Small arms of India

Looks like they want the 7.62*51 version as a DMR and not as an overall replacement as a Battle rifle.
They will still be using the 5.56 NATO round rifles as basic infantry rifle.
Yes and no. Yes, the US is retaining the AR15 as its standard issue weapon but, no they are not happy with the present circumstances.

They are as worried as we are about new generation of body armor that have come up in the Russian Army, and have inevitably made their way into the fighting in Syria.

Muricans, being Muricans, are going about this in a weird way - they are developing a new M855A1 round for their AR15s and lets just say, its a shit show.

We are just going straight back to 7.62x51 since modern day guns can handle the recoil EXCEEDINGLY well and are deadlier too boot.

Everything copied from Internet especially from Military-Today Article on CAR-816/817. No heresy to say its just a Hindi Translation of that article. Any Gun Nerd would already know about all these and this is just for those YT Noobs, who only wish to comment Jai Hind on any Indian Military Video
This is necessary tho its a positive propaganda earns some bucks for the video makers and provide news to the General public.
I mean u are criticizing him because u are a military enthusiast, what's a howitzer and artillery to a coffee shop owner in Delhi he dosent know the difference but if u tell him the army is getting this new stuff they sure become happy.

Those who are commenting Jai Hind and I Love Indian Army aren't bad folks.
U shouldn't keep the public to aloof of these issues either otherwise it will generate a negative attitude towards the military. U can already hear people say that the army only eats away their Tax money and do nothing all day.

Keep the nerd boner active it may happen that some of these nerds might get motivated enough to join the military someday or open a howitzer factory or a bulletproof vest factory or be a politician someday.

rkhanna

BTW- this learnt this today.

The Caracal is not just a UAE AR15 varient

The Arabs - to build the carcal hired 2 German engineers. Both legends in their field. One was the chief engineer at HK who built the HK416 . He then moved to Sig. Where he and another engineer. Improved on HK416 and created the Sig516.

Both engineers got hired by Caracal to build an entire small arms MIC from scratch. Their efforts were to improve on their own SIG516 design.

The result is the Caracal 816.

The 816 built specially for the ME desert enviorment and operating enviorment is ultimately the newest evolution of the HK416

MrPresident

The Arabs - to build the carcal hired 2 German engineers. Both legends in their field. One was the chief engineer at HK who built the HK416 . He then moved to Sig. Where he and another engineer. Improved on HK416 and created the Sig516.

Both engineers got hired by Caracal to build an entire small arms MIC from scratch. Their efforts were to improve on their own SIG516 design.

The 816 built specially for the ME desert enviorment and operating enviorment is ultimately the newest evolution of the HK416
I always wonder why can't we do the same...

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk

MrPresident

Laziness Mr.President.
Our Babus in PSU's are getting enough salary without doing any work. We have chalta hai attitude which will never let this country move ahead.
Well I think we also have over confidence and superiority complex. Also acceptance of the facts that we lack something. (I am pretty sure name calling and abuses will start :D)...

Subham Show

Well I think we also have over confidence and superiority complex. Also acceptance of the facts that we lack something. (I am pretty sure name calling and abuses will start :D)...

UNTILL AND UNLESS WE STOP THE WAY WE SCOUT TALENT , WE SHOULD NOT EVEN THINK OF THE SCENARIOS GETTING CHANGED

MrPresident

UNTILL AND UNLESS WE STOP THE WAY WE SCOUT TALENT , WE SHOULD NOT EVEN THINK OF THE SCENARIOS GETTING CHANGED
Talent?? All u need is a recommendation from a politician or a quota..nothing else...Pvt industry is the only saviour. But RAGA is all geared up to ruin tht as well..

debspark90

Thats something I have been saying in every blogs or tweets and FB pages ever since the Car816 was announced as the winner. People think it is just some Arab rifle. Saw a lot o in-depth review of it.

Defcon 1

India’s MoD reissues RFI for carbines and LMGs

India's Ministry of Defence (MoD) has invited responses by 4 February to its supplementary request for information (RFI) regarding the planned acquisition of 360,000 5.56×45 mm close quarter battle (CQB) carbines and 40,000 7.62×51 mm light machine guns (LMGs) for the country's armed forces.

The RFI, which is addressed to local manufacturers, was issued on 4 January and follows similar RFIs released in October 2017 and August 2018 for both weapon types. "Any vendor who did not respond to the RFI earlier may express interest for seeking the request for proposal (RFP)," the document stated.

Both weapon types are being acquired under the 'Buy and Make' category of the MoD's Defence Procurement Procedure-2016.

https://www.janes.com/article/85744/india-s-mod-reissues-rfi-for-carbines-and-lmgs

aarav

जय परशुराम‍।

India's Ministry of Defence (MoD) has invited responses by 4 February to its supplementary request for information (RFI) regarding the planned acquisition of 360,000 5.56×45 mm close quarter battle (CQB) carbines and 40,000 7.62×51 mm light machine guns (LMGs) for the country's armed forces.

The RFI, which is addressed to local manufacturers, was issued on 4 January and follows similar RFIs released in October 2017 and August 2018 for both weapon types. "Any vendor who did not respond to the RFI earlier may express interest for seeking the request for proposal (RFP)," the document stated.

Both weapon types are being acquired under the 'Buy and Make' category of the MoD's Defence Procurement Procedure-2016.

https://www.janes.com/article/85744/india-s-mod-reissues-rfi-for-carbines-and-lmgs
Punj Lloyd to expand small-arms manufacturing unit in Gwalior
Abhishek Law Updated on November 16, 2018

TOPICS
defence
Punj Lloyd Ltd
JV with Israel Weapons Industries to produce entire range of small-arms for exports
Punj Lloyd is looking to expand the scope of its small-arms manufacturing unit in Gwalior in Madhya Pradesh.

Ashok Wadhawan

By January next year, the unit is expected to start making small-arms such as pistols, mostly for exports. The unit has been primarily focussed on exports of assembly components for small-arms.

Export hub
Ashok Wadhawan, President - Manufacturing Business, Punj Lloyd, spoke to BusinessLine on the sidelines of the Make-in-Odisha Conclave, the biennial investor summit, in Bhubaneswar.

The unit currently manufactures and exports 35,000-40,000 gun parts for weapons such as X95 assault rifle, Galil sniper, Negev light machine gun and the Ace assault rifle.

“The number of components that we are manufacturing is growing. We started with rifles,” Wadhawan said, adding that the unit will be one of the hubs for export across the world.

Israeli collaboration
The Gwalior facility, a joint venture with Israel Weapons Industries (IWI), is an integrated defence manufacturing plant which has different units inside it. They include fabrication, machining, air defence as well as small arms, on a 65-acre plot. This, incidentally, is also the country’s first private small arms making facility.

According to Wadhawan, the company could look at more units depending on order-book size and demand. “Yes, we may look at having more such facilities depending on the demand scenario,” he said.

The company does not give a separate order book size for its defence segment. But, Wadhawan said the order books included both domestic and export orders across all verticals. It entered the defence segment in 2009 and later streamlined the vertical to ensure greater focus on it.

Looking for tie-ups
Punj Lloyd is also in talks with other global defence equipment makers to explore tie-ups and joint ventures in the aerospace.

“We are in talks for more tie-ups across different categories. But for security reasons, I cannot reveal the details,” he said.

Apart from small arms component supplies, the other verticals that the company is into include small arms, aerospace and engineering components, air-space guns, artillery and homeland security.

(The writer attended the Make-in-Odisha Conclave on invitation.)

mohitbhagat

No buddy its not like that. It depends more on the rifle and what it's designed for. Effective range is the range till where a round can maintain its claimed accuracy. Otherwise an 7.62 round can easily travel to a 1000m but would not carry sufficient energy and velocity to hit its target with accuracy
A typical AK round has kill range of roughly 300m. It can travel to 600m or further.

Raj Malhotra

If it's RFI stage then it will be followed by RFP process and then trials. So many years to go.

Best option in case of IA is to get Insas MK1C for 5.56mm carbine and OFB R2 7.62mm rifle for its assault rifle requirement and Ghatak/Trichy for 7.62*39 for counter insurgency.
Otherwise procuremnent via the new RFi issued will cost us another decade minimum.
Meanwhile OFB can finetune the otherwise good MCIWS rifle to meet future needs.

Best option in case of IA is to get Insas MK1C for 5.56mm carbine and OFB R2 7.62mm rifle for its assault rifle requirement and Ghatak/Trichy for 7.62*39 for counter insurgency.
Otherwise procuremnent via the new RFi issued will cost us another decade minimum.
Meanwhile OFB can finetune the otherwise good MCIWS rifle to meet future needs.
After landing such crazy good deals on Sig-716 & Car-816? Don't think so...

Indian 7.62×39s are no match for the latest recoil counterbalanced Ak-109 or even Ak-15 that claim almost double effective range & accuracy.
But since we are buying same old Ak-103, a Trichy with Ghatak's furniture/rails etc. would make some sense.