Loss of Italy Gain for Russia

shom

As Reported in Hindustan Times (February 17, 2013)
Russia may be the winner if the existing deal with Augusta Westland is cancelled. Sources said that to replace ageing MI8 MI17V5 would be inducted. Due to phasing out of MI8 next year there would be no formal global tender as it may delay the process. Every military purchases are to be made by global tender but in this case it would not be necessary as it would be a following order as said by the sources.

shom

why not buy S-92 through FMS :killme:

It is not possible becoz the MI8 are scheduled to be phased out in 2014 and a fresh global auction wud take more than a year to materialize ,,,, there is no other option than to go for a following order to Russia. Though this is a proposal,,,

EC725 is superior to the S-92 in all regards, especially with a service ceiling nearly 2000m higher.

Sorry, I had posted that in the wrong thread. It's here now: http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/...pter-touts-mexico-india-moves.html#post681552. Both the threads are kind of similar, if we were to suggest alternatives.

Also, Mil-17 is not quite a VVIP helicopter. The Sikorsky S-92 is quite large, and can be used for medical as well as VVIP transport. What are you going to do with service ceiling for a VVIP helicopter? It matters for military applications and of course, medical applications. For VVIP, you want to focus on comfort and space.

For military applications, no one can beat Mil-17 family.

Sorry, I had posted that in the wrong thread. It's here now: http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/...pter-touts-mexico-india-moves.html#post681552. Both the threads are kind of similar, if we were to suggest alternatives.

Also, Mil-17 is not quite a VVIP helicopter. The Sikorsky S-92 is quite large, and can be used for medical as well as VVIP transport.

For military applications, no one can beat Mil-17 family.
The EC725 beats both their asses all day. What are you talking about larger? The S-92 cabin is only 20ft long... EC225 is 26ft. Japan just bought some EC225 for the Emperor and the Tokyo Fire Department bought them for medical.

Nothing beats the Super Cougar family...

The EC725 beats both their asses all day. What are you talking about larger? The S-92 cabin is only 20ft long... EC225 is 26ft. Japan just bought some EC225 for the Emperor and the Tokyo Fire Department bought them for medical.

Nothing beats the Super Cougar family...
Perhaps you are right. Looking at the pictures, Sikorsky S-92 seemed larger. Perhaps that is optical illusion.

In any event, for military applications, nothing beats the Mil-17 family. For VVIP or Medical applications, S-92 or EC225 should do well.

ganesh177

Why not Desi copter for leaders ?

If this is the example the leaders are going to set for the desi manufactureres, then future does not really look so good for desi manufaturers.

@pmaitra How does Mi-17 beat the Caracal in military applications? It is inferior in every regard.

Mil-17 is more rugged. You cannot go to war with dainty damsels. What is Caracal? The EC225? Has it seen so many wars over so many generations and geographies and modifications like the Mil-17? If I were to be rescued from a city under a seize, and I had to choose between the two, I'd pick the Mil-17. EC225 is an unproven platform.

Sam2012

Mi-17 V5 is more than enough for our babus no need for high end machines ;) . Punishment for scam

shom

Why not Desi copter for leaders ?

If this is the example the leaders are going to set for the desi manufactureres, then future does not really look so good for desi manufaturers.
Now what is desi copters :rofl::pound::rofl: sounds like a porn clip ,,, hahahahahahahahaha desi copter hahahahahahaahaa:frusty::laugh:

shom

Mi-17 V5 is more than enough for our babus no need for high end machines ;) . Punishment for scam
They should be offered a black coloured hand glider per person,,,, with a portable Ipod and a small deck which wud sing ,,,, ur jaaaa Kaale Kawa ,, tere muh wich khan pawaaaaaaaaa,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, hahahahahahahahaha,,, bloody crapy ghoos khorssssssssss,,,,,,, jab dekho paisa paisaa paisaaaa,,, :frusty:

shom

But why do we need to spend Millions of Dollars to ferry 12 VVIPS when the same money can be used for providing better hardware to our soldiers on field.

This bribery case should be used as an excuse to cancel this deal immediately.
Agreed but our present copters are out dated and wud be phased out on 2014 as I said earlier ,,, I have a better option http://www.lightsportaircraft.ca/eaa_airventure2005/images/mosquito-helicopter_static.jpg
http://www.ultralightnews.ca/airventure04/images/mosquito-helicopter.4.jpg
:taunt1::taunt::confused::rofl:

Give our netas the ALH developed by HAL. No problem for spares and servicing.

HAL can do with all the orders for their helicopters. When we have a robust machine built by our own company then why do they need to look for an imported purchase.

Indegenisation is preffered for our troops but not for our netas. Bull shit

shom

Perhaps you are right. Looking at the pictures, Sikorsky S-92 seemed larger. Perhaps that is optical illusion.

In any event, for military applications, nothing beats the Mil-17 family. For VVIP or Medical applications, S-92 or EC225 should do well.
MI 17 is cheaper than EC225 as I see in websites ,,,