Indian Army Aviation Wing

The need for a platform specially for LGB strikes and high altitude recons comes only after Kargil, Other then that IAF is good enough..

The Gunship role is basically comes under combine arm movement, in counter insurgency its role is little different but more or less same approach , Denial of enemy elements fall in this part..

Sir, would this mean CAS Turbo-prop/Fan craft will take up a role in between SEAD and pure Infantry/Armor escort?,CAS helo gunship = close area denial to enemy ground forces?

why can't the hf-24 be brought back to service fitted with kaveri engine which can be used in a cas role similar to su-25.
Huh bringing back this fossil is economically and practically not feasible, however acquisition of 1 Su-25 squadron for each army corps would be reasonable.

Instead we should build something similar to A-10C with glass cockpit, EW, FLIR, 8 hardpoints, 30 × 173 mm 3 barrel cannon & dual kavery engines.

Huh bringing back this fossil is economically and practically not feasible, however acquisition of 1 Su-25 squadron for each army corps would be reasonable.

Instead we should build something similar to A-10C with glass cockpit, EW, FLIR, 8 hardpoints, 30 × 173 mm 3 barrel cannon & dual kavery engines.
Why waster time and money to build something that armed forces will never induct we know how Indian products results.

Instead buy something that is ready made the SU-25 latest avatar the SU-39 is tank killer and incorporates all lessons learned in the afghan campaign.

A squadron assign to each army corps will give tremendous CAS to forces something that SU-30MKI or Rafale will not be able to do, if only we did not go for the MIg-27 but instead the SU-25 we would still be having a potent platform that is going to stay around for atleast 2decades.

Why waster time and money to build something that armed forces will never induct we know how Indian products results.

Instead buy something that is ready made the SU-25 latest avatar the SU-39 is tank killer and incorporates all lessons learned in the afghan campaign.

A squadron assign to each army corps will give tremendous CAS to forces something that SU-30MKI or Rafale will not be able to do, if only we did not go for the MIg-27 but instead the SU-25 we would still be having a potent platform that is going to stay around for atleast 2decades.
Wo din Kaissa Hoga, Jis din paissa Haga ?

We can heavilly arm Hawk, Pilatus and all other trainers and put those to Army Avn Sqns for operations and do the needful in the meantime, till you acquire SU-25 ??

Wo din Kaissa Hoga, Jis din paissa Haga ?
Money is there but unfortunately nobody cares about that if US forces can call an air strike within 40minutes its sad that if India fights on its own soil and cannot do same.

Moreover the CSD will need CAS aircrafts to give tank forces punch they need something like the Stukas did for the panzers.

Just MOD need to stop buying a truck worth 26lakhs at a cost of 1crore :)

I have to say, well placed post..

You see, I dont expect MOD to get Army Jets, All i wish is turbo-props as a requirement not for show offs, I am also making a presentation of helicopter bombing..

Money is there but unfortunately nobody cares about that if US forces can call an air strike within 40minutes its sad that if India fights on its own soil and cannot do same.

Moreover the CSD will need CAS aircrafts to give tank forces punch they need something like the Stukas did for the panzers.

Just MOD need to stop buying a truck worth 26lakhs at a cost of 1crore :)

Upgrade the Mi-25 we need them atleast for 1 more decade pending full scale induction of LCH and Apache.

As to turboprop TUCANO I say with an SU-25 that cost around $10million unit there should be no hesitation.

Once Rafale is commissioned, can our Jaguars be dedicated for CAS? Or would it reach EoL? Can it be upgraded to carry a punchier anti tank cannon? The DEFA cannon is too weak for Anti Tank.

Sam2012

Indian Army should soon take over Attack choppers & go for atleast2-3 squadron of Su-25MKI or TUCANO for CAS role , because neither any 4th or 5th generation fighter can provide CAS sorty as effectly as so called flying tanks Su-25, A-10A

Army to own future inductions of attack helicopters

The ownership of future inductions of attack helicopters will vest with the army, Defence Minister A.K. Antony said Wednesday and denied any differences between the army and the air force on the issue.

"There is no dispute between the army and the air force for control of fighter helicopters," Antony told the Rajya Sabha in a written reply.

"Keeping in view operational requirements, the government has decided that ownership of future inductions of attack helicopters will vest with the army," he said.

SOURCE: IANS