Something economists thought was impossible is happening in Europe

Discussion in 'Economy & Infrastructure' started by Peter, Mar 3, 2015.

1. Peter

Peter Senior Member Senior Member

Something economists thought was impossible is happening in Europe

Something economists thought was impossible is happening in Europe - Vox

@atheisthindu @Razor @Mad Indian @Sakal Gharelu Ustad @Bangalorean sir

Last edited by a moderator: May 10, 2015
    Razor likes this.
  3. Peter

Peter Senior Member Senior Member

I have no knowledge in economics so this may sound dumb.
    However the above article says that countries like Germany are not spending money and thus not acquiring debt. However this also means that Germany and some European countries cannot issue positive interest bonds.

Does that mean that countries with a high debt are actually keeping that debt so as to provide positive interest bonds?(eg Japan,US)

Is national debt a good or bad thing to keep?
    Can someone explain this thing to me.

Last edited: Mar 3, 2015
  4. Sakal Gharelu Ustad

Sakal Gharelu Ustad Detests Jholawalas Moderator

Simple answer.

EU is weird because nations have same currency which makes their monetary policy same but they are still independent countries with different agendas.

So if you want to know how things work, look at simple countries or one country to get an idea. I will post an article if I think it explains things well. Sorry, I am a bit busy and can't give detailed explanations.

Mad Indian likes this.
  5. Mad Indian

Mad Indian Proud Bigot Veteran Member Senior Member

@Peter Check this video out :)

6. pmaitra

pmaitra Moderator Moderator

I beg to disagree.

The reason is not that EU is weird. The reason is concepts such as Fractional Reserve Banking is weird. Why weird? Simple. The whole concept is, to put it simply, based on an exponential function, which blows out of proportion.