Varunastra ship launched torpedo

aditya g

The Torpedo Recovery Vessel had sunk in the recovery operations. I suppose thats the reason why the Varunastra prototype was lost as well.

I love the names they give :happy:
Seems relevant and suitable as Varun (commonly refers to Varuna) is the god of the sky and rain, of waters and of the celestial ocean. And Astra is his weapon, So, Varunastra. :)

But what is the difference between this and a torpedo? What's all the hype about? Is it because of its AI?

More details are needed before we can call it a 'powerful underwater weapon' as the article says....or a force multiplier.

Prashant12

Varunastra torpedo, the indigenous state-of-the-art heavy weight ship launched anti-submarine electric torpedo designed and developed by Naval Science and Technological Laboratory (NSTL), a premier lab of DRDO. Capable of targeting quiet and stealthy submarines, both in deep and littoral waters in intense countermeasure environment.

Source:
https://www.facebook.com/DPIDRDO/

A layman's questions, can't we use Varunastra from our subs ??

pls enlighten me on how capable varunastra is!?

73 Torpedos are enough to take on whole chinese and pak subs!? I really don't think so and hope we get more varunastras

What more changes are needed to use these torpedos on our P8s

thanks in advance

Prashant12

Weapon of Water: India gets its first indigenous torpedo, Varunastra

Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar will formally hand over the torpedo to the Indian Navy today

New Delhi: Working as a major boost for India’s defence and a huge step towards ‘Make in India’, Varunastra, India’s first indigenous torpedo, has been launched.

Having almost 95% indigenous content, Varunastra is capable of targeting quiet and stealthy submarines, both in deep and littoral waters in intense countermeasure environment.

Developed by Naval Science and Technological Laboratory (NSTL), a premier lab of DRDO, Varunastra torpedo is an indigenous state-of-the-art heavy weight ship launched anti-submarine electric torpedo.

Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar will formally hand over the torpedo to the Indian Navy today.

73 such torpedoes have been ordered by the Indian Navy.

http://www.newsx.com/national/33794...-gets-its-first-indigenous-torpedo-varunastra

Prashant12

Indian Navy inducts indigenous heavyweight torpedo 'Varunastra'

Indigenously developed heavyweight torpedo Varunastra, which was showcased for the first time on the Republic Day Parade at Rajpath this year, was inducted in the Indian Navy on Wednesday.

The anti-submarine torpedo has been developed by Naval Science and Technological Laboratory of the DRDO for the Indian Navy.

Weighing around 1.25 tonnes, the torpedo carries about 250 kg of explosives at a speed of around 40 nautical miles an hour.

Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar, handing over the torpedo to the Indian Navy, asked the DRDO to do "hand-holding" for Bharat Dynamics Limited (BDL) which will be manufacturing the torpedo. India is among a group of elite nations which have the capability.

The Defence Minister pointed out that the heavyweight torpedo is being inducted in the navy a day before the first squadron of indigenous Light Combat Aircraft Tejas is to be inducted by the Indian Air Force.

The minister added that the government is looking forward to exporting the torpedo, and that he has already had a chat with navy chief Admiral Sunil Lanba on this.

"I will also tell them their job is not over... They should ensure the product is of best international standards because not just Navy (will use them), we can export them. I have got a verbal clearance from navy chief too... He said there is no technological problem," Parrikar said, adding that the official procedures will be followed and stressed on quality control.

Project Director for Varunastra Torpedo P. Trimurthulu termed it a huge success for the team which had been working on the project for the past decade.

"For last 10 years, we have been working 20 hours a day. This is a big success for us," Trimurthulu told IANS.

"Handing over a weapon to the nation is a great achievement," he said.

The project director added that the torpedo, which has already been test-fired from ships, will soon be fired from a submarine.

"We will soon be test-firing the torpedo from a submarine. Some minor modifications will be needed for that," he said.

Navy Chief Admiral Sunil Lanba stressed on the need to tighten the time frame for completing projects.

"We need to move towards more reasonable time-frames for completing projects," Admiral Lanba said.

He added that the Indian Navy and DRDO have identified 93 "high-end technology" projects to be jointly taken up.

http://www.business-standard.com/ar...weight-torpedo-varunastra-116062900643_1.html

tejas warrior

Varunastra's top speed is about 10 knots shy of that of Western imported torps in this class. Also max range is less at 40 knots.

Varunastra's range is about 30 kms plus at 40 knots.

Screenshot_20160629-214458.png
Screenshot_20160629-214041.png

tejas warrior

Of course, even Varunastra Mk-I is good enough to sink most diesel-electric submarines and certainly Pakistan's Agostas.

Screenshot_20160629-214224.png

Kyun bhai, neo zarvan ka nuke warhead on everything ka shauk lag gaya kya ?
:brahmos::daru:
this will be javaab to gwadar port and docked chinese subs and pak navy , as a tactical one. Not a bad idea you know ..

in that case, not possible i guess because of 40 km range..