ADA Tejas (LCA) News and Discussions

Which role suits LCA 'Tejas' more than others from following options?

• Interceptor-Defend Skies from Intruders.

Votes: 342 51.3%
  • Airsuperiority-Complete control of the skies.

Votes: 17 2.5%
  • Strike-Attack deep into enemy zone.

Votes: 24 3.6%
  • Multirole-Perform multiple roles.

Votes: 284 42.6%

kr9

I want Fighter X to be F-18 or F-16.
I read somewhere regarding a change in IAF's doctrine:-- no more large fleets of specialized strike aircraft but more of a NATO style multi-role tactical fleet. This could be why they do not want Tejas to be more than 140/160 in number because it would be limited by its range and max. payload for missions in enemy airspace. So we may end up having around 200 MMRCA fighters (as opposed to 136) by 2027 to fill the 45 squadrons.

And judging by the new RFI for a medium single engine aircraft with ToT (thanks to @WolfPack86 for the post), the F-18 seems to be out; and little chance for F-16 as it is operated by the PAF. If the increase in MMRCA numbers do not happen, then we could squeeze in 60 or 80 more Tejas.

This is assuming that the AMCA will constitute at least 12 squadrons by 2032. By then, I also expect the inducted LCA MK1s to be upgraded to MK1A status and maybe with new engines for all.

rohit b3

First of all there is no one against tejas. The plane got ioc 2 only in 2015. Courtesy ada.

Since then HAL has delivered a grand total of 2 fighters. The people here and ajay shukla had been begging IAF to increase its order of mk1 from 40 to 60 fighters as that would allow HAL to setup production line and give time to complete mk2. IAF went a step ahead and ordered 120 mk1, virtually cancelling mk2. Note that IAF won't have the required capability to defend the nation because it compromised to keep HAL's production line running.

Now when this plan was announced, parrikar put a graph on internet showing year by year production plan for LCA. The vision was to get 120 by 2025. Now IAF chief is saying he expects 120 lca only by 2027. How exactly is that IAF's fault when HAL is incapable of sticking to agreed timelines?

The culprit in the LCA program have always been the same. Ada overpromising on development but under delivering and hal with its slow production rates. In its entire history hal hasn't been able to meet the production timelines on any of its programs. Read the cag report on dhruv or look at the delays in su30 production.

Iaf on the other hand is much eager to get their hands on tejas than some fanboys here. When a mig crashes, its iaf pilots who die, not hal's engineers or ada's scientists or some armchair generals here. Still for some reason, iaf is the one getting all the bad name on this forum.
HAL/ADA and other Indian Public Defense sectors are one of the least funded among other contemporary companies worldwide.
Its miraculous how they even develop technologies with this budget.
Further these are directly under the Govt, its the Govt's responsibility to fund and manage it for better performance and not redirecting the funds to import. Anything related to the LCA project should be a primary concern.

Defcon 1

HAL/ADA and other Indian Public Defense sectors are one of the least funded among other contemporary companies worldwide.
Its miraculous how they even develop technologies with this budget.
Further these are directly under the Govt, its the Govt's responsibility to fund and manage it for better performance and not redirecting the funds to import. Anything related to the LCA project should be a primary concern.
Kindly provide me one source where HAL/ADA have ever claimed that they are short on funds w.r.t LCA.
ADA kept pushing the IOC timelines. HAL has never ever delivered on the production timelines despite the fact that HAL decided the price of LCA themselves. If they were short on funds, why didn't they quote a higher price per unit?

Also please prove that LCA's funds were redirected for import as you are so unabashedly claiming here.

Akask kumar

The future air-fleet:-
Heavy Fighters: FGFA (5th gen) + Su-30 mki
Medium Fighters: AMCA (5th gen) + Rafael + Fighter X
Light Fighters: LCA

YOUR OPTION

• You want Fighter X to be designed by us now and no AMCA for the time being.
  • How much time do you think it will take before its first flight?
  • I'll be optimistic and say its about 7 years down the line. And inductions begin by 2026.
  • Thereafter, AMCA induction begins 2037.

Note that AMCA design process is already underway. By putting it in cold storage, you are sabotaging the hard work of our DRDO scientists.

MY OPTION
  • I want Fighter X to be F-18 or F-16.
  • Inductions begin 2019.
  • AMCA developed to IOC by 2027.

Which is the faster option? You decide.

@Anupu

BTW, Read this report.
You will see how there will be no slow production issues with the AMCA, the sort of which we are facing with the LCA.

• Fighter X is not a costly option. It is the second most cost effective option left to us.
  • The only other better option is to ramp up Tejas production and induct close to 500 fighters as a stop gap to see us through the next decade (after which some of those will be replaced by FGFA and AMCA). Economies of scale will further bring down production and spares costs for Tejas. LCA fighters later replaced by AMCA can also be exported as second hand products to Africa or South America or Philippines.
  • But the government seems uninterested in Tejas. :rage:
what i meant we can design,manufacture and induct 4.5 gen heavier or medium weight craft much earlier than AMCA.. Sukhoi T-50 is there to meet our stealth needs..

we wont be requiring higher number of stealth craft.. but we need more 4,4.5 gen medium,heavier craft.. why not to manufacture those here and import the stealth version..

while we are busy designing 5th gen ..US,russsia are now ready to design 6th gen hypersonic crafts. by the time we fifnish 5th gen .. 6th generation craft will be available in the market and this loop will keep reapeating..if chinese made 6th gen craft(thnx to their hacking skills) a lot of pressure will be upon us..

we have hypersonic engine developed.. what are we waiting for??

what i meant we can design,manufacture and induct 4.5 gen heavier or medium weight craft much earlier than AMCA.. Sukhoi T-50 is there to meet our stealth needs..

we wont be requiring higher number of stealth craft.. but we need more 4,4.5 gen medium,heavier craft.. why not to manufacture those here and import the stealth version..

while we are busy designing 5th gen ..US,russsia are now ready to design 6th gen hypersonic crafts. by the time we fifnish 5th gen .. 6th generation craft will be available in the market and this loop will keep reapeating..if chinese made 6th gen craft(thnx to their hacking skills) a lot of pressure will be upon us..

Whatever we develop now would take 10-15 years . By that china would have a huge force of stealth fighters even Pakistan can procure some j31 by then. Stealth is the name of the game in future . So it is utterly pointless to start developing a plane without stealth. ToT through make in India and fast paced production is more appropriate. Remember mature stealth fighters would be able to kill non stealth planes almost at whim. You can't fight what you can't see.

Dude, hold yer imagination horses.

I will not quote myself again. Read my previous post.
I gave you 2 options. In my option, we will have AMCA ready by the time Chinese raise 5-6 squadrons of J-31. And no, we cannot "design,manufacture and induct 4.5 gen heavier or medium weight craft much earlier than AMCA". Read my previous post

And 6th generation? Do you have any idea what a 6th generation fighter jet would look like? Do you have the slightest bit of idea about how challenging that technology is?
A few likely technologies:-
  • Self-repairing skin.
  • MEMS and nanotechnology.
  • Shape-memory alloys.
  • Morphing control surfaces.
  • LASER weapons.
  • Hyper-efficient engines.
  • Next generation stealth: Maybe plasma cloaking.
  • Reduced IR signatures.
No country is ready to design such an aircraft today.
  • US is reeling from the F-35 backlash. It is wary of reckless investment in next gen military hardware.
  • Russians barely have the funds for their PAK FA which is, by all means, a work in progress.
  • Chinese got lucky with the designs they stole off the US and invested billions to get the J-31 rolling. It still is behind the PAK-FA in development process.
  • None of these countries have developed (let alone mastered) half of the technologies that a 6th generation fighter might have.Unless they master all of them, no one is going to think about even defining what a 6th generation fighter would be like.
Who says we have already developed hypersonic technology? We have barely taken the first step. The others are only a few more steps ahead. And to me, atleast, a hypersonic fighter does not make any sense. The limited G tolerance of a pilot would rob the plane of any manuverability and it will become easy to predict its path and shoot it down. Furthermore, the time taken for accelerating and decelerating to and from hypersonic speeds for a manned craft is not militarily practicable.

Saichand K

On event of a war, I strongly feel that fielding Mig-21bison is more than enough to tackle Jf-7 and jF-17. Tejas can be used to tackle more stronger Chinese fleet on the east.

In event of war we need to neutralize Pakistan asap. Prolonged warfare on two fronts is a nightmare.
So we need to go blazing with su30 , mirage and jags. In 3-4 days we need to bring Pak on knees so that we can go on offensive in China rather then just being defensive. And we shall use paki airspace too to bloodbath china:biggrin2:

ersakthivel

Brilliance
http://idrw.org/rafale-injects-renewed-vigour/#more-111108

Author's negative bias against LCA tejas was well known for years!!!

1, Replacing 400 mig-21s are the job of tejas LCA & not rafale or any other plane's

2. Tejas "was not stuck in IOC times" as falsely claimed by author, It is just months away from FOC, With not even an IOC , 160 F-35s have joined USAF, with much watered down specs,

In contrast LCA tejas is joining IAF with heavily marked up specs even in mk1 tranche, Integration of Derby, R-73 E were not part of the original ASR for LCA issued by IAF. IAF asked only for the obsolete R-60 for tejas,

3.Also tejas mk1 achieved HMDS enabled high off bore Within Visulal Range (WVR) capability with no escape R73 E(same primary WVR missile of the reputed SU-30 MKI) 5 years before, This too was not envisaged in original ASR of IAF, Even the 40 million $ upgraded mirage-2000 doesn't have this capability!!

We are paying billions for french to have this HMDS , shoot at sight high off bore missile facility to be incorporated into french rafales , which doesn't have this at the moment, they rely on IR only MICA for close combat, IAF obviously is not satisfied with this MICA WVR & wants rafale to have the HMDS-enabled high off bore WVR missile like derby or R-73 E for IAF rafales!!! SO much for "IOC stuck" tejas!!!

4.Whats more Integration of Astra with tejas LCA is just months away, making it one of the deadliest Beyond Visual Range (BVR)combo in IAF arsenal, because tejas has low RCS going with it, (unlike mirage-2000 , su-30 MKI & mig-29 all have way higher RCS,so they will be fired upon by PAF & PLAF fighters , before they fire their BVRs).

5.But no figher in PAf or PLAF can fire its BVR missile on Tejas , before fired upon by Tejas mk1, because tejas mk1 can detect these PAF & PLAF fighters 30 or so Km in advance & fire its BVR missiles first!!

6. Also fully imported fighters "signify" strategic autonomy , while "imported parts" of tejas (which will decease rapidly over the years) is "strategic dependence!!! Strange logic!!!

7.The author was the head of the committee which nixed SNECMA GTRE jv in 2008 for kaveri engine!!! , saying that GTRE wont learn anything form the JV!! WHo appointed the author as the "tutor" of GTRE is a mystery!!! But the UPA brothel accepted this strange piece of logic & the JV was abandoned the moment rafale was declared as winner!!!

8. Now Manohar parikar is squeezing French hard on rafale deal, Bingo just weeks before French have once again started to talk abt JV with GTRE for an uprated 90 Kn Kaveri !!! Does GTRE learn anythin new this time???

9. IOC or FOC, tejas was designed, tested, evaluated, refined & finally validated for punishing indian conditions, which the author wants to forget!!

10, Bulkier "non IOC" tejas mk1 trainer can take of from Leh with two 1000 litre fuel tanks & 2 1000 pounds LGBs, how many IAF fighters can acheive this feet even decade after induction in IAF?

11. Rafale was never meant to replace mig-21s, It will most propably earmarked for N delivery , the role played by mirage-2000 in IAF. So it is tejas that is going to replace mig-21s.

12. Articles telling lies on tejas is a late attempt to scuttle the project again!!

Strange fact is the 8 billion 36 rafales have "lesser" radome dia, meaning smaller ASEA radar through out their lifetime , than the "IOC" stuck tejas LCA

Only God knows which defence ministry babu appointed this guy as Senior advisor to HAL ??

He once stupidly remarked in VAYU round table conference that GTRE should increase the stages of kaveri to as high as possible!! & saying the present kaveri stages are inadequate to power the light fighter!!1

He didn't even know world over the trend was better metallurgy to increase TET of SCB blades & over all pressure ratio, & CUT DOWN the engine stages to make the engine lighter for a lighter fighter & get a high Thrust to weight ratio (TWR) engine & fighter.

Only import lobby journos & half baked defence ANAlysts call LCA a point defence fighter.

if you ask them how the same engine, even more empty weight gripen has become MRCA they will all hide under the table!!!!

Fuel fraction (fuel weight/loaded weight of the fighter with "internal" fuel ) is what determines the useful combat range of the fighter , Tejas has just about 25% less fuel fraction than MMRCA rafale!!!

Brochure specs with 100 kG weapons & five external fuel tanks are meaningless for indian scenario!! because IAF will be flying into pak & china which have meaningful airforces & air defences to counter, They are not going to fly into airforce nude libya , male & afganistan

4.Whats more Integration of Astra with tejas LCA is just months away, making it one of the deadliest Beyond Visual Range (BVR)combo in IAF arsenal, because tejas has low RCS going with it, (unlike mirage-2000 , su-30 MKI & mig-29 all have way higher RCS,so they will be fired upon by PAF & PLAF fighters , before they fire their BVRs).

5.But no figher in PAf or PLAF can fire its BVR missile on Tejas , before fired upon by Tejas mk1, because tejas mk1 can detect these PAF & PLAF fighters 30 or so Km in advance & fire its BVR missiles first!!
Today we also have a better solution.

Lets network Tejas and SU-30MKI together-- which in any case they will be. And load SU-30MKI with 4x 1500 litres drop tanks and a buddy-buddy pod on the centerline. Make sections of fighter-hunters for air superiority or escorting roles for bombing missions comprising of 1 x SU-30MKI and 4 x Tejas (in A2A configuration with 6 AAMs and 1x centreline drop tank with 700 litres of fuel). The section will fly in a way; Tejas flies with its radars switched off and SU-30MKI flies higher than Tejas formation maintaining a distance of 50kms behind them. The modus operandi of the section will be as such.

Four Tejas will take off with 6 x AAM, 1 x centreline tank and jammer on pylon beneath air intake. And one SU-30MKI will take off with 4 x drop tanks, buddy-buddy pod, 4 x AAM and a jammer. Before crossing into enemy territory they will top up their tanks using a tanker. SU-30MKI will fly 50 Kms apart from Tejas formation and on a purge. It will use its radar at full power and upon acquiring the lock on enemy fighters will send firing cues to Tejas formation which will then fire on the enemy and shoot it down. Tejas which is a fighter with significantly smaller RCS and when operating in radar silence mode --Radar silence allows a fighter to get close without alerting enemy's RWR-- will be able to get close enough to bring enemy under its BVRAAM range without detection. Since MKI will be carrying enough fuel, with buddy-buddy refuelling Tejas would be able to stay longer and could go deeper along with MKI.

Hence, in my opinion, they will make a lethal team where MKI's strengths like a powerful radar with almost 400Km range and huge payload capacity (in this case majority of it will be fuel) will combine with strengths of Tejas like low RCS and agility for optimum air to air performance against the enemy.

Kharavela

Lets network Tejas and SU-30MKI together-- which in any case they will be. And load SU-30MKI with 4x 1500 litres drop tanks and a buddy-buddy pod on the centerline. Make sections of fighter-hunters for air superiority or escorting roles for bombing missions comprising of 1 x SU-30MKI and 4 x Tejas (in A2A configuration with 6 AAMs and 1x centreline drop tank with 700 litres of fuel). The section will fly in a way; Tejas flies with its radars switched off and SU-30MKI flies higher than Tejas formation maintaining a distance of 50kms behind them. The modus operandi of the section will be as such.

Four Tejas will take off with 6 x AAM, 1 x centreline tank and jammer on pylon beneath air intake. And one SU-30MKI will take off with 4 x drop tanks, buddy-buddy pod, 4 x AAM and a jammer. Before crossing into enemy territory they will top up their tanks using a tanker. SU-30MKI will fly 50 Kms apart from Tejas formation and on a purge. It will use its radar at full power and upon acquiring the lock on enemy fighters will send firing cues to Tejas formation which will then fire on the enemy and shoot it down. Tejas which is a fighter with significantly smaller RCS and when operating in radar silence mode --Radar silence allows a fighter to get close without alerting enemy's RWR-- will be able to get close enough to bring enemy under its BVRAAM range without detection. Since MKI will be carrying enough fuel, with buddy-buddy refuelling Tejas would be able to stay longer and could go deeper along with MKI.

Hence, in my opinion, they will make a lethal team where MKI's strengths like a powerful radar with almost 400Km range and huge payload capacity (in this case majority of it will be fuel) will combine with strengths of Tejas like low RCS and agility for optimum air to air performance against the enemy.
Perfect.
I have been advocating "Group of 4 Tejas with 1 Su-30MKI" since long. Strength of LCA can be multiplied while "Hunting in a Pack".

Such grouping have the flexibility of various mission capabilities such as above described by @rahul. Apart from A2A missions, such grouping may be utilized with devastating effect for SEAD / DEAD missions and A2G missions.

tejas warrior

Guys, Tejas is being killed for sure. At the max, we will get 120 Tejas.. rest 200+ F16/Gripen.

It's ugly truth.

You must have seen Raha showing his preference for Gripen already.

tsunami

Till the time these people will be able to finalise contract for F-16 or Gripen NG Tejas would be receiving midlife upgrade.

Defcon 1

This capability of using MKI's radar to guide missile launched by LCA has never been tested in IAF. It is not even known if LCA can communicate with MKI to share such info. USAF is the only airforce in the world to have tested this technology.

One cannot construct the scenario you are talking about in real life without the required technology.

FactsPlease

This capability of using MKI's radar to guide missile launched by LCA has never been tested in IAF. It is not even known if LCA can communicate with MKI to share such info. USAF is the only airforce in the world to have tested this technology.

One cannot construct the scenario you are talking about in real life without the required technology.
Just echo Defcon1 point, indeed that tactic had been invented (on paper) at least 22 years ago, at one of the late Tom Clancy book, "Debt of Honor" - although it's kind of combination of different scenarios - first Japan AWACS plane can direct missile fired from F-15J to hit US B1B bomber. In countermeasure, US send F-15E following F-22 to deceive those AWACS when F-22 climb and "hide" in their stealthy maneuvering.

Link to the book: (I am not sure how valid and legal it is. Please remove it if not)
https://cdn.preterhuman.net/texts/l...z/Clancy, Tom/Clancy, Tom - Debt Of Honor.pdf

Like Defcon1 said, this technology require huge test & run to mature, in both communication and EW. I truly doubt it's viable other than USA.

I checked out discussion on BR forum. It is sad that Tejas may suffer the same fate as Arjun tank.
I thought this thread was crap but turns out to be true: http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/...contest-to-make-single-engine-fighters.77544/

IAF/GOI is realizing now that 16 year production is not good enough to replace depleting forces and need another assembly line from foreign single jet fighter (F16/Gripen). Same production rate cannot be done with upgraded LCA-1 variants is very hard to digest.

MAKE IN INDIA... foreign maal.:hmm:

Guys, Tejas is being killed for sure. At the max, we will get 120 Tejas.. rest 200+ F16/Gripen.

It's ugly truth.

You must have seen Raha showing his preference for Gripen already.

I checked out discussion on BR forum. It is sad that Tejas may suffer the same fate as Arjun tank.
I thought this thread was crap but turns out to be true: http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/...contest-to-make-single-engine-fighters.77544/

IAF/GOI is realizing now that 16 year production is not good enough to replace depleting forces and need another assembly line from foreign single jet fighter (F16/Gripen). Same production rate cannot be done with upgraded LCA-1 variants is very hard to digest.

MAKE IN INDIA... foreign maal.:hmm:
Check what the guy from the USIBC is saying in this discussion on modi. USIBC works with NASSCOM on expanding india-american trade.
Americans are looking at shifting some of the US+allies defence manufacturing to India, to save cost on defence expenditure.
There is definitely some long term plans being talked about, which are not coming out in the media..
There might me some truth in what the guy says, deals have been by american defence majors on aircraft components and such in the past two years..

Name of the technology is tactical data link. Though I do agree that so far IAF does not have a standard data link across its fighter fleet. But the situation will change once IAF starts linking its fighters with CABS AWA&C and IL-76 EL\W-2090, which is inevitable.

Theoretically, a fighter with even one-way data link can send its radar picture to other fighter linked with it as long as data link is fast enough. Technically in a fighter jet, its radar is connected to the processing unit which generates firing cues and send it to its computer which gives firing solutions to pilot and readies its missile for possible launch. Theoretically, these cues can also be sent to linked fighters. It's called data sharing. And SAAB Gripen is sold with a tag "what one sees, others see as well".

Now I must and again mention that Tejas is not linked with SU-30MKI to date. That is why I mentioned quote unquote "Lets network Tejas and SU-30MKI together-- which in any case they will be". And only when we have developed fast enough and secure tactical data link (covering required distance) and required data generation that we can realise scenario, I mentioned.

Few points.

BEL developed Data Link II is operational with P-8I. Since P-8I shares data with submarines, ships and supposedly with its fighter fleet as well. This data link serves as a base to develop advanced data link for mentioned scenario.

SU-30MKI will now be upgraded to SU-35 specifications(supposedly) and will be called Super Sukhoi. So I guess upgraded MKIs will feature a standard data link since another requirement is to link its fighter fleet with AWACS and AEW&Cs.

Tejas is getting all bells and whistles and surely it will get an advance data link in future standard across rest of the fighter fleet.