Delhi CWG 2010 (3-14Oct): 9 Australian athelets caught doping

Natrajan thanks for these updates.
Are you from Delhi?
or can any one tell what exactly happenning at ground zero? are we ready for the great show?

RPK

Indyakudimahan
Integrated Security System to be set up for CWG

fullstory

New Delhi, Oct 19 (PTI) As part of ensuring foolproof protection for next year's Commonwealth Games, an Integrated Security System will be set up to cover all the venues, marking first such large scale exercise in the country.

The system will be set up by the state-owned Electronic Corporation of India Limited (ECIL) at a cost of about Rs 370 crore and would be in place by March 31, next year.

The proposal to set up the security system was approved today by the Union Cabinet, chaired by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, an official spokesman said.

"This is for the first time in India that a project for installation of an Integrated Security System on such a large scale is being implemented," he said.

Natrajan thanks for these updates.
Are you from Delhi?
or can any one tell what exactly happenning at ground zero? are we ready for the great show?
I am not from delhi but as a indian am having great expectation and in ground reality most of them are still in 50-70 % completion and i hope government wont make us disappointed
if we fail to do ,then we will never get chance to host olympics:)>
some more updates for you
:thank_you2:

AkhandBharat

Commonwealth Games 2010

The total budget estimated for hosting the 19th Commonwealth is US$ 1.6 billion and this amount excludes non sports related infrastructure development in the city like airports,roads and other structures. This makes the 2010 Commonwealth Games as the most expensive Commonwealth Games ever (compared to Manchester 2002 - approx. US$420 million, and Melbourne 2006 - approx. US$ 1.1 billion). Source: Wikipedia Link

Motto: Come out and Play

Dates: 3 - 14 Oct

Venue: New Delhi, India

Official website: CW2010 Delhi

Commonwealth Games Tamasha

With serious issues being raised for the Common Wealth Games to be held in New Delhi next year, our joker in the pack Shr Suresh Kalmadi is up to his favoourite pasttime playing politics.

After the recent spat with Mike Fennel over the CEO of the OC Mike Harper, Mr.Kalmadi was supposed to have a meeting with in London which was billed as a peace meeting. Just 3 days before this meeting our great sports leader has sprung a surprise by introducing his unilateral replacement of Mike Harper the CEO. this Indian nominee is Mr.Jarnail Singh of which not much is knows of.

Kalmadi & Co introduce Jarnail as their CEO

There are just three days to go for the crucial 'peace' meet in London between sports minister MS Gill, chairman of the 2010 Commonwealth Games Suresh Kalmadi and Michael Fennell, the president of Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF).

However, there seems to be no change in the stand of the Indian authorities that Mike Hooper, the CEO, needs to be removed from his post.

The bitter clash between the two warring sides -- Fennell and Kalmadi -- continued on Monday when Jarnail Singh, the newly appointed CEO was introduced to the media in place of Mike Hooper, who was earlier holding the charge.

"We don't want to comment on the role of Mike Hooper in the Organising Committee of the Commonwealth Games 2010. Jarnail Singh is the new CEO," said Randhir Singh, the vice-chairman of Organising Committee.

In a public spat on October 15, Suresh Kalmadi had asked CGF to remove Hooper and demanded that he should be posted out of India because he is an impediment to the progress of the games. Kalmadi had also said that Hooper had been behaving in a high-handed manner with senior officers of the Organising Committee.

Kalmadi claimed that Hooper was also throwing pens and keys at senior officers of the Organising Committee. Meanwhile, before leaving for the Queen's Baton Relay, the sports minister MS Gill on Monday visited three stadiums, including the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium that would be the main venue during the games.

"I think we will meet all the targets on time and there would be no further delays," said Gill, soon after the visit. Gill had earlier said that he would try to cool things down between Kalmadi and Hooper during his visit to London on October 28-29. The sports minister said that the public spat could have been avoided by both the sides.
Kalmadi & Co introduce Jarnail as their CEO - dnaindia.com

In the current Austerity regime our Sports Minister also gets an oppurtunity to go on a trip to London.