Pak is Russia's 'most important' partner in South Asia: Putin

The game is,and as put by ambassador bhadrakumar (this happens to be one of those rare occasions I tend to agree with him partially), one of squeezing out the USA and NATO from Afghanistan, if not squeezing out then certainly pushing them to the corner and trying to find a place for itself there, and Pakistan for sure plays a pivotal role and so the courting of pakistan. You have a situation where Pakistan, china, Iran, Russia, CAR are ganging up together, and so the call by Putin.

Did he say "most important", I doubt, at least none of the Pakistani newspapers are reporting it, and had such a thing been said, Pakistani media would have been all over it certainly at a time when they are desperately looking for such news, its only the indian ones reporting.

In all this, it is again interesting to see how India is busying playing both sides. lage raho!

Pakistan is like prostitute, who's master(USA) want to have more and she wants to lure master enemy for sure:lol::lol::namaste::namaste::namaste::namaste:

I remembered one sheayer" Khudi ko kar buland itna ki har takdeer se pahle khuda tujse yeah puche, teri raja kya ha" Here khuda is asking pakistan bata teri saja kya ha lollllllllllllllllllllll

Pakistan thinks sitting in SCO lap will save them from destruction....no way. SCO, especially china will use and abuse pakistan same as USA did. poor pakis think SCO will save them from Gajwa -a-pak. lollllllllllllllllllll

God save the pak Queen:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

Russia announces $500m grant for Pakistan Steel Mills

November 9, 2011

Russia has announced a grant of $500 million for the restoration of Pakistan Steel Mills, which it had helped establish in Karachi 30 years back.

Federal Secretary for Industries and Production Javed Awan told Express News that the announcement was made when Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani met his Russian counterpart Vladimir Putin on the sidelines of the 10th Heads of Government meeting of the SCO.

The money will be spent on the expansion and repair of machinery at Pakistam Steel Mills.

Production capacity of PSM is expected to increase from 1.1 million tons to 1.5 million tons per annum.

Earlier, Putin had offered Russia's assistance for the enhancement of the production capacity of the Pakistan Steel Mills by increasing its production from the current one million tonnes to three million tonnes.

He also offered coal gasification technology for the Thar coal and upgradation of the Guddu and Muzaffargarh power plants to increase power generation capacity to help meet country's growing energy needs.

Russia announces $500m grant for Pakistan Steel Mills – The Express Tribune

Pakistan, Russia to go for FTA, currency swap agreement

November 8, 2011

ST. PETERSBURG: The leaders of Pakistan and Russia have expressed the willingness to speed up work on the proposed Free Trade Agreement and currency swap arrangement to boost bilateral trade and further strengthen their economic ties.

Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani and his Russian counterpart Vladimir Putin, who had a frank discussion in a cordial atmosphere, here on Monday also discussed the whole gamut of relations on the sidelines of the 10th Heads of Government meeting of the SCO. The two leaders discussed several important issues including fight against terrorism and extremism besides calling for the need to adopt a regional approach in dealing with common challenges. The two leaders discussed ways to strengthen relations by increasing cooperation in energy, trade, infrastructure development, agriculture, business cooperation and people to people contacts.

Prime Minister Putin said relations between Pakistan and Russia have reached a level, where both the countries were in a position to enhance trade, measuring up to their strong ties.

Prime Minister Gilani said Russia was an important country and a source of stability in the region and because of its geographical proximity and strength of economy, it has contributed significantly for the socio-economic uplift of the region.

The Russian premier also supported Prime Minister Gilani's proposals for implementing trade and energy projects.

He announced financing of 500 million US dollars for the CASA-1000 for the power transmission from Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, and Kyrgyzstan to Pakistan and Afghanistan.

Putin also offered Russia's assistance for the enhancement of the production capacity of the Pakistan Steel Mills by increasing its production from the current one million tonnes to three million tonnes.

He also offered coal gasification technology for the Thar coal and upgradation of the Guddu and Muzaffargarh power plants to increase power generation capacity to help meet country's growing energy needs.

Putin said in practical and tangible terms, Russia wants materialization of projects including TAPI (Turkmenistan-Afghanistan-Pakistan-India) gas pipeline project and the Central Asia South Asia Electricity Trade and Transmission Project (CASA 1000).

Gilani appreciated Russia's support for mega projects including CASA-1000 and said it was his fourth meeting with Prime Minister Putin.

He mentioned that he joined other leaders at the SCO forum despite the occasion of Eid because of the importance of the forum and also because of Pakistan's commitment to the regional issues.

Prime Minister Gilani called for the opening of respective bank branches in both the countries to jack up the trade level. He said the top officials of their central banks can meet to work on an operational strategy in this regard.

The Russian Prime Minister said the inter-ministerial commission's meeting will be held on December 12, which will take up all subjects of cooperation at the experts level.

"Pakistan is important for us in trade and economy and is an important country of South Asia and the Organization of the Islamic Conference and can play an important role in the promotion of peace and security in the region," he told Prime Minister Gilani.

The leasing of Sukhoi commercial aircraft for the Pakistan International Airlines was also discussed during the meeting.
Russian premier Putin also offered assistance to Pakistan in disaster management, saying it could help save precious lives and property.

Gilani said he was very pleased to meet his counterpart at his home town of St. Petersburg, which was also an economic hub like Karachi, where he was born and said "we share affinity between the two cities."

Putin supported Pakistan's stance on war on terror and agreed to pursue the policy of counter-terrorism for ensuring regional peace.

The two prime ministers agreed that collective regional efforts were required to eliminate terrorism from the region to usher in peace and stability, and redirect all energies towards economic interaction among the members of SCO.

Russian Prime Minister said Pakistan had good relations with China like the ties of his country with China, and it would be appropriate if the three countries can work together for peace, prosperity and stability of the region.

Prime Minister Gilani invited the Russian Prime Minister to visit Pakistan, which he accepted. The dates would be worked out by the respective foreign ministries of the two countries.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/289029/pakistan-russia-to-go-for-fta-currency-swap-agreement/

Pakistan Steel Mills: Russian firm interested in restructuring

KARACHI: The Russian firm that constructed Pakistan Steel Mills (PSM) has shown its interest to provide the latest technology in order to make it profitable.According to a press statement on Saturday received from Moscow, Tiag Proom export company Director M Rizichenko, while talking to a delegation of Federation of Pakistan Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FPCCI) and Pak-Russia Business Council (PRBC), expressed his interest to make PSM financially profitable.

He further stated that with new machinery and modern technology, the production of PSM can be increased to 0.4 million tons annually, which will help in saving workers from getting unemployed.

"Pakistan Steel Mills would be profitable only in the private sector," Rizichenko said, adding that it is necessary for the progress of the Mill that an audit is conducted and a comprehensive report, which includes the efficiencies and difficulties of the mill and information regarding technology, is prepared. He said that for this he has also talked to the government about the audit and report of mills.

Leader of the delegation, FPCCI President Senator Haji Ghulam Ali informed Rizichenko that the Pakistani business community had offered the Prime Minister of Pakistan to run the PSM under the private sector, which the PM had wholeheartedly accepted.

Furthermore, he agreed to talk to the PM for audit and the preparation of comprehensive reports, so that this project may be profitable and save the Mills from the loss of Rs100 billion.

Published in The Express Tribune, November 6[SUP]th[/SUP], 2011.

we are living in most chaotic time, lets see how history makes itself. love to see what situation will be like in next 10 years.

ace009

Freakin' Fighter fan
I sure hate it when losers, liars and crooks like the Pak generals and politicians are kowtowed to by big powers - USA then China and no Russia.
Which f**king part don't they understand that the PA ruling class only care for their power and jobs and not even about their countrymen, who themselves are unable to elect proper leaders for their country.

aimarraul

this is doomed to happen when india is heading forward with more western weaponry

This is not a weapons deal. Russia would not risk losing their biggest defense customer by making a stupid move like that.

asianobserve

I remembered one sheayer" Khudi ko kar buland itna ki har takdeer se pahle khuda tujse yeah puche, teri raja kya ha" Here khuda is asking pakistan bata teri saja kya ha lollllllllllllllllllllll

Pakistan thinks sitting in SCO lap will save them from destruction....no way. SCO, especially china will use and abuse pakistan same as USA did. poor pakis think SCO will save them from Gajwa -a-pak. lollllllllllllllllllll

Wrong. Whoever the Pakis are with in allaince they will still abuse themselves. They're naturally narcissistic.

God save the pak Queen:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

How did the US abuse them? The relationship has always been mutual, Pakis provide cooperation to the US and the US provide material and deplomatic cover to Pakis (for a long time). IIn fact if the realtionship was all about money transfers, the US without doubt gave more money to the other one without doubt. The problem with Pakis is that they don't know how to take advantage of the opportunities before them. Believe me, whoever you put on Pakis side, the Americans, Russians, Chinese, Marsians, the Pakis will still find ways to disappoint themselves.:tsk:

Pathogen

I have said already that Russia is overly keen to improve relations with Pakistan, You can expect to see LukOil and Gazprom in Pakistan soon building pipelines, Oil refineries and Russian steel giants, I dont see Russia selling weapons to Pakistan, Yet. Not until India is buying American weapons in large quantities will Russia start selling weapons to Pakistan.

Pakistan has cleverly for the last almost 70 years aligned itself with organizations and nations that have helped it balance India, Indians may not like this fact but its a reality that Pakistan's relations with various world powers has made Pakistan more powerful than it would have been without. To put things into hindsight, Pakistan politically, socially and military would be the equivalent of Bangladesh which has half the economy of Pakistan but an almost equal population. Pakistan has used its geo-strategic location by gaining support from world powers who have inturn given military aid and the crown jewels of national security which are nuclear weaponry.

I have said already that Russia is overly keen to improve relations with Pakistan, You can expect to see LukOil and Gazprom in Pakistan soon building pipelines, Oil refineries and Russian steel giants, I dont see Russia selling weapons to Pakistan, Yet. Not until India is buying American weapons in large quantities will Russia start selling weapons to Pakistan.
I won't comment on other parts as it's irrelevant. You are mixing business with geo-politics. Even in India, There are lots of Chinese companies and even yearly trade between India-China is worth half of Pakistan GDP but it mean nothing as far as geo-political relation between India and China.

On bold part - We are going to buy around 60 Billion $ from Russia in next 20 years (If no other deals happens). Only 5th Generation aircraft (PAK FA deal will be worth 35 Bn $). There are many other defence deals like Brahmos-1,2, MTC's, T-90, Frigates, ACC, Su MKI, MIG29 and so on. So, even we don't have any more deal - We are going to pay 60 Bn $ in next 20 years. Pakistan total purchase won't even be 60 Bn $ forget about only Russian purchase. No country can match India's buying ability. Russia won't sell to China and U.S. and allies like Europe, Turkey, KSA, Japan, S.K. won't buy and rest are irrelevant and won't able to replace India in next few decades. In Short, We can buy large quantity from U.S. and still India would be biggest purchaser from Russia.

Pakistan has cleverly for the last almost 70 years aligned itself with organizations and nations that have helped it balance India, Indians may not like this fact but its a reality that Pakistan's relations with various world powers has made Pakistan more powerful than it would have been without. To put things into hindsight, Pakistan politically, socially and military would be the equivalent of Bangladesh which has half the economy of Pakistan but an almost equal population. Pakistan has used its geo-strategic location by gaining support from world powers who have inturn given military aid and the crown jewels of national security which are nuclear weaponry.
Pakistan has played very bad role on international stage. After 50 years of friendship with U.S., they didn't gave any high-tech weapons/jets except few Bn $ aid which is not visible in Pak economy today thanks to corruption and bad system. What Pak got from U.S. beside aid ? F-16 (52 block), Old C-130, old Howazitter ?? These are nothing. We are buying much better from U.S. and they are ready to sell anything to India including F-35.

Russia was never friend of Pakistan since 47. Remember 80's and 90's Afghanistan war ? Russia never supported Pakistan nor sold anything important which will be used against India. Pakistan was the country who indulged war against Soviet.

Which country left ? Iran ? Iran is good friend of ours. We will be using Chabbar port to reach CAR and beyond. Afghanistan ? :lol: Do i need to say anything ?

Pakistan don't have any friend except China that also due to same enemy. On other side, we have good relation with most of the countries including Russia, U.S., A'than, Iran and Europe, Asean countries.

There were 4 wars between India and Pakistan. We won all 4 including biggest surrender in 1971 and U.S. and China were able to do nothing.

There is no geographical advantage to Pakistan. If you talking about gateway to CAR, then think again. There are 2 countries i.e. Iran and Afghanistan. Who needs Pakistan to reach A'than ?? You are giving too much importance to terrorist country Pakistan.

What Pakistan got in last 64 years ??
1> GDP growth 2% 2> GDP 175 Bn $ (1/10 of India) 3> Asking for bail-out from IMF for 11th time, 4> Failed Nation 5> Known as terrorist nation and many more. Think again !!

Pathogen

I won't comment on other parts as it's irrelevant. You are mixing business with geo-politics. Even in India, There are lots of Chinese companies and even yearly trade between India-China is worth half of Pakistan GDP but it mean nothing as far as geo-political relation between India and China.

On bold part - We are going to buy around 60 Billion $ from Russia in next 20 years (If no other deals happens). Only 5th Generation aircraft (PAK FA deal will be worth 35 Bn $). There are many other defence deals like Brahmos-1,2, MTC's, T-90, Frigates, ACC, Su MKI, MIG29 and so on. So, even we don't have any more deal - We are going to pay 60 Bn $ in next 20 years. Pakistan total purchase won't even be 60 Bn $ forget about only Russian purchase. No country can match India's buying ability. Russia won't sell to China and U.S. and allies like Europe, Turkey, KSA, Japan, S.K. won't buy and rest are irrelevant and won't able to replace India in next few decades. In Short, We can buy large quantity from U.S. and still India would be biggest purchaser from Russia.

Pakistan has played very bad role on international stage. After 50 years of friendship with U.S., they didn't gave any high-tech weapons/jets except few Bn $ aid which is not visible in Pak economy today thanks to corruption and bad system. What Pak got from U.S. beside aid ? F-16 (52 block), Old C-130, old Howazitter ?? These are nothing. We are buying much better from U.S. and they are ready to sell anything to India including F-35.

Russia was never friend of Pakistan since 47. Remember 80's and 90's Afghanistan war ? Russia never supported Pakistan nor sold anything important which will be used against India. Pakistan was the country who indulged war against Soviet.

Which country left ? Iran ? Iran is good friend of ours. We will be using Chabbar port to reach CAR and beyond. Afghanistan ? :lol: Do i need to say anything ?

Pakistan don't have any friend except China that also due to same enemy. On other side, we have good relation with most of the countries including Russia, U.S., A'than, Iran and Europe, Asean countries.

There were 4 wars between India and Pakistan. We won all 4 including biggest surrender in 1971 and U.S. and China were able to do nothing.

There is no geographical advantage to Pakistan. If you talking about gateway to CAR, then think again. There are 2 countries i.e. Iran and Afghanistan. Who needs Pakistan to reach A'than ?? You are giving too much importance to terrorist country Pakistan.

What Pakistan got in last 64 years ??
1> GDP growth 2% 2> GDP 175 Bn $ (1/10 of India) 3> Asking for bail-out from IMF for 11th time, 4> Failed Nation 5> Known as terrorist nation and many more. Think again !!
If India thinks it can buy weapons from both Russia and the US and neither the Russians or the US will sell also to Pakistan then its an complete error in judgement. If you read the thread I post earlier Bangladesh is not given the important role it should be given because it all goes on Pakistan. If Pakistan did not enter into these Pacts with the US/China/ME then it would be in the current position of Bangladesh or worse somewhere like Africa.

India has lost most of the wars its fought,Why then did Pakistan capture 80,000 square KM of Kashmir in 1948 which India has been trying to get back for the past half century? An area larger than the European country of Austria, 1965 was offically a stalemate and India's great friend Russia played the mediator in Tashkent, India won only the 1971 war and that too because the Bengali people did all the work for 9 long months. The West Pakistanis were 1000 miles away from their base and were heavily outnumbered by Mukhti Bahini and Indian military, There were bound to loose. I dont regard Kargil or Siachen as wars because they are limited conflicts. If India wants to claim victory it can only do so in the 71 war and that too thanks to Bengali Mukhti Bahini.

Pakistan is exporting terrorism with impunity and its nuclear shield means India can not pull the trigger for fear of a nuclear strike, There is being patriotic Indians and there is being delusional. I agree that Russia helped India alot in 1971 and that Pakistan played a key role in the 80s against USSR in Afghanistan but geo-politics change.

Pathogen

Im simply saying if India thinks it can buy weapons from both Russia and the US, One of them will sell to Pakistan if they are not already. The Chinese will obviously continue to do so because its in there interests that India remains mired and entangled within South Asia with Pakistan.

$1 Bil worth of money to Pakistan = $10 bil worth of trouble for India.

If India thinks it can buy weapons from both Russia and the US and neither the Russians or the US will sell also to Pakistan then its an complete error in judgement.
Defence deal is mostly based on exclusive terms. Like, We bought Sukhoi 30MKI and another big deal of PAK FA/FGFA. So, Russia can't sell Sukhoi to Pakistan. If they will, Then deal will be cancelled. BTW, To replace 5th Generation partner, Pakistan needs 35 Bn $ which is impossible. You have to keep in mind that India GDP is around 1.8 Trillion $ which is 10 time bigger than Pakistan. Our defence budget will also be around 50 Bn $ going forward. Pakistan with defence budget only 7 Bn $ can't afford to spend more than 1-2 Bn $ per annum for purchasing. Also, there were lots of military aid from U.S. and lots of debt too. Even if we don't do any new deal with Russia, still every year we are going to pay minimum 4 Billion $ every year. As far as U.S. is concerned, What Pakistan got with 50 year old relation ?? F-16(52 block) 1 squadron ? U.S. already offered Super Hornet, F-35, Patriot defence system, etc to us. We also bought C-130J, C-17, P8i pos from them. We have 1 more exclusive advantage which is ISRAEL. It's all about money and fortunately Pakistan with lots of expense on 1 Million defence personnel, maintenance, Logistics, to keep nuke and missile arsenal, It won't able to buy major weapons or jets. Maximum 1/10th of India. With GDP growth around 2% and multi billion $ debt, things won't improve in next few years. For us, It's favourable condition.

If you read the thread I post earlier Bangladesh is not given the important role it should be given because it all goes on Pakistan. If Pakistan did not enter into these Pacts with the US/China/ME then it would be in the current position of Bangladesh or worse somewhere like Africa.
Bangladesh is still doing better than Pakistan. With GDP growth around 6%, Their GDP size is already doubled in last 7 years. In next 10-20 years, They might be par with Pakistan if not better. I agree, They don't have strategic location which is negative. Still, If they try their level best, they can certainly improve their situation. Bangladesh don't have much debt and they are not dependent on Aid.

India has lost most of the wars its fought,When then did Pakistan capture 80,000 square KM of Kashmir in 1948 which India has been trying to get back for the past half century? An area larger than the European country of Austria, 1965 was offically a stalemate and India's great friend Russia played the mediator in Tashkent, India won only the 1971 war and that too because the Bengali people did all the work for 9 long months. The West Pakistanis were 1000 miles away from their base and were heavily outnumbered by Mukhti Bahini and Indian military, There were bound to loose. I dont regard Kargil or Siachen as wars because they are limited conflicts. If India wants to claim victory it can only do so in the 71 war and that too thanks to Bengali Mukhti Bahini.
Make no mistake. India won each and every war since 1947.

1948 - Kashmir was ruled by Hari Singh and not by India. Later on, Hari Singh merged into India and our Army went there for take-over but Pakistan army and 10,000's people of KP already occupied 40% of Kashmir which we today call P.O.K. (Pak occupied Kashmir). We didn't fought war with them. It was our mistake which we do regret even today. But we didn't lost as we didn't fought the war. Also, Most important part is with us. Remember Water flows from India to Pakistan. We will surely take back P.O.K. sooner or later, We have time in our hand.

1965 - We defeated Pakistan.
1971 - Pakistan initiated war from our west side - we defeated them. Also, Mukti Bahini asked for our help and we helped them. Pakistan lost most humiliated defeat in last 65 years with 90,000 surrender biggest after WW2.

1984 - We took over Siachen.
1999 - Pakistan started Kargil war cowardly and we again won.

You have read wrong history. Don't read history from Pakistan text book, They are taught wrong history due to inferiority complex. read from neutral source if not from Indian source. In all cases, China + U.S. were on Pakistan side. Still, We won all 4 war which were initiated by Pakistan.

Pakistan is exporting terrorism with impunity and its nuclear shield means India can not pull the trigger for fear of a nuclear strike, There is being patriotic Indians and there is being delusional.
Pakistan is exporting terrorism and everyone knows this. Pakistan is failed nation and comes in Top 10. We are developing 3 layer of ABM shield which will be completely deployed by 2016. We will able to face any Nuke attack from Pakistan. ABM will work as offensive missile too. ABM will give us big psychological boost. Pakistan 90% Population and industry is situated in 100 KM thick Indian border, 50 Nukes and Pakistan will turn into stone age with no resilient. Pakistan don't have ABM shield nor any development going on. If Pakistan will repeat Mumbai-2, then may be some retaliation can come. India is not Pakistan who likes war. BTW, Pakistan already facing big loss for last 6-7 years. Multi Billion $ loss in WOT. U.S. is sending drone in Pakistan by giving aid. Pakistan is no more sovereign country and dependent on Aid and called as terrorist country by so called 50 year old friend.

I agree that Russia helped India alot in 1971 and that Pakistan played a key role in the 80s against USSR in Afghanistan but geo-politics change.
How can you agree when I neither said nor it's fact. It was U.S. and China who were on Pakistan side in 1965, 1971 and all war. Still, Pakistan lost very badly in all war. We never took help from Russia in any war. One thing i would agree that U.S. didn't attacked India in 1965,1971 because Russia was on our side. It was 1-1 and we won all war.

Pakistan played ZERO role in constructive things. It only supported Taliban and now facing the consequence. it's well said " What you reap, what you sew". We were with Northern Alliance. Russia was also helping N.A but Pakistan indulged in supporting TALIBAN in order to fight against Russia and N.A., They did lost but today Afghanistan is in power and Pakistan still supporting Taliban for same purpose. We have excellent relation with Afghanistan. We are 1st country to have strategic alliance with A'than whereas Pakistan is facing drone attack on regular basis.

Im simply saying if India thinks it can buy weapons from both Russia and the US, One of them will sell to Pakistan if they are not already. The Chinese will obviously continue to do so because its in there interests that India remains mired and entangled within South Asia with Pakistan.

$1 Bil worth of money to Pakistan = $10 bil worth of trouble for India.
Pakistan neither have money nor seller. Russian/American won't sell any sophisticated weapons to Pakistan. Israel and France too. What left ? China with ripped one and low quality. :lol:

Pakistan should concentrate on 11th bail-out next year. Let see who helps Pakistan this time. May be U.S. again in order to compensate drone attack and looting the sovereignty. :rofl:

Pathogen

I suggest you read some neutral sources yourself.

1948 War
The fact is in 1948 Pakistan GAINED 80,000 Sq Km, A country tends to win the war if it captures territory, The fact that Pakistan captured an area of Kashmir thats larger than Austria means Pakistan won that war. India got the vale of Kashmir and Ladakh, Most of Indian Kashmir is actually "Ladakh" which is not claimed by Pakistan. India got the major population areas and therefore the majority of the problems with Insurgency, Pakistan got most of the worlds 8000 meter heights and even K2.

1965 War

Go read a document called the "Tashkent Declaration", India's great friend Russia played the mediator role and Sashtri died of a heart attack in Tashkent, It was a stalemate, but one I believe Pakistan got the better off being able to repulse a much larger Indian attack and being outnumbered.

1971 War

India won thanks to Mukhti Bahini who did all the hard work for 9 long months, Can you please tell us how heavily out-numbered the Pakistani soldiers in East Pakistan were against Mukhti Bahini and Indian forces?

1962 War

We all know China won this war.

Kargil and Saichen limited conflicts, India didnt cross the border in 1999 and neither did it do so in 2002.