USA China Cold War

You are wrong here.. PLA is not in a position to conquer and sustain its forces in Taiwan, in the face of American intervention..
Operation Overlord in World War 2 has been the single largest amphibious operation in history, where food, fuel, weapons, ammunition.. etc. to support 1.5 lakh allied troops had to be continuously supplied across the 40 km long English Channel..
The Taiwan Strait is around 150 km long. And US Air Force is at its full strength unlike Germany's depleted airforce in 1944, which made the sustainenance of the amphibious operation possible..
US won't give full support to Taiwan in the face of Chinese intervention. They're treaty bound so they may give nominal help (blockading sea routes, giving out intel packages, supplying weapons etc) and start a chestbeating session by overblowing the efficacy of their help (to not come across as treaty breaking ubercowards) but it will be apparent pretty soon after the start of the 'war' that it's not gonna do much.

karn

This is governed by the diplomatic agreement between the two countries,

Unless one side considers the diplomatic agreement invalid
My point is .. Your opponents have an easy way of triggering you .
With this visit... you'll gave many final warnings and the usual happened.
Now if they declare independence it is you that will have to fire the 1st shot to prevent what in your eyes is an usurpation of national sovereignty.

ym888

My point is .. Your opponents have an easy way of triggering you .
With this visit... you'll gave many final warnings and the usual happened.
Now if they declare independence it is you that will have to fire the 1st shot to prevent what in your eyes is an usurpation of national sovereignty.

Yes, they can easily provoke China.

But consider that there is a cost

Jimih

US won't give full support to Taiwan in the face of Chinese intervention. They're treaty bound so they may give nominal help (blockading sea routes, giving out intel packages, supplying weapons etc)
US policy towards Taiwan has been called "Strategic Ambiguity", and it is designed to dissuade the China from unilaterally unifying Taiwan with itself.

The decision about the nature and quantity of defense services that US will provide to Taiwan in an event of war is to be determined by the President and the Congress.

So you never know, what decisions would US will take in an event of PRC-ROC war.

This is governed by the diplomatic agreement between the two countries,
Unless one side considers the diplomatic agreement invalid
Talking specifically of these, How many china themselves have honored with it's neighbors. It feels good when you get the taste of your own medicine.

CCP is as rogue as taliban or ISIS is with diff being the clothes they are wearing...

The old American lady rationalized the PLA's actions

Both China and the United States have gained something
This whole scenario is getting played by both CCP and USA.
CCP Xi if he is able to capture some small island's from taiwan it will be a big boost to his nationalism based propaganda + some Tactical experience for Chinese army.

USA - increased defence budgets by concerned countries will boost murican military infrastructure and biden also needed this much needed boost to regain support in the masses. And also US speaker in past have already met Taiwan Pm few times if US does obliged to Chinese threats then it's credibility would have taken a nose dive.

Jimih

Talking specifically of these, How many china themselves have honored with it's neighbors. It feels good when you get the taste of your own medicine.

CCP is as rogue as taliban or ISIS is with diff being the clothes they are wearing...
Report the troll, he will soon derail the thread.

in the face of American intervention.
Murica has never fought a capable nation independently in all it's lifetime. America thuggery is limited to Middle East and some shithole African countries.
They have never fought a behemoths like China nor does it's population has an appetite of war.
Any war with more than 1000 body bags will break the spirit of Murica, they will be show their aukat.

ym888

This whole scenario is getting played by both CCP and USA.
CCP Xi if he is able to capture some small island's from taiwan it will be a big boost to his nationalism based propaganda + some Tactical experience for Chinese army.

USA - increased defence budgets by concerned countries will boost murican military infrastructure and biden also needed this much needed boost to regain support in the masses. And also US speaker in past have already met Taiwan Pm few times if US does obliged to Chinese threats then it's credibility would have taken a nose dive.
There's no real military action. Those islands are worthless.

China is being pragmatic and is only preventing Taiwan independence

Synergy

Murica has never fought a capable nation independently in all it's lifetime. America thuggery is limited to Middle East and some shithole African countries.
They have never fought a behemoths like China nor does it's population has an appetite of war.
Any war with more than 1000 body bags will break the spirit of Murica, they will be show their aukat.
There won't be US troops on ground (inside China). And I doubt how many F22, F35, B2 and/or B52, F18s China will be able to down. There would be attacks on naval vessels but I think they have that already factored in.

Murica will never fight a war directly where they will get humiliated, they can resort to other tricks but not war. US cannot fight in a Contested Air space, they cannot fight in contested waters.
When I say cannot fight I mean their is no resolve to fight.

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Humiliation will be forgotten once they Capture Taiwan.
Same thing happened in Hong Kong, now see who's laughing.
China will take Taiwan.

It's a gaffe but if people are thinking Chinese won't take Taiwan because they didn't attack to stop Pelosi's visit, they are mistaken. CCP is incredibly image conscious. They will try their best to restore their image.
Abe laddu hai kya jo le lenge ?

China can't mount a successful Taiwan invasion. It will be worse than Ukraine. Also, 3 American CBGs are around Taiwan, plus the Japanese Navy.

How do you propose China can do anything ?

See this video 👇

Synergy

Murica will never fight a war directly where they will get humiliated, they can resort to other tricks but not war. US cannot fight in a Contested Air space, they cannot fight in contested waters.
When I say cannot fight I mean their is no resolve to fight.
And who will contest/challenge US air power? China with some knock offs like look alike B grade actresses?

Abe laddu hai kya jo le lenge ?

China can't mount a successful Taiwan invasion. It will be worse than Ukraine. Also, 3 American CBGs are around Taiwan, plus the Japanese Navy.

How do you propose China can do anything ?

See this video 👇

All bluff, this bluff will be called out one day.
All these nations combined have never fought a capable enemy since ww2.