Indian defence industry exports watch

some one please tell me why the fuck am I not surprised these bloody good for nothing sarkari chai biscoot babus sitting on their asses is the single biggest resone we haven't reached any where I love it when these bloody pigs squeem I say the government should only concentrate on ruling it should have no part in economy of the country the Bombay plan is well past its sell by date now give it a proper cremation and say ram nam sataya hai
I do think that instead of privatizing we should focus mainly on R&D sector involving Private entity. They should focus solely on R&D sector as of now either with JV or without it. They could sell their tech to these public sector OFBs and could earn royalty on each and every production. After this they could go for take over if the outcome fails QA.

we should give no faaaak to these bloody union goons in all these factories ..We have plenty of youth without job with engineering degrees who are ready to take any position to have their bread and butter ..Lets kick these all once and bring in some fresh blood ..time really has come to end this union business in defence manufactures and bring some serious accountability for productivity ..No more these should be seen as sarkaari naukri two punch one lunch and two tea breaks ...

Privatizing arms manufacturing has India's federal workforce seeing red

http://www.defensenews.com/articles...with-loosening-its-grip-on-arms-manufacturing

we should give no faaaak to these bloody union goons in all these factories ..We have plenty of youth without job with engineering degrees who are ready to take any position to have their bread and butter ..Lets kick these all once and bring in some fresh blood ..time really has come to end this union business in defence manufactures and bring some serious accountability for productivity ..No more these should be seen as sarkaari naukri two punch one lunch and two tea breaks ...
Actual problem is not in productivity, its in quality. OFB is doing decent job in license production variant. So need of hour is to infuse R&D and QA in production instead of numbers. Again and again I have said that private entities would bring in numbers, but not fresh thinking.
We do need R&D centers on weapon tech right now. Now freshly churned out (!) engineers do need to take on independent thinking and designing rather then to settle for what is offered on board. Another need of hour is for the retired or in service engineering corps or other soldiers and officers to incorporate their idea with the R&D team. You can't expect an IIT graduate to design a world class ergonomic AR.

Hiranyaksha

1. Till my understanding,as per the need of the time, I will say that what India really need is collaboration with foreign partners who will bring in tech and expertise to the venture along with Indian partner , who will bring money and the rest. Strategic Partnership Policy is right step in this matter. But still there are some lapses in it. It is difficult to bring partners under those conditions. Especially when GOI will be allocating licenses to Indian partner on basis of preference that too with majority stake.
  2. Building indigenous expertise will take us awful amount of time, which we don't have.
  3. Labor Unions and all won't be much hurdle because of distributed supply chain.

1. Till my understanding,as per the need of the time, I will say that what India really need is collaboration with foreign partners who will bring in tech and expertise to the venture along with Indian partner , who will bring money and the rest. Strategic Partnership Policy is right step in this matter. But still there are some lapses in it. It is difficult to bring partners under those conditions. Especially when GOI will be allocating licenses to Indian partner on basis of preference that too with majority stake.
  2. Building indigenous expertise will take us awful amount of time, which we don't have.
  3. Labor Unions and all won't be much hurdle because of distributed supply chain.
Building indigenous expertise is not going to take an awful long time if we start working in right direction. As I have already mentioned, we are not placing right people at right place. We could see that in public sector entities, who are enlisted for defence related production, the top post are hold by retired service person. Well and good, but who are the people working on ground level? The ones passing from ITI's or some engineering institutes who have zero knowledge about how a war machine does act in real time. How could you expect us to design something in this scenario? For indigenous expertise, do bring the service veterans in ground level work. Make them team leader who could guide engineers and craftsmen. At end of day its the experience who could serve you.

Article is based on half truth.

It is also a fact that there are capacity upgrades going on within OFBs. in all probability OFBs will not loose out much in terms of jobs and earnings.
Ofcourse they would not. But someone has to cook up something. So here it is.

Prashant12

Made-in-India warship to be largest in Sri Lankan Navy’s fleet

The Sri Lankan Navy is on the verge of commissioning its largest warship, which has been built in India under a Rs 1,000-crore contract inked four years ago for two such vessels.

The manufacturer, state-owned Goa Shipyard Limited (GSL), will deliver the first offshore patrol vessel to the Sri Lankan Navy at a ceremony at the yard on July 22.

The 105-metre long warship, with a displacement of around 2,400 tonnes, is expected to be commissioned into the Sri Lankan Navy on August 2.

“It will be the largest warship to be operated by the Sri Lankan Navy. It is also the largest warship to be exported by an Indian shipyard. The step will deepen naval ties between the two countries,” Rear Admiral Shekhar Mital told HT from Goa.

The shipyard has beaten the deadline for delivering the warship because of which the Sri Lankan Navy will induct the vessel almost three months ahead of the scheduled delivery. Sri Lanka will get the second warship in February 2018, again three months ahead of schedule.

Such patrol vessels carry out several roles including fleet support operations, maritime surveillance, defence of offshore installations and escorting high value ships.

Capable of reaching a top speed of 25 knots, the vessels have been designed to accommodate a helicopter on their flight decks.

The shipyard will also deliver a fast patrol vessel to Mauritius on August 9, the 14th such vessel to be delivered to that country during the last two years.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...avy-s-fleet/story-lsINLt8N0GQeQ79BTFuwKL.html

DRDO moots export of weapons systems
Published July 29, 2017 SOURCE: TNN

DRDO is looking for exporting version one or version two of some weapon system which become redundant for army because they have acquired newer versions, said its chairman S Christopher here on Friday.

After inaugurating an exhibition that showcased a wide range of products that they were in talks with countries to export weapons and systems that are phased out of Indian Army due to acquisition of latest versions, he said, “older versions are good for some countries which have shown interest. Some of the systems under development too could be exported. It would also create goodwill.” He, however, did not reveal which countries are being looked at for export.

He also said DRDO had urged the government to “allow us to test the products which we may not want immediately but can still be developed and exported. Torpedoes, rockets and missiles are a few products that are being considered for export. He gave the example of Pinaki rocket as latest GPS-driven ones have been developed. “The mark 1 and 2 versions can be exported.”

Christopher also said DRDO products were ranked well world over. “We are fourth in the world in AWAC and fighter planes, fifth in missiles. Arjun is not far away from being the best among some countries.”

As the thrust is on roping in private companies, DRDO is looking at capitalising on intellectual property. Private companies are being roped in because they are better placed to market and manufacture DRDO products and the army seems to be more receptive when products are presented by private companies. Already Rs 1 lakh crore has been generated in two years. “If we can generate Rs 5 lakh crore in five years we do not have to depend on government for funds.” In this context, DRDO is planning to revive Arjun-based catapult.

http://idrw.org/drdo-moots-export-of-weapons-systems/#more-142906 .

HarshBardhan

Casper
I made a list long time long on what weapons India export. Some loopholes might be in the article along with some fallacies

Hope you take a look at it.

What Weapons do India export ?

-------------------------------------------

India exports weapons to various countries. India has been ranked 28th in the arms exporters list and though India has not been an exporter of major weapons it has exported many accessory weapons and military gadgets to over 100+ countries.
The contents are below :
1. INSAS Rifle :
Many hate this weapon but it was exported to many countries like Bhutan , Nepal , Oman and Swaziland. Oman later replaced it with Steyr AUG.
---------------------------------------
2. MCGS Barracuda :
Garden Reach Shipyard & Engineers (GRSE) built MCGS Barracuda has been exported to Mauritius as part of a $58-million deal.
India has gifted several warships to smaller Indian Ocean countries such as Maldives, Seychelles and Mauritius. It has sold used vessels, such as a Sukanya-class OPV to Sri Lankan navy.
3. Cheetal Helicopters :
India has also delivered 3 Cheetal Helicopters along with their spare parts to Afghnaistan. Afghan pilots and technicians have been trained on the choppers that are suited for operations from high altitude regions as well as difficult terrain and unprepared landing areas.
4. Dhruv Helicopter :
Indian Army has delivered Dhruv Helicopters to Ecuador , Israel , Maldives , Mauritius , Nepal for military use and to Turkey and Peru for civilian use.Suriname operates Chetak helicopters.
5. Spare Parts :
India exports avionics for Malaysian Su 30 MKM and Mig spares. Mig and Su-30 Spares are also exported to Russia. India also exported spares and services to Oman for its Jaguar fleet until they were retired in 2014.
6. Bulletproof Jackets and Helmets :
Indian company MKU based in Kanpur exports bulletproof jackets and ballistic helmets to over 100 countries and its products are used by many NATO forces also. Countries include US , UK , France , Israel and many others. MKU is now supplying bulletproof jackets and ballistic helmets to Indian army also.
7. Military Gadgets :
Military Compass , Laser Rangefinders , Thermal Imaging Fire Control Systems are exported to Israel. India also exports RAWL02 a long range L band radar and SONAR HMS-X to Myanmar which is used on Kyan Sittha-class frigate.
TRS 2215 Radar spares are being exported to Indonesia . Indra Mk.II spares , Lion Battery Chargers , Secure VHF Handheld Radio LVP 285 & services to Sri Lanka.
Electronic assemblies , Flight Control Panel , Mechanical Parts , Vacum interruptor to United States.
India has also exported BEL Battle Field Surveillance Radar to Indonesia and Sudan.
BEL Battle Field Surveillance Radar
India also exports parachutes and other soldier accessories for different nations as well as 155mm Bofors artillery shell to UAE.
8. Torpedoes :
India signed a $37.9 million deal to supply Shyenato the Myanmar Navy to supplyAdvanced Light Torpedo Shyena .

“India will become one of the largest exporters of military hardware in the next 10-15 years”: Baba Kalyani

Baba Kalyani says Kalyani Group will turn over Rs 2,000 crore annually in defence manufacture

Q. Large metals giants, like Krupp in Germany, have traditionally spearheaded the development of national defence industries. Is the Kalyani Group riding on such capabilities?

We are the Krupp of India. In fact, two years ago, we beat ThyssenKrupp in their own backyard to become the world’s biggest supplier of metallurgical components. Before 2005, we were not even in this business. Today, we have 60 per cent of the global market in high performance metallurgical components.

We are now global leaders in metallurgy. We make our steel, we forge it, we machine it, we heat treat it. Very few companies in the world can match us in manufacturing demanding products like gun barrels. Companies come to us from Europe for design, engineering, testing and validation of metallurgical components.

Q. Artillery systems are your new thrust. What are the opportunities here?

The Indian army needs artillery systems. The programme for 1,500 towed guns alone will be worth Rs 25,000-30,000 crore, at Rs 15-16 crore rupees per gun. The army’s website projects a requirement for 4,000 different guns – ultra-light, self-propelled, towed and others. This is an Rs 45,000-50,000 crore opportunity, of which we can snap up half, based on our capability and cost competitiveness.

Q. How much revenue would this generate on an annual basis?

About Rs 2,000 crore annually, counting replacement parts and maintenance.

Q. How big is the Kalyani Group in defence today?

This year we will do Rs 500 crore of defence business. This is basically components like wheels for tanks, armoured vehicle components and ammunition shells to Europe. But, once we are asked to manufacture, say 1,000 Advanced Towed Artillery Gun Systems (ATAGS), our defence turnover will rise quickly.

Q. Is it wise to put so many eggs in the ATAGS basket?

The ATAGS team has created a new benchmark in 155-millimetre artillery. For decades, no similar gun has been designed anywhere in the world. This is the first gun in 30 years designed afresh, from scratch. This will be a world-beater. Next year it will be in every Jane’s magazine. Nobody has a gun like this. With a range of 45 plus kilometres, it’s an amazing weapon.

Q. You are also developing a titanium-based ultra-light howitzer (ULH). But the army has already bought these guns from abroad…

The army has bought 145 M777 guns from BAE Systems. By March [2018], our indigenous ULH will be ready to compete with that gun. The army needs many more.

Q. Has MoD conveyed interest?

When [former defence minister] Manohar Parrikar visited us to inaugurate our plant, he was interested. We showed him the model of the ULH we were building and he assured us: “For all future guns we will come to you.”

But we’ll have to pass evaluation and we are ready to go through the process. We are very confident. It is not just for India, I’m sure our ULH will find buyers worldwide. Even Japan is interested in light artillery.

Q. Private defence firms like yours are relying heavily on being nominated as “strategic partner” (SP). What are your views on the new SP policy?

Honestly, I think we need a lot of clarification about the SP policy. I’ve heard three versions of the SP model. But, looking at it positively, defence production will get a boost.

Q. There is criticism that the SP policy is exclusionary, with nominated firms gaining everything, and the other left without orders. For example if you are chosen as SP for land systems, you get excluded from aerospace manufacture…

This is not correct. We can be a strategic partner for one segment, and a development partner, or Tier 1 or Tier 2 vendor for another. For building a fighter in India, at least 150 companies will be needed. There is space for all, not just the strategic partner.

Q. So the Kalyani Group is betting big on defence?

In the next 10-15 years, India will become one of the largest exporters of military hardware. It may not be fighters or highly sophisticated stuff, but will include equipment like land systems, artillery, ammunition, missiles, bombs; we will master these technologies quickly, and do it cheaper than anybody else. The Kalyani Group will be a big part of this.
http://ajaishukla.blogspot.in/2017/10/india-will-become-one-of-largest.html

@IndianHawk @Willy2 @roma @Krusty @Defcon 1 @Ghanteshwar @raheel besharam @raja696 @Amr @AnkitPurohit @Akshay_Fenix @aditya10r @airtel @aditya10r @ancientIndian @Bahamut @Berkut @Bornubus @Bengal_Tiger @ersakthivel @FRYCRY @Gessler @HariSud @hit&run @hardip @indiandefencefan @IndianHawk @JayPatel @Kshatriya87 @LETHALFORCE @Mikesingh @NavneetKundu @OneGrimPilgrim @pmaitra @PaliwalWarrior @Pulkit @smestarz @SakalGhareluUstad @Srinivas_K @ShashankSharma @Superdefender @Screambowl @TacticalFrog @Abhijat @A chauhan @Alien @alphacentury @Ancient Indian @Ankit Purohit @anupamsurey @armyofhind @Bharat Ek Khoj @Bhumihar @blueblood @brational @Bangalorean @Blackwater @Bornubus @bose @Bullet @cobra commando @DingDong @DFI_COAS @dhananjay1 @ersakthivel @F-14B @fooLIam @gpawar @guru-dutt @here2where @hit&run @HariPrasad-1 @Indx TechStyle @Kshatriya87 @jackprince @Kharavela @Illusive @I_PLAY_BAD @LETHALFORCE @Lions Of Punjab @maomao @Mad Indian @OneGrimPilgrim @Peter @piKacHHu @Pinky Chaudhary @porky_kicker @Razor @raja696 @Rowdy @Sakal Gharelu Ustad @SanjeevM @saty @sydsnyper @Srinivas_K @Screambowl @sorcerer @Simple_Guy @Sylex21 @wickedone @tarunraju @TrueSpirit2 @thethinker @Tshering22 @vayuu1 @VIP @Vishwarupa @VIP @Varahamihira @Navnit Kundu @WARREN SS @Willy2 @3deffect

Metallurgy skills are Kalyani Group’s springboard to defence production

The Kalyani Group's Bharat 52 gun, which is undergoing test firing at present

By Ajai Shukla
Business Standard, 23rd Oct 17

Indian engineers, who struggled for decades to design high-tech weaponry like the Tejas fighter and Arjun tank, are enjoying unusually quick success in developing what promises to be a world-class artillery gun.

At firing trials on September 4, prominent defence firm, Tata Power (Strategic Engineering Division), was cock-a-hoop when its Advanced Towed Artillery Gun System (ATAGS) fired three shells to a world-record 47.2 kilometres – three kilometres longer than contemporary guns.

But Tata Power (SED)’s record lasted just one day.

The next morning, a second ATAGS gun, which the Kalyani Group has built according to a parallel development strategy, broke that record by achieving a range of just over 48 kilometres.

Both guns achieved this record-breaking performance with “high explosive – base bleed” (HE-BB) ammunition, which is optimised for longer ranges.

The Defence Research & Development Organisation (DRDO), which conceived and designed the 155-millimetre, 52-calibre ATAGS, has fed the design to Tata Power (SED) and the Kalyani Group. Based on those requirements, the two companies have built and are test-firing competing gun prototypes.

While Tata Power (SED) has worked with the DRDO earlier, the new partnership with Kalyani Group is proving to be an inspired choice. The Pune-based firm has engineered a barrel and breech so good that the Tatas are using it in their gun as well.

While Kalyani Group is relatively new to modern defence systems that incorporate advanced information technology, its flagship company, Bharat Forge – the world’s largest forgings manufacturer – is a global leader in metallurgy expertise.

Metallurgy is fundamental to any defence industry, since it underpins the construction of guns, armoured platforms and warships. The 430-year-old German metals giant, Krupp, spearheaded the emergence of Germany’s defence industry, and leads it even today. The Kalyani Group believes it can do the same for India.

Says the Kalyani Group’s hard charging supremo, Babasaheb (Baba) Kalyani: “Our basic technology competence lies in metallurgy. We make our steel, we forge it, we machine it, we heat treat it. Very few companies in the world can match our skills in products like gun barrels.”

Over the years, Kalyani Group has integrated upstream as well as downstream from Bharat Forge. Pune-based Kalyani Carpenter and Kalyani Steels make alloy steel for the ATAGS barrel. Another group company, Mysore-based Automotive Axles, specialises in “drive lines”, on which the gun is mounted. A high-tech fabrication shop in Satara assembles the gun.

Business Standard visited the Kalyani Group facility in Pune, where the company is developing several artillery systems at its own cost, in order to develop skills. The guns are built in an artillery factory bought from Swiss defence firm, RUAG, and shipped in entirety from Austria to Pune.

Its produces include the 155-millimetre, 52 calibre Bharat 52, which is undergoing test firing; a 45 calibre version of the same gun; a truck-mounted 105-millimetre gun called the Garuda, which the army found so promising it financed it through the Army Technology Board; and a 155-millimetre, 39 calibre, titanium ultra-light howitzer that Kalyani is pitching against the BAE Systems M777 gun that India has contracted for.

“The Indian Army has already bought 145 M777 guns. But, by March [2018], my indigenous ultra-light howitzer will be ready to compete with the BAE Systems gun”, promises Kalyani.

Kalyani Group engineers who work on ATAGS say its exceptional range stems from its larger chamber – 25 litres, compared to 23 litres in similar guns. This allows the gun to be fired with more explosive, propelling the warhead further. To absorb the higher “shock of discharge”, Kalyani Group says it has built its barrel and breech with a complex new metallurgy.

Making ATAGS an easy-to-handle gun is an unprecedented all-electric system, in which machinery does what gun crews do manually in other guns: handling heavy ammunition, ramming it into the chamber and opening and closing the heavy breech.

Its one-of-a-kind, six-round “automated magazine” loads and fires a six-round burst in just 30 seconds. Most other guns in service have three-round magazines that must be reloaded after firing three rounds.

Firing off six rounds in 30 seconds is an important capability since artillery causes most casualties in the initial burst of fire, which catches enemy soldiers in the open. Once they dive into their trenches, artillery fire is less effective.

“The ATAGS team has created a new benchmark in artillery. For decades, no new artillery gun has been designed anywhere in the world. This is the first gun in 30 years designed afresh, from scratch”, points out Baba Kalyani.

The next test for the gun is “cold weather trials” in Sikkim in December. Before then, the gun will undergo some modifications. To expedite trials, Tata Power (SED) and Kalyani Group will start the building of three more ATAGs prototypes.

http://ajaishukla.blogspot.in/2017/10/metallurgy-skills-are-kalyani-groups.html

If they do some reforms today that is in 2017-18 then we can expect something after 1.5 decades otherwise forget it.

Coming to Baba Khayani's statement.. his shares fell down by 6 units today in NSE and may fall further tomorrow. So this statement was must so that people buy his share and value rises.

dhanda khol rakha hai salo ne

Thread updated ..

Looking for suitable thread title, Anyone has better in mind ?