe, Blow can wear army's uniform and walk into the most secured compound of the country. What is safe in Pakistan at the moment? What Army is waiting for? Why hasn't they leveled the areas where terrorists are working. It is time for Pakistanis to wake up. Most of the mosques are working against a modern and secular Pakistan. They rather have no Pakistan. If this is our enemy from outside then why aren't we showing them same kind of spectacular attacks on their soft targets. If this is enemy within us then like cancer it has to be severe. The time is now. No more if but....clean your house. No more mullah or Jihadis.
+7
saiqa · 5 hours ago
May Allah save Pakistan.amen!
+7
tariq · 6 hours ago
Very sad news. But highly appreciated to PAF security personeel .
+6
Hassan Raza Khalid · 2 hours ago
Although our soldiers fought a great battle but the question is till how long this incidents will keep on happening............ We have got to stop this nonsense................ We are fighting which isn't ours
+6
Naeem · 4 hours ago
Looks like the attackers were handled well.
+6
Azhar Chaudhry · 5 hours ago
Another failure of our intelligence agencies..........Interior minister should wake up. Is he still in deep sleep?
1 reply · active 19 minutes ago
+4
Haider · 3 hours ago
Intelligence agencies had been warning of such an attack for the past few days it was even reported in quite a few news papers.
+6
Conscientious · 6 hours ago
How long Pakistan will suffer this terrorism?
1 reply · active 35 minutes ago
+23
Farooq · 2 hours ago
As long as we don't crack down on them completely. Just look at how we made Lashkar and Hizb-Mujahideen.
We never admit mistakes and call our country great.
Great for what? Since independence we have one achievement - Nukes...and that was a stolen blue print from Netherlands...What else? - people are dying from hunger and sunnis are shooting shias in the mosques.
Just look at this country - India is sending rovers to mars and expanding research and education.

+5
Roma Ali · 2 hours ago
Pakistan Air force Men proved that they cant be defeated by such coward activities. we pride to have such brave forces....
+4
Pervez Khan · 2 hours ago
1st of all we should salute to our field gaurds "our beloved solidiers from all three forces and police" then we should find fault within ourself, terrorist can not reach there without civilian & locals. Alone sec agencies can not do it. In other countries citizen help sec agencies. These terro. who storm country vital installation they can not be called islamist or Taliban .In fact they r not only terrorist but they r No.1 enemy of Pakista. And everyone should remember Pakistan is for us and we r nothing without it. We all should stand with our forces to not only gaurd these installation but whole Pakistan. Job well done by our heros
+4
Amer · 4 hours ago
Another slap in the face! Maybe this will make the powers that be realise the need to 'exterminate all the brutes'.
+4
Ali G · 6 hours ago
Thanks, Zia-ul-haq!
+4
Ikram · 7 hours ago
It's time to eliminate them once and for all. These terrorists have done enough harm to Pakistan. Let's get serious and eliminate them.
+4
AHK · 7 hours ago
Alhumdo Lillah, our forces have managed to end the attack. 5 or 6 militants killed and one suicide bomber. The forces should disclose identity of attackers and their source.
+4
Omar · 7 hours ago
Khuda Ghaarat karay taliban ko...they are enemies of Islam and Pakistan.
+3
ShaukatFarooq -73p · 3 hours ago
Kamra Base is one of our PRIDE.It is a thorn inthe eyes of those who want us to be away from the path of innovation and self reliance.This attack signals for an enhanced alertness by our securirty apparatus.We are realy PROUD of our MEN and WOMEN contributing day in and day out in building our defences.We are with you always.
+3
muzammil raza · 5 hours ago
i don't know how long we will have to fight a war not our own. how many lives we will have to give and take. why the legislature and the ruling junta doesn't devise a policy to stabilize peace in the motherland despite only securing their immunities.
+3
Adnan · 6 hours ago
This shows professionalism by our armed forces..Bravo PAF....Base commander was leading the operation, a great example. we must salute the Shaheed and the Ghazis...you made us Proud...GOD bless our country and armed forces...but this defeat and a failed operation by terrorists will send a message to there handlers..that even on 27th of Ramzan and Sehri time, our forces are active and ready to fight....GOD bless our forces.
+3
junaid · 6 hours ago
automatic weapons and stuff! shud we not know who did it?
+3
Usman Yousaf · 6 hours ago
May Pakistan live long
+3
fatima · 6 hours ago
Pakistan Air Force Zindabad !!!!
+2
ajay indian · 2 hours ago
good pak has to kill the taliban kudos for making them unsucessful this time
+2
ASIF WALI · 2 hours ago
PAKISTAN ZINDA BAD PAINDA BAD
+2
Asim · 3 hours ago
what kind of parents raise such hateful people?....or perhaps they werent raised by humans at all!
+1
Adeel Ahmed · 44 minutes ago
However sad the incdient, it is heartening to know that our security forces were able to thwart this attempt. It is even more heartening to know that an Air Commodore, likely (or equivalent to) the Base Commander, led from the front.

I fail to understand comments like "...if army is unable to secure its own bases..." and "...what have they learnt from past attacks..." I think our security forces successfully defended in this case. One can never stop an attack, especially a suicide attack; one can only hope to minimize its impact. Moreover, intelligence is not a magic wand. Things can and do slip through when then there is only a several thousand strong intelligence community looking after a country of 180 million, not to mention the externalities. Things are easier said than done, so if someone thinks that he or she can better handle such crises, then he/she should be out there and part of the action, not spewing hypothetical and naive comments sitting in front of a computer screen.

Condolences to Sepoy Muhammad Asif's family for their great loss.
+1
Mohsin Sheikh · 1 hour ago
The event is testament that the PAF highest ranking officers, like Kamra's Base Commander, lead every front with the greatest honor and courage. We are and shall remain proud of our PAF. Pakistan Air Force Zindabad!
+1
khan · 1 hour ago
how do the militants enter such high security zones is a big question mark. why non of them is ever caught alive? there is for sure inside involvement that should be probed.
+1
Moeen · 2 hours ago
Please stop all these fighting!!!Attacks!! Fed up from these activities!!
+1
Asim · 2 hours ago
pakistan air force, pakistan army, salute to you people for putting your lives on stake for the country and country men, thank you from the bottom of my heart
+1
Mrs. Munim · 3 hours ago
My prayers are with the wounded and dead soldiers. I salute you.
+1
Imran · 5 hours ago
What have we done to our beloved Pakistan. How did it come to this. Lets get together as one nation, lets rid ourselves of these corrupt rulers in the next election (assuming those elections will be free and fair) and lets elect a sincere and patriotic group of people so that the process of national reconciliation can begin.
+1
Ali · 6 hours ago
What is all this? Is there an end to this?
M. Asghar · less than 1 minute ago
Just one question: from where do they get their arms and logistic material?
Jainendra Kumar · 6 minutes ago
This is one of the faliure shows of Govt Policy on terrorism.
meela · 35 minutes ago
We really proud of PAF well done.
Akram · 45 minutes ago
its important we find the traitors who provided the inside information, no one can get inside without inside information.

what can we say about 'Jihad' financed with Drugs, Kidnapping for Ransom and Bank Robbery?
Imran · 2 hours ago
If it had not been the month of Ramadan I think the losses would have been greater as more of the soldiers and guards would have been asleep.
Capt C M Khan · 2 hours ago
Salute to our soldiers.
Extremists are our biggest threat we must all unite and defeat them.
we must start a campaign in streets against them and start street corner meetings to fight them.
Any politician who does not condemn Extremists and keeps QUIET should not be charged for TREASON.
hira · 2 hours ago
ALLAH bless and save our army and country...

If it had not been the month of Ramadan I think the losses would have been greater as more of the soldiers and guards would have been asleep.
Trrue, 2 AM was not the right time to attack in the month of Ramzan.... when they are wake and hogging like hell...

The attack was to tell Pakistan that they shouldn't dare to start offensives in North Waziristan against them after eid.

Now Pakistanis can live in denial and blame anyone they want.

SADAKHUSH

All the seeds sown for over six decades are bearing the fruits enjoy their taste at last.

Eiight militants killed as compared to two security personnel. Is it indicative of lesser efficiency and sharpness of terrosits lately ? or something else ?
Also the 20 Shias killed as mentioned above, were pulled out of a bus from Rawalpindi to Gilgit. RIP

Trrue, 2 AM was not the right time to attack in the month of Ramzan.... when they are wake and hogging like hell...
The aim was not to kill soldiers but damage the airplanes and possibly take a shot at the nukes. So I'd say it was the right time in the right month.

Eiight militants killed as compared to two security personnel. Is it indicative of lesser efficiency and sharpness of terrosits lately ? or something else ?
The video says that first militant, who blow up himself on check post. He got dead with few others guards who were there also got killed.

So it can't be just one or two Pak soldiers, it should be more.

Shiv Aroor is saying its an IL78MP mid air refueled.