INS Vikrant Aircraft Carrier (IAC)

Gandaberunda

Should concentrate on submarine more
Submarine costs bomb and also need to compromise on most of the latest things like AIP/ fuel cell/ batteries/ nuclear or ToT. Also we are building SSN for first time which indeed may turn out to be (IAF Tejas saga).
Also there are no planned follow on orders for present scorpene ( again the so called ToT or workmanship will be lost as dockyard sits idle) and P75i is not progressing ( smx 3.0 or Amur in contention). Govt yet to call tender
Navy procurement is really fucked up in case of subs/ building subs. It's a zoo and navy/ govt are confused which animal to put in which confinement and what to feed and lone SSN chakra sent back 6 months early to Russia as it's lease was ending. I don't know how navy is so relaxed with this much of fuck up when chenes are dishing out all kind of vessels after vessels like hot cakes.

WARREN SS

36 additional rafales, and scrap MMRCA, rest of 78 or so aircraft can be ORCA as in future as our economy will grow we will buy not just remaining 78 twin engine medium aircrafts as ORCA but more as well.
OCRA is fund wasting program 🙄
We don't need it
Rather invest money in AMCA and Engine development
Which will be in need of more money pumped up

MWF is more than enough to fit this role.
We already have Enough MKI'S and 4-5 billion $cost alone to upgrade them to MLU + standards

Rather buying leasing F-18 BLK 4 will be best options for us

Not in favor of Third AC 😒 till 2035-40
If we want S-5 class SSN and SSBN's
And more heavy class Destroyers and Figrates

Engine development is the most important program for Indian aviation industry
Whether we have spends billions $ on this

Gandaberunda

We don't need it

We already have Enough MKI'S and 4-5 billion $cost alone to upgrade them to MLU + standards

Isn't navy demands of 3rd carrier are for 2035-2040 onwards if we start building it by say 2025? Unless a Vikrant clone is built under 7 years if you start now to get it commissioned by 2030.
Anyways even subs will be delivered by or after 2026 if we start now.

We don't need it

Isn't navy demands of 3rd carrier are for 2035-2040 onwards if we start building it by say 2025? Unless a Vikrant clone is built under 7 years if you start now to get it commissioned by 2030.
Anyways even subs will be delivered by or after 2026 if we start now.
Ya'll Nibbiars better to build a Vikrant Class Aircraft Carrier. Till we can afford to build a larger AC. We can afford a additional IAC Class vessel now but not a supercarrier.

Gandaberunda

Ya'll Nibbiars better to build a Vikrant Class Aircraft Carrier. Till we can afford to build a larger AC. We can afford a additional IAC Class vessel now but not a supercarrier.
Navy knows if they agree for Vikrant clone they have to kiss good bye for any future carrier untill Vikramaditya is retired which may happen after 2040. This will seriously put Navy's ambitions of becoming a blue water navy to own and operate super carrier.

Ya'll Nibbiars I thought there is a need for four carrier overall. Am I reading it wrong?.

Gandaberunda

Ya'll Nibbiars I thought there is a need for four carrier overall. Am I reading it wrong?.
The need as stated by Navy chief is 3 carriers. 1 for Western sea bed in Arabian sea 2nd for Bay of Bengal and 3rd is as a back up for those 2 when they aren't deployed or in dockyard for refit/ maintenance. Hence govt is not willing to go for 3rd carrier.

vishnugupt

Our Armed forces are in competition with each other for stupidity. It's like if one arm did a stupidity other automatically take it as a challenge and replicate it in even more bigger way. Few peculiarities as following....
IAF constantly ignoring large fleet of MKi and making them obsolete while continuously pursuing imaginary 114 jets. Sometime these 114 jets fall in medium category and sometimes into light. Despite of 36 Rafale these 114 numbers remaining the same.
Following the IAF, IN came into action and demanding 3rd AC for no reason ( because India doesn't have offensive posture against anyone) Submarine are vital as they provide credible second strike capability which is needed right now.
Seeing her sister organization, IA swing into action and buying only 6 Apache while ignoring LCH. Now days Army is only rewriting specifications of Armata tank as a next requirement.

AMCA has enough money, infact none of our project facing cash crunch but problem is HAL want to upgrade Su-30mki in house which is IAF is apposing in favour of continue kickback money flow.

If someone can remember HAL Tejas had in-flight refueling prob back in 2009. But seeing this IAF immediately change the goal post asked for Cobham and this led to maximum delay in Tejas FOC.

pipebomb

We don't need it

I thought F-18 failed in IAF evaluation

Our Armed forces are in competition with each other for stupidity. It's like if one arm did a stupidity other automatically take it as a challenge and replicate it in even more bigger way. Few peculiarities as following....
IAF constantly ignoring large fleet of MKi and making them obsolete while continuously pursuing imaginary 114 jets. Sometime these 114 jets fall in medium category and sometimes into light. Despite of 36 Rafale these 114 numbers remaining the same.
Following the IAF, IN came into action and demanding 3rd AC for no reason ( because India doesn't have offensive posture against anyone) Submarine are vital as they provide credible second strike capability which is needed right now.
Seeing her sister organization, IA swing into action and buying only 6 Apache while ignoring LCH. Now days Army is only rewriting specifications of Armata tank as a next requirement.

AMCA has enough money, infact none of our project facing cash crunch but problem is HAL want to upgrade Su-30mki in house which is IAF is apposing in favour of continue kickback money flow.

If someone can remember HAL Tejas had in-flight refueling prob back in 2009. But seeing this IAF immediately change the goal post asked for Cobham and this led to maximum delay in Tejas FOC.
Submarines ,guided missile corvette's , air defemce corvette's , destroyers and submarines should be main policy instead of aircraft carrier .
Army to alag hi hai, god knows how many type of ammunition they use , war ke time me logistics ki gand faat jayegi.
Iaf should upgrade those fuckkng flankers , for God's sake.
You can't take tejas delivery , amca bohot door hai , 36 Rafaels se kuch nai hoga , atleast upgrade the flankers.

We don't need it

I don’t think so, ORCA is just TEDBF‘s IAF variant which will not require much money for R&D, considering Indian Navy needs 45 Aircraft per carrier (Vikky and Vikku) and 65-70 for INS Vishal including trainers and ground base deployment and standby or replacement aircrafts for replacing under maintenace aircrafts etc, TEDBF orders are going to be huge. So IAF variant will be also bought which will help sustain the programme, and will encourage much more innovation on existing design considering that the upcoming era is going to be of 4+++ or 5- generation semi stealth aircrafts to complement the more advanced 5th gen aircrafts, as an all 5th gen aircraft fleet will be too expensive to buy, maintain and operate, that’s why USAF is also going for a clean sheet 5- gen aircraft to complement 5th gen aircrafts, basically 4++ gen aircrafts will be Infantry, 5- gen will be Ghatak Platoon, and 5th gen will be Special Forces. So ORCA has a bright future.

Gandaberunda

IAF is notorious in changing requirements and specs for Tejas. If not for Parikkar Tejas wouldn't have made it into IAF squadrons.
Army is on another level of stupidity. They do needless endless trials for indigenous weapons and accept faulty failed weapons as import. (Israel ATAGS is one example) and rifle procurement is another level of stupidity ( watered down AK-203 deal isn't concluded with Russia). Also IAF and army fought for Apaches to such extent MoD split the deal as separate procurement 22 for IAF and 6 for Army. Now army wants more Apaches so don't want to order indigenous LCH and IAF wants entire Army aviation under their control also demanded Navy aviation to be under IAF. This mess is too complicated and God knows how they will operate under proposed unified theatre commands.

IAF is notorious in changing requirements and specs for Tejas. If not for Parikkar Tejas wouldn't have made it into IAF squadrons.
Army is on another level of stupidity. They do needless endless trials for indigenous weapons and accept faulty failed weapons as import. (Israel ATAGS is one example) and rifle procurement is another level of stupidity ( watered down AK-203 deal isn't concluded with Russia). Also IAF and army fought for Apaches to such extent MoD split the deal as separate procurement 22 for IAF and 6 for Army. Now army wants more Apaches so don't want to order indigenous LCH and IAF wants entire Army aviation under their control also demanded Navy aviation to be under IAF. This mess is too complicated and God knows how they will operate under proposed unified theatre commands.
Thank God, civilian and babu control on mod is so tremendous that , army waala can't do much.

vishnugupt

Submarines ,guided missile corvette's , air defemce corvette's , destroyers and submarines should be main policy instead of aircraft carrier .
Army to alag hi hai, god knows how many type of ammunition they use , war ke time me logistics ki gand faat jayegi.
Iaf should upgrade those fuckkng flankers , for God's sake.
You can't take tejas delivery , amca bohot door hai , 36 Rafaels se kuch nai hoga , atleast upgrade the flankers.
The Only logic IN have for third AC is, One AC for Arabian sea, one for bay of Bengal and one at maintanence dock! Who give such chutiya logics? Only our Armed forces...

The simple logic for AC vs Submarine is..... A submarine can sail alone, a destroyer can sail alone but could a AC sail alone??? Never... So logically we should focus now on Submarines