Urgent arms deals of Rs 20,000 crore inked to keep forces ready

NEW DELHI: India is finally taking steps to make its armed forces fighting fit. The country has inked a flurry of emergency deals for ammunition and spares worth around Rs 20,000 crore over the last two to three months to ensure its fighters and tanks, infantry and warships, are all ready to go to battle at short notice.

Defence ministry sources said the aim was to guarantee the armed forces can undertake at least 10 days of "intense fighting" without worrying about ammunition, spares and other reserves. The pace for concluding the new contracts, primarily with Russia, Israel and France, was set in motion after the terror attack in Uri on September 18.

Apart from launching massive fire assaults across the Line of Control and the "surgical strikes" on terror launch pads in Pakistan-occupied-Kashmir on September 29, the government had also set-up empowered procurement committees under the Army, Navy and IAF vice-chiefs with emergency financial powers to "make up deficiencies" in stockpiles at the earliest, as was then reported by TOI.

The 2017-18 Budget may not have allocated much for new military modernisation projects, with the bulk of the Rs 86,488 crore capital outlay earmarked for "committed liabilities", but the armed forces are gung-ho about the fast-track procedures now in place to ensure "serviceability and availability" of existing weapon systems and platforms.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...r&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Top_Headlines

That's some good news I read early this morning! Lord Anthony must be mumbling, "Yeh kya ho raha hai?"

We must involve our private sector in making ammunition. As baba kalyani said, a high ranking govt official came to him in the time of kargil war and asked him to produce ammunition. He said that he started production next morning and fulfill all order before time but no govt official saw him later. We must make some ammunition produced by our own private sectors so that we can get it in emergency whenever we need it.

What about the quality of Ammunition !

Are we still buying substandard Russian Junk ammo 3BM 42 (mango) the main Ammo for T 90/ T 72 is near obsolete for new generation Tanks with Composite Armor and ERA. If possible India should buy latest Tank Ammo which Russians using on their Tanks and if possible Depleted uranium round.

Other suppliers were blacklisted (Israeli ) while OFB make crappy Tank Ammo.

Last time several of BVR like R 77 were faulty so was Guided Artillery ammunition such as Krasnopol

Khagesh

Following is the part that was not posted in the first post of this thread. All imports off course. And just for background the WWR during 1965 used to be around 80+ days and despite the Fake In India and the 'commitment' to Indian security, the real deal is that the WWR has already been dipped into for 'raising' new formations. So those 40 days ka aslaha, are actually not really there either. Kya hua? KLPD hua.

The IAF+ , for instance, has concluded 43 contracts worth over Rs 9,200 crore for ammunition and spares for its fighters like Sukhoi-30MKIs, Mirage-2000s and MiG-29s, transport aircraft like IL-76s, mid-air refuellers like IL-78s and the Phalcon AWACS (airborne warning and control systems).

The Army has inked around 10 contracts worth over Rs 5,800 crore with Russian companies alone. These range from engines and 125mm APFSDS (armour-piercing fin-stabilised discarding sabot) ammunition for its T-90S and T-72 tanks to Konkurs anti-tank guided missiles and Smerch rockets.

"The emergency purchases will obviate the need for armed forces to present long shopping lists to the government after every major terror strike. They can now maintain operational readiness for different contingencies," said the source. The new contracts for artillery, rockets, missiles, tank ammunition and the like come in the backdrop of the 1.3-million strong Army holding not even one-third of its authorised war wastage reserves (WWR) for 40 days of intense fighting, as was first reported by TOI.

As per operational norms, the WWR should be sufficient for 30 days of "intense" and 30 days of "normal" fighting. But the Army simply does not have such reserves. The CAG, incidentally, had also taken note of this alarming state of affairs in a report tabled in Parliament.

mavles ihctep

Seems like jackpot for russians ,french,israel.I think entire defence apparatus is corrupt to core in our country. what is the purpose of spending huge amount of money in ofb,drdo,hal when they r not doing their work.

Russians r sucking us dry again, we paid huge amount of money to russians for tot of T90.In the end they forced us to directly import t90s from russia.Now we r importing even ammunition for T90.seems like entire army top brass is still working for russian KGB.

Until we get rid of russians agents in our defence establishment ,we can't improve our domestic defence industry

Khagesh

Seems like jackpot for russians ,french,israel.I think entire defence apparatus is corrupt to core in our country. what is the purpose of spending huge amount of money in ofb,drdo,hal when they r not doing their work.

Russians r sucking us dry again, we paid huge amount of money to russians for tot of T90.In the end they forced us to directly import t90s from russia.Now we r importing even ammunition for T90.seems like entire army top brass is still working for russian KGB.

Until we get rid of russians agents in our defence establishment ,we can't improve our domestic defence industry
No.

Until we make in India. I mean Make not Fake.

You can get rid of the Russians but then the French and the Americans and Brits will take their space, with the spanish lurking in the alley.

charlie

Following is the part that was not posted in the first post of this thread. All imports off course. And just for background the WWR during 1965 used to be around 80+ days and despite the Fake In India and the 'commitment' to Indian security, the real deal is that the WWR has already been dipped into for 'raising' new formations. So those 40 days ka aslaha, are actually not really there either. Kya hua? KLPD hua.

The IAF+ , for instance, has concluded 43 contracts worth over Rs 9,200 crore for ammunition and spares for its fighters like Sukhoi-30MKIs, Mirage-2000s and MiG-29s, transport aircraft like IL-76s, mid-air refuellers like IL-78s and the Phalcon AWACS (airborne warning and control systems).

The Army has inked around 10 contracts worth over Rs 5,800 crore with Russian companies alone. These range from engines and 125mm APFSDS (armour-piercing fin-stabilised discarding sabot) ammunition for its T-90S and T-72 tanks to Konkurs anti-tank guided missiles and Smerch rockets.

"The emergency purchases will obviate the need for armed forces to present long shopping lists to the government after every major terror strike. They can now maintain operational readiness for different contingencies," said the source. The new contracts for artillery, rockets, missiles, tank ammunition and the like come in the backdrop of the 1.3-million strong Army holding not even one-third of its authorised war wastage reserves (WWR) for 40 days of intense fighting, as was first reported by TOI.

As per operational norms, the WWR should be sufficient for 30 days of "intense" and 30 days of "normal" fighting. But the Army simply does not have such reserves. The CAG, incidentally, had also taken note of this alarming state of affairs in a report tabled in Parliament.
well DPP 2016 was made in 2016 it takes well over 7 to 15 years to see the results that are made today, it's not just in India this happens all over the world, you bring out a policy and except it change within months only happens in Pakistan not in real world.

During congress rule how many licenses were issue ? what was the validity of the license ? how much R&D incentives were provided ? what was the policy for MSME ? How hard was it for MSME to procure finance from banks ?

It's easy to make fun of Make in India without even understand. Those contract for platform were signed in congress rule and they didn't make much effort to produce spares in house so over night the Modi's government is suppose to produce the spares for all those aircraft ?

Components should have been produced locally when the acquisition was going on, that would have justified the setting up infra for production. There is no point of spending on infra for spares now for something that will retired in coming years.

I understand your hate for this government but use some logic instead of blindly believing shit that comes out of TOIlet.

So yet again, we woke up after an attack. What will it take to jolt us out of our passiveness? Perhaps, its ingrained too deeply in our character.

As for these being imported, it's a shame but if our domestic manufacturers aren't up to scratch, there is nothing other option as these were immediate requirements. This has little to do with 'Make in India.'

The word call ' Urgent' has become so common in last 10 years that is obviously known as bahana for quick money through illegal means, Armed forces never had any thing good via these purchases, These only harmed us economically, Technologically and strategically ..

So yet again, we woke up after an attack. What will it take to jolt us out of our passiveness? Perhaps, its ingrained too deeply in our character.

As for these being imported, it's a shame but if our domestic manufacturers aren't up to scratch, there is nothing other option as these were immediate requirements. This has little to do with 'Make in India.'
The problem is that we are too damn optimistic people. Calm prevails for few months and we start believing in nehruvian delusion of peaceful world all over again.:facepalm:

Unless untill we learn that absolute strength is only guarantee for even temporary peace this lackluster attitude won't change.

The problem is that we are too damn optimistic people. Calm prevails for few months and we start believing in nehruvian delusion of peaceful world all over again.:facepalm:

Unless untill we learn that absolute strength is only guarantee for even temporary peace this lackluster attitude won't change.
It's the definition of insanity. We never react till we are hit. Perhaps we so want peace that we can't ever seem to be the instigator.

Alas, I am coming to the detestable conclusion that it's now too deeply ingrained in our nature.

We heard a bit about Balochistan, then it died down. We hear about more surgical strikes and nothing. We hear about IWT and then nothing.

I guess we'll have to wait till the next time we are caught napping.

Tarun Kumar

ISI is keeping unusually quiet after surgical strike. My sense is that pakis are planning some big terror attack like assassination of modi perhaps. IB should get aggressive to hunt down sleeper cells in our country.

AmoghaVarsha

ISI is keeping unusually quiet after surgical strike. My sense is that pakis are planning some big terror attack like assassination of modi perhaps. IB should get aggressive to hunt down sleeper cells in our country.
Assasination of Modi will likely invite a war n nuclear strike.

ISI knows RAW is upto its ass.
Pakis are of course planning what else can they do but suside bombing . But they won't dare touch modi .

ISI knows RAW is upto its ass.
Pakis are of course planning what else can they do but suside bombing . But they won't dare touch modi .
The enemy will always hit what you think is safe, why do you think the Pakis wouldn't take a shot at Modi? He is their absolute worst nightmare and is doing the one thing they can't stand- changing India for the better and making it stronger. For them anyone is better than Modi as PM.

Scrutator

It is definitely very disheartening that even basic ammunition (like APFSDS, ATGMs etc.) need to be purchased from a foreign country. Thought India suspended the purchase of Smerch (after Russia refused to honor the TOT clause for indigenous production); but it appears that India is back filling Russian coffers for the same rockets!!!

The word call ' Urgent' has become so common in last 10 years that is obviously known as bahana for quick money through illegal means, Armed forces never had any thing good via these purchases, These only harmed us economically, Technologically and strategically ..
Agreed 100%.

If it is urgent today, it was not urgent five years ago. Why were these issues not raised then? And if it was raised, it was raised by whom and raised to whom? People in the military need to foresee these things and raise it to the Ministry of Defense on time. Either it is lethargy on part of the military, or it is lethargy on part of the Ministry of Defense.

Bro, you must remember that the Americans, French, Germans, Russians etc started weapon system manufacture much before even world war I and thus gained a lot of experience. We just started a couple of years ago in right earnest except for manufacturing first generation small arms and ammo which is being made by our inefficient state run Ordnance Factories. So we had little or no experience and thus even the Arjun took decades and our jet engine Kaveri was a flop!

But things have finally taken off now with pvt participation and we could become competitive in a few years time.

why do you think the Pakis wouldn't take a shot at Modi?
Because that might give India an excuse to cross LOC and capture territory. It will also destroy any faint chance of dialogue between two nations for atleast a decade.

Plus it will force pakistan to mobilize military (in response to Indian mobilization) which if lasted for 6-8 months would bankrupt pakistan.

Also RAW will have a free hand to target porki leadership and their families.

It will also ensure bjp in power for next term with overwhelming majority.
Remember Indira assassination and election afterwards.

To sum it up a dead modi is more dangerous than a live one for pakistan.