2023 G20 Summit, New Delhi, India

I don’t buy the comparisons with Modi, Modi had a lot of international expertise and experience even as CM, he would visit all over the world to get business for his state

Listen to Jaishanker talking about Modi’s visit to China as a CM when Jairshanker was the ambassador there at the time, Modi was the most admin minded and statesman like leaders that Jaishanker ever came across at that level and Modi wanted extensive details.

I haven’t heard of any similar analysis of any other Indian politician. Himanta has a huge question mark over him other than his political instincts, is his governance mind really there? He doesn’t give me that impression at all.

Yogi seems to have a decent governance brain but I cannot seem him representing India on the global stage and I don’t think he has that kind of exposure to global affairs.

imho Modi is 1 in a century type leader, he’ll be considered the father of modern India 20/40/60 years from now. Whoever comes after him will be a downgrade, I just hope they keep the tradition of positioning technocrats in the cabinet (Jaishanker, Puri, Kant, Doval etc).

the central secretariat and expanded PMO/NSC are visions of Modi that he took from his CM days. There’s no other CM I’ve seen with this kind of admin mind

If I could have a choice I’d like to see Goyal as the next PM
India is not ready for technocrats. Piyush Goyal is a smart man and would make a great leader in the India of 2050s, when we are an absolute, unstoppable force of nature and AB becomes reality.

Only a generational change in mindset across the nation can make that happen and that, takes time.

Not today.

India still needs a powerful king-like ruler who can grab systems by the neck and make them do things.

PM Modi ji has a powerful persona that blends a technocrat with that of a hard-hitting ruler.

But to assume that India is ready for the likes of Piyush Goyal is being naïve. It is not. Mumbai, Bengaluru, Gurugram, etc. are not India; they are just a fraction of what the real India is. Much of it needs to be brought into the 21st century mentally.

That requires a firm "do it or else..." kind of a leader. Yogi is the only one other than Himanta who matches that description. There is Annamalai too in terms of attitude, but he is yet to become a CM before proving his mindset.

I would rather have Yogi succeed PM Modi ji in 2026 or 2027 and accompanied by a whole bunch of Dr Jaishankars across all ministerial portfolio with him.

Yogi has a simple getup but has shown the caliber of getting things done and has shown it in one of the most hostile, primitive and hopeless states of the country. Gujarat has a very business-like temperament where getting things done is much easier.

To bring a sense of preference for infrastructure, jobs, innovation and investments in UP, which was effectively the Somalia of India until Yogi's rise to power, should tell you the amount of effort put in by Team Yogi.

Let's not be dismissive.

With the right advisors and with Dr. Jaishankar type of fellow ministers, he will do great. BJP has long abandoned the old concept of seniority since 2014 elections, and that is a good thing.

We are seeing the nation praise PM Modi ji as a visionary leader today; but 10 years ago, these same people were complaining about him rising to power. I am not talking about Liberandu but common Indians - many of them. You do not remember that time but I vividly remember it. This was not in some remote corner of my home state Sikkim, but across big cities. Today, these same people are singing his praises.

You are completely neglecting a very big reason why we need a forceful and ideologically strong ruler today. We are now in the big leagues of geopolitics - among the top 5.

Sharks like China and the US are swimming around us while piranhas like Turkey, Azerbaijan and the UK are also around, waiting for their pound of flesh. Russia may not harm us but it is no angel. We cannot afford a soft-looking leadership in any manner of speaking for another 30 years.

It has to be a firm hand, guided by dedicated and motivated technocrats.

Guess who matches that description.

India is not ready for technocrats. Piyush Goyal is a smart man and would make a great leader in the India of 2050s, when we are an absolute, unstoppable force of nature and AB becomes reality.

Only a generational change in mindset across the nation can make that happen and that, takes time.

Not today.

India still needs a powerful king-like ruler who can grab systems by the neck and make them do things.

PM Modi ji has a powerful persona that blends a technocrat with that of a hard-hitting ruler.

But to assume that India is ready for the likes of Piyush Goyal is being naïve. It is not. Mumbai, Bengaluru, Gurugram, etc. are not India; they are just a fraction of what the real India is. Much of it needs to be brought into the 21st century mentally.

That requires a firm "do it or else..." kind of a leader. Yogi is the only one other than Himanta who matches that description. There is Annamalai too in terms of attitude, but he is yet to become a CM before proving his mindset.

I would rather have Yogi succeed PM Modi ji in 2026 or 2027 and accompanied by a whole bunch of Dr Jaishankars across all ministerial portfolio with him.

Yogi has a simple getup but has shown the caliber of getting things done and has shown it in one of the most hostile, primitive and hopeless states of the country. Gujarat has a very business-like temperament where getting things done is much easier.

To bring a sense of preference for infrastructure, jobs, innovation and investments in UP, which was effectively the Somalia of India until Yogi's rise to power, should tell you the amount of effort put in by Team Yogi.

Let's not be dismissive.

With the right advisors and with Dr. Jaishankar type of fellow ministers, he will do great. BJP has long abandoned the old concept of seniority since 2014 elections, and that is a good thing.

We are seeing the nation praise PM Modi ji as a visionary leader today; but 10 years ago, these same people were complaining about him rising to power. I am not talking about Liberandu but common Indians - many of them. You do not remember that time but I vividly remember it. This was not in some remote corner of my home state Sikkim, but across big cities. Today, these same people are singing his praises.

You are completely neglecting a very big reason why we need a forceful and ideologically strong ruler today. We are now in the big leagues of geopolitics - among the top 5.

Sharks like China and the US are swimming around us while piranhas like Turkey, Azerbaijan and the UK are also around, waiting for their pound of flesh. Russia may not harm us but it is no angel. We cannot afford a soft-looking leadership in any manner of speaking for another 30 years.

Fair points, and i agree that india is far from cemented on its path out of backwardness and needs at least another 10-15 years under strong and firm leadership (so at least a generation grows up with a progress mindset in a country that gets things done) but I don’t think either Yogi or Himanta have the expertise or respect on the global stage to play with the big dogs. I also think Goyal has got some teeth and backbone to him as well as the technical background.

If more and more multilateral organisations will be anchored by India PMs need to be sleek and worthy of representing india to the world, going back to regional inward looking petty leaders is not the way

whatever happens the jackets (INDIA) need to be kept out, they are circling

Shuturmurg

Fair points, and i agree that india is far from cemented on its path out of backwardness and needs at least another 10-15 years under strong and firm leadership (so at least a generation grows up with a progress mindset in a country that gets things done) but I don’t think either Yogi or Himanta have the expertise or respect on the global stage to play with the big dogs. I also think Goyal has got some teeth and backbone to him as well as the technical background.

If more and more multilateral organisations will be anchored by India PMs need to be sleek and worthy of representing india to the world, going back to regional inward looking petty leaders is not the way

Problem is Goyal is not a mass leader. He wont win you elections.

Goyal, like we discussed, is a technocrat who is liked by people but he doesn't have the powerful aura that attracts people.

He is smart, mature and very pragmatic, but a king has a different energy around him. You feel that energy around PM Modiji (I was there when he visited Sikkim). I can tell you that Himanta is 70% Amit Shah master tactician and 30% Modi vibes.

But Yogi exudes that aura that PM Modiji has and that is why he is loved across India. People see him as the future successor and the BJP will have to relent to that public demand. Team Yogi in the future can have 10 champions like Dr Jaishankar and it would fulfil all the needs that you have highlighted for every single ministry, not just EAM.

But the nation's throne should always be adorned by a powerful, grounded, realistic ruler. We have more than enough historical proof that every time our rulers were wuss, the nation was weakened. Read about Mauryan succession; it would tell you.

Speaking of the G20, Modi ji had a whirlwind of bilateral meetings to consolidate our position.

Netherlands

Nigeria

Brazil (psst... told you all that Modi ji Lula ko side pe le jaakar C-390 ka partnership plan bataenge:lol: )

European Union (With the disoriented baldie and the Nazi aristocrat; Mr. Gardner missing)

South Korea

Javelin_Sam

I don’t buy the comparisons with Modi, Modi had a lot of international expertise and experience even as CM, he would visit all over the world to get business for his state

Listen to Jaishanker talking about Modi’s visit to China as a CM when Jairshanker was the ambassador there at the time, Modi was the most admin minded and statesman like leaders that Jaishanker ever came across at that level and Modi wanted extensive details.

I haven’t heard of any similar analysis of any other Indian politician. Himanta has a huge question mark over him other than his political instincts, is his governance mind really there? He doesn’t give me that impression at all.

Yogi seems to have a decent governance brain but I cannot seem him representing India on the global stage and I don’t think he has that kind of exposure to global affairs.

imho Modi is 1 in a century type leader, he’ll be considered the father of modern India 20/40/60 years from now. Whoever comes after him will be a downgrade, I just hope they keep the tradition of positioning technocrats in the cabinet (Jaishanker, Puri, Kant, Doval etc).

the central secretariat and expanded PMO/NSC are visions of Modi that he took from his CM days. There’s no other CM I’ve seen with this kind of admin mind

If I could have a choice I’d like to see Goyal as the next PM
Hahaha Goyal!! The Railway ministry babus ran circles around him when he was in charge of railways. Modi booted him out and brought Ashwini Vaishnaw. Goyal has good hold on taxation and corporate affairs. Nothing more. He is not a hard taskmaster. Forget a mass appeal leader

Indrajit

Had this snag in the transportation of Turdreau happen in the skies 48 hours ago instead of on the ground , Indo Canadian relations would be in a better place .
My guess is that this thing transcends Trudeau though he might be the most amateurish about it. I think its liberal party politics pandering to the Sikh constituency. Don't think we will see too much change whoever replaces him, only some nuance.

i won't be surprised if we find out in some memoir later, this whole drama was about trudeau trying to spend time with his son after recent divorce.
True, if you are a man in Canada and the wife divorces you,
the man loses the children, most of his property, his income, one kidney, 1 eye, part of liver and a testicle.

Not today.

Let's not be dismissive.

Technocrats don't necessarily make good leaders. Specialists almost never make good leaders. Leadership requires high level of "emotional intelligence" and having good judgement about people is more important than some sort of professional excellence.

My guess is that this thing transcends Trudeau though he might be the most amateurish about it. I think its liberal party politics pandering to the Sikh constituency. Don't think we will see too much change whoever replaces him, only some nuance.
This is Canada's geopolitics. Political leaning does not matter.