INS Vishal (IAC- II) Aircraft Carrier - Flattop or Ski Jump

sasum

Atheist but not Communists.
It has disputes with Taiwan but Taiwan has formidable defense forces
I don't have to even react :hehe:
If we had not invested in deterrence, Arunachal and Sikkim would have been struck out of list of indian states by now.
Sikkim was never claimed by China. Even when Sikkimese Assembly chose to be a part of Indian Federation of States, China was OK with it.
In 1962, China defeated us comprehensively; She not only occupied entire Arunachal, but quickly made inroads into North Bengal..what is more Kolkata was bombed, but they retreated on their own. Even vacated Arunachal Pradesh. You know why? China always wanted to win certain parts of India by her ideology and culture not by force. To that end, they succeded when they converted an entire generation of tribals in Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Telengana and North Bengal into Maoist. Chinese are savvy enough to know that a nation of billion+ people cannot be subjugated by military might.
You have to go a long way to understand nuances of realpolitik.:frusty:

Yumdoot

I am not seeing any point being made.
:) Yes I think I see that.

Yes, submarines are difficult to detect and kill and are a potent threat. There is the reason why IN hopes to induct ~2 dozen submarines. So?
So!!!
You are still trying to avoid the obvious. The obvious that has been debated ad nauseam by the navies around the world and a debate that has already been concluded.

The IN has assessed the need for 3 carriers, in addition to the sub fleet. These acquisitions probably fight for budgets, but neither can play the other's role (sea control vs sea denial).
Sea Control, Command of the Seas, waghera-waghera, is all very good but currently and for foreseeable future the Indian Navy is looking to merely police IOR region, which is what a 3 Carrier force allows effectively. There really is nobody, not even US who has Sea Control. That is why US is effectively retreating from the Eastern Pacific and the IOR. That is why nearly all the US Carriers just stay at home port most of the times. One Sub is enough to challenge Sea Control because you don’t know what it could be carrying. By repeating such phrases that are not borne out in real world today you are seriously passing into prehistoric times. Alfred Mahan was born more than 150 years back. And much of his theorizing got supported in practice only because the world till recently was structured around Colonial Loot. Countries like India, Vietnam, Russia and even China have ensured that the Colonial times are dead and gone forever. So going on and on about old concepts is little more than a child crying – la la la la – at something he does not like.

When you see a small country like Vietnam buying 6 Kilos to face a mortal enemy several times bigger, you have to be able to explain the know-why of it.

You are assuming that the CBG deploys ASW choppers in defensive role and not in offensive role against subs. Infact, the invincible class and the current Japanese flat tops are built will explicit ASW missions. Furthermore, the CBG will also consist of a hunter killer submarine.
No I am not assuming that. Rather I know that they do. I am saying it is rather in-effective and for various reasons. The Japanese flat tops you are talking about are a case in point, because it is your choice to see it as ASW capability. I rather see it as general in-effectiveness and highly challenged nature of a pure ASW fight.

In fact I gave you specific examples of both the 1962 US-Soviet face off where the US could not track one Sub out of four. And mind you these were noisy as hell Foxtrots. By 1973 and despite the Soviets still lagging in technology relied on their 23 submarines to keep things interesting for the 3 Carriers of the US Navy ultimately dashing all hopes of Sea Control. Chinese probably took that lesson to heart and build up a formidable submarine arm. The US Navy did chase a few Subs but really the ultimate results on ground (in the sea :)) tells us how much that really helped.

In between in 1971, the Soviets had committed only 1 nuclear sub under the Indo-Soviet Pact. You can see the results. By 1978 Indira Gandhi had learnt the lesson regarding nuclear submarine effectiveness.

Carriers are considered laggards - when we are going from a 1 carrier navy to a 3 carrier navy, UK is building 2 65K ton carriers, and Japan is inducting through deck cruisers which are carriers by another name, PLAN has inducted its first carrier, Australia and Spain are inducting Juan Carlos LHD?
Carriers are not considered laggards. I merely characterized them as such and merely for the sake of taking my argument forward. I agree Carriers are not useless. But the way world-wide the Navies are treating them shows where the priority lies.

The 2 UK Carriers you mention are slower with lesser range then even the INS Vikramaditya, which is already 2 decades old. In fact commentators like Saurav Jha have already hinted at how there are moves afoot to saddle Indian Navy with one of these floating jokes.

The Japanese are going to fly aircrafts, in any serious manner, from their flat tops only in some distant future. Actually Japanese navy too is larger in terms of tonnage then Indian Navy and they actually have made the best possible use of Carriers, in Pearl Harbour. And yet they are going slower. They have expedited Soryus instead.

PLAN is inducting Carriers only after they have already made a formidable submarine arm. PLAN size is nearly 3-5 times our Navy, depending on how you begin to calculate.

Frankly even the South Korean Navy is not much smaller than the India Navy and they are simply not interested in carriers.

Australia is an interesting case. They had one carrier, which when retired, became the cause of much grief for their Naval Brass. One big guy from their Navy actually said that without the Carrier Australian Navy could not claim to be a ‘Blue Water Navy’. Now tell me if any joke can be funnier than an – Australian Blue Water Navy.

Spain is NATO, they will do what subservient states do. In any case how will they sell it if they do even induct it.

In 1971 the complete Navy's strategy was a defensive one on the West and offensive on the East. What could a carrier have achieved in the West? And since you quote the 1971 example: If INS Vikrant's performance was wanting, then what is your appraisal of our submarine fleet in 1971?
You have got to be able to sift of historical fact from historiography. The strategy in Arabian Ocean was also offensive, and the Indian Navy brass had to convince political bosses to make it so. Just that against West Pakistan, no mission involving denial of escape to retreating forces was envisaged, while the shore based attacks were carried out by the Missile Boats unlike in the Bay of Bengal.

The IN submarines arm (started just 3 years back) too were busy in the Arabian Sea. Old Submariners of that time have recounted interesting ‘fictional’ tales of having intercepted unknown nuclear subs in 1971 (for those interested, Diego Garcia build up by US was started sometime before the 1971 war). Unfortunately the brand new Foxtrots that India had, were armed with only torpedos and were under express instructions to shoot only after positive identification or on being attacked. But the situation has dramatically changed since then. Today an Indian Navy submariner will ask you - what is it that you want fired from an IN Submarine.

Note – to correct your misunderstanding. I did not cast doubt on performance of INS Vikrant in 1971. The performance was excellent. But we were lucky that US had gifted only one Tench Class sub to the Pakis. What if they had gifted two?

But if you really wish to understand how effective the submarines in 1971 were, you can refer to the story of the PNS Hangor threat. An old tech submarine that had very nearly wiped off the IN ASW capabilities in the Arabian Sea. We escaped, probably because of poor seamanship of the Pakis on board. But that is not a plan – relying on poor leadership of the opponents. Also the sole Soviet nuke sub assigned against the Task Force 74. Or the ‘story’ told by Commodore Franklin of IN, about the high stakes game against the unknown nuclear Sub inside Paki waters. Or the multiple defensive moves that IN had to make to shake off PNS Ghazi. Mind you PNS Ghazi too was not a bad move. It was only poor seamanship of the Pakis and some deft intel handling by IN, that cleared the way for INS Vikrant.

There are other interesting stories too that show how the surface fleet is really limited against a submarine. For example when the Foxtrots were coming in from Russia, the then IN Brass decided initially to ‘Escort’ the Foxtrots. Unfortunately the fairly large ship of British origin that was assigned to do the job had to stop for fuel nearly 5 times more compared to the Foxtrots and the Foxtrot crew wondered if they were being escorted or if they were escorting. For later Foxtrots the IN did not bother to send any escort. Escort was not needed to begin with. It was just some old fantasy that some in the Brass were acting upon. A foxtrot goes nearly 30000 km plus with one fuel load.

Instead of being super confident about ones own strategy it helps to really think through why some other people act the way they do – Soviet, Chinese and now Viet reliance on Subs. Today even IN is correcting this bias. In fact US Navy too has 7 times more subs than Carriers. There has got to be a reason for that. You have got to stop the defensive thinking pattern of ASW being the answer to Subs. You could start a more aggressive thought process of - Subs being a counter to Subs, before you tell us how somebody is g@nd-fatoing. Remember arguments depend on facts and not on vacuous bragging. Fati Submarine fanboys ki nahi Carrier fanboys ki hai :).

sasum

I don't have access to anybody in south block or PMO but that does not stop me from putting forth my opinion.
India has balls or not.. very simplistic question on a very complex matter..
Its not a fight club we are talking about.. India's goal is not to beat China in a match but to secure its economic interests and sovereignty in a peaceful/tactful env. Its not in either's interest to wage war but China is not stopping from asserting on its interests, so why shouldn't we.. China is being asked to follow international rules of navigation in international waters, which it is clearly violating.. China is very formidable, so India has to build its own capacity to assert its position..
but to answer your question..

I don't think India would send Carrier to south china without provocation or political diplomatic failure.. more likely India would send subs and survey vessels to scout within international waters.

Navy has ventured before and some confrontations were reported in media:

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...ip-on-South-China-Sea/articleshow/9829900.cms
http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/883003ec-d3f6-11e0-b7eb-00144feab49a.html#axzz41opvt0FU

There are reports of joint patrolling of US and India in south China:
http://www.cnbc.com/2016/02/11/us-a...t-patrols-in-south-china-sea-us-official.html

You don't have to agree with me.. but the defense planners of India, US and Japan.. they sure know what they are doing. US would not have send carriers to senkaku, japan would not have dropped its defensive stance if everything could be solved politically
Absolutely muddled thinking !!

I don't have access to anybody in south block or PMO but that does not stop me from putting forth my opinion.
India has balls or not.. very simplistic question on a very complex matter..
Its not a fight club we are talking about.. India's goal is not to beat China in a match but to secure its economic interests and sovereignty in a peaceful/tactful env. Its not in either's interest to wage war but China is not stopping from asserting on its interests, so why shouldn't we.. China is being asked to follow international rules of navigation in international waters, which it is clearly violating.. China is very formidable, so India has to build its own capacity to assert its position..
but to answer your question..

I don't think India would send Carrier to south china without provocation or political diplomatic failure.. more likely India would send subs and survey vessels to scout within international waters.

Navy has ventured before and some confrontations were reported in media:

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...ip-on-South-China-Sea/articleshow/9829900.cms
http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/883003ec-d3f6-11e0-b7eb-00144feab49a.html#axzz41opvt0FU

There are reports of joint patrolling of US and India in south China:
http://www.cnbc.com/2016/02/11/us-a...t-patrols-in-south-china-sea-us-official.html

You don't have to agree with me.. but the defense planners of India, US and Japan.. they sure know what they are doing. US would not have send carriers to senkaku, japan would not have dropped its defensive stance if everything could be solved politically
Indian coordination with USA/Japan is hyped up.
The reality is not as rosy.

How much military goods we get from Japan??
It is only recently USA became a major supplier. However USA gives products at three times NATO prices. Is this friendship?? Commercial interest MUST NOT be equated with friendship.

India is practically alone when confronting China. Any talk of an alliance is imaginary.

nitish.sarangi

Sikkim was never claimed by China. Even when Sikkimese Assembly chose to be a part of Indian Federation of States, China was OK with it.
In 1962, China defeated us comprehensively; She not only occupied entire Arunachal, but quickly made inroads into North Bengal..what is more Kolkata was bombed, but they retreated on their own. Even vacated Arunachal Pradesh. You know why? China always wanted to win certain parts of India by her ideology and culture not by force. To that end, they succeded when they converted an entire generation of tribals in Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Telengana and North Bengal into Maoist. Chinese are savvy enough to know that a nation of billion+ people cannot be subjugated by military might.
Ohh I did not notice a nuanced leftist in our midst.. whats your point in this?.. India should dump the military and make diplomatic overtures to china? please enlighten as to how that alone can ensure India's interests?

I am aware of history of 1962.. How does that make any difference to how we should react to the present scenario?

your smileys don't make any point.. if you can counter it with your proper points rather than being self-important and nitpicking on technicalities, it would be much appreciated..

@nitish.sarangi, India has been making diplomatic moves to normalize relations with China for THREE DECADES now. Only you are not aware of it.

We have to leave 61 behind. China will always remain a neighbor. Neither USA nor Japan is a neighbor.

Japan and USA have their own interests vis-a-vis China. Let them deal with those.

Indian carriers will operate in Bay of Bengal and Arabian sea. Maximum Eastern seaboard of Africa.

Japan is very close-minded in military affairs. Getting any tech from Japan will be a hard nut to crack.

nitish.sarangi

@nitish.sarangi, India has been making diplomatic moves to normalize relations with China for THREE DECADES now. Only you are not aware of it.

We have to leave 61 behind. China will always remain a neighbor. Neither USA nor Japan is a neighbor.

Japan and USA have their own interests vis-a-vis China. Let them deal with those.

Indian carriers will operate in Bay of Bengal and Arabian sea. Maximum Eastern seaboard of Africa.

Japan is very close-minded in military affairs. Getting any tech from Japan will be a hard nut to crack.
I dont think you got my point.. I never said India has not engaged with China diplomatically.. My very first point said that its engaging it at multiple levels.

My contest here is the logic that "Only and Only" political diplomatic ways can amend relations with China and thus we don't need military build up like getting new Carriers..
You are right that our carriers may never cross the areas what its patrolling now but will it not deter china from entering bay of Bengal or Andaman sea?
you may counter saying they have entered before and have coco islands built up nice and good and they have not yet waged a war.. But that's no reason to allow your national sovereignty to be violated.

Your thinking is influenced by medieval mindset. China has territorial dispute with a number of countries. All lesser military powers than India. Has she invaded and occupied their territories? In modern day geo-politics, "(military) might is right" doesn't work. Trade, commerce, industry, education, investment interminably interwined in world geo-politics. Each country big or small is dependant on others for survival and progress. It is all globalized now.
For instance, China claims Taiwan as her territory but dare not invade it. Taiwan is a heavy-weight in IT & Electronics engineering and is a pivot in much of China's export-oriented hardware industry. China knows if she harms Taiwan, she harms herself.
Btw, I find your "relative calm along LAC" view absolutely funny.
Lol.
China doesn't attack Taiwan because it knows that if even a scratch comes on Taiwan,Uncle Sam will be summoned.
And for all brinkmanship in South China Sea,they don't want to tangle with Uncle Sam
Japan,SK,Taiwan are not on the dragon's menu because they're a part of Uncle Sam's "protectorate" so to say
Entire NE and Ladakh is however,because India is alone.

Oh,And military might is always right,Uncle Sam does it regulary, only he cloaks it in "For Freedom & Democracy"

I dont think you got my point.. I never said India has not engaged with China diplomatically.. My very first point said that its engaging it at multiple levels.

My contest here is the logic that "Only and Only" political diplomatic ways can amend relations with China and thus we don't need military build up like getting new Carriers..
You are right that our carriers may never cross the areas what its patrolling now but will it not deter china from entering bay of Bengal or Andaman sea?
you may counter saying they have entered before and have coco islands built up nice and good and they have not yet waged a war.. But that's no reason to allow your national sovereignty to be violated.
I don't think a Carrier is the right weapon. We need to stop China from encroaching in our backyard, no doubt. However we do not need Carriers for that.

We need more submarines and more submarine hunting planes. We need more airstrips in Andmans.

We also need sub hunting corvettes in much larger numbers.

The biggest risk is a sub firing cruise missiles at Indian targets from close to Indian shore.

sasum

Japan,SK,Taiwan are not on the dragon's menu because they're a part of Uncle Sam's "protectorate"
You are conjecturing a possible 3rd world war. In such a scenario, an axis may form with countries like Russia, China, North Korea, Cuba, Chile, Iraq, Iran, Columbia etc.
What is more even nuclearised Pak may side with China. For a brief period after the end of cold-war, the world was uni-polar. It is no more so. Uncle Sam is looked down upon even by some of his NATO allies like France.
India and Pakistan certainly don't trust USA and will not join her coalition forces.

I don't think a Carrier is the right weapon. We need to stop China from encroaching in our backyard, no doubt. However we do not need Carriers for that.

We need more submarines and more submarine hunting planes. We need more airstrips in Andmans.

We also need sub hunting corvettes in much larger numbers.

The biggest risk is a sub firing cruise missiles at Indian targets from close to Indian shore.
our country is currently defecient in subs,I heard china has like 60 subs total,out of which 8 are nuclear powered.
meanwhile mother india has 13 normal and 2 nuclear subs.
My opinion is we should strenghten ties with ASEAN countries and build a base in say Vietnam and station a carrier there

You are conjecturing a possible 3rd world war. In such a scenario, an axis may form with countries like Russia, China, North Korea, Cuba, Chile, Iraq, Iran, Columbia etc.
What is more even nuclearised Pak may side with China. For a brief period after the end of cold-war, the world was uni-polar. It is no more so. Uncle Sam is looked down upon even by some of his NATO allies like France.
India and Pakistan certainly don't trust USA and will not join her coalition forces.
Are bhai kaha se kaha le ja raha topic ko?
My point was China won't attack the nations jispe Uncle Sam ka Aashirwad hai.What you were saying was China won't attack Taiwan because "trade" and "diplomacy" and "globalization" and other such lies fed by western media and books.
China pushes our country around because hamare paas kisi ka Aashirwad nahi hai T_T
TLDR is military might even in 2016 is everything,whats keeping china in check is US's massive power projection capabilities.

Also pls dont be so naive.
America has no "allies"
It has Slaves.

our country is currently defecient in subs,I heard china has like 60 subs total,out of which 8 are nuclear powered.
meanwhile mother india has 13 normal and 2 nuclear subs.
My opinion is we should strenghten ties with ASEAN countries and build a base in say Vietnam and station a carrier there
China is very difficult to take on in South China sea and East China sea. It has very sound sea denial strategies.
No Indian government is sending a Carrier to Vietnam. Get that out of your brain.

China is very difficult to take on in South China sea and East China sea. It has very sound sea denial strategies.
No Indian government is sending a Carrier to Vietnam. Get that out of your brain.
who says "take on" China.
We play a game of Brinkmanship.
"Oh look we are building a naval base on our most preffered ally Vietnam"
For e.g Uncle sam has bases all around east asia,but he doesnt take a confrontationary stance directly.

anyway like you said no govt will build a base there.Pussies.

the sasum guy got it all wrong,modern geo-politics is about playing passive-aggressive

Superdefender

Errr, friends, I didn't think you had noticed or not! India will shortly announce a tender for its 4th Aircraft Carrier! Russian design (P23000E-Storm) is the front runner.
Specification:
------------
Displacement: 1,00,000 tn,
330 meters long and 40 meters wide, capable to sail in excess of 30knots, have a crew of 4,000-5,000 and can carry 100 aircrafts!

Errr, friends, I didn't think you had noticed or not! India will shortly announce a tender for its 4th Aircraft Carrier! Russian design (P23000E-Storm) is the front runner.
Specification:
------------
Displacement: 1,00,000 tn,
330 meters long and 40 meters wide, capable to sail in excess of 30knots, have a crew of 4,000-5,000 and can carry 100 aircrafts!
Russia cannot build a ship with American components.
This is a planted news that you are reading. Has no meaning.

If a tender is floated, the only purpose will be to include private shipyards like L&T and Pipapav.

Superdefender

I KNEW IT.....IAC-II will not carry RAFALE-M.

Meet INS Vishal. The vessel may turn out to be India's flagship

Suhas Munshi
Posted on: 21 January 2016

This can be the big success story of Narendra Modi's Make In India campaign: the country's biggest aircraft carrier equipped with Indian-made aircraft and drones.

The good news is the Indian Navy is progressing steadily with finalising the design INS Vishal. The vessel, not officially christened yet, is one of the most ambitious project in the country's defence sector - on a scale India never handled before.

At an estimated $5 billion, the fully equipped INS Vishal may be most expensive piece of machinery in the arsenal of India, which wants to match the pace at which China is developing its aircraft carriers. The final cost will also depend on the hardware installed.

In India's neighbourhood, Pakistan and Sri Lanka don't possess aircraft carriers.

China, which already has the 40,000-tonne CNS Liaoning, is developing a 50,000-tonne aircraft carrier. It plans to develop two more.

An aircraft carrier, complete with fighter squadrons called Carrier Battle Groups (CBG), gives a navy strategic depth in the oceans.

A CBG can control around 200,000 square nautical miles and can moving more than 600 nautical miles a day. The distance between Chennai and Colombo by the sea is 401 nautical miles.

With some help from senior defence ministry officials, Catch gives you a recce of INS Vishal:

• Expected displacement: 65,000 tonne
  • Fuel: expected to be nuclear - that's what the Navy has requested
  • Expected length: 300 metres
  • Expected width: 60-70 metres
  • Capacity: About 50 aircraft: 30-35 fixed-wing combat aircraft, 20 rotary wing aircraft
The Vikrant class aircraft carrier will be first in India, may be in Asia too, to field a CATOBAR (Catapult Launched but Arrest Landing) aircraft launch system and EMALS (electromagnetic aircraft launch systems).

Such technologies help accommodate heavier and an increased number of aircraft on board. India's existing carrier force uses ski-jump ramps to help planes take off and uses wires to slow them down when landing. For that, planes have to be lighter and fewer.

"The exact shape, size and displacement of the carrier will depend on the equipment we fit onto the aircraft carrier. We're still looking at a lot of possibilities," an official said.

He added that all aircraft for the carrier will be from makes India already have, or is currently developing.

Meanwhile, this is what we have:

INS Viraat

The world's oldest aircraft carrier was launched in 1953 as HMS Hermes in Britain and inducted by India in 1987.

• Displacement: 28,000 tonne
  • Can accommodate 11 Sea Harrier jump jet aircraft
  • It will be decommissioned in early February 2016.
INS Vikramaditya

• Originally, Russian Admiral Gorshkov, was commissioned by India in November 2013 for $2.33 billion.
  • Displacement: 44,000 tonne
  • Length: 284 metres
  • Has a crew of 110 officers and 1,500 sailors
  • Accommodates 34 aircraft, including 24 MiG 29Ks and helicopters
  • Reach: 7,000 nautical miles
INS Vikrant

• India's first indigenously built aircraft carrier
  • Being built for Rs 20,000 crore
  • Displacement: 40,000 tonne
  • Length: 260 metres
  • Has a crew of 160 officers and 1,400 sailors
  • Can accommodate 12 MiG 29Ks, 8 Tejas Light Combat Aircraft, 10 helicopters
  • Can reach up to 7,800 nautical miles

Source Link: http://www.catchnews.com/india-news...rn-out-to-be-india-s-flagship-1453367826.html

Sam Biswas

This is total BS. I don't know what you are smoking. After a lot of bloodshed on both sides, they occupied a small portion of Northeast for a short time. They never made any where close to any part of Bengal. Kolkata was not touched by the war. I am from Kolkata and Bengal. They did not make any in roads in tribal areas. Charu Majumder, Kanu Sanyal of CPI-ML were ideologically aligned with Mao Tse Tung and Maoism. Even they did not have much to do with China except a lot of hot rhetorics. That was the extent of China's influence in India. So, stop giving hoolabalu crap about China.