Indian Railways News

Arjun Mk1A

Its the chicken and egg problem. Now we have the trains, there will be basis for upgraded tracks to go along with the new trains. You can't solve everything all at once. What they are doing is creating demand. And with increased demand, they can justify the expense of getting new upgraded tracks which is the most expensive component of a railway system.

It's not a chicken and egg problem. It is simply IR don't show any interest to run passenger service as it was always a loss making service for them. On the other hand they will happily move bulk cargo as it was super profitable.

Combine with this IR behavior we have gems like Fodder yadav, Begum ji whose sole contribution is introducing 20 varieties of same ICF coach in an already congested lines. Nothing done to them.

With NDA in power things started to move in terms of Station Redevelopment, maintenance. Infact Railway Ministry decided to shift passenger ops to private mode which offload IR and also brings companies which are specialized in transport business. But IR sabotaged it successfully. They sabotaged Train 18 before GOI gave them a stick.

Railways way forward will be.
1. Repurpose Suburban sections on par with Metro. (Joint ownership by CG/SG or SG only)
2. Convert factories like ICF, MCF- RB, MCF-K, BLW, CLW into an PSU. eg. Bihar plant which leased to Alstom for WAG 12 production.
3. Make a separate company for Routes and allow private train operators to run train business. Meanwhile IR can collect money and do the maintenance.

Lot of things can be achieved with IR in coming years.

Comett

1st Amrit Bharat Train (Vande Sadharan) : Malda to Bangalore

Reactions: SKC

Railway board is doing nothing apart from some marketing (using VB) and stalling every action taken by the minister. VB is not some magical train, it's just a normal EMU using obsolete LHB bogies from the 1970s and a plastic nose cone for show.

This year, they cancelled the tenders of aluminium VB (the real deal) as it was too expensive for the baboons. So again, 2+ years lost due to babudom.
Well at least what they are doing now is better than what was existing before. Under Congress rule, they were not even willing to do that. Yes we may be using obsolete LHB bodies for now but at least we got the IP rights to it and we don't need to pay royalties on that and we can make our own improvements.

Don't be such a half empty glass kind of guy.

Crazywithmath

Railway board is doing nothing apart from some marketing (using VB) and stalling every action taken by the minister. VB is not some magical train, it's just a normal EMU using obsolete LHB bogies from the 1970s and a plastic nose cone for show.

This year, they cancelled the tenders of aluminium VB (the real deal) as it was too expensive for the baboons. So again, 2+ years lost due to babudom.
ICF was supposed to get a technology provider to prototype an aluminium trainset on their own; that project got screwed from within the railway board. Then again, I had already given up on ICF's VB sleeper but they did end up throwing a pleasant surprise, so...

IR also needs probably hundreds of VB sadharans; how else are they going to ferry migrant workers? Chindigiri does not help.

For all their focus on electrification works IR did not spend nearly enough resources on signaling, track upgradation and doubling/tripling/quadrupling. Kolkata-Delhi, Delhi-Mumbai, Chennai-B'lore, Howrah- Hyderabad, Howrah-Mumbai shd have been made 160 kmph capable by now but they keep extending deadlines annually instead!

Few month old news not sure if posted before.

View attachment 233525
See? IR is trying to solve the chicken and egg issue. First they got high speed trains and now renovating the stations. Now the public's appetite is whetted. IR now will have the support to upgrade the rails to support higher speed trains. As the saying goes, Rome wasn't built in a day. Give the IR especially the Modi administration some time and they will build high speed network. They have to overcome 70 years of inertia.

karn

See? IR is trying to solve the chicken and egg issue. First they got high speed trains and now renovating the stations. Now the public's appetite is whetted. IR now will have the support to upgrade the rails to support higher speed trains. As the saying goes, Rome wasn't built in a day. Give the IR especially the Modi administration some time and they will build high speed network. They have to overcome 70 years of inertia.
I was confused by 200kmph + trains being introduced in places with below 100kmph routes .. so I googled " Indian railways speed upgradation" and the above article popped up. Railway baboos my be low IQ but not that low IQ

I was confused by 200kmph + trains being introduced in places with below 100kmph routes .. so I googled " Indian railways speed upgradation" and the above article popped up. Railway baboos my be low IQ but that low IQ
They are going after the low hanging fruits first. Getting fast trains is the cheapest. Building better railway stations is doable because you get public support. And then once you whet the public's appetite for better faster trains along with increased and sustainable price fares, you now have the money to upgrade the rails and signaling systems which are the most expensive and manpower intensive elements.

UPSC Babu are making fool out of him and in return he is making fool out of us. How is this train any different than current train we have.
Where are aluminium made train.
You understand They are making "Trains" right?
What are you expecting a spaceship??

You have to modernize the existing trains first and gradually work on newer generation of trains.

Comett

Railway minister Ashwini Vaishnaw said on Monday that the new rakes (trains) of Amrit Bharat Express trains will have both AC and non-AC coaches, and these will be deployed on routes across the country. After inspecting the first Amrit Bharat train at New Delhi station, the minister said these trains will bring down travel time because of better acceleration.

How will Amrit Bharat express be any different from the current inventory ie, Humsafar Express etc which have both AC and SL coaches besides the basic design/cosmetic changes?