Indian Sports: News and Discussion

Crazywithmath

Calm down Bro!

We are no where close to China in Football and Basketball.
Don't follow basketball but cheenis suck at football. Would love to see them play us at our full strength. I remember when India played them back in 2018 their media mocked us claiming how they would score 6 past us and Wu Lei would bag another hat trick. When the match ended their media persons were not talking. Draw with Malaysia and loss to Vietnam does not install confidence either.

They experimented a lot with the chinese super league and poured a lot of money in it. Brought in Oscar, Carrasco, Paulinho, Drogba, Pato to play for their clubs - Oscar even briefly ended up becoming the most valuable player in the world. Where is their football now? Top down approaches rarely work in team sports and in a sport that is globally competitive like football it totally does not. They can keep inducting Brazilians in their squad though - it won't matter. They will keep struggling against the likes of Vietnam, Malaysia and Thailand.

Swimming is probably the most costly in terms of infra, I think it will take a lot more effort from us to produce a gold medal from this one.

Crazywithmath

Satwik sairaj and Shetty are through to the men's doubles final in badminton. Complete domination.
Apart from wrestling and to some extent tt everyone's performed exceedingly well.
In TT Sutirtha/Ayhika beat Olympic champions to secure a brilliant bronze. Chinese are very very very dominating in TT; they just do not lose. It is a humongous achievement to beat chinese in TT anywhere in the world; let alone in china.

Badminton was also once dominated by China but now India and European athletes has cracked Chinese wall

similarly TT will also be broken down soon

Don't follow basketball but cheenis suck at football. Would love to see them play us at our full strength. I remember when India played them back in 2018 their media mocked us claiming how they would score 6 past us and Wu Lei would bag another hat trick. When the match ended their media persons were not talking. Draw with Malaysia and loss to Vietnam does not install confidence either.

They experimented a lot with the chinese super league and poured a lot of money in it. Brought in Oscar, Carrasco, Paulinho, Drogba, Pato to play for their clubs - Oscar even briefly ended up becoming the most valuable player in the world. Where is their football now? Top down approaches rarely work in team sports and in a sport that is globally competitive like football it totally does not. They can keep inducting Brazilians in their squad though - it won't matter. They will keep struggling against the likes of Vietnam, Malaysia and Thailand.

A short term approach is creating our own leagues and sponsor teams to play, mostly African countries ranking from 100 to 50. We have a bit of money to spend if we want to sharpen our knife by rubbing against another.

That aside there is a lot of politics in sports that hampers our talent nurturing, gormint job is one of the reason.

Crazywithmath

Badminton was also included dominated by China but now India and European athletes has cracked Chinese wall

similarly TT will also be broken down soon
Us winning medals/titles in TT is a very recent thing. Still don't see chinese going down in TT anytime soon. In badminton at least Indonesia and Malaysia were there when cheenis were dominating - in TT nobody comes even close.

Azaad

Just a catch-all instead of mentioning every swimming, diving, kayaking and canoe event.
Well , pls don't. There's a family audience out here . I mean how advisable is it for the British Broadcasting Corporation to still use its old acronym in this day & age & further add to the ridicule heaped on them. Same Same .

Us winning medals/titles in TT is a very recent thing. Still don't see chinese going down in TT anytime soon. In badminton at least Indonesia and Malaysia were there when cheenis were dominating - in TT nobody comes even close.
Bhai tu padta bhi hai post ki nahi? bas comment marna jaruri hai!!

I am saying they once dominated badminton and were infallible. Now Indians and Europeans have cracked the game.

Then I said soon others will crack TT also.

Regarding football you are running in circles how China is not performing in front of Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia forgetting India in the picture.

Crazywithmath

A short term approach is creating our own leagues and sponsor teams to play, mostly African countries ranking from 100 to 50. We have a bit of money to spend if we want to sharpen our knife by rubbing against another.

That aside there is a lot of politics in sports that hampers our talent nurturing, gormint job is one of the reason.
Of course there is politics; the Asiad squad selection was a mess. The FA was incompetent and clubs did not want to release players because the domestic season already started.

Earlier we used to play long ball and inshallah football and would hope that the opponent would just keep misfiring and hopefully gift us a draw. This brand of football took us to a FIFA ranking of 173 and even tiny island nations like Guam were bullying us. Things started changing after Stephen Constantine's squad settled down; we were still ultra defensive but started launching potent counter attacks - not even continental giants like UAE were dominating us anymore. After Igor Stimac took up charges post 2019 Asian Cup he tried imitating European sides - we would start playing from behind the back, midfielders would be crisscrossing and looking to dominate the opposition in their own half and wingbacks would run down the flanks and launch shorter passes instead of aimless through balls and high crosses.

Initially his philosophy did not work and many started wondering whether Indians were even cut out to play such possessional football to begin with. At times, the manager demanded too much from his players and they started getting exhausted towards the end of the match. Indians were dominating and winning by a goal against Oman in the world cup qualifiers till the 80th minute mark after which the team completely ran out of gas and Oman ended up winning the match by 2-1 courtesy of two quick late goals. Sunil Chhetri-less India went on to play with the UAE and attempted to play two ball playing centre backs on the lines of what the European sides do - the consequences were disastrous; the Indians ended up losing by 0-6. The manager was heavily criticised but the managemnt kept trying different combinations and eventually things somehow started working. Many thought the Indians were tactically too weak to qualify for the Asian Cup but ultimately they did by topping the group and winning all three matches.

Since then this side has looked okay. Defeating Kyrgyz, Kuwait, Lebanon and drawing with Iraq is no mean feat. Let us see how we fare in the upcoming 2nd round FIFA WC qualifiers....

Crazywithmath

Bhai tu padta bhi hai post ki nahi? bas comment marna jaruri hai!!

I am saying they once dominated badminton and were infallible. Now Indians and Europeans have cracked the game.

Then I said soon others will crack TT also.

Regarding football you are running in circles how China is not performing in front of Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia forgetting India in the picture.
In TT the competition is not even close. They will keep dominating at this rate - they have won a grand total of 23 gold medals since Sydney 2000; they were never this dominating in badminton. That being said, I hope we do crack TT. Even in juniors we have some depth.

As far as football goes - okay, china numba wan in football, happy now?

In TT the competition is not even close. They will keep dominating at this rate - they have won a grand total of 23 gold medals since Sydney 2000; they were never this dominating in badminton. That being said, I hope we do crack TT. Even in juniors we have some depth.

As far as football goes - okay, china numba wan in football, happy now?
Here your hero Chhetri:

OppositionRankAppearancesGoals
Nepal
175​
13​
9​
Maldives
155​
6​
8​
Bangladesh
189​
6​
6​
Chinese Taipei
154​
5​
6​
Tajikistan
110​
5​
5​
Cambodia
177​
3​
5​
Afghanistan
158​
8​
4​
Pakistan
197​
7​
4​
Kyrgyzstan
96​
5​
4​
Kenya
109​
2​
4​

More than half (~60%) his goals are against these 10 teams.

Check their rankings. Only Kyrgyzstan is below 100 now. Kyrgyzstan once reached ranking as low as 201.

Crazywithmath

Did you expect anything more from freestyle wrestling here or are you happy?
Results are on expected lines. With Ravi Dahiya injured a 20 year old Aman (reigning U23 world champion) has done really well by clinching a bronze. Bajrang was recovering from an injury and too busy with politics these days - did not have much expectation from him. Deepak fights tomorrow - let us see how he fares. Our women have done okayish but nothing spectacular. Antim looked very good; was too unlucky to face Fujinami but finished with a bronze anyway.

Crazywithmath

Here your hero Chhetri:

OppositionRankAppearancesGoals
Nepal
175​
13​
9​
Maldives
155​
6​
8​
Bangladesh
189​
6​
6​
Chinese Taipei
154​
5​
6​
Tajikistan
110​
5​
5​
Cambodia
177​
3​
5​
Afghanistan
158​
8​
4​
Pakistan
197​
7​
4​
Kyrgyzstan
96​
5​
4​
Kenya
109​
2​
4​

More than half (~60%) his goals are against these 10 teams.

Check their rankings. Only Kyrgyzstan is below 100 now. Kyrgyzstan once reached ranking as low as 201.
I feel embarrased to quote wikipedia but here you go;

For some reason list does not contain his goal against Qatar although there are records of an encounter with them where he scored one. I am trying to find that goal.

EDIT: Match report from ToI.

Also, a lot of good teams rank below 100 - Tajikistan, Kuwait, Korea DPR, Thailand, New Zealand to name a few. FIFA ranking of 100 is no magic mark.

Swesh

Haryana Jaat lobby kind of kidnapped the whole Wrestling associations and always favored Haryana and Jaat wrestlers.

When you give sponsor ship and training to only Haryana wrestlers then they only will appear in games and win medals.
ALSO BOXING AND MANY MORE sports we might not have proper arrangements for water but we have far more stadium for sports here even in villages 😈😎😎

angryIndian

CONGRATS TEAM INDIA for the 100 medal haul at Olympics

The Indian contingent displayed an excellent performance, and it was particularly heartening to witness India securing medals in lesser-known sports such as Decathlon, Roller Sports, Bridge, Sailing, and more.

However, there is an area of concern regarding India's lack of focus on sports that offer abundant medal opportunities, like swimming. If India could replicate its success in swimming as it does in athletics, we could potentially achieve a higher ranking, possibly even second place.

Another cause for concern is the disappointing performance in wrestling and weightlifting.