Plan to build fighter jets hits a hurdle

square

Strategic Issues
A recent letter by a U.S. business body to the Defence Ministry expressing its reluctance to transfer proprietary technologies could complicate India’s efforts to build a fighter jet locally with technology transfer from abroad. Both the competing aircraft have significant U.S. components.

This is a test for the ambitious new Strategic Partnership (SP) model for promoting domestic defence manufacturing under which multi-billion dollar deals are about to be initiated.

The letter was written early last month by the US-India Business Council (USIBC) to then Defence Minister Arun Jaitley in which the companies raised the issue of having control over proprietary technologies.

Without real technology transfer, the whole idea of SP will fall apart. We will once again be doing assembling as has been happening for the last four decades,” one industry official said.

In the next couple of months, the Air Force is expected to initiate the process to select a single engine fighter jet under the SP model which will be built in India with significant technology transfer. The deal for over a 100 jets is estimated to cost over ₹60,000 crore by present projection, but the final order could end up at around 200 jets.

Twin contenders

The contenders in the race are Lockheed Martin with its F-16 and Sweden’s SAAB with its Gripen. While the F-16 is a U.S. military platform, the Gripen is powered by engines built by General Electric of the US. In addition, the same engines have been selected to power the indigenously developed Tejas Light Combat Aircraft, 123 of which have been already ordered by the IAF.

While SAAB has assured full transfer of technology, it would still require U.S. government clearance for transferring specific components.

square

Strategic Issues
transfer proprietary technologies means , even one partner depart , the other partner can still build the product paying royalty...

am i correct ?

this is what we see after split of hero - honda.....and with mehendra-renult....

Butter Chicken

If Americans cared so much about technology they would have never invested in China.This is just another excuse.If they don't want to transfer tech for jets built in 1970s,there is no point of "Strategic Partnership" with USA

square

Strategic Issues
If Americans cared so much about technology they would have never invested in China.This is just another excuse.If they don't want to transfer tech for jets built in 1970s,there is no point of "Strategic Partnership" with USA
thats leave only few options under MII...

Its the stick and carrot at play by the USA.
USA cannot be trusted.

VIP

Ultra Nationalist
USA never gonna do any ToT, we are not even NATO ally. It just wants to do business and milk our funds for their 70s tech.

I remember being mocked a few times last month when I said Trump will never clear the ToT for SE. I hope those people are starting to wake up.

Krusty

I don't understand how people expect full TOT. Cutting edge/bleeding edge tech will never be shared for any reason. Give me one good reason why cutting edge tech would be transferred through TOT. No country would willingly do that.
They have spend decades of reasearch pouring billions of $ and millions of manhours by foremost Scientists and Engineers to develop that tech what they are doing to day. And you just expect them to give it to us? The price is for the guns only. Maybe some auxiliary components but definitely not the main tech like the titanium barrels and so on
IMG_4537.JPG

I am extremely pleased with set backs, delays & confusion(between MOD & IAF) in procurement of SE fighters:pound:

Hopefully, HAL will manage to turn things around for Tejas before babus actually manage to get through the entire procedure. :daru:

abbey yaar..
when transfer tech then there is a problem
when there is no transfer of tech then again there is a prob...

Highly fed up!!!

square

Strategic Issues
difference is between transfer of technologies & transfer of proprietary technologies....

both LM & SAAB seem reluctent presently....but then.....money has its own voice....

transfer proprietary technologies means , even one partner depart , the other partner can still build the product paying royalty...

am i correct ?

this is what we see after split of hero - honda.....and with mehendra-renult....
ToT stands for sharing of IPR (Intellectual Property Right) between two countries, about technical knowhow legally.
Pretty expensive thing!

square

Strategic Issues
ToT stands for sharing of IPR (Intellectual Property Right) between two countries, about technical knowhow legally.
Pretty expensive thing!
there is a difference.....

transfer of technologies means the original menufecturer gives the second partner the way to produce the item....but he keep all rights with him.....like , order negotitation , number of item produce , modification ...
so, the money second partner put into settingup the local menufecturing is lost once the initial orders executed because the second partner has no such right ....
example....t90 , su30mki...
on a extimation indian companies/hal going to lost around 50,000cr (8b$) , which they putup in the local menufecturing of Mki.....

transfer of proprietary technologies.....is a level-up , where the money putup by the second partner is not lost.......both work jointly , earn money (first partner earn based on the components he being plus the royality on the components whoes tech he had given to second partner) .....and at a stage when they fell to get apart....the second partner keep producing the item ....
example....Hero-Honda , Kawasaki- bajaj , Mahendra-Renault....

SanjeevM

In this regard, China is better in blatant Intellectual property rights infringement. They have used U.S. technology from mobiles to military hardware and made their own versions. US couldn't do anything. On the other hand, India has track record of honoring IPRs. US consider India as a soft state and thinks they can extract all the milk and arm twisting India to buy hardware from them and pay huge sums of money and then fight their wars. I have one word for such mentality. F**k o**!!!

square

Strategic Issues
In this regard, China is better in blatant Intellectual property rights infringement. They have used U.S. technology from mobiles to military hardware and made their own versions. US couldn't do anything. On the other hand, India has track record of honoring IPRs. US consider India as a soft state and thinks they can extract all the milk and arm twisting India to buy hardware from them and pay huge sums of money and then fight their wars. I have one word for such mentality. F**k o**!!!
chinese did it more smartly....
....in most of the cases its well wriitten in documentation at the start of the project.....

transfer of technologies means the original menufecturer gives the second partner the way to produce the item....but he keep all rights with him.....like , order negotitation , number of item produce , modification ...
That's called license production made.
It doesn't include sharing of any intellectual property completely.
In simple words, it's screwdriver ToT with a right to make an adaptive design for it.

You call MKI deal as TOT while most components are yet bought from Russia and only assembled here.