Are NRIs trying to please their foreign masters in the DK case?

Are comments of NRIs designed to please their foreign masters?

So, now Preet Bharara have become 'a man from India'. Your surname is Ewald, so are you an american or a man from Germany? What is Preet Bharara when he is holding down the post of DA - a man from India or an american? In that case I would say only about 1.7% people of USA are American.

It is the sign of hidden racism my friend.

And, no wonder the jobs are few in USA given the rate of minimum wage there.
Preet Bharara:

Preetinder Singh "Preet" Bharara is an Indian American attorney and the current U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York. Wikipedia
Born: 1968, Firozpur, India
Party: Democratic Party
Education: Columbia Law School (1993), Harvard College (1990), Ranney School, Columbia University
I was born in Baltimore, Maryland, USA.

Preet Bharara:

I was born in Baltimore, Maryland, USA.

So what? Has he accepted American Citizenship or not?

Reply my original question - What is Preet Bharara when he is holding down the post of DA - a man from India or an american?

Calling him an Indian-American is ok, as it says that he has roots in India. But calling "Man from India" - is trying to insinuate that it is an Indian against Indian - when it is not. It is an American - who was born in India - who is trying smear India and take name.

Devyani Khobragade is shown to us as an alluring, ethereal, vulnerable young woman in the media. "How can such an innocent waif be guilty of anything?" seems to be the message.

Then add the mental images of her body being violated by jack-booted thugs, as provided by the narrative in the Indian news media, and you have a level of outrage in which facts mean almost nothing.

So what? Has he accepted American Citizenship or not?

Reply my original question - What is Preet Bharara when he is holding down the post of DA - a man from India or an american?

Calling him an Indian-American is ok, as it says that he has roots in India. But calling "Man from India" - is trying to insinuate that it is an Indian against Indian - when it is not. It is an American - who was born in India - who is trying smear India and take name.
You've made your point, but "man from India" versus "Indian-American" seems to be a distinction without a difference, and has little to to with legal facts which should be allowed to emerge.

U.S.-Indian cultural, political divide revealed by diplomat's arrest

FOR THE past decade, senior U.S. officials have portrayed India as an emerging strategic partner of the United States as well as an emerging power, a democracy that respects the rule of law and shares U.S. values. It's mostly a true story, even if the rosy view of the bilateral relationship has never entirely been reciprocated on the Indian side. But there remains a considerable political and cultural divide between the two countries — as the ongoing furor over the arrest of an Indian diplomat in New York has vividly illustrated.

From the point of view of U.S. law enforcement, the case of Devyani Khobragade, a consular official in New York, is straightforward: She, like a distressingly large number of foreign diplomats posted to the United States, exploited a domestic employee in violation of U.S. law. Ms. Khobragade allegedly submitted to the State Department a contract that promised to pay a housekeeper $9.75 an hour for 40 hours a week, but separately gave the housekeeper a different contract at $3.31 an hour and required her to work far longer hours. She is not the first Indian diplomat to commit this offense. At least two other high-ranking officials have been sued by domestic employees in New York since 2010...

The Indian government has compounded tensions with high-decibel rhetoric and a vindictive campaign against U.S. diplomats in New Delhi. Its bullying measures have ranged from the petty — withdrawing the U.S. embassy's permit to import alcohol — to the irresponsible — removing security barricades from the street in front of the facility. Employees of Embassy officials are being investigated for alleged offenses including working at American schools without proper paperwork.

Indian officials describe this harassment as a reciprocal response to the arrest of Ms. Khobragade, but it is not. She was the subject of a criminal investigation by a U.S. attorney acting independently. India is responding with investigations and administrative actions directed by the government for political ends — a tactic common in authoritarian states such as Russia or China but unworthy of a democracy. In a letter The Post published Monday, the Indian embassy in Washington claimed that Ms. Khobragade's employee had "gamed" U.S. laws to gain admission to the country. If that's true, there's nothing to stop Ms. Khobragade from making the case in court.
It might be a good idea for the entire article to be read before commenting.

It is time for USA to undo the damage it has already done and stop the nasty gimmicks it is playing out in the name of whatnots... else be prepared for the consequences"¦ The days of doles / aids are over long back"¦

U.S.-Indian cultural, political divide revealed by diplomat's arrest

It might be a good idea for the entire article to be read before commenting.
What did it say that is new?

It doesn't refer to the fact that an arrest should not have allowed w/o asking for the Acting Consul General's side of the fact. If accusation by all and sundry is enough to justify any foreign officials arrest by the police of USA, then it is USA which is the authoritarian state. Forcibly stripping a foreign official, present there on official duty, whether a diplomat or not, without concern or respect for her dignity, in the name of procedure is the sign of a authoritarian state.

FOR THE past decade, senior U.S. officials have portrayed India as an emerging strategic partner of the United States as well as an emerging power, a democracy that respects the rule of law and shares U.S. values. It's mostly a true story, even if the rosy view of the bilateral relationship has never entirely been reciprocated on the Indian side. But there remains a considerable political and cultural divide between the two countries — as the ongoing furor over the arrest of an Indian diplomat in New York has vividly illustrated.
Why should there not be a cultural or political division between two nations? After all there are hardly two people with identical ideas in every aspect of their lives, then how can be two nations with much wider and much varied challanges be with identical political goal, let alone culture?.USA, in their mind and accepted by most including India, is sitting at the top of the food-chain; and India fighting to get up in the food-chain from midlling-point.

From the point of view of U.S. law enforcement, the case of Devyani Khobragade, a consular official in New York, is straightforward: She, like a distressingly large number of foreign diplomats posted to the United States, exploited a domestic employee in violation of U.S. law. Ms. Khobragade allegedly submitted to the State Department a contract that promised to pay a housekeeper $9.75 an hour for 40 hours a week, but separately gave the housekeeper a different contract at $3.31 an hour and required her to work far longer hours. She is not the first Indian diplomat to commit this offense. At least two other high-ranking officials have been sued by domestic employees in New York since 2010...
The reporter again ignored so many facts that have come up in the recent days, its hillarious that it's considered a reporting in free media of USA.

The Indian government has compounded tensions with high-decibel rhetoric and a vindictive campaign against U.S. diplomats in New Delhi. Its bullying measures have ranged from the petty — withdrawing the U.S. embassy's permit to import alcohol — to the irresponsible — removing security barricades from the street in front of the facility. Employees of Embassy officials are being investigated for alleged offenses including working at American schools without proper paperwork.
So, when you do it is law, when we do it is harassment.

Indian officials describe this harassment as a reciprocal response to the arrest of Ms. Khobragade, but it is not. She was the subject of a criminal investigation by a U.S. attorney acting independently. India is responding with investigations and administrative actions directed by the government for political ends — a tactic common in authoritarian states such as Russia or China but unworthy of a democracy. In a letter The Post published Monday, the Indian embassy in Washington claimed that Ms. Khobragade's employee had "gamed" U.S. laws to gain admission to the country. If that's true, there's nothing to stop Ms. Khobragade from making the case in court.
It is the responsibility of the host nation to ensure the goodwill of the guests. The Diplomatic Protection Service officer himself applied for the arrest warrant, which comes under DoS, w/o consulting the indian Embassy which means DoS is completely complicit in the whole mess. So, when its counterpart in India MEA reciprocates, then say you it is not a sign of a democracy? India is a far better democracy than USA. here every citizen is considered by law 'innocent' until proven guilty at least.

frankly, except the people of USA, and their bootlickers the holier than thou attitude of USA doesn't fool anyone anymore.

So this isnt provocative and degenerating ?
He has been doing this kind of insult jabs ever so often for the last 1 month.
Don't bother.
Americans are under fear psychosis.They fear everything even their shadow.
This has turned USA into largest jail and govt. into a police state.

They have given into it. strip search and cavity search has become standard procedure.
In near future cavity search will also be conducted in conjunction with breadth analyzer to issue a ticket.

Don't agree take a look.
Police Subject Man to 8 Anal Searches After Minor Traffic Violation | Alternet

and

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-f8BWQqrlsQ

============

Cavity Search is the newest 'in thing' in USA, we the out of fashion Indian haven't yet got hang of it.

^^

Clear cut violation of the 4th Amendment, but that does not deter them from making laws that are unconstitutional. Looks like even some judges are in cahoots as this metamorphosis into a police state persists. They got it declared that NSA spying is constitutional.

Now, I hope we don't resort to blaming the victim here, just like DK is being blamed.

^^

Clear cut violation of the 4th Amendment, but that does not deter them from making laws that are unconstitutional. Looks like even some judges are in cahoots as this metamorphosis into a police state persists. They got it declared that NSA spying is constitutional.

Now, I hope we don't resort to blaming the victim here, just like DK is being blamed.
Look at it from a commercial perspective. It is all business for the prison - judiciary sector that's why.
So enforcers will never get severely punished because they bring in the revenues and hence their power abuse is so overlooked. As with everything, privatized prison brings more revenue if you fill them up with people regardless of they are really guilty or not.

Jailing Americans becomes a profitable business — RT USA
The Prison Industry in the United States: Big Business or a New Form of Slavery? | Global Research

While back, a judge was caught taking kickbacks for unnaturally high prosecution rate of normal non-violent teens and sentencing them to juvenile detention.

Yet India is considered to be lawless and a land of rapists as potrayed by the U.S media. :rolleyes:

@W.G.Ewald, what is your opinion on private prisons? Please refer to a few of the above posts.

Prisons should be an essential governmental function, not outsourced. That postal service in the US was "privatized" and the government runs the passenger trains is also absurd.

I also believe this whole thread should have been strangled in its crib and now should go down the memory hole. Ick.

Prisons should be an essential governmental function, not outsourced. That postal service in the US was "privatized" and the government runs the passenger trains is also absurd.

I also believe this whole thread should have been strangled in its crib and now should go down the memory hole. Ick.
A true friendship shall weather the tempest.

Not before USA comes clean on 'eviction' drive, which still they haven't.

There is no trafficking case on DK or India but family was given 'T' visa, which is contradictory in itself.

Devyani case: Why Indian-American sympathy appears to lie with narrative of the housekeeper - Economic Times

More pertinently, Indian-American sympathy appears to lie largely with the narrative of the housekeeper. As Bharara himself asked in his unprecedented counter to the uproar in India, "One wonders why there is so much outrage about the alleged treatment of the Indian national accused of perpetrating these acts, but precious little outrage about the alleged treatment of the Indian victim and her spouse?"

praneetbajpaie

It is India's problem not America's, so they should butt out. Maybe they should not find out ingenious ways of flouting local tax rules in the host countries that they are in. I am not surprised at the behaviour of the NRI community, I am very much surprised at the behaviour of our so called friends, The United States Of America.

If the Americans are so concerned about Human Rights, maybe they should close down Guantanamo Bay and Abu Gharib. If the Americans are so concerned about Human Rights, they should try and convict the soldiers who killed innocent civilians and women and children in Iraq on camera and laugh about it. If the Americans are so concerned about Human Rights, they should put heavy sanctions on countries like Saudi Arabia, where Human Rights mean squat. If the Americans are so concerned about Human Rights, they should at least treat their own people in the African American community as fellow human beings and not like animals.

Having lived there for 3 years I can tell you they don't treat blacks like they used to.
I won't claim this with so much confidence like you are doing.

Something to look at :

50 years after King, hidden racism lives on

http://racerelations.about.com/od/understandingrac1/a/subtleracismexamples.htm

Someone polite to your face doesn't imply that the treatment meted out to you would be fair as you are suggesting.
Discrimination and racism is refined to an art form in the great US.

Covert racism - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Having lived there for 3 years I can tell you they don't treat blacks like they used to. Human rights are a joke in India where caste system,caste based reservations, riots of 1984,2002, treating lower class people like shit happen. US still has among the highest immigration rates, how many foreigners immigrate to India?

Are you a bengali ?you match the super-argumentative,anti-US qualities that almost all bengali's hold. ekla chalo..rolfmao.

And US punished most of the people for Abu Ghraib, how is the JAG doing here for all the human rights abuses the Indian Army does in J&K and North-East?
A love experience for 3 years and still issue-less ?

Who is to blame? I mean who is impotent? Oh dear! sorry gay partners can only adopt. uncle Sam and you.

Nature is ruthless, who to blame.:laugh:

And for the rest I have better sources to get each of the information than you.

Aren't you chasing a mirage of group of humanity who are delusion-ed by grandeur for your delusion for grandeur.

But, keep on entertaining us about US and and your love with it.

It is surprising that you haven't got the minimum comprehension capability to understand what he meant and what in America is he targeting.

But, your likes would lap it up and lick it up if it were written by American think tank on human rights.

Then it would become grand and high valued comments which questions the system and liberal view and a society that can self-criticize.

Ishak ke naam pe karte sabhi ab raas leela hai
Main karoon toh saala Character Dheela hai