Naxals/Maoists Watch

Should the Indian government use armed forces against the naxals/maoists?

In Europe where it is not feasible like through jungles they have non asphalt roads, well they can build roads but they wish not to do so. Similar roads can be built there. An you can even drive a Porsche there.

sustainable development means, education first. There are no colleges no school no facility to educate the tribal where they can use their talent as profession. Do they have right or only we have rights to eat beef or not slaughter cow or all that nonsense when in actual the tribals are indigenous. An innovative mind would have many ideas to develop that region.

Tourism mafia wants to develop resorts in those forests and throw out tribals as they are not fit for employment.and mining mafia wants to pay government money and allow law less mining. Now these tribals will come to your and my city and use jhuggis to survive and become eye sore and then their women will do dhanda to feed themselves.
Is this what we want to do to our own people? I am highly against such plan!! These Naxals must be taught lessons but tribals are not Naxals. We need to differentiate

who are these protectors? They are naxals and politicians. It's a known fact.

You cannot deploy army man for this job unless until law is passed, or AFSPA is implemented or president rule is there. Army is not civil.
1)
arrr, chhote chhote chhote! bro what are you doing?! buying the same propaganda that we were meant to counter? i brought your post here to put things in the proper context. who in their right minds would want the tribals to be left bereft of their belongings? as well, who in their right minds would want the tribals to be left behind us, at the mercy of the pro-poverty gangs of the maoshits & soul vultures?!

as i wrote earlier, you really need to give it some time and read what i had suggested to. you want the forces not to go there without proper gear and as you wrote........

there is lack of motivation
lack of professionalism
lack of planning
lack of concern for soldiers' life

Why would any soldier go in the jungle without proper gear. They should rather say NO, we aare not fighting our personal war. This is for country and if citizen of this country are least concerned why should the soldiers die.

Highly pathetic condition!! I have a serious resentment with the planners and officers and those who are planning this.
then why do you want them to go to places having no roads or non-asphalt roads & left to be hung out to dry without supplies and support?! its evident that we guys ourselves dont go through the posts we write and the articles we share here, otherwise with respect to the context of the recent attack, we wouldnt have been arguing on roads & development & what-have-you. most of your assertions fall flat in the face of truth, esp. in the given context of the recent attack.

this is that Injeram-Bhejji road, under construction. it was while patrolling along this road that the CRPF men were killed in the ambush by the maoshits.

the crux of the issue? the fact that the government has been able to initiate and sustain the pace of construction of six main roads cutting through the maoist stronghold area of Jagargunda. its an 'epicenter' of the maoshit prowess! and the maoshits, understandably, are miffed & frustrated as hell, which they also demonstrated by stabbing the personnel multiple times!

there is no question now as to what the govt would do! no, they wont stop construction of roads. they only have to choose between whether the personnel should be made to continue to guard the construction sites, or be ordered to venture deep into the maoshit territories.

2)

i understand your grouse regarding the mining mafia, which is also........
Because, our bureaucrats don't compensate the tribals and cannot even convince the ministers, they don't make a solid plan and model for sustainable development because of incompetency. They fool them and tribals become labours. Then they flood your beautiful cities. The girls become prostitutes and men become daily wagers. Poverty increases, crime increases...

Do we have any industrial law? NO! the Mining laws are 120 years old which we are still running.

You change the law and things in whole India will become easy. It's fucking law which is causing trouble. Nothing else!!!!

The solution to all these problem is fucking amendment in the constitution.
AND

Personally, I don't like mining. Vanvasi lands are for vanvasi people. They have their own way of life. We have no right to takes their lands from them.
It will be like the Colonial times. How Europeans killed and displaced Native American people for their lands.

We are no different from them if we see the situation from certain POV.

Then bigger picture.
however, things are not entirely the same as before....the 'protection money' has less to do with any protection, but its a JAZIYA thats extracted from miners AS WELL AS businessmen (am not talking of corporate honchos here, but small-time village tribal businessmen and medium-scale businesses/industries) by the maoshits. read this too:
There is a hell lot of difference now. Forest rights act is implemented. PESA is implemented. Tribals can oppose mining democratically and have succeeded too. In Niyamgiri hills tribal Panchayat / Gram Sabha had power to decline mining and did exactly that.

Then where is the need or point of violence.
Violence is being used to suppress these democratic institutions . Naxals are effecting armed dictatorship . It can't be allowed to continue in the name of tribal rights.
3)
sorry, the alleged 'tourism-mafia' bogey is not convincing. as i had wrote, you gotta read about the Dholkal Ganesh episode. the tribals were BENEFITING from the site-visit by domestic and int'l tourists which were increasing by the numbers. oh but how can the pro-poverty gangs tolerate it?! they vandalised the historic statue thus!

while unbridled commercialisation indeed is a legitimate concern, but IMO not seen here. there are other novel ways to promoto tourism, and am yet to personally see any instance of a spot developed for tourism and the locals having been shooed away, for in my experience of umpteen visits to forests and historical sites, i have found the locals (even ex-poachers) gainfully employed, with their homes and villages intact AND benefiting from another robust source of income and money inflow from it. and eco-tourism is a very good way and alternative solution to that end! why isnt this a sustainable development? why do you want the tribals to be bereft of economic progress and good days out of poverty and misery? how do you picture them? as some semi-naked folk going about their ways munching at shrubs & rabbits? here're some real pictures, again, of tribals, with one hand in their traditions and the other, aspiring and desirous of a better life, reaping the benefits of economic progress:

(parents killed by maoshits, she wants to become a doctor)

(kids oprhaned by the maoshits. in the background is their residential school)

this is that newly constructed bridge that drastically cuts down the driving-time from Dornapal in Sukma to Odiama in Odisha, which the maoshits had opposed & followed by the brutal attack. you think of such ventures as futile or counter-productive? really?!

while we urban snobs are still mired in debates around cash & cashless & less-cash & all such tripe, here's a village in Dantewada distt. that's totally cashless!

furthermore, wont you agree with the below stated? i do.........

We are making the same mistake as colonists and leftists that we know what is good for vanvasis and the difference between their needs and wants.

What exactly is there way of life? I think you'll find that many of them too want modern amenities, access to health and infrastructure, cars, motorcycles, bijli, sadak, paani etc. There are hardly any vanvasis left who wish to eke out a living like their ancestors (except for those in Andaman and Nicobars). They too realise that the forests are not what they used to be and cannot sustain the growing vanvasi population.

The key is development and inclusive development. Do not take away their land away from the vanvasis. Involve them in developing and harnessing these resources.
Setting up a mining op? Make sure vanvasis are adequately reprsented and compensated and not just as majdoor.
Setting up tourist resorts? Make sure vanvasis are involved as much as possible, they are employed at every step and the profits are ploughed back into the local society.
Encourage them to showcase and market their traditional crafts and the history of their ancestors through pottery, painting etc without middlemen.

This is what the church and maoists oppose as the movie Buddha in a traffic jam pointed out.

You leave them as is and naxalism would have never gone away.
i have not even touched the details of the ongoings regarding the developmental works there (lit. DEVELOPMENTAL, not devolutionary or destructive activity). i leave it to you to research a bit and read/watch.

4)
You cannot deploy army man for this job unless until law is passed, or AFSPA is implemented or president rule is there. Army is not civil.
unrelated. am not talking about deploying the full-fledged army or any militia under an army man. the point is about the para force guided UNDER the aegis of a senior-ranked army fellow. Gen. Bakshi has been to the area a couple of times in the past at the request of CRPF/state govt. to study and guide the fellows about tactics to be employed in containing the threats, cleansing, as well as rehabilitative measures to be taken for the locals, which is why i asked you to watch a couple of his vids on the subject (which BTW is not the job of a force). additionally, re-re-read your post below, and the one beneath it which i reproduce, on a similar note:

there is lack of motivation
lack of professionalism
lack of planning
lack of concern for soldiers' life

Why would any soldier go in the jungle without proper gear. They should rather say NO, we aare not fighting our personal war. This is for country and if citizen of this country are least concerned why should the soldiers die.

Highly pathetic condition!! I have a serious resentment with the planners and officers and those who are planning this.
then,

Firstly paramilitaries need to come under military oversight. Fat bureaucrat who himself needs diabetes medicine to survive cannot understand nuances of mobile warfare. Second we need bold planners both at military and paramilitary level.
read about stuff esp. that in the context of the recent attack; forget mining, tourism & romanticism or such notions about the tribals that i know are very fashionable among streaked hair nose & chin pierced pub-dwelling die-heart wannabe SJWs of european universities (no wonder the interest of french & german NGOs in the jungles of the 'red corridor' of India) - this is your homework for today. :p

@Screambowl - and then, like i stated in the above post, we ourselves here overlook the posts and articles shared by others, for i noticed someone in the preceding pages writing to the effect that using force alone wont work. groundwork needs to be done for the benefit of the locals/tribals. arey bhai, padh to lete pahle jo kuchh information share kari gayi thi................for all the just-unjust criticism & mischievous vilification that RSS receives on the forum, here's a snippet of their unsurrendering efforts:

There are more than 250 Saraswati Shishu Mandirs run by the RSS in Bastar. “We also run Vanvasi Kalyan Ashrams and are doing a lot of work to wean adivasis away from the death grip of Maoists. We have suffered a lot too; 25 of our workers have been killed by Maoists over the last five years and we have had to close down 10 Saraswati Shishu Mandirs. We run Sanskar Kendras from those schools now,” says Hemant Shukla, the RSS in-charge of Bastar. The Ramakrishna Mission and some other organisations are also running schools for adivasi children in the remote areas.

ye hi karna halwa hai kya?!

more than an year ago, an acquaintance of mine, a businessman, was on a visit to Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand via road. he was amazed at the quality of road-construction and the pace of it! had very positive interactions with the locals, and then he met a few RSS prachaaraks and kaaryakartaas as well. his words were, that they were so jovial and beaming with confidence and optimism about the work they were doing there, without care for their lives or being demonised & derided by other folk as incendiaries, namby-pambies (as on in this forum)..................and mind you, they dont get paid for the work they do! its NOT a militant organisation that some of us here are under the illusion of & think them to be & expect from them accordingly, but a VOLUNTEERS organisation (tip: translate the name of the org into english) thats committed and dedicated to work on the ground and bring about systemic, LONG-LASTING changes. and RSS isnt alone in this work. as mentioned above, Ramakrishna Mission, NGOs like Ekal Vidyalay, Vanwaasi Kalyaanaashram (in collaboration with RSS), etc., are all involved in joined efforts in this full-spectrum soft social war against a variety of inimical factors. i myself have been a visitor to one of these (the last mentioned) and seen how they run them with effectivness in whatever little & crunched resources they have at their disposal.......more below:

How Sangh Parivar Is Fighting Maoism In Chhattisgarh Through Its Schools

The most recent attack by Maoist terrorists in Sukma district in the Bastar region of Chhattisgarh that left 25 CRPF men dead shook the country and turned people’s attention towards this region again. Indian state is fighting the Maoists with the guns for decades. It is also focusing on winning the hearts of adivasis who Maoists claim to represent. With focusing on delivering services like education, healthcare and good infrastructure to people, Indian state is trying to wean the local populace away from the murderous ideology of Maoists. But ideologies like Maoism are hard to expunge and will require decades of persistent efforts.

Education is the most effective tool if the goal is to vanquish these ideologies for good. The State is doing its job. Additionally, Sangh Parivar is also pitching in to provide holistic education in the adivasi areas where the writ of Maoists used to run.

Vanvasi Kalyan Ashram (VKA), the main service arm of Sangh Parivar in adivasi areas in Chhattisgarh, runs one-teacher non-formal Ekal Vidyalayas in 810 villages in Bastar. They educate children on health and hygiene, impart valuable lessons on society, community, India’s heritage and culture, religion, good agricultural practices including organic farming and a lot more after regular school hours. “We also teach about respecting women and elders, yoga and pranayam, general knowledge, and tell stories from the Ramayana and Mahabharata to kids aged between 6 and 14. Swami Vivekananda is our inspiration,” said Sanjeev Rungta, the general secretary in charge of Ekal activities in Chhattisgarh.

Jhane Bhoier teaches three groups of children at the Ekal Vidyalaya at Charbhata village, about 5 kilometres from Bahegaon on NH 30 that connects Jagdalpur to Bhairamgarh. “The children go to regular school and then from 5 pm to 8 pm, come to the Ekal Vidyalaya. I also teach women once a week on health, hygienic cooking and about our rituals and customs,” she says. Charbhata’s sarpanch Pancham Bhoier says that the Ekal Vidyalaya has brought about a marked change in youngsters in the five years since it was established in the village. “Our children have become more knowledgeable, disciplined, obedient and smart after going to Ekal Vidyalaya,” he says.

Apart from Ekal Vidyalayas, there are also more than 250 Saraswati Shishu Mandirs run by the RSS in Bastar. “We also run Vanvasi Kalyan Ashrams and are doing a lot of work to wean adivasis away from the death grip of Maoists. We have suffered a lot too; 25 of our workers have been killed by Maoists over the last five years and we have had to close down 10 Saraswati Shishu Mandirs. We run Sanskar Kendras from those schools now,” says Hemant Shukla, the RSS in-charge of Bastar. The Ramakrishna Mission and some other organisations are also running schools for adivasi children in the remote areas.

Ridiculous to say the least, unless you have some real evidence, stop making BS accusations. I know from valid sources at among the highest levels in the country that the Naxals have more than just moral support of the PLA. Same goes for all of the Eastern militant groups.
@prasadr14 wasnt denying support to the maoputras from the PLA. but the collusion of the evangelicals with the maoist factions is also not a far-fetched idea (its not just an 'idea' as well). the backdrop to the Kandhamaal riots (murder of the octogenarian Swami Lakshamanaanda who was working for the tribals, and four of his disciples) gives some clue too.

Ridiculous to say the least, unless you have some real evidence, stop making BS accusations. I know from valid sources at among the highest levels in the country that the Naxals have more than just moral support of the PLA. Same goes for all of the Eastern militant groups.
Have you ever been to NE? Wonder how and why the missionaries never ever get attacked by Naxals.

My body is not yet equipped to capture the video of what my eyes see. When I develop such extraordinary physical capabilities, I will surely post "proofs". Until then, my proof is as good any ones here..

On a lighter note..

Looks like you haven't been to Delhi , Punjab, Haryana and UP.

They don't mean what they say. It comes from the tip of their tongue not their hearts.
you can very much include Maharashtra as well in that list :D

raja696

Om shanti to the brave. Hope today HM meeting took major decision to end naxal problem once and for all. Heard of forces deployment in naxal areas today. Waiting to hear retribution on our crpf jawans attack as well.
There are structural problems that can't be resolved in a week or month. Whether Rajnath will be able to correct legacy issues, I doubt it but I would wait and see.

Even the last big naxal encounter was a fluke, fluke because naxal leaders were stupid enough to hire all boats to cross a particular river at the same time which raised suspicion.

@ezsasa - this contains what i was telling you about earlier today. its a must-watch for members of this thread!

i have been able to watch it only in tidbits due to lack of time, but some highlights from what i watched a couple of days back:

- how maoists are destroying govt. schools & erecting their own, brainwashing tribal children against India and the Forces using shoddily published books

- the network of overground workers of maoists under the garb of 'social scientists', 'social workers', etc. one such hoarse (& grey-haired ugly hag, as is the norm) woman is interviewed briefly. spouts the same old atrocity-nonsense behind the menace.

- counter-view of the above is taken from tribals/villagers and its revealed that they're often tutored to speak the same tripe as mentioned above, by the maoists & their 'united tactical front' sepoys like the one mentioned. also revealed is that any officer who goes hard on the maoists is hounded by the human rights groups & overground maoist sympathisers out of the region (Mr. Kalluri being one such victim)

- Bastar division CRPF DIG Mr. P. Sundarraj is interviewed (man speaks chaste Hindi!)

please do watch....

key - DNA investigation Bastar maoists overground workers social workers Bastar DIG govt schools destruction anti-India propaganda.

@ezsasa - this contains what i was telling you about earlier today. its a must-watch for members of this thread!

i have been able to watch it only in tidbits due to lack of time, but some highlights from what i watched a couple of days back:

- how maoists are destroying govt. schools & erecting their own, brainwashing tribal children against India and the Forces using shoddily published books

- the network of overground workers of maoists under the garb of 'social scientists', 'social workers', etc. one such hoarse (& grey-haired ugly hag, as is the norm) woman is interviewed briefly. spouts the same old atrocity-nonsense behind the menace.

- counter-view of the above is taken from tribals/villagers and its revealed that they're often tutored to speak the same tripe as mentioned above, by the maoists & their 'united tactical front' sepoys like the one mentioned. also revealed is that any officer who goes hard on the maoists is hounded by the human rights groups & overground maoist sympathisers out of the region (Mr. Kalluri being one such victim)

- Bastar division CRPF DIG Mr. P. Sundarraj is interviewed (man speaks chaste Hindi!)

please do watch....

key - DNA investigation Bastar maoists overground workers social workers Bastar DIG govt schools destruction anti-India propaganda.
yup, i used to live in a district in andhra in 80's and 90's from where most of the naxal leadership used to come from. during those days, Naxal movement has not become so bloody yet. there used to be a lot of propaganda movies in telugu those days , showing naxals as good guys and Govt as bad guys. i sympathised with their movement until i found out that gaddar's(a naxal folk singer and leader from andhra) kids were studying in america. like i said in one of my earlier post, my grand father was a socialist so we had a lot of leftist literature in my grand father's house, which i used to read a lot.

Husband of ramya krishna (baahubali siva gami) krishna vamsi also directed a movie called sindooram (a pro naxal movie), which was a huge hit at that time.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sindhooram

let me also add.. why do you think leftists are dead against modi? not because of any hindutva plank, because they realised more than a decade before we even knew who modi is, that if modi implements his visions he will suck the oxygen supply of their movement. oxygen for their movement comes from the dissent among people regarding apathy from the state. if the country becomes rich and the state functions as it supposed to, left movement is dead.

yup, i used to live in a district in andhra in 80's and 90's from where most of the naxal leadership used to come from. during those days, Naxal movement has not become so bloody yet. there used to be a lot of propaganda movies in telugu those days , showing naxals as good guys and Govt as bad guys. i sympathised with their movement until i found out that gaddar's(a naxal folk singer and leader from andhra) kids were studying in america. like i said in one of my earlier post, my grand father was a socialist so we had a lot of leftist literature in my grand father's house, which i used to read a lot.
but then, he was a socialist of a different kind too (dare i say, of an RSS kind). one who'd disseminate distilled knowledge and teachings of the Indian epics among the villagers to uplift their mind and spirit as well alongwith their physical conditions and well-being.

Husband of ramya krishna (baahubali siva gami) krishna vamsi also directed a movie called sindooram (a pro naxal movie), which was a huge hit at that time.

any way to know his views now? that is, with time, and esp. after his wife working in such a movie! :p

let me also add.. why do you think leftists are dead against modi? not because of any hindutva plank, because they realised more than a decade before we even knew who modi is, that if modi implements his visions he will suck the oxygen supply of their movement. oxygen for their movement comes from the dissent among people regarding apathy from the state. if the country becomes rich and the state functions as it supposed to, left movement is dead.
truth. the Dholkaal Ganesh sabotage episode and the recent killings of CRPF jawans are testimony to the microscopic reflection of the above. the fact, in effect being, that this whole 'business' can be safely called to be based on & adhering to the model of being, pro-poverty.

P.S. - i believe @Ancient Indian had shared videos of Telugu street-theatrics involving tribals & villagers of the time you wrote about above.

but then, he was a socialist of a different kind too (dare i say, of an RSS kind). one who'd disseminate distilled knowledge and teachings of the Indian epics among the villagers to uplift their mind and spirit as well alongwith their physical conditions and well-being.
He was a member of CPI, there are various ideologies within commie landscape. most of them are not violent. now a days those lines are blurred and become more inter-dependant.

i see.............................................

me too same as you was a sympathizer back those days when in school, now after knowing their real motives and run by christian missionaries, i dont even want to post here anymore here...

there's a 'template' of a saying which goes like - "if you're not a communist/socialist when 20, you dont have a heart. if you're still a communist/socialist at 30 or 40, then you dont have a brain."

Cutting Edge 2

Space Power
CoBRA to 'bite' Naxals; 2,000 commandos to enter Sukma soon
PTI | Updated: May 8, 2017, 11.01 PM IST
HIGHLIGHTS
  • CRPF will soon deploy 2,000 CoBRA commandos in Sukma.
  • Some CRPF and BSF battalions will be "re-deployed" in the Bastar region
  • 12 CRPF men were similarly killed by Naxals on March 11 in Sukma.

NEW DELHI: The CRPF will soon deploy a fresh squad of about 2,000 commandos from its special guerrilla warfare CoBRA battalions in and around the Sukma district of Chhattisgarh to defang the Maoists and their arsenal.

Sukma and its adjoining areas have witnessed some of the deadliest ambushes on security forces recently like the one where 25 CRPF men were killed+ in the Burkapal area of the district on April 24.

12 CRPF men were similarly killed+ by Maoists on March 11 in Sukma.

A top official privy to the development said the paramilitary has prepared a blueprint to mobilise at least 20 to 25 companies of the CoBRA (Commando Battalion for Resolute Action) from their present locations in West Bengal, Bihar, Telangana and Madhya Pradesh to the Bastar region that has some of the worst Maoist violence-hit districts of the central state.

A CoBRA company has about 100 personnel each.

The official explained the rationale behind the move to "very soon" airlift these teams from their current bases.

"The CoBRA does operations based only on intelligence inputs and has been raised as a team of highly-trained commandos who neutralise the enemy and destroy their hideouts with minimal collateral damage. The CoBRA teams will specifically be used to increase the kill ratio of the forces and deliver heavy blow to the Maoists TCOC campaign," the official said.

The tactical counter offensive campaign (TCOC) is launched by Maoists every year in summer to kill security forces personnel and loot their weapons by catching them off guard when they are either out on a long patrol in the blistering sun or are deployed in these hard terrain areas for protection tasks like road construction and others.

At present, 44 CoBRA teams (of the total 154) are deployed in Chhattisgarh for these operations and all of them are in the Bastar region comprising the districts of Sukma, Dantewada and others.

A proposal in this regard was also discussed during the meeting of chief ministers of Naxal-hit states today that was chaired by Union home minister Rajnath Singh.

While the home ministry has expressed its inability to deploy more battalions of the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs) as demanded by some Left Wing Extremism-hit states, the Centre wants that the quality of operations are improved without the forces taking casualties on their side.

"In the present circumstances where there are no regular battalions to spare and operations by them have faced reverses, it is the CoBRA that will pave the way. They will undertake special operations to decimate the Maoists' manpower and firepower," the official said.

Also, some battalions of the Central Reserve Police Force and the Border Security Force will be "re-deployed" in the Bastar region to target special areas where armed Naxal cadres are active.

In order to assist them, the official said, it has been planned to seek additional flying hours from the Indian Air Force (IAF) to undertake more sorties to aid CoBRA operations.

At present, an IAF chopper flies a maximum of 120 hours per month which is expected to be raised to 160 hours soon, the officer added.

Another official present in today's meeting said the regular CRPF teams will be provided with more teams of expert troops who are adept at handling improvised explosive devices (IEDs) which have killed or maimed over 300 security forces personnel in the last year itself.

"159 IED blasts were reported in 2016 as against 131 in 2015, which is an increase of 21 per cent in the usage of these killing devices. The forces will have to bring this threat down drastically," the official said.

The leakage of explosives and detonators meant for legal mining has to be curbed as these are stolen by Maoists to create IEDs and the home ministry asked the states to ensure this, the official added.

Two new joint command-and-control centres will also be established in Gaya in Bihar and East Singhbhum in Jharkhand for the security forces, led by CoBRA, to launch inter-state operations.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...-to-enter-sukma-soon/articleshow/58578201.cms

CoBRA to 'bite' Naxals; 2,000 commandos to enter Sukma soon
PTI | Updated: May 8, 2017, 11.01 PM IST
HIGHLIGHTS
  • CRPF will soon deploy 2,000 CoBRA commandos in Sukma.
  • Some CRPF and BSF battalions will be "re-deployed" in the Bastar region
  • 12 CRPF men were similarly killed by Naxals on March 11 in Sukma.

NEW DELHI: The CRPF will soon deploy a fresh squad of about 2,000 commandos from its special guerrilla warfare CoBRA battalions in and around the Sukma district of Chhattisgarh to defang the Maoists and their arsenal.

Sukma and its adjoining areas have witnessed some of the deadliest ambushes on security forces recently like the one where 25 CRPF men were killed+ in the Burkapal area of the district on April 24.

12 CRPF men were similarly killed+ by Maoists on March 11 in Sukma.

A top official privy to the development said the paramilitary has prepared a blueprint to mobilise at least 20 to 25 companies of the CoBRA (Commando Battalion for Resolute Action) from their present locations in West Bengal, Bihar, Telangana and Madhya Pradesh to the Bastar region that has some of the worst Maoist violence-hit districts of the central state.

A CoBRA company has about 100 personnel each.

The official explained the rationale behind the move to "very soon" airlift these teams from their current bases.

"The CoBRA does operations based only on intelligence inputs and has been raised as a team of highly-trained commandos who neutralise the enemy and destroy their hideouts with minimal collateral damage. The CoBRA teams will specifically be used to increase the kill ratio of the forces and deliver heavy blow to the Maoists TCOC campaign," the official said.

The tactical counter offensive campaign (TCOC) is launched by Maoists every year in summer to kill security forces personnel and loot their weapons by catching them off guard when they are either out on a long patrol in the blistering sun or are deployed in these hard terrain areas for protection tasks like road construction and others.

At present, 44 CoBRA teams (of the total 154) are deployed in Chhattisgarh for these operations and all of them are in the Bastar region comprising the districts of Sukma, Dantewada and others.

A proposal in this regard was also discussed during the meeting of chief ministers of Naxal-hit states today that was chaired by Union home minister Rajnath Singh.

While the home ministry has expressed its inability to deploy more battalions of the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs) as demanded by some Left Wing Extremism-hit states, the Centre wants that the quality of operations are improved without the forces taking casualties on their side.

"In the present circumstances where there are no regular battalions to spare and operations by them have faced reverses, it is the CoBRA that will pave the way. They will undertake special operations to decimate the Maoists' manpower and firepower," the official said.

Also, some battalions of the Central Reserve Police Force and the Border Security Force will be "re-deployed" in the Bastar region to target special areas where armed Naxal cadres are active.

In order to assist them, the official said, it has been planned to seek additional flying hours from the Indian Air Force (IAF) to undertake more sorties to aid CoBRA operations.

At present, an IAF chopper flies a maximum of 120 hours per month which is expected to be raised to 160 hours soon, the officer added.

Another official present in today's meeting said the regular CRPF teams will be provided with more teams of expert troops who are adept at handling improvised explosive devices (IEDs) which have killed or maimed over 300 security forces personnel in the last year itself.

"159 IED blasts were reported in 2016 as against 131 in 2015, which is an increase of 21 per cent in the usage of these killing devices. The forces will have to bring this threat down drastically," the official said.

The leakage of explosives and detonators meant for legal mining has to be curbed as these are stolen by Maoists to create IEDs and the home ministry asked the states to ensure this, the official added.

Two new joint command-and-control centres will also be established in Gaya in Bihar and East Singhbhum in Jharkhand for the security forces, led by CoBRA, to launch inter-state operations.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...-to-enter-sukma-soon/articleshow/58578201.cms
no offensive on you mate, you send 20000 commandos noting might happen, deal it in a hard way like AP Grey Hounds did it or US way to clean sweep whole tribes.... Sri Lanka choose US way on LTTE..

Vayuputra

no offensive on you mate, you send 20000 commandos noting might happen, deal it in a hard way like AP Grey Hounds did it or US way to clean sweep whole tribes.... Sri Lanka choose US way on LTTE..
Cobra commando force is not as effective as greyhounds. Do you know that greyhounds never does random combing operation. They only comb a particular area if they have solid Intel on presence of Maoist leaders not cadres. Cadres will be left to area police force to dealt with. Does it occur to you why greyhounds is very effective in dealing naxal menace? The credit goes to s.i.b(special investigation bureau) of greyhounds. This Intel group is part of greyhounds like long reconnaissance patrol team of Lankan army. Their job is to collect Intel on Maoist movement. Once they zero in on their target , they provide Intel to greyhound commando force who then hunt them like ferral pigs. It is very hard to spy on greyhounds force as they change close to five vehicles to reach their operational area. They take milk van.lorry truck. bus. I myself shared ride with them in a rtc bus on two occasions.