Indian Electronics and Semiconductor manufacturing industry

R1TTER

Technically they are but then pretty much everything we use is assembled. Even Intel/AMD/Nvidia/Apple send their chips for packaging & then assembly(especially for GPU) to places like Malaysia, Costa Rica, Taiwan, Vietnam, China before selling a final product, this includes CPU's as well for DIY builds. No one makes everything in the food chain, they never did.

Concard

Blah blah nonsense, all sorts of markets get disrupted. Fuck patents, no patent comes without breaking someone else's IP. Not formally registered does not mean there is no IP, colonial mindset about patents seems to have taken hold in your thinking. It is a matter of time for China to do it, they said the same thing about 5G, we know what happened with 5G, they got shit scared and their own laws (colonial bastards) are thrown in trash, open your eyes to get a perspective. They will say samething about Bharat too.....
Oh boy, you think this is just about patents? We are talking about a technology which is more difficult to master than going to the moon. Yes, it is that difficult. Today you allocate $100 billion to ISRO and $100 billion to top minds in the country to build a EUV machine in 10 years. Guess what? ISRO will definitely put a man on the moon in 10 years with that money. On other hand I highly doubt we would have made even 50% progress on EUV machine.

An EUV machine has many components. EUV machine is a marriage of Optics, Photonics, Laser physics, Plasma Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Material science in all it's glory. ASML itself doesn't build everything. Many technologies inside that machine is supplied by USA by companies such as Applied Materials, Lam Research. A German company Carl Zeiss supplies critical lenses and Japan supplies lot of the Chemicals which goes into that machine. As I said in another forum focus on building a mature fab for India that is 28nm/45nm/65nm. When we have the money to pour into R & D we can slowly build components which goes inside an EUV machine. You can't build 100th floor without building a strong foundation. Scientific research is built on strong foundations.

PS: 5G is a Telecommunication standard. It is a not a invention or innovation. Telecommunication standards evolve when innovation happens in Wireless communications and Digital signal processing which is dependent on innovation happening in electronics industry especially in the area of FPGA.

NutCracker

The Chinese got ahead into 5G because of their experience with ZTE & Huawei, they're not necessarily dominating the space but they are super competitive there. For chipmaking they are getting closer through ARM, but Apple/Intel/AMD/Nvidia are still at least a notch above. As for ASML you have no idea what you're talking about, you know there's things which you can't just copy/paste & start making clones of! It literally took decades for them with years of experience & patents, patents is just a small part but experience is another critical element. Stop embarrassing yourself with the “Kehte hain agar kisi cheez ko dil se chaho … to poori kainath use tumse milane ki koshish mein lag jaati hai” BS - this isn't Bollywood melodrama 🧐
5G is a useless technology. Huawei made others throw 10 dollars for each dollar thrown by Huawei .

It's real world relevance is ZERO..

Customers are being made to pay for patent fee for something they won't even use or even need.
India should ban any mobile device that has paid patent fee to Huawei.
We don't have their telecom equipments because we already banned those, we shouldn't be paying for those patents.

fooLIam

Technically they are but then pretty much everything we use is assembled. Even Intel/AMD/Nvidia/Apple send their chips for packaging & then assembly(especially for GPU) to places like Malaysia, Costa Rica, Taiwan, Vietnam, China before selling a final product, this includes CPU's as well for DIY builds. No one makes everything in the food chain, they never did.
Lead integrator was the word. In any case they are at top of their game but eventually Chinese will catch upto them by anyhow Recently I guess they attempted to steal from ASML vendors.

R1TTER

They bought second hand machines (DUV) from lots of different places at a fair bit of premium, unless you meant just the parts that go into EUV?
In any case they are at top of their game but eventually Chinese will catch up to them by anyhow
Right except they can't sell these things outside of China without an (1) ARM license or (2) their very own patents, especially if Uncle Sam decides to go after them. This is why both things are so inextricably linked. Now although banning Huawei & ZTE was the right thing to do, according to US laws, there's also conspiracy theories which claim the biggest beneficiary of it all was Apple. So it was more nefarious according to some tin foil experts.

Anyway the point is we have no skin in the game right now at any level, more importantly US & China are two sides of the same coin as far as I'm concerned. Do you know who exports the most stuff out of China, after the Chinese companies themselves?

omaebakabaka

Oh boy, you think this is just about patents? We are talking about a technology which is more difficult to master than going to the moon. Yes, it is that difficult. Today you allocate $100 billion to ISRO and $100 billion to top minds in the country to build a EUV machine in 10 years. Guess what? ISRO will definitely put a man on the moon in 10 years with that money. On other hand I highly doubt we would have made even 50% progress on EUV machine.

An EUV machine has many components. EUV machine is a marriage of Optics, Photonics, Laser physics, Plasma Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Material science in all it's glory. ASML itself doesn't build everything. Many technologies inside that machine is supplied by USA by companies such as Applied Materials, Lam Research. A German company Carl Zeiss supplies critical lenses and Japan supplies lot of the Chemicals which goes into that machine. As I said in another forum focus on building a mature fab for India that is 28nm/45nm/65nm. When we have the money to pour into R & D we can slowly build components which goes inside an EUV machine. You can't build 100th floor without building a strong foundation. Scientific research is built on strong foundations.

PS: 5G is a Telecommunication standard. It is a not a invention or innovation. Telecommunication standards evolve when innovation happens in Wireless communications and Digital signal processing which is dependent on innovation happening in electronics industry especially in the area of FPGA.
Keep yapping your bs about "can't be done" ignoring evidence that disruption occurs all the time in every field. Days of west dominating is sunsetting and their last bastion is semi's but I am sure even that will be caught in a "good enough" manner. Not every country can print like US or Eurotrash, you keep yapping about IP, patent and other bs. They stole and stomp on everything and everyone to remove competition. If 5g is not a big deal, then why the west got its panties wrapped in a bunch by banning and strong arming and so on.....free market my ass....

fooLIam

They bought second hand machines (DUV) from lots of different places at a fair bit of premium, unless you meant just the parts that go into EUV?
Right except they can't sell these things outside of China without an (1) ARM license or (2) their very own patents, especially if Uncle Sam decides to go after them. This is why both things are so inextricably linked. Now although banning Huawei & ZTE was the right thing to do, according to US laws, there's also conspiracy theories which claim the biggest beneficiary of it all was Apple. So it was more nefarious according to some tin foil experts.

Anyway the point is we have no skin in the game right now at any level, more importantly US & China are two sides of the same coin as far as I'm concerned. Do you know who exports the most stuff out of China, after the Chinese companies themselves?
i guess USA.
As you said we have no skin in this game but if once china developed these machine rest assured their own demand will makeup large no. And they will eventually find the customer too.

Dark Sorrow

Apple Supplier Foxconn In Talks To Build $9 Bln Factory In Saudi Arabia

Foxconn Technology Group, the biggest assembler of Apple Inc. iPhones, is in talks with Saudi Arabia about jointly building a $9 billion multipurpose facility that could make microchips, electric-vehicle components and other electronics like displays, according to people familiar with the matter.

The Saudi government is reviewing an offer from the company, formally known as Hon Hai Precision Industry Co., to build a dual-line foundry for surface-mount technology and wafer fabrication in Neom, a tech-focused city-state the kingdom is developing in the desert, the people said. Discussions over the project started last year, they said.

The Saudis are conducting due diligence and benchmarking the offer against others that Foxconn has made for similar projects globally, one of the people said.
Besides Saudi Arabia, Foxconn is also talking with the United Arab Emirates about potentially siting the project there, one of the people said.

The Taiwan-based company has looked to diversify its manufacturing sites amid rising tensions between China and the U.S. that put it in a potentially vulnerable spot.

Riyadh wants the company to guarantee that it would direct at least two-thirds of the foundry’s production into Foxconn’s existing supply chain, one of the people said, to ensure there are buyers for its products and the project is ultimately profitable.

Foxconn is seeking large incentives including financing, tax holidays and subsidies for power and water in exchange for helping set up a high-tech manufacturing sector in the kingdom, the people said, as Saudi Arabia seeks to diversify its economy away from oil.

The Saudis could offer direct equity co-investment, industrial development loans, low-interest debt from local banks and export credits to compete with other jurisdictions that Foxconn might consider, said another person familiar with the talks.

Saudi authorities and Foxconn didn’t respond to requests for comment.

Foxconn has looked to diversify its business beyond Apple products in recent years, including by expanding its activities in EVs. It has joined with auto makers such as Jeep and Chrysler maker Stellantis NV and Los Angeles-based electric-vehicle startup Fisker.

Foxconn has also purchased semiconductor facilities, including one owned by Taiwan-based Macronix International, seeking to become a contract manufacturer of EVs for global brands. Last year it scaled back plans for a liquid-crystal-display project in Wisconsin after agreeing to invest $10 billion and hire 13,000 people to qualify for $2.85 billion in incentives.

The company said last year that it is planning to build an EV project in the Middle East, focusing on software and cloud infrastructure for passenger cars.

Saudi Arabia is trying to establish an industrial sector as part of Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman’s plans to reshape the economy by establishing new industries to complement oil income as the world transitions to renewable energy.

The kingdom has used its $500 billion sovereign-wealth fund to drive that effort. In 2019, it took a majority investment in Lucid Motors Inc., which recently signed a deal to open its first manufacturing plant outside the U.S. in Saudi Arabia.

As Western companies pulled back from the kingdom after the 2018 killing of journalist Jamal Khashoggi, Saudi Arabia has struggled to reform its business climate to attract foreign investment. It wants to relocate international supply chains to the kingdom and acquire a market share in supply-chain components. But that effort has been complicated by the kingdom’s small domestic market, high labor costs and unpredictable operating environment.

Final Saudi approval for the Foxconn deal rests with Prince Mohammed. He has been pushing for several years for the company to establish a presence in Neom but has faced skepticism over the site’s limited logistics and access to power and water.

Dark Sorrow

Apple Supplier Foxconn In Talks To Build $9 Bln Factory In Saudi Arabia

Foxconn Technology Group, the biggest assembler of Apple Inc. iPhones, is in talks with Saudi Arabia about jointly building a $9 billion multipurpose facility that could make microchips, electric-vehicle components and other electronics like displays, according to people familiar with the matter.

The Saudi government is reviewing an offer from the company, formally known as Hon Hai Precision Industry Co., to build a dual-line foundry for surface-mount technology and wafer fabrication in Neom, a tech-focused city-state the kingdom is developing in the desert, the people said. Discussions over the project started last year, they said.

The Saudis are conducting due diligence and benchmarking the offer against others that Foxconn has made for similar projects globally, one of the people said.
Besides Saudi Arabia, Foxconn is also talking with the United Arab Emirates about potentially siting the project there, one of the people said.

The Taiwan-based company has looked to diversify its manufacturing sites amid rising tensions between China and the U.S. that put it in a potentially vulnerable spot.

Riyadh wants the company to guarantee that it would direct at least two-thirds of the foundry’s production into Foxconn’s existing supply chain, one of the people said, to ensure there are buyers for its products and the project is ultimately profitable.

Foxconn is seeking large incentives including financing, tax holidays and subsidies for power and water in exchange for helping set up a high-tech manufacturing sector in the kingdom, the people said, as Saudi Arabia seeks to diversify its economy away from oil.

The Saudis could offer direct equity co-investment, industrial development loans, low-interest debt from local banks and export credits to compete with other jurisdictions that Foxconn might consider, said another person familiar with the talks.

Saudi authorities and Foxconn didn’t respond to requests for comment.

Foxconn has looked to diversify its business beyond Apple products in recent years, including by expanding its activities in EVs. It has joined with auto makers such as Jeep and Chrysler maker Stellantis NV and Los Angeles-based electric-vehicle startup Fisker.

Foxconn has also purchased semiconductor facilities, including one owned by Taiwan-based Macronix International, seeking to become a contract manufacturer of EVs for global brands. Last year it scaled back plans for a liquid-crystal-display project in Wisconsin after agreeing to invest $10 billion and hire 13,000 people to qualify for $2.85 billion in incentives.

The company said last year that it is planning to build an EV project in the Middle East, focusing on software and cloud infrastructure for passenger cars.

Saudi Arabia is trying to establish an industrial sector as part of Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman’s plans to reshape the economy by establishing new industries to complement oil income as the world transitions to renewable energy.

The kingdom has used its $500 billion sovereign-wealth fund to drive that effort. In 2019, it took a majority investment in Lucid Motors Inc., which recently signed a deal to open its first manufacturing plant outside the U.S. in Saudi Arabia.

As Western companies pulled back from the kingdom after the 2018 killing of journalist Jamal Khashoggi, Saudi Arabia has struggled to reform its business climate to attract foreign investment. It wants to relocate international supply chains to the kingdom and acquire a market share in supply-chain components. But that effort has been complicated by the kingdom’s small domestic market, high labor costs and unpredictable operating environment.

Final Saudi approval for the Foxconn deal rests with Prince Mohammed. He has been pushing for several years for the company to establish a presence in Neom but has faced skepticism over the site’s limited logistics and access to power and water.

For all the propoganda our goverment did Saudi Arabia is setting up a foundry.

Exactly it was nothing more than a propaganda
All the chest beating by MEITY and here we are…

R1TTER

Foundry? Foxconn doesn't make anything of note, that I know of, except Apple's entire lineup. They assemble things.
Yeah no they're all hot air, they announced 10 or 20 billion dollar plant in US during Trump's reign & just did nothing.

10 billion it is & look what they made of it :pound:
Under a deal with the state of Wisconsin announced on Tuesday, Foxconn will reduce its planned investment to $672 million from $10 billion and cut the number of new jobs to 1,454 from 13,000.

Concard

Take it with a pinch of salt. Saudi Arabia doesn't have access to large sources of water. Saudi Arabia more importantly doesn't have skilled labor either. Announcements mean nothing. They said the same about investing in US state of Wisconsin and that didn't pan out. I am skeptical about this whole thing. UAE which has a huge stake in Global foundries themselves operate fabs outside of UAE. I will believe it when it happens.

Concard

Keep yapping your bs about "can't be done" ignoring evidence that disruption occurs all the time in every field. Days of west dominating is sunsetting and their last bastion is semi's but I am sure even that will be caught in a "good enough" manner. Not every country can print like US or Eurotrash, you keep yapping about IP, patent and other bs. They stole and stomp on everything and everyone to remove competition. If 5g is not a big deal, then why the west got its panties wrapped in a bunch by banning and strong arming and so on.....free market my ass....
You obviously have no idea about how Scientific research is conducted, how much resources we need, how many skilled human resources you require to develop a critical technology.

->Japan massively invested in high speed rail in 1970's. Today they are a leader in High speed rail with perfect safety record. On the other hand they are not a player in aerospace. Why? Because they didn't invest in aerospace. We are building HSR between Mumbai and Ahmedabad. Why do you think we are taking the help of Japan and not USA?

-> USA massively invested in Aerospace in 1970's. Today they are a leader in Aerospace industry who can churn out any kind of aircraft in civil aviation and military aviation. On the other hand they are a big zero in High speed rail. Why? Because they never invested in high speed rail. Why do you think we buy aircrafts from USA and not Japan?

-> Taiwan invested massively in their Electronics industry in the 1990's. Today they are a Electronics and semiconductor manufacturing hub.

You want to dominate a particular industry then invest today. 30 years from now you will be in the game. As the saying goes the best time to plant a tree is 20 years ago and the second best time is now. Simply arrogantly blabbering will not get you anywhere. I didn't say we can't do it. I am saying we can't do it in a short span of time.

karn

And you'll think what KSA is doing isn't propaganda :pound: .
KSA is desperate. They have staked their entire future on NEOM .. which in all likely hood will consume all the oil wealth that they have accumulated over the decades on one large boondoggle.
NEOM water supply is supposed to come from some new tech that has not even been proven yet.
What I feel by looking at this is that any Indian govt / company should do extra due diligence on Foxconns semiconductor claims. This has all the makings of a scam.

omaebakabaka

You obviously have no idea about how Scientific research is conducted, how much resources we need, how many skilled human resources you require to develop a critical technology.

->Japan massively invested in high speed rail in 1970's. Today they are a leader in High speed rail with perfect safety record. On the other hand they are not a player in aerospace. Why? Because they didn't invest in aerospace. We are building HSR between Mumbai and Ahmedabad. Why do you think we are taking the help of Japan and not USA?

-> USA massively invested in Aerospace in 1970's. Today they are a leader in Aerospace industry who can churn out any kind of aircraft in civil aviation and military aviation. On the other hand they are a big zero in High speed rail. Why? Because they never invested in high speed rail. Why do you think we buy aircrafts from USA and not Japan?

-> Taiwan invested massively in their Electronics industry in the 1990's. Today they are a Electronics and semiconductor manufacturing hub.

You want to dominate a particular industry then invest today. 30 years from now you will be in the game. As the saying goes the best time to plant a tree is 20 years ago and the second best time is now. Simply arrogantly blabbering will not get you anywhere. I didn't say we can't do it. I am saying we can't do it in a short span of time.
You are the one that does not understand a thing or rather chose to ignore what is in front of your eyes, China literally stomped on Japan in HR rail and even moving forward with MR.....west supressesses every bit of competetition in the bud unless they are its colonies or act like one (Japan/Korea/Taiwan) and heck they suppressed Japan in 80's. Educate yourself, I don't think you do anything original in whatever field you are in, probably taking status quo as the sacred lines is your game. No one is saying investement is not required, but that alone does not guarantee you a position in anything. A sound original thinking leading to a hypothesis and even difficult success via life long efforts of theorists.....but you rather wait for the benovalence and glorification of your masters and chanting they can't be beaten in their own field. What a load of mediocre thinking...and yes they killed every competetion in aviation with political BS like they did with soviet aircraft from taking greater market share or even covid vaccines. Keep living in your igloo of brain

omaebakabaka

We don't have a say in any one thing in the world except for sacred "secualrism" for 7 centuries already and western wokism is threatening that too unfortunately for our secular people.....that does not mean you can pontificate about your patents religion upon us......intel architecture is not the most advanced but since so much software is built on it and mistakes by IBM and strongarming US govt made sure no other company destroys the duopoly. You can take a deep breath and think a bit critically....nothing gets shaken in the world if everyone thinks like you

Well considering there's just one source of EUV in the world pretty much everyone else is light years behind, including the US & Taiwan!
Not gonna happen unless you can license or steal the essential patents into making the machines or indeed the chips themselves, even the biggest thieves (the Chinese) in the world can't do both & trust me they've tried.

Right now unless we're willing to pour trillions, even over the course of say a decade or two, & forcing everyone in India to adopt home grown chips the Chinese approach (with their homegrown chipmakers) will not work for us! Our best bet as of now is to incentivize the likes of Samsung, TSMC or Intel to set up actual chip manufacturing here.
Hum log abhi semiconductor plan nahi shuru kar paye aur yahan log seedha EUV machine banane ka bol rahe hain.

Please be realistic, first get a Fab full and functioning in India. Then think about working on other things.