Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Babu thinks 8k cars per annum is a small number.
Babu's will need air ambulance to be air lifted to the best trauma care center in US or EU to help them recover from the shock.
Fun facts - Babus are still stuck in 1947 's era of socialism unfortunately. ... getting same left ideology in UPSC which further gets fortified in Lala bahadur shastri institute.... and rest we all know!!!!!!!!!!1

It is all about battery prices which is going to fall atleast 40%. This should drive a cost reduction of atleast 20% in car price. recently, Tata offers 2 lakh discount on Nexon top model. We need a car which drives 350 km in one recharge which should cost less than 13 lakh. EVs are still 35 % Costlier than its petrol counterpart. We need a 500 KM ideal range and 13 Lakh price for Mahindra XUV 400 or Nexon EV mid variant.
Discounts were because of inventory pile up in the EV segment.

Wait for March car sales data and hope sales pick up.

Wish Tata and Mahindra invested heavily in Ola, Hero Motors etc given 65-70% of petrol consumption happens in the two wheeler segment and focusing on this segment with some generous cash handouts would help everybody in the long run.

Discounts were because of inventory pile up in the EV segment.

Wait for March car sales data and hope sales picked up.

Wish Tata and Mahindra invested heavily in Ola, Hero Motors etc given 65-70% of petrol consumption happens in the two wheeler segment and focusing on this segment with some generous cash handouts would help everybody in the long run.
So the prediction is that Car discounts are going to be back to old days of discounts... if a car jimny is going for 1 Lakh discount that means good days are over for car companies for next 2-3 years...

Just waiting for my current loan to get closed.. jimny AT is next target...

So the prediction is that Car discounts are going to be back to old days of discounts... if a car jimny is going for 1 Lakh discount that means good days are over for car companies for next 2-3 years...

Just waiting for my current loan to get closed.. jimny AT is next target...
Heard Jimny is garbage. Get a pre-owned Jeep instead.

Serves my purpose... Jeep is FIAT .. Not gonna touch with bargepole.. had a punto and my heart knows how much i bleed with her...

not sure why u think jimny is garbage

Serves my purpose... Jeep is FIAT .. Not gonna touch with bargepole.. had a punto and my heart knows how much i bleed with her...

not sure why u think jimny is garbage
Come on dude.. Punto was a tank but I agree with the bleeding part. Ownership cost was steep.
Owned a Palio for a brief period. Absolutely loved it.

Friend owned a Punto and I was always uncertain if the brakes would work. It seriously felt like sitting in the cabin of a fully loaded freight truck.

But highway handling of both were absolutely nuts. Could handle it with the index finger... like a composer.

----------

A lot of ownership regret in the circle over Jimny. Overpriced, under powered and low pick up compared to its peers.

Come on dude.. Punto was a tank but I agree with the bleeding part. Ownership cost was steep.
Owned a Palio for a brief period. Absolutely loved it.

Friend owned a Punto and I was always uncertain if the brakes would work. It seriously felt like sitting in the cabin of a fully loaded freight truck.

But highway handling of both were absolutely nuts. Could handle it with the index finger... like a composer.

----------

A lot of ownership regret in the circle over Jimny. Overpriced, under powered and low pick up compared to its peers.
I never said punto was not a tank.. rest all is true.... :)

Whats wrong with Jimny..after Xl6, I need a small car...

Arjun Mk1A

Jimny is priced at 15 to 18L. Hence it failed for Maruti.

The Reason is at the same price bracket of 15 to 20L, you have freaking Thar.

Road Presence of Thar >>> Jimny which is always an Cute tiny off roader. Also the engine of Jimny is same old 1.5NA engine compared to Thar's Turbo diesels which is rated at 117bhp, 130bhp and an Petrol Motor of 150HP. At that price the Thar is simply superior Vehicle. Jimny should be priced from 10 to 15l. The priced it wrong and market rejected it.

omaebakabaka

Road Presence of Thar >>> Jimny which is always an Cute tiny off roader. Also the engine of Jimny is same old 1.5NA engine compared to Thar's Turbo diesels which is rated at 117bhp, 130bhp and an Petrol Motor of 150HP. At that price the Thar is simply superior Vehicle. Jimny should be priced from 10 to 15l. The priced it wrong and market rejected it.
Jimmy is a fail in general across the board.....its primarily for Japan where small cars are accepted as they are smart people and can think with common sense. I have also seen few in Laos or Thailand or Indonesia....

US is squeezing India way too much

US is hell bent upon picking up a fight with India. Now the disclosure that a two bit lawyer Pannu gave Kejriwal $16 million in 2014 to get a Delhi Bomb blast accuse released. This lawyer does not have that kind of money. Even Gurudwara, their main source of money in US and Canada do not gave that kind of money, hence where did the money come from? It appears to be CIA money. In 2014, why was CIA/US was hell bent upon upsetting a right wing government of Modi which has come to power. it is difficult to understand.

There appears to be a western conspiracy to upset India by interfering in CAA part which is very similar to American effort to build wall on the Mexico border and deny citizenship to illegal immigrants. Then the U.S. opened up on Kejriwal affair for nothing. This man has pocketed $15 million of state tax money and pretends to be innocent. What have the U.S. and German got to do with tax money fraud conducted by Kejriwal. These politicians should be not lionized but criticized by US and Germany.

It is all about India buying Russian oil. They are trying to upset India by other means, since they have failed to persuade India to relent on Russian oil purchases.

India has an alternative. If India finds an alternative the GE Engine then threaten to cancel the deal. The U.S. will get the message. The MQ-9 does not natter, there are alternatives in Israeli drones available. It is the engine deal which has US grab India by the balls and dictate terms. Look for French engine. They are not swayed by US views.

Exactly, it is the price point .. Maruti got greeedy or ambitious and jimny is now with almost 2 lakh discounts which brings it to 11-15 L category..as for product goes... nothing wrong there... it's at par for folks like me who like those square boxy dimensions ..I was after bolero but it's too crude and a diesel .. above mahindra... thank you..

For Jimny ???
I thought U said it's garbage..
Everything is wrong with Jimny.

It is a wrong car at wrong price bucket market to wrong people at wrong time.

It looks comically small compared to other cars on road. It has poor cabin space, it has poor cabin comfort, it has poor mileage despite the small size.

The people who have bought it are trying hard to justify their purchase on automotive forums.

omaebakabaka

Everything is wrong with Jimny.

It is a wrong car at wrong price bucket market to wrong people at wrong time.

It looks comically small compared to other cars on road. It has poor cabin space, it has poor cabin comfort, it has poor mileage despite the small size.

The people who have bought it are trying hard to justify their purchase on automotive forums.
Mostly for attention whores like that crap mini coopers or VW beetle or buggy but jimmy is better compared to those German and English trash. I wouldn't get caught in those cars. Jimmy is pointless in any other market other than possibly Japan. Its not tough enough for offroading but may be better when it comes to mud being lighter than jeep.