Indian response to a Pakistani nuclear strike

@no smoking I think our nukes are a deterrence to China while MAD for Pakistan, since we don't have cultural enmity towards China but just a border dispute unlike Pakistan.

A fascinating article for people that have time to read about PRC and also some bits and pieces about the nuke programme they have and had:

http://www.airspacemag.com/as-interview/a-amp-s-interview-yang-guoxiang-10170841/?no-ist

Recalling the H-Bomb that Almost Backfired
Yang Guoxiang, one of China's top test pilots, tells the story.

The passage that caught the eyes:

"The next year, in September 1971, a political event occurred that eventually determined the timing of the H-bomb project. Vice Premier Lin Biao was killed in an airplane crash while trying to flee to the Soviet Union after a failed coup attempt. There had been an upheaval in the PLA, and to raise morale, Chairman Mao Zedong decided that we would drop the H-bomb that year."

"On December 30, 1971, weather conditions were good. I took off from the airbase in the late morning and headed toward the target, ground zero at Lop Nor, three hundred kilometers (186 miles) away. I flew at 900 kilometers an hour (559 mph) and an altitude of 300 meters (984 feet), following the procedures we had established. Twelve kilometers (7.5 miles) from the target, I started my 45-degree-angle climb, and exactly at 1,200 meters (3,936 feet) released the bomb.

Nothing happened! The bomb did not separate from the aircraft. The indicators on the panel showed that it was still attached. I turned back toward the target and prepared to do everything again a second time."

There is a lot more fascinating information. Seriously brave and lucky some of their people were.

Lin Biao - is he a Valkyrie of PRC.

Yumdoot

In 1951-1952, American officials publically discussed the possibility of nuke strike in mainland of China, Macarthur was one of them. According to Japanese information revealed in last 80s, the nuclear weapons were transported to Japan at the peak of Korea war. Americans cancelled the plan due to the fear a nuclear war with Russians.

http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/how-korean-war-almost-went-nuclear-180955324/?no-ist

Ironically, in 1969, it was American's turn to save Chinese from a nuclear threat from Moscow.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/wor...-planned-nuclear-attack-on-China-in-1969.html
That is because you Chinese are the carbon copy of Pakis. You people will sleep with anybody and everybody several times over.

Oh please. This enemy of yours had been concentrating most of her military resources on the her north and south borders against Soviet threat until 1989, barely leave nothing spare against India. After 1989, this enemy of yours was under the pressure from the east--Taiwan and USA. Your politicians and generals were fully aware this so called "enemy" had nothing to threat you.
And that is because of the Terrain of Tibet. Not for nothing else.

You went to nuke not because Chinese or Pakistan. Instead, you took the step for only one reason: you want to be treated as a power.
No we merely want to be Jagatgurus :devil:. With 6% research budget to defence budget ratio :rofl:.

But more seriously, 1.25 billion people are a world onto themselves. We will take what we need.

And if we have to deal with people like you then off course we have to deal with you the way you understand it.

Then, congratulations, you did a perfect job to narrow the military gap between you and Pakistan by going to nuclear. Yes, their nuclear force is on par with you. However, even a tiny fraction of their nuclear weapons can cause the damage on India than all of her conventional weapons together. A 1971 kind of victory became unthinkable for you. Good job.

Don't count on it just yet. Not all of the fighting will be done by means you can provide for.

BTW what happened at Guangxi yesterday? Was that India or was it not? :devil:

vayuu1

In 1951-1952, American officials publically discussed the possibility of nuke strike in mainland of China, Macarthur was one of them. According to Japanese information revealed in last 80s, the nuclear weapons were transported to Japan at the peak of Korea war. Americans cancelled the plan due to the fear a nuclear war with Russians.

http://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/how-korean-war-almost-went-nuclear-180955324/?no-ist

Ironically, in 1969, it was American's turn to save Chinese from a nuclear threat from Moscow.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/wor...-planned-nuclear-attack-on-China-in-1969.html

Oh please. This enemy of yours had been concentrating most of her military resources on the her north and south borders against Soviet threat until 1989, barely leave nothing spare against India. After 1989, this enemy of yours was under the pressure from the east--Taiwan and USA. Your politicians and generals were fully aware this so called "enemy" had nothing to threat you.

You went to nuke not because Chinese or Pakistan. Instead, you took the step for only one reason: you want to be treated as a power.

Then, congratulations, you did a perfect job to narrow the military gap between you and Pakistan by going to nuclear. Yes, their nuclear force is on par with you. However, even a tiny fraction of their nuclear weapons can cause the damage on India than all of her conventional weapons together. A 1971 kind of victory became unthinkable for you. Good job.
Kangley hue pade ho par akad nhi jaati, there is a famous saying for such people, ga.. main dum nhi par hum kisi se kum nahi.

vayuu1

Hey nincompoop, keep your bullshit to yourself. India has no choice but to have nukes when Chicoms developed nukes.

Besides, I doubt you even know what nukes can do. They are not as destructive as they are made to be and are highly over rated compared to their potential. Even if 100 nukes are lobbied at us, it still won't be enough to destroy us that's the ground truth.

Do you know what is actually devastating? Nuclear power plant meltdown. Compare the destruction caused by Chernobyl vs the Hiroshima Nagasaki. Both cities are thriving today while Chernobyl is basically a wasteland.

And, how is Pak going to deliver 100 nukes at us? We will have total air superiority and their missiles are mostly chicom made duds which we have enough CMs against anyway.

Its only a matter of time their bluff is called. Wait and watch.
Infact bro, I would like to add one more thing to this, that this lob-da lassan is forgetting that we have got second strike capability in form of k15 and k4, even if you put all ur nuclear power, still we will have enough to tear ur rear apart.

Indian response to Pakistani nuclear strike will not only to send Pakistan back to stone age but also attack all Islamic religious places in Saudi Arabia and around... It will turn into a religious war make no mistake... as Pakistan treats any war with India as a religious war then so be it...

Let the so called Muslim Ummah know what is coming their way... Most people dis agree with me on this but it is what will happened in the event of a full scale nuclear exchange ...

Very clever. China used this abnormal situation to develop nuclear weapons for its own ambitions of becoming a power. Nothing wrong.
India had threats similarly and we used that opportune moment to defend and project us. What is wrong in that? China can do it and India shouldn't?
No, India did not have the similar threat until 1998: no one ever talked about nuke India, there was not a single nuclear missile was aiming at India. But now, you have at 100 nuclear missiles targeting your big cities and the country owing these missiles publicly announced there will be no hesitation to use if necessary. At the meantime, India's targets were included in the nuclear war plan of USA, Russia and China.
So, basically, you not improving the safety.
BUT, if you look from another perspective--making India a power no one can ignore, all these will make sense.

Sarcasm is dripping in your post.
Pakistan was feared to death and begged china and north Korea for nuke tech which you generously sold.
And India simply make their requirement of nuke quite reasonable.

China and Pakistan's dreams shattered to pressurize India by our 'smiling buddha', clearly a jab at the Chinese.
What dream of Pakistan? Defending their part of Kashmir? Oh, yes, you are making their dream come true.

Pakistan develops nuke fearing about losing another part of it like in 1971. Still there is a huge gap with us.
Not big enough to make any difference.

Stockpiling nukes is a waste of resources as there won't be nuke war. If at all there is it will be started by pakis and eventually Pakistan will disappear from world map.
With the scale of India's nuclear force? Not a chance.
In 1969, Soviet's plan was using 200 meg ton nuclear weapon to destroy 20 Chinese missile silo and nuclear facilities only. At the meantime, Soviet was expecting to sacrifice 10 cities in far east sector.
With today, Pakistan's scale and technology, you can make the number.

Then your dream of faster and cheaper access to central Asia will remain a dream.
If Pakistan and India has the nuclear war, both countries will be collapsed economically. The rebuilding of 2 countries will be a huge market for Chinese industry, big enough for all chinese factories to produce for 10 years.
Who would need central asia?

@no smoking I think our nukes are a deterrence to China while MAD for Pakistan, since we don't have cultural enmity towards China but just a border dispute unlike Pakistan.
With more than 2000 nuclear weapons pointing at her head from 2 most powerful nuclear countries, what make you think that Chinese has any spare nuclear weapon to threat India or anyone?

After the test of 1974, India was only one step away from a nuclear weapon. But this step took 24 years for India to cross over. If your nukes are really a deterrence to China, why took so long? At the meantime, India turned down the offer of nuclear umbrella from Russia. So, India was not seeking any nuclear protection in any form for 24 years? There is only reason I can think of, Indian government didn't worry about Chinese nuclear threat at all.

Yumdoot

If we were not seeking protection from nukes then:
1) why did we strike up the 1971 treaty with Soviets,
2) why would 3 of our PMs go seek nuk umbrella from the west.
3) why would every PM since Indira, decide to keep continuing the funding and support to BARC. Even lame duck PMs had to face the question of nuke tests the very first day of their offices. Nearly all chickened out of the tests - debatable but not unthinkable. But no PM stopped or curtailed the funding.

You forget only the tests took 24 years, the work did not stop one day. Its still going on, just like yours and others.

vayuu1

With more than 2000 nuclear weapons pointing at her head from 2 most powerful nuclear countries, what make you think that Chinese has any spare nuclear weapon to threat India or anyone?

After the test of 1974, India was only one step away from a nuclear weapon. But this step took 24 years for India to cross over. If your nukes are really a deterrence to China, why took so long? At the meantime, India turned down the offer of nuclear umbrella from Russia. So, India was not seeking any nuclear protection in any form for 24 years? There is only reason I can think of, Indian government didn't worry about Chinese nuclear threat at all.
Because lobde lassan, the Nsg was formed then,just to stop india, in case u forget coz u were R.A.N.D.I of Usa, just like Pakistan is ur R.A.N.D.I now, don't understand what kind of people u r always ready and willing to sleep and get Fu..ed, for purpose,and I don't think china will enter a indo pak war, it didn't enter in the 1971 war when we were fu.king there little la-whory, what makes you think, they will enter the war, just to save pak, and stop pretending to be a Chinese, tumhari baato se saaf pta chal rha hai ye marde momin pretend kr rha hai.

vayuu1

The thing is that pakistan is not capable of fighting on its own, so they always need someone to save their aas.

I_PLAY_BAD

No, India did not have the similar threat until 1998: no one ever talked about nuke India, there was not a single nuclear missile was aiming at India. But now, you have at 100 nuclear missiles targeting your big cities and the country owing these missiles publicly announced there will be no hesitation to use if necessary. At the meantime, India's targets were included in the nuclear war plan of USA, Russia and China.
So, basically, you not improving the safety.
BUT, if you look from another perspective--making India a power no one can ignore, all these will make sense.
You are a child believing utter non-sense and bull shit ranted by Pakistani jokers.
Even South Korea threatens USA like this. Does it make any sense ?
Stop your BS.
Pakistan is a panic ridden bitch which will rant and whine and chest thump whatever it has at its disposal. Mullahs think they are the only people in the world. It is amusing that how you got played by that ploy. Pakistan having 100 nukes, does it even matter ? Do you know the real count of nuke India has or it is capable to produce ?
There is no denial of threat from Pakistan but it is not as high as you hilariously and stupidly believe or boast. Pakistan is your RANDI it deserves only that level.

What dream of Pakistan? Defending their part of Kashmir? Oh, yes, you are making their dream come true.
I still believe you are not a fool. Kashmir legally belongs to India and Pakistan and China are occupying parts of it. There is no their part of Kashmir. Learn proper history first rather than sucking it out from Pakistanis propaganda.

Not big enough to make any difference.
The way Pakistan behaves and flouts empty threats is a testimony to the wide gap.
Wake up and see the big picture.

With the scale of India's nuclear force? Not a chance.
In 1969, Soviet's plan was using 200 meg ton nuclear weapon to destroy 20 Chinese missile silo and nuclear facilities only. At the meantime, Soviet was expecting to sacrifice 10 cities in far east sector.
With today, Pakistan's scale and technology, you can make the number.
There is 100% chance.
It is going to be a combination of nukes and conventional force.
50 nukes is enough for Pakistan to shut its fume.
Then Army will generously walk in and divide Pakistan into smaller parts.
Then there won't be a Pakistan.
What technology ? That is bull shit. Pakistan is only capable of achieving 20% of what it boasts or threatens while 60%-70% is the global average applying to other countries. Pakistan is a empty vessel. The world knows it.

If Pakistan and India has the nuclear war, both countries will be collapsed economically. The rebuilding of 2 countries will be a huge market for Chinese industry, big enough for all chinese factories to produce for 10 years.
Who would need central asia?
I would have agreed with you if it was 1980s or 1990s.
I wish you still get all from Pakistan and rename that region as China-II.
India is very much capable of rebuilding itself.
Already there is a saturation in Chinese industries.
So do not day dream that an event like this will happen and your factories can
suck juice out of it. Ain't going to happen. Chinese factories are destined to face economic slowdown. No escape.

I_PLAY_BAD

Stop playing the victim tune over and over.
You Chinese over-sympathize on yourself aren't you ?
You did the hard work, you grew, agreed.
But don't carry that like an olympic baton and run around boasting of Chinese growth.
What you have currently is being comfortably enjoyed by the West for centuries.
So boast and shout when you achieve something which is not at all achieved before.
Till then grow peacefully without threatening others.

The bold portion of your post is the answer to the question you raised in the same bold part.

If we were not seeking protection from nukes then:
1) why did we strike up the 1971 treaty with Soviets,
And at the meantime, turning down the offer of nuclear umbrella from Soviets?

2) why would 3 of our PMs go seek nuk umbrella from the west.
And killing this effort by rejecting NPT?

3) why would every PM since Indira, decide to keep continuing the funding and support to BARC. Even lame duck PMs had to face the question of nuke tests the very first day of their offices. Nearly all chickened out of the tests - debatable but not unthinkable. But no PM stopped or curtailed the funding.
You forget only the tests took 24 years, the work did not stop one day. Its still going on, just like yours and others.
If we check India's progress on the scale of 100, after 74 nuclear test, India already reached 90-95. Are you suggesting your scientists failed to cross the last 5-10 in 24 years?

You are a child believing utter non-sense and bull shit ranted by Pakistani jokers.
Even South Korea threatens USA like this. Does it make any sense ?
Stop your BS.Pakistan is a panic ridden bitch which will rant and whine and chest thump whatever it has at its disposal. Mullahs think they are the only people in the world. It is amusing that how you got played by that ploy.
Wash your mouth first.

Pakistan having 100 nukes, does it even matter ? Do you know the real count of nuke India has or it is capable to produce ?
There is no denial of threat from Pakistan but it is not as high as you hilariously and stupidly believe or boast. Pakistan is your RANDI it deserves only that level.
Obviously, your own government and armed forces doesn't agree with you.

I still believe you are not a fool. Kashmir legally belongs to India and Pakistan and China are occupying parts of it. There is no their part of Kashmir. Learn proper history first rather than sucking it out from Pakistanis propaganda.
Did anyone talk about the legitimacy of Kashmir here? You can save your time. We are talking about the fact here: Pakistan is holding a part of Kashmir and they decide to keep it at any cost.

The way Pakistan behaves and flouts empty threats is a testimony to the wide gap.
Wake up and see the big picture.
No matter how you play down their intelligence and power, they are still holding their position.

There is 100% chance.
It is going to be a combination of nukes and conventional force.
50 nukes is enough for Pakistan to shut its fume.
Then Army will generously walk in and divide Pakistan into smaller parts.
Then there won't be a Pakistan.
What technology ? That is bull shit. Pakistan is only capable of achieving 20% of what it boasts or threatens while 60%-70% is the global average applying to other countries. Pakistan is a empty vessel. The world knows it.
I really don't think a nuclear war between you two, your army would have any stomach to any Pakistani when you have hundreds of millions Indian refugees waiting for help.

I would have agreed with you if it was 1980s or 1990s. I wish you still get all from Pakistan and rename that region as China-II.
India is very much capable of rebuilding itself.
I am pretty sure your big cities, industry centres will be on the top of Pakistan's strike list.
After a nuclear war, you would need quite a long time to put your remaining factories back to work.
Unlike P5, India didn't do any national wide nuclear war drill which means your system doesn't have the knowledge and experience to run your country in a potential nuclear war.

Already there is a saturation in Chinese industries.
So do not day dream that an event like this will happen and your factories can
suck juice out of it. Ain't going to happen. Chinese factories are destined to face economic slowdown. No escape.
Well, if Indian industry barely meet the demand of India people in peace time, what make you think that it can supply them after a nuclear war.

Yumdoot

And at the meantime, turning down the offer of nuclear umbrella from Soviets?
Even those who seek help have self-respect. After 65 we were irrevocably on our way to Nuke weapons. That is why 67 was the last time Indian PM asked for the Umbrella.

And killing this effort by rejecting NPT?
NPT was and is, as it is, an unfair and useless treaty. It was designed to keep some countries out. Some of those agreed to remain out. We did not care.

Make it universal today and we join in.

Mind you, tomorrow even this may not be on the table. Proposals do not remain open forever.

If we check India's progress on the scale of 100, after 74 nuclear test, India already reached 90-95. Are you suggesting your scientists failed to cross the last 5-10 in 24 years?
I never doubted Indian ability to go right upto 100%. I don't know how I ended up giving that impression. Sorry if it is so.

I do however hold that like the Chinese, the Indian strategic thought is very measured and will remain exactly as measured.