Indian Counter Terror Operations Pictures & Discussions

Willy2

@Adioz , ok , we can't eliminate Huriyat leaders , fine , but what about giving 80+ old "passive terrorist" a second life ??Geelani on the verge of hell , but we give him another almost 5 year old term .Admitting him in AIMS is ok but then kill him by changing medicine ,or by other non-suspecting activity(well thats why intelligence are ) ,tell it as he died due to old age then org a mourning and job done

Adding about Drones debate, Pakis will soon induct Wing Loong 2

1679456_-_main.jpg

Indian Army planning to deploy hovercraft on Brahmaputra to strengthen ability to conduct counter-terrorist ops

Seeking to strengthen troops' ability to conduct counter-terrorist operations along the Brahmaputra in the Northeast, the Indian Army is planning to deploy hovercraft on the river to carry out strikes in marshy areas and shallow waters.

The initiative is being taken by the army's eastern command in Assam, where terrorist groups such as National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB) have been getting active and have traditionally had their camps in marshy lands and high grass areas along the river.

"We are in the process of deploying hovercraft on the Brahmaputra as part of Inland Water Transport (IWT) units, which were on the verge of disbandment, and will now be provided with new equipments and assets to strengthen them," an army officer told MAIL TODAY.

The army's IWT units have been in existence since the British era and were used extensively in operations in Burma and Bangladesh during WW2.

Sources said the Brahmaputra passes through the heart of Assam and other Northeastern states and in the past, terrorists from various outfits such as ULFA and NDFB used islands on the river as bases. "The hovercraft can also be used for area domination and prevent terrorists from setting up base in areas around the river," an official said.

The hovercraft, also known as air cushion vehicles, can swiftly chase terrorists out of their hideouts that operate under the cover of high grass found abundantly along the river, sources said.

Of the 14,500-km of navigable waterways in India, a major chunk of navigable stretches is along the Brahmaputra, Ganga-Hooghly and Barak rivers in the eastern part of the country. These are manned by the army command based out of Fort Williams.

HELPING SOLDIERS REACH DEPLOYMENT AREAS QUICKLY

With the hovercraft, the eastern command is also looking to help out soldiers who have to reach their deployment areas quickly. "IWT units ferried more than one lakh soldiers in that area," an official said. The availability of such vessels will also help forces carry out disaster relief operations in the Northeast where floods and landslides are common.

The army has also deployed IWT units in Ladakh where they dominate the Pangong Tso Lake with its new hydrojet boats to meet the aggressive People's Liberation Army patrols, officials said.

Sources said the army may also consider deploying swift boats in the Northern command where terrorists in J&K have used lakes such as Watlab and Manasbal to act against forces.

http://www.defencenews.in/article.aspx?id=250740

Yes, the cost of missile is more than a few magazines. But this is not even close to losing an officer and I am not even talking about the cost of a human life. It takes multiple years of training & experience to make it to the rank of a Major. Add a decade to that of a subedar.

Cost of missiles vary but a Milan2T costs around 40 lacs, Konkurs M about 1.6 crore and as per some reports, TOW2B costs 40 lacs as well.

They don't engage until they cross a certain threshold or else their families don't get paid in Pakistan.
Milan 2T costs just over 20lacs. Konkurs-M costs just over 15 lacs. These are anti tank weapons, they are not to be used for COIN ops. A Carl Gustaf which we have plenty in our inventory for a long time is often used in such cases, these rounds are cheaper at just over 1 lac. As of last year we even have an agreement to MII the latest M-4 version of Carl Gustaf.

These are imported figures or made in India once .. ?

Milan 2 is used more than any other ATGM in service, Its used often for destroying enemy installation with precision due to its less profile signature both in static and firing compare to RL ..

These are imported figures or made in India once .. ?

Milan 2 is used more than any other ATGM in service, Its used often for destroying enemy installation with precision due to its less profile signature both in static and firing compare to RL ..
These are deal figures based on quantity and deal value. These are costs i suppose of made in India ones at BDL.

Is Milan 2 used in COIN ops?

Milan 2T costs just over 20lacs. Konkurs-M costs just over 15 lacs. These are anti tank weapons, they are not to be used for COIN ops. A Carl Gustaf which we have plenty in our inventory for a long time is often used in such cases, these rounds are cheaper at just over 1 lac. As of last year we even have an agreement to MII the latest M-4 version of Carl Gustaf.
THe cost you quoted per unit is with the launcher....? I think a single round would cost lesser. without the launcher

SilentKiller

They are not amenable to any democratic mean or solution. We must explore other ways to deal with them. Democracy, peace and pursuance is not always the solution.
My suggestion:

1)confiscate any mosque from which any provocation is made and jail anybody who promotes it.
2) Catch stone platter and put them in rigorous reeducation camp with a warning that if they are caught in any anti national activity next time, punishment shall be sever.
3) Settle retire military personnel in Kashmir with weapon.
4) Celebrate Hindu festival in big way in public and voice mantras from loud speakers and make them listen them.
5) give work to the laddies and simultaneously teach them patriotism also.
6) eliminate hurriyat leader in Government supported terrorism.
7) Announce that who so ever is caught in any anti national activity, His house shall be confiscated and do that.
8) Ask for the source of fund for any mosque constructed after 1990s. If they fails to provide this, confiscate it. Make sanskrit mahavidyalay over there.
Point 3, 4 cannot happen as long as Article 370 is there.
Point 4 will not help at all, i think so.
Point 6, don't think government in power, which is more concerned to save its seat will act to spoil its realtion with its ally.

I have simple 2 theories
1- demolish Terrorists houses, u take guns, ur family suffer.
2 - In case of terrorists take hostage, take those terrorists families hostage.
3 - Make school trips of children, collage students to other parts of india, make them see what india is and how all people of different religions are treated equally..

these 3 simple but bold steps with solve problem of local support of terrorism.
youth or children can be changed not past that age now.

a government with absolute majority in both houses and real guts can change Article 370..BJP lacks guts + numbers in rajaya sabha. BJP will make laws to save cows but will not make law to save indian or human lives. it should have forced people (Kashmiri pandits) back to kashmir valley, don't think BJP will win jammu area same way it did last time. west pakistan refugees and kashmirir pandits have been let down by power politics.
Playing nationalism card is easy.

pringles

THe cost you quoted per unit is with the launcher....? I think a single round would cost lesser. without the launcher
The Javelin costs between 65k$ to 80k$ depending on which version you buy (range, guidance etc). But it has a larger warhead and can take out entire tanks or helos. In that sense Konkurs are reasonably priced, considering their older guidance system. But these are not suited for counter-terror ops. A normal Carl Gustav is sufficient, and sometimes even that seems like an overkill, unless it is being used for its airburst round. Otherwise if you just want a 'boom' to blow terrorists, a normal RPG round costs 100$ and is more value for money.

I believe it's possible to provide the "frag grenade" type of warhead even to normal RPGs and extract the most out of it. Imagine one Carl Gustav round for 1 lakh rupees, now imagine 20 RPG rounds being bought for the same cost. A 4 man team can now carry 50+ RPGs in their jeep and use the RPGs like bullets. Russian counter terror extensively uses rockets and UBGL rounds, to finish the fight immediately.

Milan seems overkill, and bullets seem underpowered. Just shower UBGL rounds and cheap RPG rounds for unarmored targets like terrorists/ light skinned vehicles. Carl Gustav is fantastic as a thermobaric rounds against Pakistani bunkers.

Though, I'd like to add the disclaimer that I am not a military guy, I am just an economics guy speaking purely on the assumption that an RPG and a Carl Gustav have similar blast radius and kill zone, so the former seems better. I hope the veterans chime in their thoughts.

let them have it. we hare going for Heron TP. They are going to be target for Spyder SAM n/w which is being ope rationalized along border
Spyder is an overkill for such UAV. When our Searcher penetrated Paki Air Space over Kasur PAF was so shit scared that they scrambled 2 F 16. Yes 2 F 16 for a Single UAV.

Emerging Indo - Israeli military collaboration shooked Pakis back in the days.

Spyder is an overkill for such UAV. When our Searcher penetrated Paki Air Space over Kasur PAF was so shit scared that they scrambled 2 F 16.

Yes 2 F 16 for a Single UAV
Lol. So you mean ik batta maaran naal vi kam sar jaaoga? :D

Indibomber

Allow me to give you a Golden Rule regarding the Kashmir Situation:-

"Never suggest an action that could give the Indian authority in Kashmir bad press"

We need to be stealthy and sly in Kashmir. We should appear passive. We should act behind the scenes and away from the camera lenses. We should act in a manner where the results of our actions are not immediately visible to the public or press.
  • We cannot take out Hurriyat leaders, even covertly, or it would give the Jihadis an opportunity to "reveal" the covert activities of the Indians who covertly eliminated the Hurriyat. This is why it has not happend yet.
  • We cannot overtly force Hinduism on to the people of Kashmir for they'll realise what we are trying to do and naturally resist us even more. Propoganda needs to be subtle. If its obvious, it will fail.
  • We cannot ask military retired personnel to serve there cause it would look like an attempt towards demographic modification of the region by India, which again makes for bad press, which in turn pushes people away from our narrative. Moreover, we cannot ask those who have spent their lifetime protecting us to continue to do so forever. They have earned a rest.
  • Dealing with stone throwers should be priority, and the preferred stop gap measure IMHO is to do what you said, but with a transparent judicial regulatory mechanism to keep the presstitutes away.
  • The long term solution for stone-pelters, however, is to hit Jihadi finances. Now when we have people like the ex-CBI chief using the Hawala system, that means we are not serious about this one yet.
Kashmir war is being fought not only on the military front, but also on the media-front (includes social media). The real organisation that is spearheading anti-terror thrust of India is R&AW. And this is how it should be. We just need to ensure that we do not try to deal with terrorism and Kashmir the way Americans deal with terrorism. I do not need to tell you that the American way of using military and administrative high-handedness has consistently proved a failure. Many people in India also suggest similar high-handed methods for dealing with Kashmir, and these methods reek of American-style action, and will lead to American-style failure.

Bro! Besides this intelligence needs to get hold of Masjids, Madarsa and Mullas as well. They hold the key to radicalisation and Intelligence.
Any special ops which needs to be successful has to have local support and nothing better than getting hold of mullas. Use money and sex to lure them they will be easy targets.