Destroying Pakistan's economy

rohitkunda25

Guys,we all are aware of the hostility of Pakistan towards India and a nuclear conflict is out of question.
So in this thread we will discuss the possible ways of destroying Pakistan's economy,which will ensure that Pakistan gets crippled and is forced to disintregate.

Guys,we all are aware of the hostility of Pakistan towards India and a nuclear conflict is out of question.
So in this thread we will discuss the possible ways of destroying Pakistan's economy,which will ensure that Pakistan gets crippled and is forced to disintregate.
Nope. No need to disintegrate it.
We need to put them , in what is known in mechanics as a Unstable Equilibrium

First, destroying Pakistan's economy is far beyond India's capability: you don't have that deep economical relationship with Pakistan, so your own economic lobbying couldn't hurt Pakistan much; on the other hand, none of Pakistan's significant neighbours would follow your policy, so there is no way you can isolate her.

Second, putting a 100m population country into chaos is the last thing India government would want: the millions of refugees alone flooding towards India border can become a financial nightmare, not to mention the question who is going to control that 100 nuclear warheads.

A weak Pakistan is serving India's interest best.

First, destroying Pakistan's economy is far beyond India's capability: you don't have that deep economical relationship with Pakistan, so your own economic lobbying couldn't hurt Pakistan much; on the other hand, none of Pakistan's significant neighbours would follow your policy, so there is no way you can isolate her.

Second, putting a 100m population country into chaos is the last thing India government would want: the millions of refugees alone flooding towards India border can become a financial nightmare, not to mention the question who is going to control that 100 nuclear warheads.
Thats silly. India's economy is 10 times that of Pakis. India just needs to increase the defence spending by 2% of its economy and Pakis would have to do 6-8% increase wrt its GDP to even maintain a parity of ratio in military spending. that alone would push Pakis to the edge and force a collapse

A weak Pakistan is serving India's interest best.
That is exactly in China's interest and not India's . A free leash dog and all for China is the last thing India would want. Balkanisation of Pakistan is what is best for Indian interest and from what I see, it is very much possible.

26/11

Pakistan's agriculture is dependant on indian waters. Withdrawing from indus water treaty might be the way?
We are sending 3 MAF of water every year to Pakis from Eastern rivers because we cannot build Shahpur Kandi and Ujh Barragaes.
And we are still entitled to increase our area under irrigation by another 6 lakh acres. First let's utilise this.

After that we need terrorism linked indus water policy. With every terrorist attack we take away certain water rights of Pakis. This will teach them a lesson.

Pakistan's agriculture is dependant on indian waters. Withdrawing from indus water treaty might be the way?
I say do it already.

Pakistan owes India a lot of money (don't know the exact amount) that India gave Pakistan when India was partitioned. It is about time we ask them to pay it back with interest within one year, failing which, we would withdraw from the Indus Treaty.

Once we withdraw from the Indus Treaty, Pakistan will get closer to becoming Indus Valley Civilization version 2.

through students
Thats silly. India's economy is 10 times that of Pakis. India just needs to increase the defence spending by 2% of its economy and Pakis would have to do 6-8% increase wrt its GDP to even maintain a parity of ratio in military spending. that alone would push Pakis to the edge and force a collapse

That is exactly in China's interest and not India's . A free leash dog and all for China is the last thing India would want. Balkanisation of Pakistan is what is best for Indian interest and from what I see, it is very much possible.

He is correct, we can use our economic lobby to keep Pakistan in unstable equilibrium. Secondly, unlike USA, we do not have economic penetration inside Pakistan.

What is economic penetration?
You have your companies in a country, you threat them that we will leave, leaving millions Jobless. This will hurt our banks , but in long run it's a gain. You also need to have enough revenue to compensate the loss.

Note: With radical elements inside Pakistan , which is a nuclear power , it is a risky to create such unrest that their nuclear warheads go missing. The situation is not like Soviet Union, where the military pull out happened.

China is already baking Pakistan's NSG membership. This will boost their nuclear capability and power generation capability, for industrial growth.

through students

He is correct, we can use our economic lobby to keep Pakistan in unstable equilibrium. Secondly, unlike USA, we do not have economic penetration inside Pakistan.
Pakistan is not a rational state where economic lobby can work. Stop living in a made up world. They are alive as an antithesis to India. Peace with India is the last thing they want

What is economic penetration?
You have your companies in a country, you threat them that we will leave, leaving millions Jobless. This will hurt our banks , but in long run it's a gain. You also need to have enough revenue to compensate the loss.

Note: With radical elements inside Pakistan , which is a nuclear power , it is a risky to create such unrest that their nuclear warheads go missing. The situation is not like Soviet Union, where the military pull out happened.
What penetration did US have on USSR to force the collapse? Balkanised Pakistan is the only safe pakistan for India. Anyone thinking otherwise is living in a delusion, given the fact that Pakis have attacked India everytime they thought they had even a remote chance of winning.

China is already baking Pakistan's NSG membership. This will boost their nuclear capability and power generation capability, for industrial growth.

And who is going to back it along with them? NoKo? China can do exactly nothing

This should tell why economic lobbies with Pakis wont work. They know we have their life line. Now has it stopped them from provoking wars? Pakistan is not like Bangladesh or India or Nepal to behave like a normal state.

Pakistan is not a rational state where economic lobby can work. Stop living in a made up world. They are alive as an antithesis to India. Peace with India is the last thing they want
What I spoke was on the basis of economic strategy and not Military strategy.

What penetration did US have on USSR to force the collapse? Balkanised Pakistan is the only safe pakistan for India. Anyone thinking otherwise is living in a delusion, given the fact that Pakis have attacked India everytime they thought they had even a remote chance of winning.
Again, you make a country economically weak and you can play your evil cards. USSR had a very strong Military but from economic point of view, no back bone. M. Gorbachev's disastrous economic policy led to the fall of Soviet Union.

The current Economy of Pakistan is not in a bad situation. They are just 20 Crores and with current GDP it is sufficient for them if not very good.

1) You have to have a lobby of economic hitmen in favor of India, to stop arms supply, and investments into Pakistan

2) Support some one who turns out to be Gorbachev of Pakistan.

And who is going to back it along with them? NoKo? China can do exactly nothing
The point is not NoKo , KSA backing Pakistan.

The point is, china has given message that they will VETO against India. That also by favoring Pakistan! Who has deliberately worked against NPT if not according to NPT.

What I spoke was on the basis of economic strategy and not Military strategy.

Again, you make a country economically weak and you can play your evil cards. USSR had a very strong Military but from economic point of view, no back bone. M. Gorbachev's disastrous economic policy led to the fall of Soviet Union.

The current Economy of Pakistan is not in a bad situation. They are just 20 Crores and with current GDP it is sufficient for them if not very good.

1) You have to have a lobby of economic hitmen in favor of India, to stop army supply, and investments into Pakistan

2) Support some one who turns out to be Gorbachev of Pakistan.

Again, Pakistan IS already in a civil war-esque climate. Any escalation with India is bound to bring their economy down further. If you think their economy is good and stable, you must be out of your mind. We shouldnot encourage men who would stop the arms race with India- but the opposite. We should force them into an arms race with us, (we already are ,albiet with a very slow pace) so that they waste all their money in army and not in the infrastructure or country development. Sooner or later, it will disintegrate under its own mess, as seen in USSR.

The point is not NoKo , KSA backing Pakistan.

The point is, china has given message that they will VETO against India. That also by favoring Pakistan! Who has deliberately worked against NPT if not according to NPT.
So what? It does nothing in actual sense.

Again, Pakistan IS already in a civil war-esque climate. Any escalation with India is bound to bring their economy down further. If you think their economy is good and stable, you must be out of your mind. We shouldnot encourage men who would stop the arms race with India- but the opposite. We should force them into an arms race with us, (we already are ,albiet with a very slow pace) so that they waste all their money in army and not in the infrastructure or country development. Sooner or later, it will disintegrate under its own mess, as seen in USSR.

So what? It does nothing in actual sense.
Arms race is for them, for us it is development and technology projection.

That country has high sympathy for Military, any take over will normalize every civil war. Unless until it turns out to be Arab spring type of operation.

Currently, IK is every one's favorite and military is also supporting him. He is the rising star. If the military goes against IK, or IK against Military , then there are chances of civil war, like B'desh.

Because even Punjab region has also supported IK. And Pakistan is basically Punjab dominant country.

Arms race is for them, for us it is development and technology projection.

That country has high sympathy for Military, any take over will normalize every civil war. Unless until it turns out to be Arab spring type of operation.

Currently, IK is every one's favorite and military is also supporting him. He is the rising star. If the military goes against IK, or IK against Military , then there are chances of civil war, like B'desh.

Because even Punjab region has also supported IK. And Pakistan is basically Punjab dominant country.
No, you dont understand pakistan fully. Even their Army is not fully united. They wield power yes, but or no means homogenous. They have failed to create a pan national identity and many Pakis refer themselves as Pashtuns, Mojahirs, Sindhis and so on rather than Pakis. This is the perfect recipe for disaster- poverty caused by arms race with India, no identity to hold them together - boom no more pakistan.

And Even a modest increasse in our defence budget is enough to force them on a arms race. We dont have to compromise development with military, but they dont have that luxury

No, you dont understand pakistan fully. Even their Army is not fully united. They wield power yes, but or no means homogenous. They have failed to create a pan national identity and many Pakis refer themselves as Pashtuns, Mojahirs, Sindhis and so on rather than Pakis. This is the perfect recipe for disaster- poverty caused by arms race with India, no identity to hold them together - boom no more pakistan.

And Even a modest increasse in our defence budget is enough to force them on a arms race. We dont have to compromise development with military, but they dont have that luxury

That is correct, they have sectarian violence, and provincial differences. But Military is holding them together. Because there is respect for Military.

I have personally spoken Pakistanis , from KPK, Sindh, Punjab, POK and they have only one thing to say, only the military institution is correct.

Pakistan cannot go into balkanization, till the civilians population becomes anti Pak military, like in Baluchistan.

I say do it already.

Pakistan owes India a lot of money (don't know the exact amount) that India gave Pakistan when India was partitioned. It is about time we ask them to pay it back with interest within one year, failing which, we would withdraw from the Indus Treaty.

Once we withdraw from the Indus Treaty, Pakistan will get closer to becoming Indus Valley Civilization version 2.
That amount is 60 crores, I don't even think with compound interest it will amount to much.

This should tell why economic lobbies with Pakis wont work. They know we have their life line. Now has it stopped them from provoking wars? Pakistan is not like Bangladesh or India or Nepal to behave like a normal state.
So why share our water will this abnormality?

There can also possibly be lawsuits in international arbitration courts for damages from terrorism?

2 non war solutions I have give to wreck pakistan's economy in a way where china cannot do anything.

As long as pak military institution is in place Pakistan will not break. As far as I know it is the only fully functional institution in the country. Pak army has its own parallel economy to sustain itself in worst case scenario.

As far as paki economy is concerned, if the politicians continue in their current path their economy will not last long. There seems to be trend of reduced social spending year on year there, which is not good for any economy.

And most importantly unless Pakistan comes out of feudal landlord system, it is unlikely to survive in current state beyond 20 years without breaking apart.

Having said all that, with a population of 20 crores Pakistan has the potential to recover quickly if they choose to.

The enlightened

We don't need to withdraw. We only need to upend our usage. Nothing in IWT stops us from using say 50% of the water.