Nirbhay to be test-fired in February

sasi

Nirbhay to be test-fired in February - The Times of India
HYDERABAD: Nirbhay , India's first subsonic cruise missile, will be test-fired by the end of February , said V K Saraswat, director general ofDefence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and scientific advisor to defence minister A K Antony. Saraswat was speaking to the media during a seminar on 'Nurturing, Managing and Institutionalising Innovation' organised by the Defence Research and Develoment Laboratory (DRDL) here on Friday.
While 2012 was an eventful year for the defence organisation with almost a dozen successful launches ofvarious kinds of missiles, this year also promises to bebig with many more plans underway. "Nirbhay will be a medium-range cruise missile with advantages like the ability of not being detected and high accuracy. It is also acheaper option," Saraswat said.
Asked if there were any hitches in test-firing the missile as it was expected to have taken place sometime back, Saraswat said some processes had been developed and there were nohitches.
This year, a major plan of the DRDO is 'canisterisation' of Agni IV and Agni V, which will enable firing of the missilefrom any platform. Another plan was to integrate Astra-IIIwith Sukhoi . He said four Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) would be produced this year and in 2014, the necessary operational clearances would be sought.
The DRDO has also carried out 50 of the 56 modificationssought for the Main Battle Tank (MBT) Arjun Mark-II variant by the user. The rest of the modifications will be carried out in the next few months. Saraswat said the Long Range Cruise Missile (LRCM) will have all futuristic features.
Saraswat informed that they had got permissions for the missile testing range proposed at Machilipatnam. "Itis a barren piece of land and we will turn it into a green area. There will be no environmental issues," he said. Talking about the civilian applications of defence technology, he said that the bio-digesters (toilets) were much in demandand there was a proposal with the tourism ministry on using them in buses.
Another important application would be the kit for detection of dengue. The kits developed by DRDO will take just two hours to confirm a dengue case while the kits available elsewhere take 24 hours. Saraswat said that thetechnology has already been transferred to manufacturersof the anti-mosquito 'attracticide', which is available in the market.
/

sasi

*Nirbhay will be a medium-range cruise missile with advantages like the ability of not being detected and high accuracy.
~
*Another plan was to integrate Astra-III with Sukhoi.
~
*He said four Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) would be produced this year and in 2014, the necessary operational clearances would be sought.
~
*This year, a major plan of the DRDO is 'canisterisation' of Agni IV and Agni V.
~
*The DRDO has also carried out 50 of the 56 modifications sought for the Main Battle Tank (MBT) Arjun Mark-II variant by the user. The rest of the modifications will be carried out in the next few months.
~
*Saraswat said the Long Range Cruise Missile (LRCM) will have all futuristic features.

Claims Claims about LCA and nothing concrete

This is long overdue, but I hope it's test fired on time.:yawn:

hope the wait is worth it.

Alread sticky thread on Nirbhy exists with this news. Mods pls mearged it.

sasi

Some sources say production line for lca is ON. But from the report,it seems almost in final stage. I am sure atleast 2 LCA will rollout this year!
~
Rumours are Arjun mk2 front turret is slightly modified from the current one that's going on user trial.
~
Some reports put Nirbhay at 750kms and LRCM at 1200kms.
~

nirbhy will be for 700-1200 km and LRCM would be for longer range.

Both kudankulam and nirbhay getting postponed by 15 days and keep incrementing if the deadline reaches

This is one of the most important missiles to be tested this year. An indigenous
missile, loitering missile with many different warheads for multiple platforms and
cheaper than brahmos and longer range. This will most likely be the workhorse.

I think the LRCM is gonna be a desi version of the venerable kh-55, half the world seems to be building their LRCM's on this very capable base and i don't see why we should not. we have already married the navigation systems of the KH-555/KH-101 LRCM's with that of the BRAHMOS so we are already at least partly in the gravy so to speak.

Bheeshma

So is the LRCM going to be called Nirbhay-II/ What about PDV any news yet?

What is Astra - III ?

must be longer range S2S missile about 120-150km range.

we know that Astra has two version one is 70 km and other is 100 km so this must be third one with 120-150 km range.
Saya do you mean surface to surface ?, should be a typo, they are planing to integrate it with Sukhoi. I think once they conduct the tests successfully, then hopefully increasing the range won't be a big task.

Saya do you mean surface to surface ? they are planing to integrate it with Sukhoi. I think once they conduct the tests successfully, then hopefully increasing the range won't be a big task.
oops it should be A2A.............. please correct it.

Bheeshma

A2A missile is fine but they need to start real weapon tests soon.

hope the wait is worth it.
Saya Ji, you mean DRDO and DPSUs are in the business of selling hopes. Selling only dreams... dream gun..... dream rifle, dream aircraft and dream missiles....

Then Armed Forces will be dream and hope forces !!

Must have seen that advertisement...... where by chance the cash machine goes out of cash .....

Saya Ji, you mean DRDO and DPSUs are in the business of selling hopes. Selling only dreams... dream gun..... dream rifle, dream aircraft and dream missiles....

Then Armed Forces will be dream and hope forces !!

Must have seen that advertisement...... where by chance the cash machine goes out of cash .....
Sir, pls understand that only things started to pick up. If you go around the world asking for 1000K cruise missile no one will sell you one, specially for China, no one will be ready to sell you any such missile.
Plus if others are selling you things you wont get TOT, Russia has never given us Brahmos engine tech. Same goes for T90 tanks. As long as we dont have war these things are good but at the time of war, when their is madness and confussion you can rely on others to support your war effort.
No doubt nirbhy is delayed but a perfect test which meet the objective would also needed for varity of reasons.
If you think replacement of Mig 21 would do supercruise, stealth and all things expected for MKI then too much to ask for without committing resources.
Look at Brahmos corporation for new version test they take money from forces as they knew that no one has got missile like brahmos.
PSU is problem. Dont need to tell you why they made so little arjuns in so many years. Plus our love for foreign maal and their flashy advs.

Other good reason is how franch provided source code to Britain at the time of war for their anti ship missile. So info can leak from suppliers end.