Hindu-Americans Rank Top in Education, Income

Immigration and Jobs: Where U.S. Workers Come From

Top 5 occupations who were born in India are : 1. Computer software developers 2. Managers and administrators 3. Scientists and quantitative analysts 4. Sales-related occupation 5. Engineers and architects.

Immigration and Jobs - Map of Foreign-Born Workers - Interactive Graphic - NYTimes.com
This is 2009 data and for recent immigrants aka those born in India. How many of these people eventually got US citizenships ?

Indians are considered as 6th most favourable country after UK, Canada, Germany, Japan, Israel.

Americans' Most and Least Favored Nations
This is from 2008, since then there have been very many new surveys.
2012 Pew surveys, suggests only 42% of the Americans view India favourably and we rank in the bottom third.

Database | Pew Global Attitudes Project

Indian Americans are also considered as "Model minority"
Model minority - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
No doubt. We follow the rules when abroad.

75% of students in most Dental schools in the UK are Indian origin girls. A very telling statistic.
I am surprised there aren't more students coming to the UK for medical studies.

Manipal University now charges 1 crore rupees or 125,000 GBP for MBBS.

What's the point of this thread:noidea:

Are the Kenyans celebrating Obama's second presidency?:rolleyes:

panduranghari

I am surprised there aren't more students coming to the UK for medical studies.

Manipal University now charges 1 crore rupees or 125,000 GBP for MBBS.
I do not know. The problem with medical education in the UK is its too theoretical. not enough practical. If you wish to become a good surgeon you may benefit from working in a government college and at the same time try to work a short stint in Europe or US. The short stint teaches management more than medicine. The management protocols are very good here and so is the accountability. The problem with India is not education its the accountability of the doctors who can undertake malpractice and get away with it.

panduranghari

Dentistry == no emergencies and fixed working hours yet good income, hence attractive to girls/women.
Spot on. Its the exact point. But the entrance requirement is very very very hard. So it also tells you that Indian origin girls are very intelligent and can put in the hard work to get in.

What's the point of this thread:noidea:

Are the Kenyans celebrating Obama's second presidency?:rolleyes:
The point of the thread, as per me, is that given a nice and productive environment like in US, Indians will leave behind everyone in success be it monetary or fame. And India is bogging down Indians by not providing the necessary environment to excel and become world beaters. A point for the GoI to ponder.

panduranghari

The point of the thread, as per me, is that given a nice and productive environment like in US, Indians will leave behind everyone in success be it monetary or fame. And India is bogging down Indians by not providing the necessary environment to excel and become world beaters. A point for the GoI to ponder.
Do you not think - the people in India are purposefully kept ignorant, poor, frustrated, constantly struggling for only 'roti-kapda-makan' thus not interested in pursuing things which interest them. They are, thus, forced to just enter the rat race to become a doctor or engineer than perhaps pursue classical Hindustani or Carnatic music or indegenous art or craft or even agriculture. This forces people who get a chance to go overseas where they are not entirely sure of their position in society ( at least for the generation 1 immigrants). This opens up avenues for Indophiles (who are not Indians) from researching Indian culture and its various aspects and control the discourse. Thus digesting the culture of India and claiming it to be theirs to begin with.

Funny old world and very nasty too.

cloud_9

I would say Indians are bogging down their own countrymen.Somehow when in phooran lands Indians behave in a different way but when they are back they do 360 degree transformation :sad:

Its the system. Phoren (western) countries have a better environment where the Indians excel the most. Bring that environment to India and you will see that they will beat the world. What's bogging India down is the vote bank politics of our country plus poverty & illiteracy.

Yep. Like I have said hundred times, individuals do not matter. Systems and processes do.

hello_10

its only high populaton mate. we have new GDP Per Capita on PPP calculation for India considering the year 2012 also, as below:

now poverty of India is because of its over population. Most of the problems of India is because of its Over Poulation and India has to reduce its population only. otherwise India has around 350mil Upper Middle Class, more than total population in 1947, whose per capita income on PPP is similar to the Very High HDI countries like Argentina, Poland, Saudi Arabia etc. one day I calculated as below:-

first, we find GDP on PPP of India was $4.45tn in 2011 but its still manipulated by the US/UK since 2007. as, till 2006, we had a different way of measuring GDP on PPP which used to include estimated undocumented part of GDP also. and I remember, this way GDP of high population 'developing' countries was around 50% to 80% higher, and for the middle order countries like Brazil/Turkey it was around 10% higher. and for the developed nations, the difference was hardly around 1% to 3% by that "Old Method" which was in application till 2006. like as below:

"There are, however, practical difficulties in deriving GDP at PPP, and we now have two different estimates of the PPP conversion factor for 2005, India's GDP at PPP is estimated at $ 5.16 trillion or $ 3.19 trillion depending on whether the old or new conversion factor is used," it said.

It's official: India's a trillion-$ economy - Times Of India
means, GDP of India on PPP was already $5.16tn in 2006. again we have India's growth rate since 2007 as below:

India GDP Annual Growth Rate

here we find, "Average Growth Rate" of India from first quarter 2007 till december qurater 2012, stood at around 7.7%, on 'annual' basis, considering GDP growth for the year 2012 around 5.7% only, as estimated. hence considering GDP on PPP of India at $5.16tn in 2006 by Old Method, we may calculate its value by 2012, after 6 years since early 2007, as below:

GDP on PPP of India by end 2012 = 5.16*1.077*1.077*1.077*1.077*1.077*1.077= $8.053trillion

but we would also get to know that PPP value consider value of goods and serivces in US$ term, means we would include the factor of inflation of United States also. and if we consider average 1.5% inflation of US for those six year in between early 2007 to 2012, with considering an overall factor of just 1.10 this way, then GDP on PPP of India comes around = 8.053* 1.1= $8.86tn by 2012. and it still hasn't included 'Value Added' effects also........

again, we know that share of agriculture was around 17% in India's GDP in 2012. therefore, we find share of agriculture in indian economy, 0.17 * 8.86= $1.506 trillions, on which 50% population of india is dependent. means around 600mil people based on agriculture in india have per capita income around = $2,500 on PPP by 2012, which is itself similar to the lower middle order countries.

this way, 8.858 - 1.50 = $7.36tn is left for rest of 600mil people based in industry and service in India, with per capita income of around $12,366 on PPP which is higher than Brazil..........

again, we have news that 25% of the population of cities are either in slum or in bit better condition only. so we would consider per capita income of 300mil living in cities in low condition at hardly $3,000 which takes a share of $900bil from its GDP. hence we are then left with around 7.36 - 0.90 = $6.46tn, around, for rest of 300 mil people living in cities, the so called Middle Class of India with per capita income around $21,533 on PPP this way.

but it is estimated that out of total 600mil people based in agriculture sector, it also has around 50mil Lower Middle Class with Per Capita Income around $12,000 on PPP. (as we know that agriculture has higher share of 'undocumented' part, with that, Agriculture also has higher share of non-taxable business of India.) so we find total middle class of India around 350mil with per capita income around $20,000 on PPP which is similar to Very High HDI countries like Argentina, Poland, Saudi Arabia etc, and more than total population of India at the time of freedom in 1947 :india:

Most Expansive Places to Live
15-10-2012

5th Moscow $17,566 per sq.m.

7th Singapore $16,350 per sq.m.

10th Mumbai $11,306 per sq.m.

12th Sydney $8,774 per sq.m.

20th Shanghai $6,932 per sq.m.

29th Istanbul $4,569 per sq.m.

47th Dubai $3,393 per sq.m.

54th Bangkok $2,996

68th Kuala Lumpur $2,182 per sq.m.

73rd Jakarta $,2099

World's most expensive cities
MUMBAI: Office rentals in Mumbai and Delhi continue to be among the highest in the world, beating the likes of New York, Washington or Shanghai despite a depreciating rupee. Renting office space in Mumbai and Delhi costs over $65 and nearly $73 per square meter a month, while the same costs $63 in New York $48 in Washington and $41 in Shanghai, property consultancy firm DTZ said in a report.

Mumbai, Delhi office rentals top Shanghai, New York - Economic Times

cloud_9

ETA ?

Short MSG is short

hello_10

Hindu-Americans have the highest socioeconomic levels among all religions in the United States, according to a new study by the Pew Research Center's Forum on Religion and Public Life.

Experts say U.S. immigration policy is the main reason Hindus do so well.

Both the 1965 Immigration Act and the more recent H1-B visa program set the table for Hindus to succeed. The former encouraged the immigration of professionals, particularly doctors and engineers, while the latter was designed to encourage the immigration of highly skilled "guest workers."

The number of H1-B visas issued to Indians grew steadily in the late 1990s and early 2000s and then spiked again in 2007. In 2011, according to the study, India accounted for more than half of all the H1-B visas granted.

"The education capital of this group is phenomenal," said Khyati Joshi, an associate professor at the Fairleigh Dickinson School of Education in Teaneck, New Jersey.

The Pew study, titled "Asian Americans: A Mosaic of Faiths," bears that out, and the numbers are staggering.

Eighty-five percent of Hindu-Americans are college graduates, and 57 percent have some postgraduate education, which is nearly five times the national average.

Education levels largely correlate to income, and there as well, Hindus rank at the top of the list.

According to the study, 48 percent of Hindu-American households have an income of $100,000 or more, and 70 percent make at least $75,000.

Another, secondary driver for the success of Hindus can be traced back to India's caste system, according to Prema Kurien, a professor of sociology and the director of the Asian/Asian American Studies Program at Syracuse University in New York.

"Hindu migrants to the U.S. are largely from upper caste backgrounds," she said. "Upper castes have had a long history of socioeconomic and educational advantage in India."

According to Alan Cooperman, the associate director for research for the study, the success of Hindus stems from the type of person that chooses to leave India and who the U.S. admits. This, he said, is quite different from other immigrant groups, where there are often high numbers of refugees or undocumented immigrants.

"This is the first time anybody has had good data on [Hindus]," said Cooperman. "Hindus are a fascinating group."

this report also has a meaning that its mainly Orthodox, Hindus and Jewish who are running US's government. as, if you fall in higher income group then you pay much more tax than the lower income group. in australia, the tax rate is hardly 15% for upto $35,000 while its 47% for every dollar over $110,000????? this means, population of Hindus and Jewish might be just 1% and 1.7% respectively of total US's population but altogther they might be paying at least 15% to 20% of the total tax, the US government receive, which they waste in different Social Security+Medical program for locals, which accounts for around 46% of total US's Budget Expenditure, which itself is around -9.0% of its GDP till last year......:usa:

while its also true that this 1% Indian population is made of High Qualified professionals, Doctors etc, the cleamy layer of USA, which might have generated employment for over 10% of local labors, helping US run their industries and have high technologies. the meaning of high end educated people of much more than the amount of tax they pay.and we would look on it in a different way. this 1.0% Hindu population of US are high qualified professionals/doctors etc and if they back to India, they may develop the same type of technologies which they developed for US.....:india:

this report also gives a message to the Blacks and Hispanics that being Christian is palying a major role in keeping them poorest in US, as, even if they may convert into Muslims, they may improve the number to twice to 14% :troll:

average american

I would not get too excited over averages, immigrants especially from India, they are usually young males with degrees. When you compare that with the average your are compareing with childrens, retirees, ect. If w compared americans that immigrated to India, we would prob see they have ten times the indian income and education. Figures dont lie but liars figure

VatsaOfBhrigus

I would not get too excited over averages, immigrants especially from India, they are usually young males with degrees. When you compare that with the average your are compareing with childrens, retirees, ect. If w compared americans that immigrated to India, we would prob see they have ten times the indian income and education. Figures dont lie but liars figure
Here is what I see :

-Americans are more concentrated on other things which come under the umbrella term "cool" or "being cool".
-India's reservation system geared towards production of two type of people A) Elite units (who compete in open category). B) Not elite category (who do not compete in open). Exceptions can exist, ie to say some not elite unit might be far better than elite, but I talk about majority here.
- Elite units are generally more dangerous than their american counterparts with or without migration, maybe even chini counterparts (but I am not sure about that because their english skills are lesser so they might actually be more clever but I dont know)

Indians form less than 1% of american population. American population is maybe ~400 mil. thats maybe ~ 3 times less than indian population, so those people in us count for only about 0.3 or about 1.3 million people.

Needless to say this is very insignificant % of total , but it does demonstrate the MAX capability of Indians.... which I think is VERY significant.

hello_10

look, within just 6-7 years of arrival, most of these Indians get 'properly' married with 1-2 kids also, as compare to the 'Singles' of Western nations whose kids grow on Welfare money :wave:

and this report excludes both, kids and senior citizens, leaving 'only' working labor category to be counted. and, as per my experience, even a Trade Certificate holder may earn $70k+ after few years of experience? then why these shiits of US, UK, Australia, Canada want to remain like shiits? while we also have report that 1 out of 3 of US dont even want to work also, as they may feed themselves on 'Food Stamps' :tsk: :facepalm:

33% percent of Americans don't have a job and don't want one

Officially, the unemployment rate in America for the month of September was only 7.8 per cent, but that statistic stems from only the number of citizens who have been actively searching for a paycheck. In reality, only around 5 per cent of the adult population in the US is unemployed in the eyes of the government, because they have been handing in applications during the four weeks before the Labor Department conducted their research. Additionally, another 3 per cent are interested in work, but haven't actively engaged in a job hunting during that span, creating an unemployment figure of just under 8 per cent.

For now, 58.7 per cent of American adults are working if the actual employment-population ratio is taken into consideration, leaving about 82 million, or almost 41 per cent of people unemployed. Only 8 per cent, however, are even interested in work, leaving 33 per cent of Americans not only jobless — but with no desire for work.

Republicans on the Senate Budget Committee released findings this week showing that the government spent roughly $1.03 trillion on welfare programs last year, funding 83 separate efforts to provide assistance to Americans. Days earlier, a separate study out of Capitol Hill revealed that the number of people enrolled to receive federal assistance by way of food stamps has hit a new record high with roughly 47 million US residents. :toilet:

The real jobs numbers: 41% of America unemployed, 1 in 3 doesn't want work at all — RT

:pound: Now there is something wrong with the policies of India??? SO you do agree then that the Indian NRIs asking for socialism are the biggest hypocrits in the world?:eyebrows:

But I must have imagined the stuff regarding some baboons standing for other hypocritic baboons here in this matter?:hmm:

Anyway, I feel sorry for the NRIs, I mean being forced to find a better living in a foreign country instead of the home place because of the stupid regressive, holding back policies of the Indian govt.? I mean who cant feel sorry for them???

NO whats boggin down India is the Brain Drain :troll:. Guess we have to find out how to stop the Brain Drain:troll:

hello_10

one day I made this satement as below, which is related to this topic: :thumb:

=> Illegal Migrants/Poor Indians: if India has 350mil middle class then 850mil 'under class' also, including around 400mil poor, as they couldn't control their population. 350mil middle class of India, whose per capita income on PPP is similar to very high HDI countries like Argentina, Poland, Saudi Arabia etc is itself more than total population at the time of freedom 1947? hence, you get two type of migrants, one from the Middle Class of India who are the highest income group in US, as of topic, and the other one are around 2.4 lakhs illegal indian migrants also who have entered there similar to many other countries. so, if you find anyone illegal there then either kill him, or send him back to his country. simple :ranger:

also, population of India is 17% of world's population while US have only 0.24millions Illegal Indians out of total 11.5mil illegal migranst there, then, we find Indians are better seated in this category of US also?

An estimated 2,40,000 Indian immigrants are among 11.5 million foreigners living illegally in the United States without proper immigration documents, according to latest official figures.

China is placed fifth in the list, but tops among the Asian countries with 280,000 illegal immigrants, followed by Philippines (270,000) which is ranked overall sixth.

The Hindu : News / International : 2.4 lakh illegal Indian immigrants living in U.S.: report