Re: Indian Army Armored Vehicles

The vehicle has already been trial evaluated by the Indian Armed forces

Re: Dedicated to the Brave Soldiers who died fighting for the Country

Vikas Sharma

Can someone provide Gen Pervez Musharraf telephonic conversation in China, with Lt Gen Mohammad Aziz Khan that got leaked during Kargil. In India it is said to be intercepted by RA&W. While in Pakistan they blame China and US for this.

Part - 1

Aziz: This Is Pakistan. Give me Room No. 83315 (same room number). Hello.

Musharraf: Hello Aziz.

Aziz: The situation on ground is OK, no change. This area but it is not brought down by attack. One of their MI-17 arms (?) was brought down. Further, the position is, we had approached to our position, it was brought down. Rest is OK. Nothing else except, there is a development. Have you listened to yesterday's news regarding Mian Saheb speaking to his counterpart. He told him that the spirit of Lahore Declaration and escalation has been done by your people. Specially wanted to speak to me thereafter. He told Indian PM that they should have waited instead of upping the ante by using Air Force & all other means. He (Nawaz) told him (Indian PM) that he suggested Sartaj Aziz could go to New Delhi to explore the possibility of defusing the tension.

Musharraf: OK.

Aziz: Which is likely to take place, most probably tomorrow.
Musharraf: OK.
Aziz: Our other friend (Lt Gen Ziauddin, DG ISI...?... or could be United States) might have also put pressure on. For that, today they will have a discussion at Foreign Office about 9.30 and Zafar Saheb (Lt Gen Saeeduz Zaman Zafar, GOC 11 Corps & Acting Chief) is supposed to attend.
Musharraf: OK
Aziz: Aziz Saheb (Sartaj Aziz, Foreign, Minister) has discussed with me and my recommendation is that dialogue option is always open. But in their first meeting, they must give no understanding or no commitment on ground situation.
Musharraf: Very correct. You or Mehmood (GOC X Corps, Rawalpindi) must have to go with Zafar. Because, they don't know about the ground situation.
Aziz: This week, we are getting together at 8'o clock because meeting will be at 9.30, so Zafar Saheb will deliberate it. We want to suggest to Zafar that they have to maintain that they will not be talking about ground situation. All that you say. So far as the ground situation is concerned. Subsequently, DGMOs can discuss with each other and work out the modus operandi.
Musharraf: Idea on LoC
Aziz: Yes. Hint is that, given that the LoC has many areas where the interpretation of either side is not what the other side believes. So, comprehensive deliberation is required. So, that can be worked out by DGMOs.
Musharraf: If they are assured that we are here from a long period. We have been sitting here for long. Like in the beginning, the matter is the same -- no post was attacked and no post was captured. The situation is that we are along our defensive Line of Control. If it is not in his (Sartaj Aziz's) knowledge, then discuss it altogehter. Emphasise that for years, we are here only.
Musharraf: Yes, this point should be raised. We are sitting on the same LoC since a long period.
Aziz: This is their weakness. They are not agreed on the demarcation under UN's verification, whereas we are agreed. We want to exploit it.
Musharraf: This is in Simla Agreement that we cannot go for UN intervention.
Aziz: Our neighbour does not accept their presence or UNMOGIP arrangement for survey for the area. So, we can start from the top, from 9842 (NJ 9842). On this line, we can give them logic but in short, the recommendation for Sartaj Aziz Saheb is that he should make no commitment in the first meeting on military situation. And he should not even accept ceasefire, because if there is ceasefire, then vehicles will be moving (on Dras-Kargil highway). In this regard, they have to use their own argument that whatever is interfering with you. That we don't know but there is no justification about tension on LoC. No justification. We want to give them this type of brief so that he does not get into any specifics.
Musharraf: Alright.
Aziz: In this connection, we want your approval and what is your programme.
Musharraf: I will come tomorrow. We are just leaving within an hour. We are going to Shenzhen. From there, by evening, we will be in Hong Kong. There will be a flight tomorrow from Hong Kong. So, we will be there at Lahore in the evening, via Bangkok flight.
Aziz: Sunday evening, you will be at Lahore. We will also indicate that, if there is more critical situation, then it (Sartaj visit) should be deferred for another day or two. We can discuss on Monday & then do.
Musharraf: Has this MI-17 not fallen in our area?
Aziz: No Sir. This has fallen in their area. We have not claimed it. We have got it claimed through the mujahideen.
Musharraf: Well done.
Aziz: But topwise side, crashing straight before our eyes.
Musharraf: Very good. Now are they facing any greater difficulty in flying them? Are they scared or not? This also you should note. Are they coming any less nearer?
Aziz: Yes. There is a lot of pressure on them. They were talking about greater air defence than they had anticipated. They can't afford to lose any more aircraft. There has been less intensity of air flying after that.
Musharraf: Very good. First class. Is there any build up on the ground?
Aziz: Just like that but the movement is pretty sluggish and slow. One or two are coming near no.6. Till now only one call sign in which one has not reached the valley so far. Now the air people & the ground people will stay back and then the situation will be OK.
Musharraf: See you in the evening.

The Musharraf Tapes - Transcripts of Secret Telephone Conversations Of Pervez Musharraf | Allegedly Made By RAW - Moral Volcano

Part 2

Aziz: How is the visit going?
Musharraf: Yes, very well, Ok. And, what else is the news on that side?
Aziz: Ham-dul-ullah. There is no change on the ground situation. They have started rocketing and straffing. That has been upgraded a little. It has happened yesterday also and today. Today high altitude bombing has been done.
Musharraf: On their side, in those positions?
Aziz: In those positions, but in today's bombing about three bombs landed on our side of the Line of control. No damage, Sir.
Musharraf: Is it quite a lot?
Aziz: Sir, about 12-13 bombs were dropped, from which three fell on our side, which does not appear to be a result of inaccuracy. In my interpretation, it is a sort of giving of a message that if need be, we can do it on the other side as well. It is quite distance apart. Where the bombs have been dropped, they have tried to drop from a good position where they are in difficulty, from behind the LoC but they have fallen on our side of the LoC. So I have spoken to the Foreign Secretary and I have told him that he should make the appropriate noises about this in the Press.
Musharraf: They (Indians) should also be told.
Aziz: That we have told, Foreign Secretary will also say and Rashid will also say. He will not, generally speaking, make any such mistake about those other bombs falling on the other side, our stand should be that all these bombs are falling on our side. We will not come into that situation. The guideline that they have given, we have stressed that we should say that this build-up and employment of air strike which has been done under the garb of....us (?), actually they are targetting our position on the LoC and our logistic build-up, these possibly they are taking under the garb having intention for operation the craft (?) Line of Control, and this need to be taken note of and we would retaliate in kind.... is what happened? So, the entire build-up we want to give this colour.
Musharraf: Absolutely OK. Yes, this is better. After that, has there been any talk with them? Any meetings etc?
Aziz: Yeserday, again, in the evening.
Musharraf: Who all were there?
Aziz: Actually, we insisted that a meeting should be held, because otherwise that friend of ours, the incumbent of my old chair, we thought lest he give some interpretation of his own, we should do something ourselves by going there.
Musharraf: Was he little disturbed. I heard that there was some trouble in Sialkot.
Aziz: Yes, There was one in Daska. On this issue there was trouble. Yes, he was little disturbed about that but I told him that such small things keep happening...(?) and we can reply to such things in a better way.
Musharraf: Absolutely.
Aziz: There is no such thing to worry.
Musharraf: So that briefing to Mian Seheb that we did, was the forum the same as where we had done previously? There, at Jamshed's place?
Aziz: No. In Mian Saheb's office.
Musharraf: Oh I see. There. What was he saying?
Aziz: From here we had gone -- Choudhary Zafar Saheb, Mehmood, myself & Tauqir. Because before going, Tauqir had spoken with his counterpart. We carried that tape with us.
Musharraf: So, what was he (Indian counterpart) saying?
Aziz: That is very interesting. When you come, I will play it for you. Its focus was that these infiltrators, who are sitting here, they have your help and artillery support, without which they could not have come to J&K. This is not a very friendly act and it is against the spirit of the Lahore Declaration. Then Tauqir told him that if your boys tried to physically attack the Line of Control and go beyond it....and that the bombs were Planted on the Turtok bridge and the dead body received in the process was returned with military honours and I said, I thought that there wan good enough indication you would not enter into this type of misadventure, and all this build-up that you are doing --- one or more brigade strength & 50-60 aircraft are being collected. These are excuses for undertaking some operations against the verious spaces, so I had put him on the defensive. Then he said the same old story. He would put three points again and again that they (militants) should not be supported, and without your support they Could not be there, they have sophisticated weapons and we will flush them out, we will not let them stay there. But this is not a friendly act.
Musharraf: So, did they talk of coming out and meeting somewhere?
Aziz: No, No, they did not.
Musharraf: Was there some other talk of putting pressure on us?
Aziz: No. He only said that they (militants) will be given suitable reception. This term he used. He said they will be flushed out, and everytime Tauqir said that please tell us some detail, detail about how many have gone into your area, what is happening there? Then I will ask the concerned people and then we will get back to you. So whenever he asked these details, he would say, we will talk about this when we meet, then I will give details. This means, they are possibly looking forward to the next round of talks, in which the two sides could meet. This could be the next round of talks between the two PMs which they are expecting it....Sir, very good thing, no Problem...
Musharraf: So, many times we had discussed, taken your (PM's?...) blessings and yesterday also I told him that the door of discussion, dialogue must be kept open & rest, no change in ground situation.
Aziz: So, no one was in a particularly disturbed, frame of mind.
Musharraf: Even your seat man?
Aziz: Yes, he was disturbed. Also, Malik Saheb was disturbed, as they had been even earlier. Those two's views were that the status quo & the present Postion of Gen Hassan (?) no change should be recommended in that. But he was also saying that any escalation after that should be regulated as there may be the danger of war. On this logic, we gave the suggestion that there was no such fear as the scruff (tooti) of their (militants) neck is in our hands, whenever you want, we could regulate it. Ch Zafar Saheb coped very well. He gave a very good presentation of our viewpoint. He said we had briefed the PM earlier & given an assessment. AFter this, we played the tape of Tauqir. Then he said that what we are seeing, that was our assessment, and those very stages of the military situation were being seen, which it would not be a problem for us to handle. Rest, it was for your guidance how to deal with the political & diplomatic aspects. We told him there is no reason of alarm & panic. Then he said that when I came to know seven days back, when Corps Commanders were told. The entire reason of the success of this oepration was this total secrecy. Our experience was that our earlier efforts failed because of lack of secrecy. So the top priority is to accord Confidentiality, to ensure our success. We should respect this and the advantage we have from this would give us a handle.
Musharraf: Rest (baki), is Mian Saheb Ok?
Aziz: Ok. He was confident just like that but for the other two. Shamshad as usual was supporting. Today, for the last two hours the BBC has been Continuously reporting on the air strikes by India. Keep using this -- let them keep dropping bombs. As far as internationalisation is concerned, this is the fastest this has happened. You may have seen in the press about UN Secretary General Kofi Annan's appeal that both countries should sit & talk.

Liers, cunning and plotting men ...who have put Indian behemoth to shame many times....

Grant them that,,,,,,......

wild goose

Indian Army Chief to Head for Japan and Bangladesh to Boost Military Ties

Keeping up with its agenda of boosting military ties with various countries, the Indian Army Chief Gen.Bikram Singh will be visiting Japan by September-end as well as Bangladesh in October. The Indian Army Chief will be in Japan from September 30 to October 2. Following the Japan visit, the Army Chief will be in Bangladesh from October 3 to October 6.

During the Indian Army Chief's visit to Japan starting this month-end, Gen. Bikram Singh will hold meetings with the top Japanese military leaders to discuss ways of further strengthening Defence ties between the two nations. In the past, numerous high level visits between the two sides have taken place including the talks between their Defence Ministers.

Meanwhile, India and Japan have been conducting coordinated patrols in the Gulf of Aden while carrying out anti-piracy operations in that region along with China. India and Japan will also start having bilateral exercises between their navies in the near future. Ships from the Indian and Japanese naval forces have held joint military exercises in waters off Tokyo few months ago. While the exercises were small in scale, they highlight the growing relationship between the two countries.

Both India and Japan have been devising means to boost military ties in fields ranging from counter-terrorism and anti-piracy measures to Defence research and development and training. Both nations are also stepping up ties to address regional and global security challenges. The navies and coast guards of the two countries are already exercising together to learn from each other and build interoperability.

Following the Japan visit, Army Chief Gen. Singh will proceed towards Bangladesh where he intends to stay from October 3 to October 6. India has been trying to establish mutual trust and greater military ties with its immediate neighbor Bangladesh. Last year, Gen Singh's predecessor Gen V K Singh had also visited Bangladesh while the Bangladeshi Army Chief Gen Mohammed Abdul Mubeen visited India in November last year.

In March this year, IAF Chief NAK Browne had also gone to Bangladesh to step-up bilateral military ties between the two countries. The Indian air chief held talks with the three Bangladeshi service chiefs - General Mohammed Abdul Mubeen of the army, Air Marshal S.M. Ziaur Rahman of the air force and Vice-Admiral Zahir Uddin Ahmed of the navy. During the IAF Chief's visit, it was assured that the exchange of training and experience-sharing between the air force officers of India and Bangladesh would continue in the future.

wild goose

Full-body truck scanners for Army at DAC

The Defence Acquisition Council will consider an Army proposal to procure and deploy full-body truck scanners to check cargo in vehicles coming from across the Line of Control (LoC) in Jammu and Kashmir.

The full-body truck scanners will strengthen our capability to detect arms and ammunition and the DAC will take a final decision on this proposal in its next meeting, sources said here.

The DAC is the top decision-making body of the Defence Ministry headed by Defence Minister AK Antony. Sources said the scanning equipment is required by the force to be deployed at places in Jammu and Kashmir where cross-border trade routes have been opened across the Line of Control (LoC).

"There is an urgent requirement to procure and install full-body truck scanners to scan cargo trucks with goods, including driver's cabin, without unloading and unpacking the cargo to avoid illegal transshipment of restricted items like arms, ammunition and chemicals," army had recently said in a global Request for Information.

Once the DAC clears the proposal, the army would be allowed to issue a global Request for Proposal for procuring the equipment.

The army has been working to procure the equipment for a long time but two similar attempts have failed.

The army was close to finalizing a contract in this regard in 2010 but the process had to be scrapped after allegations of corruption.

The army wants that the scanners should also be able detect radioactive and nuclear material as well as sniff out various explosives, different types of detonators, circuits, cordex wires, electronic components and chemicals.

cloud_9

One rank one pension scheme: Jubilation gives way to scepticism
New Delhi: India's nearly 23 lakh ex-military personnel have a reason to celebrate. The government has finally conceded their demand for One Rank One Pension. It means that the military personnel will draw the pensions depending on the rank at which they retired, and not the date of their retirement.

The government's decision on Monday evening is set to bring on par those who retired before 2006 with those who retired afterwards.

The One Rank One Pension scheme will also grant dual family pensions and ensure pensions to the differently-abled wards of the defence personnel.

According to reports, the scheme will cost the government around Rs 2,300 crore per year.

While the ex-servicemen are jubilant, many of them remain sceptical.

General (retd) VK Singh said that while he was unaware of "what they have passed", the move was welcome and that it should have happened long time back.

Another Brigadier says that one must be willing to read the fine print. "The government says one thing and does another. It could be a welcome step if the government implements it," he says.

The scepticism of the Army officers is well-founded. The government has turned a blind eye and a deaf ear to what the ex-servicemen consider their legitimate right. And while there has been some relief for retired personnel, there's been no effort to address the concerns of the serving military personnel who feel shortchanged by the Sixth Pay Commission.

Ganesh2691

Two Intruders Shot Dead In Jammu & Kashmir

Army soldiers shot dead two "heavily armed" infiltrators Thursday while they were trying to sneak into India from Pakistan across the Line of Control (LOC) in Poonch district of Jammu and Kashmir, an army official said.

Troops deployed on the LOC in Krishna Ghati sector, about 250 km from here, "noticed a group of armed infiltrators late Wednesday. They (troops) tracked the intruders and challenged them around 3 a.m. Thursday," an army spokesperson told IANS.

The resulting gunfight went on for over an hour, following which "two intruders escaped towards the Pakistani territory while the bodies of two others were recovered from a mine field, about 100 metres inside the Indian territory," he added.

"The killed infiltrators were in army fatigue. Two AK rifles, one under barrel grenade launcher, large quantity of ammunition and a radio set have been recovered," the spokesperson said.

The Indian Army has launched a search operation in the area and vigil along the LOC has been stepped up.

Defence News - Two Intruders Shot Dead In Jammu & Kashmir

The political establishment lacks will to modernize the defence forces........... We cannot do anything but to sit and chat against this wrong doing of the GoI.........

Jawan in NBC Suit |
A jawan outfitted with an NBC (Nuclear, Biological & Chemical) suit stands next to a FLAME launcher. Developed by Bharat Dynamics Limited, FLAME is a universal launcher - for both infantry and vehicle use - which can fire the 9K113 Konkurs (AT-5 Spandrel), the 9K11 Fagot (AT-4 Spigot) and the Milan-II anti-tank guided missile.

cloud_9

Proposals worth around Rs.6,000 crore for the Armed Forces cleared.

Be transparent in weapons purchase, Antony tells Service chiefs
Defence Minister A K Antony on Monday cautioned the three Services chiefs to be "transparent" in the process of weapon trials and procurement as he cleared proposals worth around Rs.6,000 crore for the Armed Forces.

Antony's message to the chiefs came amid latest bribery allegations in the proposed purchase of 197 light choppers.

At the Defence Acquisition Council (DAC) meeting, the Ministry cleared proposals for procurement of 3,000 Light Support Vehicles (LSVs) for the Army at a cost of Rs.1,500 crore and Special Operations Vessels (SOVs) for the Marine Commandos of the Navy at a cost of Rs.1,700 crore, Defence Ministry sources told PTI here.

The meeting also cleared proposals for purchase of Search and Rescue (SAR) equipment for IAF choppers at a cost of Rs.1,000 crore, 3,000 Hand-held Thermal Imagers (HHTIs) for the Army at Rs.800 crore and a Cadet Training Ship for the Navy at Rs.480 crore which will be built by private sector ABG Shipyard, they said.

The DAC, which is the top decision-making body of the Defence Ministry, also cleared an IAF proposal to procure two Dornier surveillance and transport aircraft from the HAL.

The meeting, which was convened to discuss the ongoing procurement of 197 light choppers for the Army and IAF, decided to defer the matter in the backdrop of allegations against a Brigadier for seeking Rs.25 crore bribe for favouring a foreign vendor Agusta Westland. :scared1:

"The Defence Minister asked the three Services to adopt fair and transparent manners while carrying out procurements," Defence Ministry officials said here.

The deal has been under the scanner in the recent past as there have been anonymous complaints against the helicopters fielded by the two rivals Eurocopter and Russian Kamov.

Agusta Westland was rejected by the trial team on the basis of its chopper's non-compliance with the tender requirements.

The Ministry is also seeking details from Italy over its investigations in the VVIP chopper deal in the allegations of payments of kickbacks to secure the deal.