I propose to have new secret foreign policy code named :- India All Weather Friends.

Madhavbhartia

Hi All,

This is my first post...I was just wondering whats new we can contribute to the foreign policy of India...Lets come up with some new ideas.... I am very new to this forum and I have no previous experience....so I would expect people to be constructive & guide me...so that I can improve in the thought...

I believe its very important for India as a nation to have few "All Weather Friends". We have definately seen that for every nation ups & downs are there. Today India is in upwards trend....we may be downward sometime...similarily some other nation...so we need to have a group of friends who help you & you help them back...in all weathers....

1> Have atleast 1 "All Weather friend" in regional unions of nations
The reason I am saying that, no nation should be able to get a whole regional union against India if we get a strong friend in all groupings. At the same time, it gives us extra soft power to push for some resolution against our adversary or those which can benefit India economocially, militarily, or strategically. I will put just one nation which I think will be most prefered in each category. At the end we can compile a list of most prefered friends and then India can work more closely with them. <Hypothetical situation, as if I am foreign Minister...he he>
a> List of Group/unions which I can think of <feel free to add>
African Union consisting of 53 African states. The only African state not in the AU is Morocco.
In AU, South Africa will suit India the best. South Africa & India has literally no conflicts. There is a large group of South Africans of Indian descent. Mahatma Gandhi, spent many years in South Africa, during which time, he fought for the rights of the ethnic Indians. Nelson Mandela was inspired by Gandhi. Also They are close in various forums like IBSA.