Why are Indian Cities so poorly planned ?

power_monger

Chandigarh, Bhubaneswar, Gandhinagar, are all planned cities. There are many more extensions of cities that are planned. Many city districts built by the British are also planned.

India is a very old civilization, so some cities will remain the way they are.

If we want planned cities, we have build new ones. Expecting the existing ones to turn into planned cities is being too optimistic.
This is when I had huge hopes on BJP's smart city plan. I though tthey are going for 100 new cities,but looks like it is not going to happen. As i see nothing can happen for existing Indian cities in next 100 years.

Attention to detail and neat cities is not what we have in our DNA. I have left the hope of seeing Indian cities competing with global cities on beauty.It will never happen.

Peter

Pratik Maitra
Attention to detail and neat cities is not what we have in our DNA. I have left the hope of seeing Indian cities competing with global cities on beauty.It will never happen.
Bhai,

DNA is not related to anything.

European cities look great because most of them were rebuilt after WW II. You have probably heard of Marshall Plan etc. The US carried out civilian bombings on Germany and Nazi Europe and then it was their contractors who rebuilt European cities after the war. The same holds true for Soviet controlled Europe. In reality the European cities were just as shabby as Indian ones and had poor sanitation plans. The Black Death was caused by this reason.

Iam from Chandigarh let me tel u the history . Chandigarh was made for 5 lakh population (now 20 lakh) . In 60 ties and 70 ties no body wants to settle in chd despite it was clean and planned . Govt was giving soft loan to people to buy houses. Things changed after 84 riots when sikhs turned to Chandigarh from delhi and U.P to settle down. Then NRI invest hugely in chd and due to demand mohali and panchkula become satellite town.

In mid 90 ties it started crowded. Then being capital of both punjab and haryana all IAS, IPS and MLAs started investing in chd. Buying adjoining land turning them into farm houses and other development. its there it lost its planing.

After 2000 paindu farmers in punjab sold their land and settle down in chd and mohali

due to opportunities bhaiya from UP, bihar and orrisa also came and set up slums
Pajji, is it true that other pajjis who have left for foreign countries give their houses to bahiyyas for care taking??

Develop cities in UP and Bihar and we'll see the overcrowding problem in Indian Tier1 cities partially solved, which should give these cities breathing space for development.

Also the next problem is implementation. I've been hearing about Dharavi redevelopment plan for years and its still not taken off.

MMRCA is a great example of how incompetent we are. Years of planning, taking sweet time for allocation of funds, by the time funding starts, the costs have already escalated to the point of making it unfeasible.

Indians do things first and then think later.

Thats the problem.

Delhi is gross now.The residential places are turned into commercial and with that traffic increases many folds.Huge influx from all over India and 7 million vehicles registered in Delhi alone and the outside vehicles separate.

Now every Tom Dick and Harry wanna come to Delhi and stay here.

Example of Delhi is how unorganized Indian Planning is.

HarshM321

BTW what he is saying is very much the truth. There was a ST guy in my medical college who never remembered more than 10 drugs , he got radiodiagnosis at a rank of 23 thousand which a general category student fails to get at a rank less than 300 . bye bye to the health of people who gets treated by him.
Meritrocracy Is a JOKE

I dont know weather you will read my post or not, but who does listen me You say reservation must be removed and we should have meritrocracy Heres why we cant:

Lets say you are a general child preparing for IIT and theres ST child who too is preparing for IIT

General student:
1)Studies in His own room
2)Has good mentors and teachers
3)No one disturbs him while studying
4)Has proper textbooks
5)No electricity Cut Takes place
6)Goes in to A1 school

ST student:
1)They have only one room in which all his family cooks,sleeps and work where he study.
2)He goes In Government schools which are pretty bad in Maharashtra.
3)Theres too much noise in that single room
4)Can't get access to new or good textbook
5)Every hour there is a electricity cut or theres no light at his home.
6)No proper guidence

Now lets say both study For 16 Hours Of course General student will have more marks because of less disturbance,proper guidence,Proper Amenities.

Now lets say both scored same marks:General Student studies for 6 hours a day to achive same marks ST student must study for like 10 hours a day..

Why this happens,-Because of wealth. Wealth is the only reason behind all of this.

If every Indian distribute his wealth among all and have same schools,same teachers,same guidence,same amenities then thats proper meritrocracy.

Hope you get your answer And well we can have a debate Please reply Me i am getting Bore.

Meritrocracy Is a JOKE

I dont know weather you will read my post or not, but who does listen me You say reservation must be removed and we should have meritrocracy Heres why we cant:

Lets say you are a general child preparing for IIT and theres ST child who too is preparing for IIT

General student:
4)Has proper textbooks
6)Goes in to A1 school

ST student:
1)They have only one room in which all his family cooks,sleeps and work where he study.
6)No proper guidence

Now lets say both study For 16 Hours Of course General student will have more marks because of less disturbance,proper guidence,Proper Amenities.

Now lets say both scored same marks:General Student studies for 6 hours a day to achive same marks ST student must study for like 10 hours a day..

Why this happens,-Because of wealth. Wealth is the only reason behind all of this.

If every Indian distribute his wealth among all and have same schools,same teachers,same guidence,same amenities then thats proper meritrocracy.

Hope you get your answer And well we can have a debate Please reply Me i am getting Bore.
Yes in a perfect world everybody gets access to the same resources and we can have proper meritocracy and everybody goes home happy la la la land utopia bliss.

Too bad we live in a world that does not work like that. There are winners and losers fairly or not. If you want to move to the winner column from the loser column, then you have to figure out a way or get lucky or do very hard work, whatever. It sucks but that's life.

HarshM321

Sorry For asking but i am new to this forum how do i get that senior member tag?

General student:
4)Has proper textbooks
6)Goes in to A1 school

ST student:
6)No proper guidence
This ain't 1960s any more.
Those SC/ST who get IITs aren't living in mud huts like you believe them in your fantasy.
Most who get IITs have proper disposition already like parents having gov job, white collar job or buisness.
Kek movies kam dekha karo bro. You are fantasizing misery porn.

SC/ST cut off are low but not that low where any tom dick and Harry can get it, specially under the living condition you mentioned.

Also 90% kids who Crack IITe go to coaching.

It's a rigged game like how people who qualify Gate are 75% Made Easy students rest From other institutes and only 10% self study ones.
Have you not heard in 2021 100% who qualified ESE were from Made Easy.

Meritrocracy Is a JOKE

General student:
4)Has proper textbooks
6)Goes in to A1 school

ST student:
6)No proper guidence

Aur bete have you completed your class 9 and 10 civics or political science syllabus .
@Waanar. Bhai, @Suryavanshi. Sir ,@NutCracker. Sir , he has read thoroughly his class 10 political science books , the kid is indeed meritorious.

HarshM321

This ain't 1960s any more.
Those SC/ST who get IITs aren't living in mud huts like you believe them in your fantasy.
Most who get IITs have proper disposition already like parents having gov job, white collar job or buisness.
Kek movies kam dekha karo bro. You are fantasizing misery porn.

SC/ST cut off are low but not that low where any tom dick and Harry can get it, specially under the living condition you mentioned.

Also 90% kids who Crack IITe go to coaching.

It's a rigged game like how people who qualify Gate are 75% Made Easy students rest From other institutes and only 10% self study ones.
Have you not heard in 2021 100% who qualified ESE were from Made Easy.
Hello brother
Greetings

Here is some Knowledge You can have from these Good written articles to your mind

1)https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.ne...hment-higher-among-dalit-adivasi-children?amp

2)https://www.google.com/amp/s/thepri...or-not-just-financially-un-report/262270/?amp

Sir you are living in a bubble Where you see some percent people from lower caste in high profile,
But reality is Majority are under poverty line.

And Remember just 100 Years bacj what cruelty you've shown to us and this aint stopped yet we hear such incudents like the dalit boy beaten up in rajasthan, Dalit man was forced lick feet of some people?

If you want to stop reservation and bring meritrocracy the only option is distribute wealth equally among all people

Thanks

Hello brother
Greetings

Here is some Knowledge You can have from these Good written articles to your mind

1)https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.newsclick.in/nfhs-report-indicates-malnourishment-higher-among-dalit-adivasi-children?amp

2)https://www.google.com/amp/s/theprint.in/india/every-second-st-every-third-dalit-muslim-in-india-poor-not-just-financially-un-report/262270/?amp

Sir you are living in a bubble Where you see some percent people from lower caste in high profile,

And Remember just 100 Years bacj what cruelty you've shown to us and this aint stopped yet we hear such incudents like the dalit boy beaten up in rajasthan, Dalit man was forced lick feet of some people?

If you want to stop reservation and bring meritrocracy the only option is distribute wealth equally among all people

Thanks
son , listen to me
You can distribute wealth all you wish to do equally or not .
Thats not my concern, iam already quite old and in last days of my life .
I say, let the government first devise a effective method of computation of all wealth ?
By the In which class do you study

HarshM321

Aur bete have you completed your class 9 and 10 civics or political science syllabus .
@Waanar. Bhai, @Suryavanshi. Sir ,@NutCracker. Sir , he has read thoroughly his class 10 political science books , the kid is indeed meritorious.
Sir i was thinking someone will answer me in logical way,
But sorry I expected Logic from a 10yr old child who lives in urban area and sees like 1,000 people everyday and comming to a statement like if these 100 people out 1000 are living in standard way then everybody must.
I think thats not proper.

Hello brother
Greetings

1)https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.newsclick.in/nfhs-report-indicates-malnourishment-higher-among-dalit-adivasi-children?amp

2)https://www.google.com/amp/s/theprint.in/india/every-second-st-every-third-dalit-muslim-in-india-poor-not-just-financially-un-report/262270/?amp

Thanks
Among all Hindus, maybe. Definitely not among all people.

Sir i was thinking someone will answer me in logical way,
But sorry I expected Logic from a 10yr old child who lives in urban area and sees like 1,000 people everyday and comming to a statement like if these 100 people out 1000 are living in standard way then everybody must.
I think thats not proper.
Okay i will try son.
Listen, these social processes do take time, and I realise that reservations will not go away in near or extended future, during my life time , it didn't.
So in reality you can keep that trouble away from yourself about loosing reservations.
As for distribution of wealth is concerned , not happened in centuries will not happen for centuries.
Do you work or study ?
I have worked my entire life. I know the charm of money has on forward cast , backward caste , all equally .

NutCracker

Hello brother
Greetings

Thanks
Issue is , are these malnourished kids getting into IITs ? Answer is no,

FATholes who are offsprings of first /second gen Reservation enjoyer , they get the seats and they live quality life equal if not more than other general category students. And despite having all facilities they score shitty marks.

Hello brother
Greetings

Thanks
Since you're talking about the poor Dalits, I'm sure you will agree that reservation should be for the poverty stricken without any basis in caste, right?