Small arms and Light Weapons

When picking a gun, what would your primary consideration be?

• Poll closed .

Zoid Raptor

@Johny_Baba @tomthounaojam you were interested too in this if I remember right

View attachment 249694
Looks pretty decent if truly indigenous or even if they ripped of a western design as long as this isn't one of those rebranded ones to fool the general public

They should consider releasing a tan version too which sell like hotcakes in the western markets if they intend to go the Canik route down the lane

NoobWannaLearn

Looks pretty decent if truly indigenous or even if they ripped of a western design as long as this isn't one of those rebranded ones to fool the general public

They should consider releasing a tan version too which sell like hotcakes in the western markets if they intend to go the Canik route down the lane
Ripped off sig and yes it isn't rebranded ripped off but they did their work and this is only available for Indians rn around 2 lac with all taxes I think maybe they will go for exports someday

Zoid Raptor

Ripped off sig and yes it isn't rebranded ripped off but they did their work and this is only available for Indians rn around 2 lac with all taxes I think maybe they will go for exports someday
Designs are ripped off all the time. As long as they hold the ip, have a dedicated facility to test various parameters and are sourcing all components from local suppliers, it's a good start

But 2 lakhs ($2400) is a freaking ripoff...some of the best selling Sigs, Glocks, Caniks are all <$500. If ever an Indian military or police unit opts for it, I hope they're not foolishly paying the same price as civilians

NoobWannaLearn

Designs are ripped off all the time. As long as they hold the ip, have a dedicated facility to test various parameters and are sourcing all components from local suppliers, it's a good start

But 2 lakhs ($2400) is a freaking ripoff...some of the best selling Sigs, Glocks, Caniks are all <$500. If ever an Indian military or police unit opts for it, I hope they're not foolishly paying the same price as civilians
Yes they hold the IP not sure about where they are sourching their local components from as not much is out about their manufacturing unit hopefully from local suppliers only.

Remind you this is only .32 at approx 2 lac ( with taxes not a 9mm) they haven't launched 9 mm or Haven't participated in a tender yet

Instead of a strikers fired pistol they should make a decent hammer fired pistol like a SIG P226
great pistol but with controls like a decocker and all, perhaps too much for civilian market

a decent copy of Cz-75 series is what we really need in civilian market, perhaps military and law enforcement too; and since it's based on Browning Hi-Power that we already make here there would not be much difficulties in getting it done right

tomthounaojam

Do you know how much a Glock 32 cost here? Firstly even before starting an ROC Co2 powered glock cost nearly 600$ which is almost as retail price of the real Glock in the USA. Manipur, were gun can be easily be found even a NPB Glock cost a whopping 7+ lac

NoobWannaLearn

Do you know how much a Glock 32 cost here? Firstly even before starting an ROC Co2 nearly 600$ which is almost as retail price of the real Glock in the USA. Manipur, were gun can be easily be found even a NPB Glock cost a whopping 7+ lac
Yea it's a decent indian price just taxes are making it look a little costlier

Zoid Raptor

Do you know how much a Glock 32 cost here? Firstly even before starting an ROC Co2 powered glock cost nearly 600$ which is almost as retail price of the real Glock in the USA. Manipur, were gun can be easily be found even a NPB Glock cost a whopping 7+ lac
That's crazy! No wonder there's no gun culture in India even if the rules to get permits are relaxed. Some of the best SOPMOD level ARs' can be procured/customized for ~$10k

If you want to buy a decent small arm need to set aside 3-4 lac, also keep in mind the money one needs to pay to get the permit. Shotgun and double barrel are easy to get but pistol, lots of chai pain even if they go by the book.
Is it true that one has to prove they have real life threat to acquire a permit? In the so called 2nd Amendment Sanctuary States, it's ridiculously easy to get a CCW permit like just getting a basic firearms course ($50) and filling out a form. Certain states are now also allowing permitless carry (which I personally oppose given the possibility for every bad and mentally unstable person to own a firearm)