Indian soldiers beheaded by Pak's Border Area Team (05/08/2011)

himanshugoswami

Boss, my family members have been serving IA since WW2 (if that is a prerequisite according to you for making a point or speaking facts), and I know the rot in the armed forces due to political and bureaucratic interference. For this corrupt GOI it's more important - showing the world how secular and liberal they are while dealing with pakistan, than decapitated soldiers....They will suppress the news so that more bimbos like Khar can be invited to India on the heaps of dead Indians!

Such incidents have happened in the past, even Iliyas Kashmiri decapitated Indian soldiers and delivered their severed heads to Musharaf on a silver platter, for which Kashmiri was awarded with huge sum of dole........Now just imagine what PA is capable of due to our 'Elite' and eunuch GOI....I read your comment that the CO would have ordered a retaliation.....are you from lala land, don't you know where you live (i.e. India) who are ruling us - our corrupt politicians and Babus !
First up, personal attacks are not warranted......we can discuss, debate and have differing views, but lets not get personal, shall we....TIA.

As regards rot in the Armed forces, I am well aware of it and share your contempt for the present bunch of noncompoops who run GOI.....however, that does not take away from my earlier comment- since you have such a strong armed forces background, please check with your family, about the incident I mentioned (that is one I am aware of, am sure there must be more)....if any of your family members were posted in northern command, they would know.....peace!

SHASH2K2

My dear friend, I know what I am talking about here....... Dunno if you are a services man or have relatives/friends in the service, but just ask them about certain incidents that took place in the Dras and Kargil sectors.....you will know hwat I am talking about.
If you are talking about our side of border I am ready to accept your points but under normal circumstances BSF or armed forces will not cross border to carry out revenge. They can butcher dogs if they stray in our territory but not by going into their side of border.

First up, personal attacks are not warranted......we can discuss, debate and have differing views, but lets not get personal, shall we....TIA.

As regards rot in the Armed forces, I am well aware of it and share your contempt for the present bunch of noncompoops who run GOI.....however, that does not take away from my earlier comment- since you have such a strong armed forces background, please check with your family, about the incident I mentioned (that is one I am aware of, am sure there must be more)....if any of your family members were posted in northern command, they would know.....peace!
Firstly, there was no intent of a personal attack, if you took my comments in that fashion, I care less!

There have been cases when PA/Jihadis have decapitated sleeping soldiers in the past and nothing got reported (we got to know all this from pakistanis and their authors)!! Yes, I am debating/discussing, did I slap you on your face or what?

Yes I have people in the services and I know what I am talking about.....Kindly, elaborate your incident I will cross check.....If its an incident of firing on some pakistani picket then nothing new!

debasree

no where any newspaper published it,my doubt that its a hoax

This news is probably false, there is no authentic source to this.

Sridhar

House keeper
I don't know if the visit of Army chief was related to this incident but he were there on 1st Aug after noon . And Lt Gen Syed Ata Hasnain, GOC 15 Corps was with him.

Army chief reviews security scenario in Valley

Excelsior Correspondent

Srinagar, Aug 1: Chief of Army Staff, General VK Singh, arrived here today for two days visit to Kashmir to take security review of the ground situation in the State.

After his arrival in Srinagar, he met Chief Minister Omar Abdullah at his residence in Srinagar.

General Singh accompanied by Chinar Corps Commander Lt General Syed Atta Hasnain discussed the security situation of the State with the Chief Minister.

They also discussed the ground situation of the State in view of recent incidents that happened in the Kashmir valley.

Sources said Army chief assured his full cooperation to the State Government in maintaining peace in the State.

The recent incidents of the infiltration were also discussed in the meeting.

A statement issued by the Army said here today that the Army chief will be given a detailed briefing on the security situation in the Valley by the Chinar Corps Commander.

The Army chief will also be interacting with Army troops on the Line of Control (LoC) where Pakistan occupied Kashmir (PoK) based militants are making desperate attempts to enter Kashmir.

It may be mentioned here that Army foiled two infiltration bids last week in Kupwara sector of Kashmir in which an Army officer and three jawans were killed.

The Army chief is also scheduled to visit the holy shrine of Shri Amarnathji for darshan.

The Army chief is accompanied by his wife Bharti Singh, who is also President of Central Family Welfare Organisation. She will meet the patients at the 92 Base Hospital Badami Bagh cantonment and interact with the families of the soldiers there.
Daily Excelsior....News Page

Army chief arrives on 2-day visit to Valley - Kashmir Dispatch

if this is true, a very sad happening, absolutely outrageous, and RIP.

but there is something amiss, ToI and TimesNow never leave a moment where they get a news like this and then they sleep over it, not a chance they will ever do that. the most sensationalist media house in the country not even touching this news doesnt add up. high chances are this never happened.

i really dont believe these blogs, a lot of shit happens there.

if this is true, a very sad happening, absolutely outrageous, and RIP.

but there is something amiss, ToI and TimesNow never leave a moment where they get a news like this and then they sleep over it, not a chance they will ever do that. the most sensationalist media house in the country not even touching this news doesnt add up. high chances are this never happened.

i really dont believe these blogs, a lot of shit happens there.
Sir ji, the most sensationalist media houses in the country sat on 2g Scam forover an year; further, they sat on the 'sensational' tapes for more than 2 months, even when they had spiraled all over the net.....No one mind you not even a single media house came forward. It was only when Bharat Ratan - Burkha Dutt started getting bashed on twitter and blogshere (openly) and when one obscure 'Open Magazine' reproduced the transcript, that every media house went for free for all.....Now as usual, the issue of corruption and pimphood in media and their relation/connections with lobbyists/corporates/politicians is in the cold storage!

Media works in tandem with the powerful elite and any such news which weakens the so called peace initiative (aka buying more time for loot) will not go well with our the bought out media houses!

Sridhar

House keeper
Below is from E-paper edition of Daily Excelsior. Don't know why the online edition particularly doesn't work for Aug 1st.

Army death toll rises to 3
Excelsior Correspondent
SRINAGAR, July 31: With the death of another Army jawan in
92-Base Hospital at Badami Bagh cantonment, Srinagar, the death
toll of the Army personnel in Saturday evening's infiltration bid in
Furqiyangali in Kupwara sector has gone upto three.
Meanwhile, Army said here today that operation against the
infiltrating militants is still going on.
Last night, Army said they foiled a major infiltration bid on the
Line of Control (LoC) in Furqiyangali when they noticed the
movement of heavily armed militants crossing the LoC.
Troops of 19 Rajput Rifles of the Army immediately challenged
the militants resulting in a fierce gun battle in which two Army
jawans were killed and three others injured.
Two Army jawans died on the spot while three others were
injured, the Army sources said, adding one of the injured jawans
succumbed to injuries at 92 Base Hospital at Badamibagh cantonment in Srinagar.

DAILY EXCELSIOR :: E-Paper

Some questions by members:

1st the compound security in forward bases are very poor, Most have limited barbwire with bottles hanging, Sandbags pillbox no concrete, plywood and cardboard quarters mostly, few have towers, A determent tango can easily breach such defense, And Regulars face some time PA SF ( tangos )..

The Madam in the blog mention abt sitrep specifically with confidence, She cannot write **** like that, As far as abt her profile she is clean..

Revenge is not our way but i want to do this..

Sir ji, the most sensationalist media houses in the country sat on 2g Scam forover an year; further, they sat on the 'sensational' tapes for more than 2 months, even when they had spiraled all over the net.....No one mind you not even a single media house came forward. It was only when Bharat Ratan - Burkha Dutt started getting bashed on twitter and blogshere (openly) and when one obscure 'Open Magazine' reproduced the transcript, that every media house went for free for all.....Now as usual, the issue of corruption and pimphood in media and their relation/connections with lobbyists/corporates/politicians is in the cold storage!

Media works in tandem with the powerful elite and any such news which weakens the so called peace initiative (aka buying more time for loot) will not go well with our the bought out media houses!
2g Scam: the moment CAG was on it, TN was on it.

Radia Tapes: Median unity, you dont scratch my back, i wont scratch your back.
the corporate houses started taking out their ads and threatened the same on people covering them.

there is no reason what so ever for the sensationalist ToI/TN not to cover this news which will increase their TRPs big time and will help them churn money, give me one reason and please no CT. you seriously think arnab goswami will sit on this?

hitesh

The beheading phenomenon

The murder of the Pundir brothers comes close on the heels of a
series of beheadings of hostages by militants in Saudi Arabia, Iraq
and Afghanistan. Militants with links to al-Qaeda beheaded a Korean
hostage in Iraq last week, two days after an American hostage in
Saudi Arabia was decapitated. A month ago, Nick Berg, another
American working in Iraq, was kidnapped and then beheaded. In 2002,
Daniel Pearl, a Wall Street Journal reporter in Pakistan, was taken
hostage and then killed by having his throat cut.

In the Middle East, where terror tactics have included suicide
bombings, hijackings and shootings, hostages are usually shot dead.
Decapitation of hostages is a recent phenomenon.

But J&K, the Philippines, Chechnya and Algeria have witnessed scores
of beheadings by militants. The first beheading of a hostage by
militants in J&K came to light in 1995. Six Western tourists trekking
in the Himalayas were kidnapped by a terrorist group, al-Faran (which
later changed its name to Harkat-ul Mujahideen). While one hostage
escaped, another, Hans Christian Ostro, a Norwegian, was
beheaded. "Al-Faran" was carved with a knife on Ostro's torso.

While Ostro's beheading by militants evoked outrage world-wide and
captured international attention, the beheading of hundreds of
ordinary Kashmiris and Indian soldiers by the militants has gone
almost unnoticed.

The adoption of medieval practices such as beheading and chopping off
people's noses and ears since the mid-1990s in Jammu and Kashmir has
been attributed to the increasing Talibanization of the militancy. In
the early 1990s, the militancy in Kashmir was dominated by Kashmiris,
but by 1994-95 the foreign element in the militant groups increased.
Gradually the face of the militancy changed with Pakistanis, Afghan
and Chechen jihadis carrying out the more gruesome attacks.

Indian army sources in Rajouri and Poonch - the two districts in the
Jammu region of the state that have perhaps been the worst-hit by
terrorism in recent years - say that the number of brutal killings is
far higher in Jammu than in the Kashmir Valley. Scores of victims
here have been beheaded. The noses or ears of suspected informers
have been chopped off. Bodies of victims have been found sliced to
bits.

During the India-Pakistan conflict at Kargil in the summer of 1999,
the severely mutilated bodies of six Indian soldiers caused outrage
all over the country. The victims had been severely tortured before
being killed. The eyes of some victims had been gouged out.

The extreme brutality of militant attacks in Jammu has been
attributed to the fact that foreign militants and jihadis dominate
the militant groups active here. In the Valley, many local boys
joined the militant groups, although their numbers have fallen in
recent years. In Jammu, but for the Gujjars (who graze sheep in the
upper reaches of the mountains and are familiar with the mountain
tracks) who have worked with the militants as porters and guides,
locals have largely stayed away from taking up arms.

A fate worse than death
The use of particularly brutal tactics creates far more terror than
the fear created by guns and grenades. Residents of J&K point out
that the sight of a decapitated body or the thought of having to live
with an acid-scarred face or without ears or a nose for life
paralyses them with fear.

Several times over the past 15 years, Islamic militants have imposed
the burqa (an all-enveloping cloak that covers a woman from head to
toe) on women, threatening them with acid and paint if they dared to
defy the diktat (order). Women admit that they succumbed to the
terror only because of the extreme brutality and gruesomeness of the
punishment. In 2000, 16-year-old Mewaiz was shot through the knees
for wearing trousers and leaving her head uncovered. There have been
several instances of girls becoming targets of acid attacks by
militants simply because they had left their heads uncovered or were
going to school.

The districts of Rajouri and Poonch witnessed a sharp surge in
particularly gruesome attacks in the months of November-December
2002. A jihadi outfit had imposed the wearing of the burqa in Rajouri
a few weeks earlier. They slit the throats of girls who defied the
diktat.

Both Hindus and Muslims have been beheaded by the jihadis over the
past 15 years. In 2001, the beheading of two Hindu priests in Poonch
triggered immense rage in the district, prompting the security forces
to impose a curfew in the area. More Muslims have, however, been
beheaded or subjected to gory forms of torture and killing. Muslims
suspected of being informers are seen as the worst "traitors" of the
jihadi cause.

There have been cases of children being beheaded on the suspicion
that their fathers were informers and of women being injected with
poison as punishment for their fathers, brothers and husbands working
with the local police. In 2002, three teenage girls were killed in
Hasiyot in Rajouri district. Two of them were beheaded, the third
shot dead. Militants accused them of being informers but the girls'
families believe that the girls were killed because they were going
to school. In March this year, five-year-old Zahida and her four-year-
old brother were executed by the Lashkar-e-Toiba in Jammu's Doda
district because her parents refused to provide sanctuary to
militants.

Meanwhile, several cases of beheading came to light in the run-up to
the recent general elections. The Hindustan Times reported an
incident where militants chopped off the ears of two village elders
they had abducted in Jammu's Udhampur district. The victims had been
severely beaten before their ears were chopped off. The militants
then took the two victims back to the village and showed the chopped
ears to the terrified villagers. This was followed by a warning to
the villagers not to vote in the general election.

The cases of beheading and chopping off of noses and ears are far too
numerous and horrific to be recounted here. Suffice to say, the cases
that appear in the Indian media are but the tip of the iceberg.

What sets apart the beheadings in Kashmir from the recent ones in
Iraq and Saudi Arabia is that militants here have not used the
Internet or videos to draw international attention to themselves.
Their aims are local. They want to intimidate and terrorize local
people into obeying their orders and falling in line with their
thinking. And they are succeeding.

The beheading phenomena
Asia Times Online - The best news coverage from South Asia

hitesh

24-yr-old sepoy was beheaded in 2000 LoC raid(OLD NEWS)

Nine years after a young Indian soldier on duty at the Line of Control was beheaded and seven of his colleagues killed in a cross-border raid, the Pakistani militant who owned up for the act was reported killed in a US drone strike in North Waziristan last week.

Indian Army records show that the man who was beheaded in 2000 was Sepoy Bhausaheb Maruti Talekar of the 17 Maratha Light Infantry (MLI).

Ilyas Kashmiri, according to a report in the Pakistani daily The News, was behind the guerilla attack on an Indian Army post in Nowshera sector in February 2000.

Kashmiri, a Harkat-ul-Jehad al-Islami (HuJI) commander, was said to have been felicitated by then Army chief General Pervez Musharraf and rewarded with Rs 1 lakh for bringing back "the head of an Indian officer".

According to records here, Talekar, the 24-year-old soldier from Maharashtra, was posted at a border listening post — the 24-yr-old sepoy was beheaded in 2000 LoC raid

@ Kunal,

Who are the Tangos ? I only know about Pak's Special services Group (SSG). By the way, don't we have members of elite forces like the Paras anywhere near the border ? I don't want exact specifics, but aren't they in a position to reach border sites at a short notice..

RIP to the dead. These losers keep proving themselves to be barbarians.

2g Scam: the moment CAG was on it, TN was on it.

Radia Tapes: Median unity, you dont scratch my back, i wont scratch your back.
the corporate houses started taking out their ads and threatened the same on people covering them.

there is no reason what so ever for the sensationalist ToI/TN not to cover this news which will increase their TRPs big time and will help them churn money, give me one reason and please no CT. you seriously think arnab goswami will sit on this?
Yes, even Arnab can sit on the news without caring for TRPs. Arnab sat on 2G too, CAG or no CAG, news was out in Pioneer then taken Back, only when Open Magazine published the news with leaked transcripts and Big bill boards started propping up in elite areas on Delhi with pics of Burkha Dutt that everything became open!

Times now does not work in isolation. Times group are known to have their loyalties with different groups! Idon't know how much you understand our media houses, but it's easy to kill the news if their is no master to take the news forward!

There are many incidents which do not get published or are sold out to the concerned party. Nothing new it's a common practice in India. This beheading news will definitely appear in some PA Gen. bestseller, we just need to wait.

Yes, even Arnab can sit on the news without caring for TRPs. Arnab sat on 2G too, CAG or no CAG, news was out in Pioneer then taken Back, only when Open Magazine published the news with leaked transcripts and Big bill boards started propping up in elite areas on Delhi with pics of Burkha Dutt that everything became open!

Times now does not work in isolation. Times group are known to have their loyalties with different groups! Idon't know how much you understand our media houses, but it's easy to kill the news if their is no master to take the news forward!

There are many incidents which do not get published or are sold out to the concerned party. Nothing new it's a common practice in India. This beheading news will definitely appear in some PA Gen. bestseller, we just need to wait.
you are still to give a reason why TN would sit on this news, not some theory, can we have it?

there is no corporate interest because of which TN needs to worry about their revenues here.

this is not about other media houses as well.

the only thing for TN here is to churn money and nothing else. do you understand if this news was to be in the 9'O clock slot what TRP it would get.

Au contraire

Soon After Indo-Pak Talks, Pakistan's Border Area Team (BAT) Behead Indian Soldiers In Kupwara's 28 Div !!

3 Soldiers killed in Kupwara

From the Puki newspaper Dawn- "Last week, infiltrating militants shot dead four Indian soldiers in the same district of Kupwara."

There seems to be an element of truth to it. The numbers and the dates are too closely aligned for coincidence

One source is a blog and the rest two are biased. So cant take this seriously, nothing from the IA or main stream news media.

It is possible that Indian soldiers were ambushed while on patrol or they were attacked while asleep

But to say that while a normal switchover of battalions was going on , then no soldier was alert and 3 or 4 soldiers can be beheaded and their heads can be carried away to POK is ABSURD

The switchover of such units can not be such big and elaborate official functions that every one is "clapping " AND nobody is watching

This report is an insult to the Army