Trump may ask India to send troops to Afghanistan

https://www.thequint.com/world/2017/07/17/trump-afghanistan-policy-india-red-rag-to-pakistan

Will Indian Troops be Deployed in Afghanistan?
New Delhi remains Kabul’s historic and steadfast ally. The Pentagon’s latest report on Afghanistan states that India is the most reliable friend of the Kabul regime. This has been confirmed by several media polls.

India’s impressive $3 billion development assistance and capacity building programmes include an elaborate military training and equipment component under the India-Afghanistan Strategic Partnership 2011 – Kabul’s first with any country.

Like Indian troops were considered for service in Iraq at US’ request in 2003, their deployment in Afghanistan has been periodically speculated, including a military field hospital and a training team.

A US commander in Afghanistan told me recently that Indian soldiers in Afghanistan would be like a red rag to the Pakistani bull, which fears encirclement by India. He added: “After all, Pakistan did help us to defeat USSR”.
Any deployment of Indian troops will be on specific request either from Kabul or Washington, and probably both.

Relief for Afghanistan is only possible if Pakistan relents on its support to the Taliban or is coerced by the US to cooperate in the peace process. This seems unlikely unless the Trump administration is willing and able to change Pakistan’s behaviour. Also unlikely. India is in it for the long haul without boots on the ground for the time being.

Indian boots on afghanistan is highly unlikely. with a 2.5 front war situation in India we won't send troops abroad except on a UN mission. Also remember Afghanistan is a landlocked country. So to maintain supply lines we need to persuade Iran to come on board with this idea.However we can send a few miliatry advisers and some special forces detachment to afghanistan to target the top leadership of taliban as well as do some mischeif in pakistan:biggrin2::biggrin2: .

Unlikely. Only way to supply is through Iran. Iran is now in bed with Taliban to stop ISIS in Afghanistan.

A small covert detachment of SOFs and pilots could find its way to the Afghanistan under the garb of training mission, but that is pretty much it.

There is no other option. Neither for us nor for any other wanna be suppa powwa
But an Indian Ocean dominated by India will be nightmare for everyone except India.
This will put middle east & India Ocean - 2 critical regions to the world, first time in modern history, under the control of a local power. It may not be up to any single outside power, but will be objected by the whole world.

SanjeevM

https://www.thequint.com/world/2017/07/17/trump-afghanistan-policy-india-red-rag-to-pakistan

New Delhi remains Kabul’s historic and steadfast ally. The Pentagon’s latest report on Afghanistan states that India is the most reliable friend of the Kabul regime. This has been confirmed by several media polls.

India’s impressive $3 billion development assistance and capacity building programmes include an elaborate military training and equipment component under the India-Afghanistan Strategic Partnership 2011 – Kabul’s first with any country.

Like Indian troops were considered for service in Iraq at US’ request in 2003, their deployment in Afghanistan has been periodically speculated, including a military field hospital and a training team.

A US commander in Afghanistan told me recently that Indian soldiers in Afghanistan would be like a red rag to the Pakistani bull, which fears encirclement by India. He added: “After all, Pakistan did help us to defeat USSR”.
Any deployment of Indian troops will be on specific request either from Kabul or Washington, and probably both.

Relief for Afghanistan is only possible if Pakistan relents on its support to the Taliban or is coerced by the US to cooperate in the peace process. This seems unlikely unless the Trump administration is willing and able to change Pakistan’s behaviour. Also unlikely. India is in it for the long haul without boots on the ground for the time being.
To me it seems like US wants to exist from Afghanistan and reduce its costs. It's like the story where in one can get rid of his burden only after transfer it to someone else.

Present scenario of Pakistan and Chinese border build-up doesn't permit Indian boots on Afghanistan expect for specific Pakistan centric missions in the hour of need.

Let Americans maintain their presence in Afghanistan until there is peace on Indochina boarder.

In the meanwhile more American troops suffer at the hands of Pakistanis supported Taliban, the more U.S. will resolve to destroy Pakistan like Syria/Iraq. Once U.S. starts big action against Pakistan, India will fully support U.S. efforts.

gekko

I said use this opportunity to hit porkies from Afghan border too. Not to fight US or Afghan's war. They will always live in fear whether IA will hit from POK or Afghanistan.
We can already hit them by using irregulars in Afghanistan.

Going into Afghanistan officially and sending our uniformed forces does not add any extra advantage over what we already have. If we want, we can pay a few crores to Afghan government and tell them to raise an extra battalion of Afghans for India's use.

Accepting to formally send our troops will be like giving a free check to everyone to blame all the wrongs of the the US troops on us. The US has a hobby of intervening in other nations, let them boil in their own juices. We can pursue our Pakistan agenda at a much lower military and diplomatic cost than sending our own troops.

But an Indian Ocean dominated by India will be nightmare for everyone except India.
This will put middle east & India Ocean - 2 critical regions to the world, first time in modern history, under the control of a local power. It may not be up to any single outside power, but will be objected by the whole world.
Last I checked India wasn't claiming an entire sea and creating islands in the middle of nowhere to exert dominance over it's tiny neighbours.

The only people who loses sleep over India in IOR are Chinis and their Dum Fuk (Iron brother). Funnier still is the Dum Fuk which has nothing to offer to the region makes the most noise.

Doesn't matter. By 2030 India will be producing long range cruise missiles in thousands. It already has bramhos with 800 km range by 2030 it will have super/ hypersonic cruise missiles with range more than 2000 kms. Now draw a circle of 2000 km radius from India penisula and see for yourself .

Simply by the virtue of India's Central position in Indian ocean and with thousands of missiles in the arsenal India will enjoy defacto dominance on most of the Indian ocean .

Then there are aircrafts and entire naval Armada. Which even today can't be challenged by anyone but USA in the Indian ocean but as the range of Indian missiles and firepower increases us will also have to maintain distance.

It is simply the game of geography plus natural size of India.

Other powers can only ensure to be co-operative with India .

we should do a counter deal to trump ....afterall he is supposed to have a business background ....AND ...if we are serious about getting at least some strategic parts of POK back , then this should be part of our counter deal to trump

support india materially, militarily to get strategic parts of pok back and we will accordingly help you in afghanistan ....otherwise , i say tell trump that were not cheapskate to fight his wars for him

we dont come cheap and were not his s.korea or japan ....and we know how to counter deal .....

so now we put the ball back in his court and of course, we structure the deal so that we get something valuable to us ....and then there goes cpec ...we block the route at source

if trump chickens out for fear of cpcprcchina , then we tested him there on the spot and make him look like a chicken in front of his own people and the whole world

that'l teach him to come to us with more of his brilliant ideas ! ...so you wanna deal with us huh ? we know how to counter deal ....but no harm we give him what he wanted as well ...our troops on the ground --- just that we are not giving it to him for free like he thinks he can order us around !!!!!

i think getting strategic part of pok back and kill that cpec is worth some of our men on the ground in afghanistan !!!!! unless we perpetually want to only claim pok and not put any action to our merely verbal claim

ref;-
This can be a turning point if true.?
For Indian airlines 100 new airlines, American natural gas .p... soon party gonna start I guess.
In that case, my argument would be that sending troops to Afghanistan is a bad idea.opinion gets prevalent in public , we will find only resistance. all goodwill will be lost.
I agree. We have a lot of goodwill with Afghanistan. It's a land where nothing is sure. You have one government, you establish Afghanistan army to India and train them with our units so that they carry back Indian values.
2. Continue to send trainers to train the forces. On good trainer can change the thought process of all the trainers.
3. Offer only what we are mass producing ourselves. We can't import and give it to Afghanistan and bear the im
Good points made by folks in this discussion thread on sending troops to Afghanista
I was surprised however, to see little speak on the importance of Iran in any such scenario. ?
looking at the map , the khyber pakhtoon province is directly linked upto j&k.....
just need to join kp to afgsnistan , greater afganistan , as they call it......we wouldn't need chabahar .....
This is mainly the problem with Pase...
Yes. It will be slow process to restore peace there.
Recent and latest situation shows China attacking on Indian 2 bunkers and destroyed them in Sikkim, also we are seeing daily skirmishes along the LOC. I think, the situation on LAC for India would be equal to currene to India.
Your monologue has nothing to do with the topic in Hand.them and they take clue and come back with another excuse.
You talk about (sugarcoat) Optimized military prowess, I say defending spent force who can only think about sneaking into India's and do terrorist attacks.
Some good points and Indian Army is raised as a real secular and non-regional party having allegiance ONLY to national flag and civilian govt.
They know Cricket and recently they have been granted a Test playing status in addition to Ireland.
I disagree with this completely. I think India is too poor to be able to afford to support missions that the US want to undertake. We need to pressure the US to intervening in Pakistan in order to further our cause, rather than allowing the US to ignore us.
What the Media Won't Tell You About Afghanistan
Seems like some leftist half assed joke to me

Willy2

if we are serious about getting at least some strategic parts of POK back , then this should be part of our counter deal to trump
it will never help , Murica only support a nation as long as it's not deterrent itself , any strategic help in POK , will eliminate one of indias biggest concern and in return we might start thinking dominating IOR .

we should do a counter deal to trump ....afterall he is supposed to have a business background ....AND ...if we are serious about getting at least some strategic parts of POK back , then this should be part of our counter deal to trump
I said it way before Trump become president.

Here he himself has charted the plan for us. But the kind of inherited Dhoti Shiverer Indians are just one little set back will be blown out of proportions first by presstitutes who are on ISI payroll then poor lazy bait eater Indians who feed on what is catered to them.

Just keep watching this space when Indians including Modi will come out to help gasping Pakistan with many breathers, dejecting Americans and not latch on these opportunity. Then Pakistanis coming out clean of it will be seen laughing at us.

Ironically same Indians will be seen later on cribbing how we missed it, like we missed helping Israel when they were ready to bomb Paki Nuclear reactors.

What happened in Sri Lanka was nothing but bad planning by a neck deep corrupt and compromised establishment who leaked its plans to CIA. Rajiv Gandhi ..huh!....

But that expedition out of the country; how failed it may have been; was able to serve its purpose of keeping the Americans out of Sri Lanka. Our strategic purpose was achieved, may be at the cost of many lives and poor PR.

We build armies, not to give them good paying job and affordable housing but serve out strategic interests.

I am sorry to say, the lack of depth in Indian watchers is mind boggling.

Hemu Vikram Aditya

India should Covertly pay carores to the Afghan government to raise a Afghan battalion for India and use it to infiltrate Pak with the help of Northern Alliance,India dosen't need boots in the ground.Sajjan Jindal is already having presence in Afghanistan and even he does not require security forces from India.IMO we should only send our soldier for our companies/People's security not to fight for Amerika aginst Talibunnys!!!!!

Here he himself has charted the plan for us.
I disagree, with due respect. Trump and his advisors have charted out a plan that they think is workable and it has been charted out with "their" interests in mind, not India, not anyone else's. Someone has finally decided that they need to squeeze the Napaki balls and this half-baked approach is the way to go.

Already Tillerson is talking of Indo-Pak rapprochement and the need for talks. Basically the American deep state wants India to start shovelling some of their shit for them.

If they are truly serious about this, then we should have seen attempts at rapprochement with Iran to use Chabahar and steps to pry Balochistan off the grimy, stubby, blood sucking Napaki hands. But there's no evidence to suggest that this will ever happen.

This is Dubya approach all over again- get India to put expendable troops in Afghanistan, while the Yanks get their arses out of there and leave us holding the baby, but not before they have pissed off every damn body out there and painted a big ass bulleye on our backs.

raja696

Lets check the reality, usa and afgans doesnt want pakis state sponser talibanies.

Usa cant punish pakis to mend its ways. Because it will strain supply chain and vunerable direct terror attack on its troops. Could cost local humanintel deaths

Neither pakis care if usa insists them to stop support to talibunny.

Interesting point to be noted. Any involvement of Indians or possibility of so. Would soon result ,napakis start licking yanks. What does it mean? It means Icebreak of status quo between usa vs paki. What I mean is involvement of Indians just for name sake , will result to improve conditions in afganistan and possibility of addressing afgan concerns improve because napakis target bar was raised. There only new goal or condition will be Indians should be out of afganistan instead of regular bombings.Else it gives leverage to Indians in afganistan. That gives good coin to afgans to bargain with napaki to agree afgan terms.

If not, as usual Indians can exercise covert ops from afgans with the help usa intel. 2 birds shot with one bullet (china en napakis).

In new approach usa is end of all options on table to deal with pakis. So its trying to add new dimensions like India , only yanks have understanding to. So that part of India vs usa understanding is up to both countries self interests. This is where we look like being used as dagger. To counter balance that narative we should have deep understanding with afgans irrespective of Americans dos en donts list for us.