Vibrant Gujarat: Gujarat competes with China, may get 1/3rd of India's GDP in 2 days

Do we have a state wise break up of GDP? Just to compare which states are doing good.

Must appreciate Modi vision and work .He has transformed Gujrat into one of the fastest growing state in India. feel sad to see my own state of Punjab. use to be one of the best in India now even struggle to race with Bihar. Amrinder and Badal loooted this state like zardari did to pakistan. Both are failed state now. Feel sad for my state Punjab

Yar don't feel sad about Punjab, however, the only way Punjab can get out of the cesspool of loot is to get a party in power other than Congress and SAD, moreover, try and leave Gurudwara Politics aside. Remove 40% non-muslims from Indian Punjab and add Jihad and terrorism to it, you will find many similarities between Indian Punjabi politicians and Pakistani punjabi politicians, they all use religion as a tool to fool!!

P.S: Indian Punjabis are far more liberal than pakistani punjabis, therefore, they will soon realize the danger of religious politics of loot and plunder!!

I think all this investment figures are just part of MOU not necessarily confirmed investments. I will be glad if even 20% of this figure realized in the form on investments.

We need Nearender Modi as our PM , just look how he changed the face of gujrat...and imagine what he can do to if beacme PM of India..!
He just needs a good image makeover that should help with a good public relations campaign

SpArK

SORCERER
India Inc commits over Rs 1.5 lk cr investments to Gujarat

Gujarat is a veritable investment magnet. The fifth global vibrant Gujarat summit, which saw the who's who of India Inc line up with big-ticket investment promises totaling over Rs 1.5 lakh crore is ample proof of that. The summit has also had it's share of drama, reports Sajeet Manghat Suresh Venkat.

This is the first public forum since redrafting the non-compete agreement at which both Mukesh and Anil Ambani have appeared. The fifth edition of Vibrant Gujarat saw the brothers attest to the state's big role in their future growth plans.

Excerpts from India Business Hour on CNBC-TV18 Watch the full show »
The Reliance Gujarat relationship is not just a partnership in business not just investments of thousands of crores it's a bond of emotions that transcends the issues of the moment it is a relationship that is organic in nature. Mukesh Ambani, Chairman, Reliance Industries said. The vision of vibrant and progressive Gujarat reflects Reliance's dream of its own future, he added.

Younger brother Anil Ambani, Chairman, Reliance ADA Group, meanwhile said he plans to invest over Rs 50,000 crore in Gujarat He said, "The miracle of Gujarat power sector clearly attracts us to invest over Rs 50,000 crore in this state in the next 5 to 7 years in gas based and coal based power projects and we will accompany this with very large investment in 3 centers.

The Tata Group, which originated in Gujarat, has now increased its presence in the state with investments totaling Rs 30,000 crore and currently employs over 50,000 people there. It is now looking to give back to the state.
Ratan Tata, Chairman of Tata Sons said, "Our companies are going to sign a Memorandum of understanding to provide rural transport. This is in addition to the skills developing activity, sanitation and drinking water project all of which now companies like ours and others should seriously look at providing back to Gujarat and its people."

So what does Gujarat have that other states don't?

Chanda Kochhar, the MD and CEO at ICICI Bank said what make Gujarat so attractive is that the state has reached double digit growth rate for many years on a sustainable basis.

Clearly, Narendra Modi's magic has worked wonders for the state and investments are pouring in from all corners.
GVK Reddy, Chairman of the GVK Group to said that his company was planning to implement certain projects in power, ports and highway projects in the state of Gujarat Engineering major L&T is looking to sign an MOU for various infrastructure projects worth about Rs 15,000 crores, said it Chairman, AM Naik . "It's not just the investments it is very important to have the commitment to built the capability, the skills, the talent the technology the engineering as we know."
Gautam Adani, Chairman, Adani Group too plans on signing an MoU to invest more than Rs 80,000 crores in the infrastructure sector in Gujarat including ports and power generation.

Essar Group's CEO, Prashant Ruia is looking to commit additional investments of about Rs 30,000 croes in power, refining, ports and water infrastructure.
M&M has signed 6 MoUs with the state at a total investment of Rs 3,000 crore and these will translate into over Rs 11,000 crores in multiplier investment through city development.

Anand Mahindra, VC & MD of M&M said, " We are investing in all the areas in which our group excels."

HCC, meanwhile, is investing in urban infrastructure.

It's Chairman Ajit Gulabchand, said, "We are encouraged to launch a new renewable energy park at the cost of Rs 12,000 crore. With these two we will be able to have a substantial presence in Gujarat.

In all, India Inc has committed over Rs 150,000 crores as investments into Gujarat, thanks to Gujarat sustaining double digit growth even during the economic crisis. With this fresh investment, Gujarat's share in India's GDP growth is set to see a substantial boost.

http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/cnbc-tv18-comments/india-inc-commits-over-rs-15-lk-cr-investments-to-gujarat_512809.html

civfanatic

This is both good and bad at the same time.

While it's good to see Gujarat becoming a highly-developed state, there are plenty of other places in India that are rapidly falling behind (NE, Orissa, Jharkhand,etc.). If this continues we might soon see China-style economic disparity in India (just compare eastern seaboard of China with Xinjiang). India's rapid economic growth, unfortunately, is not being shared equitably by the population.

Economic disparity is not a new thing in India. It has existed for a long time. It's unto the political parties to do something about their states. Sadly even the emergence of regional parties formed for the cause of their region is nothing but a money spinning venture. Most states apart from TN and now Bihar have not done well under regional parties.

civfanatic

Economic disparity is not a new thing in India. It has existed for a long time. It's unto the political parties to do something about their states. Sadly even the emergence of regional parties formed for the cause of their region is nothing but a money spinning venture. Most states apart from TN and now Bihar have not done well under regional parties.
Economic disparity has always existed, but there is more disparity now than at any other time in Indian history. The gap is increasing rapidly and will only continue to increase.

It is the backward states that obviously require the most investment.

which is how underdeveloped economies tend to grow on short to mid term basis. states/cities/towns which have better infrastructure/economic policy tend to do better than other such competing places.

not only will we witness large scale economic disparity between states/cities/towns but a much larger income disparity. the middle class and affluent class which are better placed to make use of the opportunities will grab them at the first go but lower income groups will just be lost some where, a few of them will cling on the rest will linger on.

though if one looks at the larger picture the more desperate people who earlier found it hard to make do on daily basis will just slightly have it better with rising incomes since there eventually will be some trickle down effect, remember china pulled 100s and millions out of poverty but those 100s of millions are just slightly doing it better but still better than an absolutely desperate situation.

over all the social tension will stay the way we witness it today, though one would like to imagine when the real trickle down effect starts those social tensions will also ease out, but yes with widening gap in incomes india could see a rise in crime rate in its cities/towns as is now seen in south africa/brazil.

civfanatic

which is how underdeveloped economies tend to grow on short to mid term basis. states/cities/towns which have better infrastructure/economic policy tend to do better than other such competing places.

not only will we witness large scale economic disparity between states/cities/towns but a much larger income disparity. the middle class and affluent class which are better placed to make use of the opportunities will grab them at the first go but lower income groups will just be lost some where, a few of them will cling on the rest will linger on.

though if one looks at the larger picture the more desperate people who earlier found it hard to make do on daily basis will just slightly have it better with rising incomes since there eventually will be some trickle down effect, remember china pulled 100s and millions out of poverty but those 100s of millions are just slightly doing it better but still better than an absolutely desperate situation.

over all the social tension will stay the way we witness it today, though one would like to imagine when the real trickle down effect starts those social tensions will also ease out, but yes with widening gap in incomes india could see a rise in crime rate in its cities/towns as is now seen in south africa/brazil.
Yes, I understand that is how all developing countries grow. You are talking about the Kuznets curve.

The problem is that India is doing something unprecedented. No democratic nation with such a large population has experienced such a widescale change in such a short amount of time. Such changes among a massive population are bound to have major social ramifications. Even China, with its authoritarian government, has not been free from the social ramifications of sudden economic change.

Although you could say many bad things about the era of Nehruvian socialism and the "Hindu" rate of growth, one good thing during that time was the relative level of social stability, economic inequality, and crime. Now, although India's economy is burgeoning, social tensions will increase at a rate more or less equal to the economic growth rate. You could almost use the Kuznets curve to describe social tension as well as economic inequality. Right now, I think of India as a champagne bottle being shaked constantly. If we shake it too hard, it might burst.

I am not against the growth of India's economy, and I am certainly glad to see people's lives across India being transformed. But we must also be ready to deal with the social ramifications that rapid economic growth brings. Right now, I am not sure if our "democratic" government is up to that challenge.

Gujrat is a perfect example of what happens after strong leadership, difficult decisions and a reign finally free of leg pulling from all directions.

Yes, I understand that is how all developing countries grow. You are talking about the Kuznets curve.

The problem is that India is doing something unprecedented. No democratic nation with such a large population has experienced such a widescale change in such a short amount of time. Such changes among a massive population are bound to have major social ramifications. Even China, with its authoritarian government, has not been free from the social ramifications of sudden economic change.

Although you could say many bad things about the era of Nehruvian socialism and the "Hindu" rate of growth, one good thing during that time was the relative level of social stability, economic inequality, and crime. Now, although India's economy is burgeoning, social tensions will increase at a rate more or less equal to the economic growth rate. You could almost use the Kuznets curve to describe social tension as well as economic inequality. Right now, I think of India as a champagne bottle being shaked constantly. If we shake it too hard, it might burst.

I am not against the growth of India's economy, and I am certainly glad to see people's lives across India being transformed. But we must also be ready to deal with the social ramifications that rapid economic growth brings. Right now, I am not sure if our "democratic" government is up to that challenge.
yes absolutely and thanks for pointing out kuznets curve, but the solution is not in stepping back or putting the brakes on the pace of economic progress but on the contrary make the process universal and in here if the other states join in, it could lead to a very healthy and a competitive competition but in a democracy with different political outfits come differing ideologies and so some catch the bus others remain bystanders and onlookers. now MP and karnataka too want to get this thing going and they are doing their bit in their respective states, but where are the others given when no one is stopping them, in fact if not more they should have atleast have had stalls in VG and show cased their own states in which ever way possible but even there not every one is present since too many people are on an ego trip who tend to find narendar modi and gujarat with him as a cm an out cast.

but even here not every where the solution has to be the same where everyone is chasing these big industrial houses/industralized nations, every state has its own comparative and competitive edge and should work around those than do a bher chal, eg take my home state, himachal. himachal largely needs to develop around agriculture, horticulture, dairy and the like with little space for the rest since there is a huge scope around all these avenues and the state needs to emulate countries like new zealand and the agriculture sectors of china/US/israel and even then the returns will be huge in times to comes though may be the process not as glamorous.

i believe on the trickle down effect and social tensions what we will see over a period of time is the spread of social upliftment programs and certain social security programs which will be a give back by the government and try and where the effort will be to make it as universal as possible, as effective as possible and one would think the nregs, rural housing, rte, health for all, etc are steps in the said direction.

man with vision

i would like to see him as next pm then i can say we can stand with proud

tell me how our current pm can lead a nation in this age

why china , pakistan showing eyes well f modi will be pm then storry will be diffrent

but i know modi can never be pm in india because of dirty poltics

good keep going modi
If Modi were to elect as the PM, Pakistan would be wetting its pants day and night if terrorists were to ever even consider a strike in India during Modi regime. Being a CM, the man has turned Gujarat's coastal defenses (with coastal police and patrols etc) into a fortress post 26/11. Imagine what the man would do if he becomes the PM.. he'd make even Chinese think a dozen times before sending PLA on "motorcycle rides" again..LOLZ. As for the "other angle" of Pakistanis showing eyes, they have no right to after the fact that no minority wants to live in Pakistan. Beheading, forced conversions etc are the norm in Pakistan when in 2008 50,000 Hindus and Sikhs came via Rajasthan hiding in goods trains (A HT report) because of "Tolerance" in Pakistan. They got no right to blame Modi and even those in India especially when the LAW has cleared him. Con party falls in same category as Pakistan so no explanation here.

I wish NE had a couple of Modis.... we would be developed +scenic beauties right now like Switzerland today rather than scenic and terrorist ridden like now.