Kulbhushan Jadhav - Developments

xeaaex

I already said he is most probably dead, now it's time for India to corner porkis once and for all.
I think chinks knewnit earlier that is why they are pushing for obor.
Because they know if whatever happened to jadhav gets in media then there is 99.99% chance that there will be a limited conflict between India and porks.
And they also known that current government is capable of taking such decisions.
And if there is war between India and porks then chances of cpec passing through our Kashmir will be destroyed.

Road Ahead... Plan A and Plan B.

Plan A: request for outright release.
Mr Salve said the Plan A is the option to argue that such "eggregious violation of human rights must compel the man being released". The senior advocate, however, said it is an option that only "adventurous lawyers like me" would try.

Plan B: go through Pakistani courts
to demand for an annulment of the death sentence. "Get him proper legal representation and then let him be tried in a manner acceptable to civilised society,"
First priority should be proof of life. I am apalled that no one from our side even raised the issue in the ICJ.

mendosa

Pakistan craves equivalence with India. It recognizes it can't claim parity economically, militarily or diplomatically, so it tries to match us 'ideologically' by picking fights with us. We must deny any platform where Pakistan is seen to be sharing the podium with India, be it Wagha border drama that happens everyday or cricket matches.
As expected Paki cockroaches deny consular access. It seems obvious that Mr Jadhav is either dead or so badly tortured that no one on the other side can be allowed to see him.

Lets see how far GoI has the guts to follow up on this. Can they take the required action when it really matters?
Captain Raghu Raman said a nice thing on WION yesterday. It is Pakistan who has the initiative despite losing the case. In a limited tactical sense, we won the ICJ case, but on a large scale, what does Pakistan actually risk losing? at the worst, they get a censure from ICJ, and have to return Kulbhushan. If they have killed him, then at the worst India will do some fire assaults on empty Pakistani bunkers to pacify domestic opinion, but does the establishment of Pakistan lose anything at an institutional level?

100s of fishermen are captured every month, no one even knows what happens to them, neither the government of Pakistan nor India makes a big deal out of it. But this time, Pakistan chose its battlefield, calculated its steps and escalated the matter. The point of escalation is not necessarily to hold on to Kulbhushan, but to send a message that Pakistan is engaged in a conflict with India. In that sense, they have already won the initiative battle. They set the agenda and lured us in. They have been trying it with stone pelters, beheadings, we have been on their hook after every single initiative they took.

Even when Clinton was visiting India in 2000, they did a massacre of Sikhs in Kashmir just to send a message that "there is some conflict going on here, don't forget that". (Chittisinghpura)

The Pakistani deep state gets realpolitick dividends in terms of the moral (from Ummah) and material (from Pentagon and China) support they receive for maintaining their USP of being the irritant that keeps India on its toes. By branding themselves as a power that can take on India in a manner which restricts our rise and keeps us tied down to a regional role, Pakistan is able to bolster its strategic utility in the corridors of power and gain money and weapons. Please note the emphasis on the word 'take on' and not 'win'. They don't actually have to win any battle they start, they have won merely by initiating a conflict with India. Our inaction and squeamish attitude makes it worse, but even if we didn't respond, we are on the losing side, in fact, even if we do respond, we are on the losing side. The genius of their strategy is that they have scored merely by seizing the initiative. They have been seizing initiative when they sent raiders in 1948, when they attacked us in 1965, and when they started causing a flow of refugees into India in 1971, when they started mountaineering expedition to Siachen, when they attacked is in Kargil, then the parliament in 2003, then 26/11, then Gurdaspur, Uri, and now this. Look at their risk taking appetite to take initiative and look at the pattern of how we are always caught napping.

It has dented our national narrative which claimed that India will not talk to the deep state in Pakistan and will only talk to the elected members. It has also dented our narrative that India can go on to become a superpower by simply ignoring Pakistan. The pigs have managed to get us down to their level and wrestle with them. This itself is a victory for them. Many Indians don't realize this.

We will either get Kulbhushan back or we wont, but what does Pakistan lose from losing him? nothing. What does it gain from running our nose in international forums? lot of things. Could India have done such a thing to China? one cannot even imagine. Then how is it that Pakistan has the guts to do it to us? after all the power differential between Pakistan and India is the same as that between India and China, then how come Pakistan isn't terrified of taking these risks unlike India which is terrified to take on China in a similar out-of-the-box manner?

We have only changed our tactics, but our strategy remains the same as that during Congress era. Pakistan initiates the fire and we do fire fighting retrospectively.

I know it used to be customary in the Victorian Era, but who does this today? The Pakistani attorney looks like a motley to me. What is this? Some village fair theatre?

I guess the judges must have suffered his enigmatic presence.

Khawar Qureshi

On the other hand, the Indian attorney Harish Salve looks far more dignified, and worked pro bono.

Harish Salve

This is shocking

Check out @sayareakd's Tweet:
after going through the video in the tweet, it appears that deal was struct between PA & NS that we get out of Dawn leak, you leave Kulbhushan case to us ( PA), both of them must have said each is your mess you clear it up as you like.

PA choosing forign Lawyer that took 5 Lacs £ from poor Pak army budget, shows PA has more to hide in the matter. NS got his daughter out of Dawn leaks, he dont cares if PA or Pak itself got screwed.

So, it appears that hurriedly done secret military trial(if it ever happen) was nothing but kangaroo court proceedings, they didnt want to bring in proceedings in public. Now to prove their case they have to including evidence in this case.

mendosa

I know it used to be customary in the Victorian Era, but who does this today? The Pakistani attorney looks like a motley to me. What is this? Some village fair theatre?

I guess the judges must have suffered his enigmatic presence.

Khawar Qureshi

On the other hand, the Indian attorney Harish Salve looks far more dignified, and worked pro bono.

Harish Salve
The story behind that practice of wearing the wig is even more interesting. It was French King Louis 13 who started that practice when he became afflicted with male pattern baldness. Other institutions have simply continued that vestigial custom.

That Pakistani lawyer is basically an circumcised Indian who thinks he is an Arab, wearing a British cloak and a French wig, speaking in a fake London accent. A good metaphor for the confused identity of Pakistanis.

Captain Raghu Raman said a nice thing on WION yesterday. It is Pakistan who has the initiative despite losing the case. In a limited tactical sense, we won the ICJ case, but on a large scale, what does Pakistan actually risk losing? at the worst, they get a censure from ICJ, and have to return Kulbhushan. If they have killed him, then at the worst India will do some fire assaults on empty Pakistani bunkers to pacify domestic opinion, but does the establishment of Pakistan lose anything at an institutional level?

100s of fishermen are captured every month, no one even knows what happens to them, neither the government of Pakistan nor India makes a big deal out of it. But this time, Pakistan chose its battlefield, calculated its steps and escalated the matter. The point of escalation is not necessarily to hold on to Kulbhushan, but to send a message that Pakistan is engaged in a conflict with India. In that sense, they have already won the initiative battle. They set the agenda and lured us in. They have been trying it with stone pelters, beheadings, we have been on their hook after every single initiative they took.

Even when Clinton was visiting India in 2000, they did a massacre of Sikhs in Kashmir just to send a message that "there is some conflict going on here, don't forget that". (Chittisinghpura)

The Pakistani deep state gets realpolitick dividends in terms of the moral (from Ummah) and material (from Pentagon and China) support they receive for maintaining their USP of being the irritant that keeps India on its toes. By branding themselves as a power that can take on India in a manner which restricts our rise and keeps us tied down to a regional role, Pakistan is able to bolster its strategic utility in the corridors of power and gain money and weapons. Please note the emphasis on the word 'take on' and not 'win'. They don't actually have to win any battle they start, they have won merely by initiating a conflict with India. Our inaction and squeamish attitude makes it worse, but even if we didn't respond, we are on the losing side, in fact, even if we do respond, we are on the losing side. The genius of their strategy is that they have scored merely by seizing the initiative. They have been seizing initiative when they sent raiders in 1948, when they attacked us in 1965, and when they started causing a flow of refugees into India in 1971, when they started mountaineering expedition to Siachen, when they attacked is in Kargil, then the parliament in 2003, then 26/11, then Gurdaspur, Uri, and now this. Look at their risk taking appetite to take initiative and look at the pattern of how we are always caught napping.

It has dented our national narrative which claimed that India will not talk to the deep state in Pakistan and will only talk to the elected members. It has also dented our narrative that India can go on to become a superpower by simply ignoring Pakistan. The pigs have managed to get us down to their level and wrestle with them. This itself is a victory for them. Many Indians don't realize this.

We will either get Kulbhushan back or we wont, but what does Pakistan lose from losing him? nothing. What does it gain from running our nose in international forums? lot of things. Could India have done such a thing to China? one cannot even imagine. Then how is it that Pakistan has the guts to do it to us? after all the power differential between Pakistan and India is the same as that between India and China, then how come Pakistan isn't terrified of taking these risks unlike India which is terrified to take on China in a similar out-of-the-box manner?

We have only changed our tactics, but our strategy remains the same as that during Congress era. Pakistan initiates the fire and we do fire fighting retrospectively.
To me, its more fundamental than that - being reactive instead of proactive. We are deluding ourselves if we believe that the Chinese or US will be allow us to grow unabated. They will use Pak at every turn. So as long as we develop a coherent strategy and execute it consistently, we will always be deterred by the pest knows as Pak. Regarding who comes out on top in this tussle, it depends on what the objectives were. I agree that Pak wants to keep reminding the world that it can take on India. As long as we keep ignoring them and only reacting to provocations, we will always be playing catch-up.

As to why is Pak able to attack us in an asymmetric fashion while we cannot do the same to China? Many reasons beyond just why are we not able to. Its also a question of is it in our interest to do so. For one, aim of those ruling Pak is very different from those ruling India. The real establishment in Pak does not need to care about the economy or the public, they can just sell more of their country to the highest bidder or rather now the only bidder. India cannot do that. Moreover, even if Indian establishment were to throw caution to the wind and try and take on China, who will have our back as the Chinese would have Pakis? Once we had USSR, now?

So lets set aside China, for Pak, if we are serious, we do not have any way but a limited war to take back parts of PoK and make OBOR impossible. Then be ready to face the inevitable consequences. Or better yet, provoke the Pakis to give us an excuse.

Doval before he became NSA said that the best way to ensure India's security is to grow at 10%. That might be a component of our security policy but it cannot be the whole of it.

Anyway, this whole ICJ episode is for domestic consumption, much as I believe the surgical strikes being made public was. As you said and I agree, the strategy if there is one remains the same as it was. Not sure if even the people really making these strategies in MoD have changed. Even if there has been a change, it might take sometime for the results to show up.

I'd like to be proven wrong and this matter that Pakis have carefully planned and escalated to backfire on them. Even if we have the capability, do we have the political resolve? I doubt it.

Tarun Kumar

Firstly I dont think Modi government is that obsessed with saving jadhav. Whether he was part of larger game between RAW and DIA or India and Pakistan is not known. Secondly pentagon is no longer interested in containing India, Pentagon's focus is China and they are fighting with their own State Department on China stance. Thirdly, India can use this as a precedent to wriggle out of IWT is a certainty. Moreover UNSC resolution itself becomes useless and so does any international obligation to Pakistan. IWT is already dead and we can now use more water for ourselves. PA can do no shit and they will use the IWT failure to beat Paki civilian government. Finally it only means that future conventional and diplomatic options for India wrt Pak is now almost over. We will hit them hard on LOC as usual and hit them sub conventionally and vice versa. But if a threshold is crossed, leaders in India will have no choice but to strike Pakistan's innards with nukes. That is why military expansion in both missiles and missile defence is now best option for us. This is now a game of wait, watch and build your military strength. As for India's ambitions to becoming a major power, that depends more on our ability to produce weapons ourselves and beat China/US in military technological curve. if we for example had thousands of our own 155mm artillery instead of importing from US and Israel, Paki army would not be able to stand on LOC. LOC action is not simply destroying few bunkers. Most of time bunkers are occupied and destruction of a bunker weakens your hold on LOC. This is now a game of DRDO/DAE/IA and RAW and civilian bureaucracy is now pretty irrelevant.

after going through the video in the tweet, it appears that deal was struct between PA & NS that we get out of Dawn leak, you leave Kulbhushan case to us ( PA), both of them must have said each is your mess you clear it up as you like.

PA choosing forign Lawyer that took 5 Lacs £ from poor Pak army budget, shows PA has more to hide in the matter. NS got his daughter out of Dawn leaks, he dont cares if PA or Pak itself got screwed.

So, it appears that hurriedly done secret military trial(if it ever happen) was nothing but kangaroo court proceedings, they didnt want to bring in proceedings in public. Now to prove their case they have to including evidence in this case.
  • The wig is white. It might be to create an effect of old age and therefore wisdom of the lawyer.
  • Circumcision is not the same thing as genital mutilation. Circumcision = circum (circle) + cision (cut). What people actually do in many places is called a "hack" or a "chop," not circumcision. The way Jews and Muslims slaughter animals is also circumcision.
  • Qureshi indicates descent from the Quraish (قريش‎‎) tribe, so assuming his surname is authentic, he would be an Arab with Indian in it.

mendosa

To me, its more fundamental than that - being reactive instead of proactive. We are deluding ourselves if we believe that the Chinese or US will be allow us to grow unabated.
The Indian establishment does understand that these powers will not surrender their privileged positions to make space for India. Our scientists were killed, our weapons programs were sabotaged, we were sanctioned, and they are even trying to sabotage our supercomputer project PARAM to prevent us from making breakthrough in quantum computing.

We'll have to fight this one out. But it appears that they were able to gain a disproportionate amount of success using just the Pakistan card, than all other cards combined, and in that context, we have been lax to neutralize that threat.

As to why is Pak able to attack us in an asymmetric fashion while we cannot do the same to China? Many reasons beyond just why are we not able to. Its also a question of is it in our interest to do so.
It's reasonable if we don't want to take on China, but what stopped us from taking on Pakistan? we could have neutralized their nuclear reactor decades ago. Is there a valid excuse for this other than a lack of initiative and intel failure? We could have been the one who spotted the military build up in 1965 and done a preemptive strike. Any excuse other than intel failure?

So lets set aside China, for Pak, if we are serious, we do not have any way but a limited war to take back parts of PoK
This is reasonable too. What stops us from capturing a new post every time there is a terror attack in India? we don't need to have highly theoretical debates about how to take back whole of POK, and what the nuclear threshold is. Every time there is a terror attack, just occupy a few posts and send diplomatic message to all world capitals "we have been attacked, in response we have captured these posts, we intend to hold on to them in perpetuity". Don't budge no matter how many expeditions Pakistan launches to take those posts back, just hold on to them. That is how Israel has held on to Golan heights, is there anyone crying foul? This is well below the imaginary nuclear threshold which the libtards keep scaring us with.

Any excuse for not doing it?

Doval before he became NSA said that the best way to ensure India's security is to grow at 10%.
Growing at 10% means avoiding a war for the next 10 years, at any cost. This is the extension of the same strategy which UPA followed of taking hits but not responding. Just concentrate on economy and let the war of a thousand cuts continue.

There is a false narrative of "either there will be a full scale nuclear war or there will be nothing" which even NDA hasn't been able to shake off. The truth is, there exists a strategic space in between tactical fire assaults and full scale nuclear war.

Why aren't these options being used?

If an RDX laden truck goes off in front of ISI HQ Rawalpindi, will they attack you with nukes? if you kidnap and mutilate the 3 star officers and their families, will they launch a nuclear war? They will, at the most, try to do the same to us, and we just have to protect our people better, sometimes we may fail (in that sense we are already failing because they are already beheading our soldiers) but the cost has to be increased for them and no one can deny that the next time they are planning to do a beheading, it will not be a casual decision for them as the memories of a blackened GHQ building and mutilated bodies of 3-star generals flash in front of their eyes.

We only keep killing Hafiz Saeed in Bollywood movies and patting our backs. We've already killed him in 3 movies already. He has become a local star like Gabbar Singh.

Just bump off Bilawal Bhutto, it will start a large scale riot between Sindhis and Punjabis which will spiral out of hand pretty quick. There is neither troop engagement involved, nor nuclear threshold. The ISI didn't hold back any punches when their sleeper cells used the cover of Jat agitation to commit sabotage in Haryana (dams were destroyed, 35,000 crore rupees worth of infrastructure was demolished).

There is no shortage of ideas, only a shortage of initiative.

• Qureshi indicates descent from the Quraish (قريش‎‎) tribe, so assuming his surname is authentic, he would be an Arab with Indian in it.
He is Arab, based in Doha. Pakistan Army didnt trust its citizen to defend them, so they send in over charging foreigner, they thought this British looking Muslim of similar name might fool the world, only ones who he fooled end up Pakistanis only.

The Indian establishment does understand that these powers will not surrender their privileged positions to make space for India. Our scientists were killed, our weapons programs were sabotaged, we were sanctioned, and they are even trying to sabotage our supercomputer project PARAM to prevent us from making breakthrough in quantum computing.

We'll have to fight this one out. But it appears that they were able to gain a disproportionate amount of success using just the Pakistan card, than all other cards combined, and in that context, we have been lax to neutralize that threat.
Its natural for world powers to try and restrict the club. Its up to us to make sure we grow in-spite of all the obstacles. I'm afraid we have not done a good job of it and squandered advantage when it was ours and given into pressure when we should have resisted. Poor leaders has of course compounded our problems.

We have never taken the Pak treat seriously enough to work consistently to eradicate it. Due to varying reasons, our establishment right up to PMs have not been keen to proactively tackle the pests. I'm afraid we are still in that mindset.

It's reasonable if we don't want to take on China, but what stopped us from taking on Pakistan? we could have neutralized their nuclear reactor decades ago. Is there a valid excuse for this other than a lack of initiative and intel failure? We could have been the one who spotted the military build up in 1965 and done a preemptive strike. Any excuse other than intel failure?
I'll be blunt, its weakness of leadership, perhaps a cultural one. We are much too willing to compromise and too wary of confrontations to have taken the initiative even when we were offered it on a platter - be it Soviet offer to take PoK when they were invading Afghanistan or Israeli offer to bomb then evolving Paki nuclear assets.

Kargil was another massive intel failure.

This is reasonable too. What stops us from capturing a new post every time there is a terror attack in India? we don't need to have highly theoretical debates about how to take back whole of POK, and what the nuclear threshold is. Every time there is a terror attack, just occupy a few posts and send diplomatic message to all world capitals "we have been attacked, in response we have captured these posts, we intend to hold on to them in perpetuity". Don't budge no matter how many expeditions Pakistan launches to take those posts back, just hold on to them. That is how Israel has held on to Golan heights, is there anyone crying foul? This is well below the imaginary nuclear threshold which the libtards keep scaring us with.

Any excuse for not doing it?
We returned Hajir pass. Most of the terrorism today passed through it. We returned 90K PoWs for virtually nothing. Its said Monmohan wanted to demilitralize Siachin and was only stopped when the Army refused to re-capture it if were to be taken over by Pak.

Our political record in this context is frankly abysmal, save for a bit of clever diplomacy before '71. That too in the end proved to be for naught and we had to sign Friendship pact with Soviets to save us.

Surgical strikes are of little strategic value, only land matters. Whether we will have the political will to take that step I don't know.

Growing at 10% means avoiding a war for the next 10 years, at any cost. This is the extension of the same strategy which UPA followed of taking hits but not responding. Just concentrate on economy and let the war of a thousand cuts continue.

There is a false narrative of "either there will be a full scale nuclear war or there will be nothing" which even NDA hasn't been able to shake off. The truth is, there exists a strategic space in between tactical fire assaults and full scale nuclear war.

Why aren't these options being used?

If an RDX laden truck goes off in front of ISI HQ Rawalpindi, will they attack you with nukes? if you kidnap and mutilate the 3 star officers and their families, will they launch a nuclear war? They will, at the most, try to do the same to us, and we just have to protect our people better, sometimes we may fail (in that sense we are already failing because they are already beheading our soldiers) but the cost has to be increased for them and no one can deny that the next time they are planning to do a beheading, it will not be a casual decision for them as the memories of a blackened GHQ building and mutilated bodies of 3-star generals flash in front of their eyes.

We only keep killing Hafiz Saeed in Bollywood movies and patting our backs. We've already killed him in 3 movies already. He has become a local star like Gabbar Singh.

Just bump off Bilawal Bhutto, it will start a large scale riot between Sindhis and Punjabis which will spiral out of hand pretty quick. There is neither troop engagement involved, nor nuclear threshold. The ISI didn't hold back any punches when their sleeper cells used the cover of Jat agitation to commit sabotage in Haryana (dams were destroyed, 35,000 crore rupees worth of infrastructure was demolished).

There is no shortage of ideas, only a shortage of initiative.
They don't want to shake off that narative, it serves as a good excuse for them not taking steps that might jeapordize their poltical power.

mendosa

Our political record in this context is frankly abysmal
The Manmohan Singh is a good example of bad policies, but I wouldn't exactly say that the political class has been all bad.

There are several examples where the political class showed great strategic foresight but was not able to reveal it to the public or military at that moment. It only came out later.

For example, during OP Brasstacks the military went ahead to antagonize Pakistan without the permission of Rajiv Gandhi, but at that time, we had several projects running (nuclear, space, covert ops), which the PM simply could not have revealed to the Army chief at that time for the sake of security.

Even the nuclear program was so secret that only 3 people knew about it. When we were attacked in Kargil, the military presented a range of options to hit across the border but Vajpayee denied. Only now we know that we had a lot of projects on the radar of western powers which they would have hit if we went into full scale war.

The political authority always has a birds eye view of things. We may see them as paan-chweing, dhhoti wearing useless people but they are quite sophisticated people. They have the kind of vital inputs which the Army simply does not have. When a country must go to war depends not just on when the military is ready, but for a nation to be ready, there are various metrics that are seen, including youth bulge, demographics, unemployment etc, to see what impact a war might have on the whole population. If we went for a war in 2003 and if the US sanctioned us, we would have faced unemployment on such a large scale that the whole nation would have descended into riots, even if the military managed to invade and break Pakistan.

Politicians take a farther view of things, 50 to 100 years down the line. Military generals, although highly patriotic, have their national vision restricted to only military parameters (capture of land, maintaining of law and discipline and so on). They think in terms of what happens to the nation WHILE they are serving. If that hadn't been the case, we wouldn't have seen the ugly political tussle during the appointment of a certain Army chief who is now a Union Minister. For this reason I support the supremacy of political authority over the military even though the military sometimes feels indignation because of it.

One day a reporter asked Putin what difference he feels between his spy job and his job as a politician, he said "when I was in the intel service, we used to think of ourselves as hotshots. The kind of things we did, sabotage, assassinations, false flags, etc, we thought we were the baddest wolves in the world. When I became a politician I realized that an intel officer comes nowhere close to a politician when it comes to deep cunning"

We can criticize our political leadership and they are magnanimous enough to let us do it, but the truth is, the political class has been able to deliver whatever goals the nation set for itself, be it nuclear program, or space program, or Bangladesh liberation.

PSYOP

Pakistan had hanged an Indian, Sheikh Shamim, on custodies of spying in 1999 and had sentenced others to death over the same charges, and Kulbhushan Jadhav would also see the same providence of droopy, as everyone knows ICJ doesn’t recognize as a court but its verdicts and statements uninitiated always underneath the shoe.

Why are you typing in bold letters. Nobody takes you seriously anyway. And improve your English before typing garbage .

Maybe lack of English proficiency is why pakistan lost the case in ICJ.:hehe:

Pakis have appealed for a re-hearing at ICJ..

What say boys, will ICJ agree?