India China LAC & International Border Discussions

For Dhanush Chanters,OFB Bubus and Indegenious soul Cry Babies

Delays hits production of Dhanush guns Published July 2, 2020

View attachment 51834

Covid outbreak has hit the supply of Dhanush 155x45mm artillery guns, the Indian version of Bofors, to the army. The weapon systems are being made at the Gun Carriage Factory (GCF), Jabalpur, in MP. The first batch of six guns was issued from the GCF in April 2019. This year the factory was supposed to supply another six to eight guns. However, no dispatch could happen as the Covid lockdown hampered operations at the factory.

It is learnt four guns are ready for issue after trials, but could not be delivered to the army due to logistics hurdles. Another batch has been built, but the trials could not happen on account of lockdown. The total supply of the Dhanush guns would still be short of equipping one full artillery regiment this year. Sources said after building the entire gun, each piece has to be proven fit for use after trials. The ranges are in other states and access to the area was not possible due to the lockdown. The ranges are located in two different corners of the country, they said.

After the factory reopened in June, the production process remains slow as workers have to follow Covid prevention standard operating procedure (SOP), a source said.

This coupled with procedural hurdles is expected to delay completion of entire project by one year. After the project was initiated in 2010 , Ordnance Factory Board (OFB) got a bulk production clearance to make the guns in 2019. The army has placed an indent for 114 Dhanush guns. The order is supposed to be completed in four years but it may now take five, said sources.

It is expected the current year’s batch may be delivered in a couple of months with delivery of the guns that have already been proven to happen before that. GCF will have to scale up its production to 50 guns a year from 2021 to meet targets. At present, the factory is operating at its optimum capacity. Much of the new machines have been procured and the process continues.

Though based on Swedish Bofors, Dhanush is an advanced weapon system with higher range and accuracy. It took a series of trials for the army to finally place an order for 114. The guns have fired 5,000 rounds during trials to get the final clearance. This was a record on its own.

The ordnance factories are also upgunning the existing 130 mm guns with the army to 155mm. This will help increasing their range. Named Sharang, the factory is supposed to deliver 300 guns. This project is also expected to be delayed by a year, said sources.

You go to Ladakh and Fight the battle. We will follow you after five years.

Pardon my Ignorance about the process but are these guns equal to Jets that we can deliver only 6 in a year... what am i missing...

Sanglamorre

Hearing a spectacular rumor about government introducing an ordinance that makes illegal ore exports punishable by death. It will be enacted in the next Parl session.
Okay, I'm really ignorant about this issue so can you help me a bit?

What is the reason for this bill? Was it a huge problem before? Is it too stock rare earth?

To better meet the Chinese challenge head on and put the fear of God in the PLA we need one more Mountain Strike Corps to add to the one that we are raising. This Mountain Strike Corps should have the latest equipment like M777 howitzers, Kalyani ULH howitzers, Kalyani truck mounted 105 mm artillery guns (very useful in mountain terrain, can be rapidly moved around), Apache and LCH helicopters, Prahaar and Pralay battle field ballistic missiles, Smerch MBRL, Pinaka mk1, mk2 and 300mm, 120km range mk3 systems, Harop suicide drones and other combat drones, long range reconnaissance drones, battle field short range drones, latest shoulder fired Vshorads, Nag and Spike - Er anti tank guided missiles, latest night vision equipment for fighting at night, t90 tanks if possible and an imported light tank suitable for mountains, The ATAGS howitzers can be air lifted by C17 Globe master planes and deployed wherever possible. Excalibur ammunition to increase effectiveness and an indigenous equivalent if it can be developed. Standard infantry rifle the Sig716 plus Ak-203, Negev 7.62 Lmg plus DRDO-OFB belt fed 7.62 Lmg, good bullet proof jackets, Sniper rifles etc.
Backed up by the Air Force the two Mountain Strike Corps will make the PLA piss in their pants and run to their grandmother crying.
Once we pose a very credible threat to their interests they will begin seeking peace.
Wah Wah waht a wish list..
The govts scuttled raising of even a single MSC and you are dreaming of two - Not a bad idea.

Apaches - IAF says that any thing that has wings or rotors is theirs whether it flies or not.
ATAGS - for hellilift. No chance sir. M777 weighs only 4.2 tons whereas ATGS is over 15 tons - the heaviest amongst 155 mm caliber guns.

If MoD babus see your wish-list they will commit suicide as they will no longer remain relevant. Their relevance lies in scuttling everything that the forces wish.. Indian bureaucracy is trained and brought up like that . To deny every thing to the slaves and extract everything out of the subjects...

Pardon my Ignorance about the process but are these guns equal to Jets that we can deliver only 6 in a year... what am i missing...
Sir, you are missing the real nature of bureaucracy of MoD that includes the bureaucracy of OFB. DPSUs and DODOs. Their sole existence is meant to frustrate Indian Armed Forces ....
No production of Pinaka, No production of Dhanush, ATAGS is missing, orders for Atihos scuttled .... ab tum larai kar ke dhekh Lo... MoD babus have an orgasm on that.

Bap Ne Nahin Mari Medaki aur Beta Teerandaz .....:pound:

View attachment 51836

i have been ranting about this since day-1...

we lack good management, responsibility and accountability. not to mention the corruption too.. they are saying like the guns would have delivered before time if there was no covid. bullshit.
companies that falls under ministry of defense is causing delays and price escalations.. -- doesn't make sense
they are saying like the guns would have delivered before time if there was no covid. bullshit.
Based on your gut feeling right?
No wonder this forum is in decline.

sydsnyper

I am sure there is a business case. Remember tiktok made 200M from India last year.
yes absolutely there is a business case, but the question is about the seed money and the patience to wait for up to three years before seeing any returns.

What you are missing is the production process and capacity creation. Like HAL cannot deliver 30 examples in a year with 40 order, similarly here.

And why didn't Coast Guard accept early delivery from L&T shipyard for both 90T patrol boat and OPV?

What you are missing is the production process and capacity creation. Like HAL cannot deliver 30 examples in a year with 40 order, similarly here.

And why didn't Coast Guard accept early delivery from L&T shipyard for both 90T patrol boat and OPV?
If they can not control when War will loom large on birder why should they control when Army needs to be armed and modernized..
The ultimate idea is defense of the country. When bureaucracy can not control the production capacities and can not control a few OFB factories, they have no business to exist in MoD..

Pare Hat ..

Baap Ne Nahin dekhi Bandook aur beta banaye Dhanush Howitzer....

are you saying that they have accountability, responsibility and good management? and also they are as pure as white milk and not corrupt? :notsure:
What it has to do with shipping of 6 howitzers which has been ready and for which proofing has taken place with all pre delivery inspection done?
In what interest will they hold back? In not for transportation issues due to CovID.
Don't be clouded in your judgement and stop looking at things objectively.

Tridev123

Wah Wah waht a wish list..
The govts scuttled raising of even a single MSC and you are dreaming of two - Not a bad idea.

Apaches - IAF says that any thing that has wings or rotors is theirs whether it flies or not.
ATAGS - for hellilift. No chance sir. M777 weighs only 4.2 tons whereas ATGS is over 15 tons - the heaviest amongst 155 mm caliber guns.

If MoD babus see your wish-list they will commit suicide as they will no longer remain relevant. Their relevance lies in scuttling everything that the forces wish.. Indian bureaucracy is trained and brought up like that . To deny every thing to the slaves and extract everything out of the subjects...
We need to think big to achieve big. Who would not like to see the Chinese wetting their pants.

The Chinese economy has reached a plateau and they can never replicate 10% plus growth again. Their population is ageing. India has the youngest population profile. India will continue to grow at 8% or even plus 10% over the next 2 decades. Our growing GDP will generate enough resources to meet our military plans.

The additional Strike Corps will need 5 to 10 years to fructify. In this time period our indigenous weapons like the Pralay, Pinaka mk3, Astra mk2, successor to the Nirbhay Cruise missile etc. will mature and be ready. So it may turn out that most of the equipment for the second Strike Corps is produced in the country.

Only if we plan today can we better meet the challenges of tomorrow. Do we want a Galwan Valley Part2 10 years from now. Or a Pangsong Tso Part2. The Chinese can be trusted to take advantage of any weakness on our side.

I think both the Politicians and the Bureaucracy have been unpleasantly surprised by the latest Chinese misadventure. It was never expected by them. They would even be highly alarmed. So I do not expect any tough resistance as long as resources are available.

The T90 tank weighing a minimum of 50 tonnes was airlifted by the C17 to Ladakh. I am talking about a similar operation to airlift the ATAGS. Not by using helicopters. The Chinook cannot lift the ATAGS as is well known.

If they can not control when War will loom large on birder why should they control when Army needs to be armed and modernized..
The ultimate idea is defense of the country. When bureaucracy can not control the production capacities and can not control a few OFB factories, they have no business to exist in MoD..

Pare Hat ..

Baap Ne Nahin dekhi Bandook aur beta banaye Dhanush Howitzer....
Can't expect better from professional lier. When your lie get caught you post such low quality post.

No wonder forum has gone to dogs for dogs like Bhadadiot wet every thread.