Indian Dreams and the Reverse Brain Drain

Singh

Phat Cat
Super Mod
Country flag
The following pictorial article highlights, how many non-resident Indians and foreigners are coming to India to participate in the Indian dream.

==

Decades ago, millions of Indians left their country in search of better opportunities in the West. But there has been a reversal in recent years, with thousands of people now moving to India.

Ashifa, 31, USA. "I came to work in development and stayed because there were such great opportunities for further work. I am also a ballet teacher. I met my husband here and we are expecting our first baby."

For most people, the "Indian dream" is about economic opportunity. India, unlike many Western nations, is showing significant growth (albeit at a slower pace now than at the start of the decade). Large expat communities now exist in every major city.

There are also many who already have attachments to India, for whom the transition and culture shock from New York or London or Sydney is, in theory, much easier. Indians who have successfully studied and worked abroad are returning home, and the large diaspora of people of Indian origin is also exploring the possibilities on offer.

But it is sometimes far from a dream. India can provide a challenging environment, and for some, the realities of life bear little resemblance to their original expectations.

What does 'the Indian dream' mean for you?

BBC News - In pictures: Indian dream

Emily, 35, Australia. "When I came to Mumbai, I didn't feel a culture shock. I have built a thriving business. Life in India can be unforgiving, but you can find peace among chaos and method in the madness!"

Marco, 25, from Italy. "There is very little globally-focused work in Italy. The economy isn't doing well. Mumbai was very tough to start with but I've acclimatised and I now love it."