Kayani advised US to negotiate exit with Taliban: Book

Pakistan`s Army Chief General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani told American officials during a visit to Washington in 2010 that they would be "better off" negotiating an exit from Afghanistan with the Taliban, instead of trying to build up Afghan forces to 400,000 by 2014, according to a former senior State Department official.

The the official, Vali Nasr, says in his upcoming book, 'The Dispensable Nation: American Foreign Policy in Retreat' that the general was sure the Afghan army would eventually collapse. Foreign Policy magazine has published a large extract of the book, which will be published next month.

Recalling Gen. Kayani's firm response at one small meeting around a narrow table, he writes, "I cannot forget Kayani's reaction when we enthusiastically explained our plan to build up Afghan forces to 400,000 by 2014. His answer was swift and unequivocal: Don't do it. 'You will fail,' he said. 'Then you will leave and that half-trained army will break into militias that will be a problem for Pakistan.' We tried to stand our ground, but he would have none of it. He continued, 'I don't believe that the Congress is going to pay $9 billion a year for this 400,000-man force.' He was sure it would eventually collapse and the army's broken pieces would resort to crime and terrorism to earn their keep.

"Kayani's counsel was that if you want to leave, just leave -- we didn't believe you were going to stay anyway -- but don't do any more damage on your way out. This seemed to be a ubiquitous sentiment across the region. No one bought our argument for sending more troops into Afghanistan, and no one was buying our arguments for leaving. It seemed everyone was getting used to a direction-less America."

Nasr, who is of Iranian origin, who was adviser to late Richard Holbrooke, special representative for Afghanistan and Pakistan.

The author said that during a visit to the White House in October 2010, General Kayani gave President Barack Obama a 13-page white paper he had written to explain his views on the outstanding strategic issues between Pakistan and the United States.

He writes, "Kayani 3.0, as the paper was dubbed (it was the third one Pakistanis had given the White House on the subject), could be summarized as: You are not going to win the war, and you are not going to transform Afghanistan. This place has devoured empires before you; it will defy you as well. Stop your grandiose plans, and let's get practical, sit down, and discuss how you will leave and what an end state we can both live with is.

"Kayani expressed the same doubt time and again in meetings. We would try to convince him that we were committed to the region and had a solution for Afghanistan's problems: America would first beat the Taliban and then build a security force to hold the place together after it left. He, like many others, thought the idea of an Afghan military was foolish and that the United States was better off negotiating an exit with the Taliban."

In conclusion, Nasr challenged the White House's claim that its management of the Afghan war is a vital accomplishment.

He writes, "How painful then to remember that, for Obama, Afghanistan had started out as the 'good war.' A war of necessity that America had to wage to defeat al Qaeda and ensure that Afghanistan never harboured terrorists again. Obama's stance was widely understood at home and abroad to mean that America would do all it could in Afghanistan -- commit more money and send more troops -- to finish off the Taliban and build a strong democratic state capable of standing up to terrorism.

"Four years later, Obama is no longer making the case for the 'good war.' Instead, he is fast washing his hands of it. It is a popular position at home, where many Americans, including many who voted for Obama, want nothing more to do with war. They are disillusioned by the ongoing instability in Iraq and Afghanistan and tired of more than 10 years of fighting. They do not believe war was the right solution to terrorism, and they have stopped putting stock in the scaremongering that the Bush administration used to fuel its foreign policy. There is a growing sense that America has no interests in Afghanistan vital enough to justify a major ground presence.

"It was to court public opinion that Obama first embraced the war in Afghanistan. And when public opinion changed, he was quick to declare victory and call the troops back home. His actions from start to finish were guided by politics, and they played well at home. Abroad, however, the stories the United States tells to justify its on-again, off-again approach do not ring true to friend or foe. They know the truth: America is leaving Afghanistan to its own fate. America is leaving even as the demons of regional chaos that first beckoned it there are once again rising to threaten its security.

America has not won this war on the battlefield, nor has the country ended it at the negotiating table. America is just washing its hands of this war. We may hope that the Afghan army the United States is building will hold out longer than the one that the Soviet Union built, but even that may not come to pass. Very likely, the Taliban will win Afghanistan again, and this long, costly war will have been for naught."

Kayani advised US to negotiate exit with Taliban: Book | The Nation

actually what he is saying is that i can negotiate with Taliban for the US exit from Afgan. (given that Talibs are making of PA)

4 lacs Afgan army will be another headack for Pakistan as they will start the trouble in Afghanistan when US left with Talibs and this army of 4 lacs will be used against talibs and Pakistan.

Kayani Uncle is far smarter then what you think, they have won world wars and cold war.

Afghanistan has suffered alot due to USA invasion

Kiyani is right..USA should have left afghanistan within 3 years of the afghan invasion by USA.

atleast they would have not lost trillions of dollars.

Now afghanistan is in even more worst condition.Worst defeat by USA ever after vietnam war.

Afghanistan has suffered alot due to USA invasion

Kiyani is right..USA should have left afghanistan within 3 years of the afghan invasion by USA.

atleast they would have not lost trillions of dollars.

Now afghanistan is in even more worst condition.Worst defeat by USA ever after vietnam war.
I think Afghanistan has suffered more by Pak interference than USA or Russia

INDIAN VIEW

let the west leave Afghanistna..pirr dekhte hai india ko afghanistan main :p

you should invest as much as you want.because the afghanistan one day is again to fall under Pashtuns of Pakistan

INDIAN VIEW

let the west leave Afghanistna..pirr dekhte hai india ko afghanistan main :p

you should invest as much as you want.because the afghanistan one day is again to fall under Pashtuns of Pakistan
Indeed Afghanistan blossom in the 1990s under the guidance of Pakistan,if not for kaffirs Pakistan would have turned Afghanistan into a Dubai.

As to India well we are not blessed as the Bakis

Indeed Afghanistan blossom in the 1990s under the guidance of Pakistan,if not for kaffirs Pakistan would have turned Afghanistan into a Dubai.

As to India well we are not blessed as the Bakis
Much better

You are Blessed directly by bhagwan by giving you such an large number of poor population.for which you guys get 4billions of aid annually or ranked 7th at world level for recieving foreign aid

unlike we poor Pakistani getting 1billion aid that too for military purpose.and the one for Poverty purpose is less than 100millions :(

i wish we were blessed by 988millions poor population like india :(

let Afganis decided what they want, Napaks have no right to decided what is good for them.

we are the purpose of there existance

if we stop there supply they will be forced to eat the uzbeks, after being tired of eating sand and rocks

we are the purpose of there existance

if we stop there supply they will be forced to eat the uzbeks, after being tired of eating sand and rocks
i dont think they teach Geography in madarsa, or else you would't have said aforesaid

they may be land lock but that does not mean they cant get supplies from other countries

Let Afgans decided what they want.

Much better

You are Blessed directly by bhagwan by giving you such an large number of poor population.for which you guys get 4billions of aid annually or ranked 7th at world level for recieving foreign aid

unlike we poor Pakistani getting 1billion aid that too for military purpose.and the one for Poverty purpose is less than 100millions :(

Oh your calculations conveniently exclude the largest minority group

Yes we receive aid and until proven otherwise the funds are used for humanity development not for some delusional caliphate wet dream :p

What will you do with 988 millions with the 100smthing you are already doing wonders

datguy79

Joke is on him, we are already have 352k forces till 2018 at least.

Much better

you seems to ignore my previous post or got short term memory , Pakistan alone get 1.4 billion AID from UK forget ammerika,saudis and IMF and arab world.

REST of your statement is true,that all AID money goes to ur GAZI army,

Much better

DD warning:p:p:p

i dont think they teach Geography in madarsa, or else you would't have said aforesaid

they may be land lock but that does not mean they cant get supplies from other countries

Let Afgans decided what they want.
you better wait till 2014 when USA leave.than See our drama

you know what Karzai aka the present president of Afghanistan said?

Pakistan our twin brother, India a friend: Karzai - Hindustan Times

India a great friend, Pakistan twin brother: Karzai | Newspaper | DAWN.COM

He know very well the aftermath onwards 2014....We had controlled everything in Afghanistan and we will control once again the west leave

Though by 2020 the pashtunistan region might be called greater KPK being a state of Pakistan or with different name and integrated into Pakistan

you better wait till 2014 when USA leave.than See our drama

you know what Karzai aka the present president of Afghanistan said?

Pakistan our twin brother, India a friend: Karzai - Hindustan Times

India a great friend, Pakistan twin brother: Karzai | Newspaper | DAWN.COM

He know very well the aftermath onwards 2014....We had controlled everything in Afghanistan and we will control once again the west leave

Though by 2020 the pashtunistan region might be called greater KPK being a state of Pakistan or with different name and integrated into Pakistan
Hamid Karazai is CIA/RAW agent.In politics there is difference between to say and to act..

NATO forces might have left Afghanistan but now you have involved china in gwadar,i doubt they leave fully

Hamid Karazai is CIA/RAW agent.In politics there is difference between to say and to act..

NATO forces might have left Afghanistan but now you have involved china in gwadar,i doubt they leave fully
why do you involve RAW into everything?RAW is not known anywhere in the world apart from India and some people like me in Pakistan

you have answered your Q your self,Raw is not known to ignorant people

kayani and his opinions dont count an ounce in usa planning - they're just humoring him out of diplomatic protocol necessity

usa cannot and will not quit the region - for one thing israel will not allow it - amongst many other reasons

and to turn their backs on the northern ( Tajik-Majority ) alliance ? by giving power to pashtuns ?

hey your pak inspired fairy tales are more fantastic than even the hindhu fables ive come across