High Speed Railway Corridor

Should Indian Railways leapfrog HSR?
The Chinese HSR (High Speed Rail) network is the largest in the world (20,000 km) and is slated to reach 38,000 km track length by 2025. By comparison, Indian Railways has an electrified track length of 30,000 km. The Chinese started constructing HSR in the early 2000s (planning began in 1995). They made a massive investment in railways, much like the one the Indian government is planning today. Economically, we are 15 years behind China. So we are at the same crossroads China was when it took the HSR route in 2000. Even by conservative estimates, we will be a $7 trillion economy by 2030. So, we are going down the route China took, and we will reach a similar, albeit a little smaller, HSR network in 2030.

But today, India has an option that China did not have. Hyperloop. If we go down this route, in 2030, China might have a HSR (350 km/h) network of 42,000km; but we will have 20,000km network of hyperloops running at 5 times the speed of Chinese bullet trains(1200km/h), at half of the ticket cost.

So where is the catch? The hyperloop is a high-risk-high-reward technology. If it works, it could work wonders. If it does not, we will only ever travel at 180km/h in Talgo coaches.
But if this leapfrog is successful, we could have the world's largest and fastest railway network to boast of. Leapfrogging middle technologies has worked for India in the past and has saved us a lot of money. If the lessons from the past are any indication, it should be evident what route we need to take.
-Adioz
For the past two weeks, Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari has had a piece of paper on his desk, waiting for a signature that could lead to people being able to travel from Chennai to Bengaluru in 30 minutes — for a fraction of the cost of an airplane ticket.
India in Talks to build Hyperloop; Two Indian companies involved in the project

`Hyperloop is looking at a Mumbai-Pune project'

We don't want government money. We only need the land and approvals. We will get private investors to build the system. Several Indian investors have already expressed interest.
It takes 6-8 months to do the feasibility study, and 38 months to set it up, from the date we get all approvals.
It will cost around $40 million per kilometre.
The capital cost would be half or even one fourth of bullet trains. The operational cost will be a tenth, because this system does not have any mechanical parts, no friction. It is based on vacuum pumps and the pressure required is minimal, so the energy cost isn't huge either.

India22

First we need to develop our tracks and rolling stock. Instead of selectively developing Bullet Train for specific Rout, railway should be modernized all over country.

Bullet Train Project Moves Ahead. Pact Signed With Japanese Funding Agency For Rs 1 Lakh Crore Project
Swarajya Staff - 22 Dec, 2016, 10:16 am

Narendra Modi and Shinzo Abe shake hands in front of a shinkansen train. (JIJI PRESS/AFP/Getty Images)
Railway Ministry and National High-Speed Rail Corporation (HNSRC) have signed a tripartite pact with Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) for the development of Mumbai-Ahmedabad high-speed rail corridor. The pact is significant because it marks the finalisation of the methodology of project work. This, in turn, will boost actual project implementation.
JICA said in a statement that the agency has signed a Memorandum for General Consultancy (GC) to “provide design and bidding assistance for the public works and systems required for the construction of a high-speed railway linking two cities Mumbai and Ahmedabad in India”.
While JICA will bear the cost of GC up to 2020 and will contribute to the smooth implementation of the project, NHSRC will be in charge of the implementation of the project.
The project will be completed at a cost of approximately Rs 1 lakh crore. Japan has agreed to fund 80 per cent of the project through a soft loan of Rs 79,000 crore at an interest rate of 0.1 per cent, with a tenure stretching over 50 years and a moratorium period of 15 years.

Cutting Edge

Indian Railways to bring Maglev train in three years

印度铁路将在3年内引进磁悬浮列车

Floating trains are here
Dec 01, 2016, 12.12 PM IST

Gone are the days of long and tiring train journeys for Indians. The railway ministry has already taken the first steps to implement state-of-the-art Maglev (magnetic levitation) trains within three years.

浮动的列车

漫长又令人疲倦的火车旅行将成为印度人的过去

印度铁道部已经有所行动,力争3年内引进磁悬浮列车

First steps
1 Dec, 2016

Indian Railways have floated an ‘Expression of Interest’ EOI for designing, building, commissioning, operation, running and maintenance of levitation based train system on public private partnership (PPP) basis, Minister of State for Railways Rajen Gohain said.

Indian Railways has already asked Rail India Technical and Economic Service (RITES) to prepare a detailed project report within the next six months.

据悉,印度铁路已经对引进磁浮列车表现出了兴趣,考虑采取的合作方式是PPP(公私合作伙伴关系模式)

印度铁路已经要求技术经济服务部门在未来6个月内准备详细的项目报告

How the train works
1 Dec, 2016

Maglev trains are run on special tracks called guideways. The sidewalls of these tracks have magnetic coils and they repel with heavy magnets placed under the train making the coaches levitate 1 – 6 inches above the tracks. The track magnets, controlled by computers keep pushing the magnetic force forward so that the Maglev train is pulled ahead

磁浮列车是在特定轨道上跑的

车厢离铁轨有1-6英尺的距离

计算机控制的轨道磁铁,持续产生磁力,推动列车向前奔跑。

Faster than normal trains
1 Dec, 2016

The coaches of the Maglev train ride on a cushion of air due to the powerful and continous electromagnetic fields generated. The floatation eliminates friction and when coupled with the train’s aerodynamic designs it can achieve speeds up to 500 kmph.

比普通火车速度更快

磁浮列车的气动设计,使得其能达到500公里的时速

The cost
1 Dec, 2016

According to a rough estimate made on August this year, the project will cost about Rs 150 crore for constructing one km of elevated high speed track for Maglev train. So far, three companies – two from US and one from Japan have so far shown interest.

据今年8月进行的粗略估计,修建一公里磁悬浮列车的轨道,成本大约是15亿卢比。

迄今为止,3家公司已经表现出了兴趣,其中2家来自美国,一家来自日本

http://www.santaihu.com/2016121304.html

Cutting Edge

Gurgaon could become first in country to get Caterpillar Train
C-Train, envisages a citywide network of lightweight, elevated train coaches running at about 100 kmph on a track supported by poles bent into arches.

Written by Avishek G Dastidar | New Delhi | Updated: December 27, 2016 12:46 pm

Artist’s impression of the Caterpillar Train

Haryana has taken the lead to set up a pilot corridor for the “Caterpillar Train”, a new concept for urban mass-transit solution designed by an Indian Railway officer which won a global award at the MIT in the United States earlier this year. Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar has instructed his office to coordinate with local authorities in Gurgaon and figure out a way forward, especially in terms of space, for the pilot corridor.

Ashwani Upadhyaya (43), the railway officer who co-invented the Caterpillar Train concept, along with Emil Jacob — both PhD scholars at MIT — met Khattar on December 8 in Delhi.

“The CM liked the idea. He instructed officers to take it forward, so local authorities have been informed. We are looking at a ‘Proof of Concept’ at this stage,” said Rakesh Gupta, additional private secretary to the CM.

Accordingly, Upadhyaya held meetings with Gurgaon deputy commissioner T L Satya Prakash and police commissioner Sandeep Khirwar to discuss a few possible areas for the corridor.

The busy area between HUDA City Centre and Sushant Lok is one of the areas they have zeroed in on, although he talked about an area near the Ambience Mall with Khattar.

“I have been asked to take help from the state’s GIS department to select a suitable corridor. Police were of the view that the corridor may be best suited for a stretch that has transport demand but does not have proper bus service yet. But they said we were free to decide a stretch of our choice after proper scouting,” said Upadhyaya.

Jacob also arrived in India to help scout for a place. The estimate is about $3 million for a “stripped down” pilot system and about $20 million for a full-fledged automated system, he said. The Caterpillar Train, or

C-Train, envisages a citywide network of lightweight, elevated train coaches running at about 100 kmph on a track supported by poles bent into arches.

http://indianexpress.com/article/in...me-first-in-country-to-get-caterpillar-train/

nimo_cn

India should go for Chinese HSR technology, doesn't cost much, but runs as fast as the Japanese train.

Butter Chicken

India should go for Chinese HSR technology, doesn't cost much, but runs as fast as the Japanese train.
Won't happen,relations between India and China are not the best for China to be provided such a huge strategic project.Moreover China will not provide a better financing and tech transfer deal than Japan

Krusty

Why? Just because it's cheaper? Given the Chinese geopolitical stunts and them shielding known terrorists who operate from Pakistan against India, do you think the opposition parties will allow to ink such a massive deal even IF Modi wanted? Japan has no such qualms with India and has been traditionally a friendly country. China should instead market to Pakistan which will be its willing customer. Oh wait, even if they could afford to maintain it, China has to pay them with loans first and then proceed to build it for them.

Besides, shinkansen has a spotless safety record while operating in extremely earthquake prone area. If you can afford something built by people who know what they are doing and building and operating them for as long as anyone, why buy something cheaper from newcomers? Maybe Pakistan or SL might be pressured into buying Chinese HSR, if they can (even) afford them but it's really not logical for India to ink such a deal with China.

And BTW Chinese and CCP might want to consider not saying what other people and countries 'should' do. It will be taken as seriously as a meme on the internet.

Akshay_Fenix

98,000 crore is the project cost out of which 80% will be provided by Japan at an interest rate of 0.1% with a 15 year time period.
If you can offer us an interest rate of 0.05%, we might think about it.

Krusty

98,000 crore is the project cost out of which 80% will be provided by Japan at an interest rate of 0.1% with a 15 year time period.
If you can offer us an interest rate of 0.05%, we might think about it.
Why? No strategic project of India should go to China. Doesn't matter what interest they offer.

square

Strategic Issues
what is the the effect of this high magnetic field on human health....

Krusty

what is the the effect of this high magnetic field on human health....
I am not sure of how this system affects humans but just so you know, we are exposed to magnetic fields Everyday. Any electric current produces a magnetic field. Which means everything from the wiring in your home to electric trains and high voltage power transmission lines generate magnetic fields of varying strengths. Which we interact with on a day to day basis. MRI machines produce magnetic fields anywhere between .5T to 3T and they are regularly used. I am curious about the strength of magnetic field produced by this train.

Krusty

Should Indian Railways leapfrog HSR?
The Chinese HSR (High Speed Rail) network is the largest in the world (20,000 km) and is slated to reach 38,000 km track length by 2025. By comparison, Indian Railways has an electrified track length of 30,000 km. The Chinese started constructing HSR in the early 2000s (planning began in 1995). They made a massive investment in railways, much like the one the Indian government is planning today. Economically, we are 15 years behind China. So we are at the same crossroads China was when it took the HSR route in 2000. Even by conservative estimates, we will be a $7 trillion economy by 2030. So, we are going down the route China took, and we will reach a similar, albeit a little smaller, HSR network in 2030.

But today, India has an option that China did not have. Hyperloop. If we go down this route, in 2030, China might have a HSR (350 km/h) network of 42,000km; but we will have 20,000km network of hyperloops running at 5 times the speed of Chinese bullet trains(1200km/h), at half of the ticket cost.

So where is the catch? The hyperloop is a high-risk-high-reward technology. If it works, it could work wonders. If it does not, we will only ever travel at 180km/h in Talgo coaches.
But if this leapfrog is successful, we could have the world's largest and fastest railway network to boast of. Leapfrogging middle technologies has worked for India in the past and has saved us a lot of money. If the lessons from the past are any indication, it should be evident what route we need to take.
-Adioz

India in Talks to build Hyperloop; Two Indian companies involved in the project
Hyper loop just won't work. Individual tech might be carried forward to other project down the line, but I don't think hyperloop as a concept will ever be put into production or replace the existing open rail system. Without even touching on th physiological points, none of the tech from hyperloop is proven. And the basic question remains, in case of a failure mid tunnel, how will the passengers get out? Remember this isn't like city MRT, the distances between the individual stops is huge. If the car/bogie stops in the middle, what happens? The tube itself is depressurised. Passengers won't be able to get out of the tube, and will start suffocating soon. These are very basic questions that tesla cannot answer and the solution to which require huge change in the design. lets see, time will tell if I'm right or not :)

square

Strategic Issues
I am not sure of how this system affects humans but just so you know, we are exposed to magnetic fields Everyday. Any electric current produces a magnetic field. Which means everything from the wiring in your home to electric trains and high voltage power transmission lines generate magnetic fields of varying strengths. Which we interact with on a day to day basis. MRI machines produce magnetic fields anywhere between .5T to 3T and they are regularly used. I am curious about the strength of magnetic field produced by this train.
there was a documentry i had seen which states that hyper tansion electric cables couses cancer in babies.......may be amaricans knows it better because they don't have a maglev train as yet nor has any future plan for it....

as for as india is concern , i always belive that we had a much advance knowleadge in past , and the kings used to were gold crowns as well as cover their upper body by gold ....and they has bed made up of gold...

see , gold is a diamagnetic material , properties of diamagnetic material states that if you put a diamagnetic material inside a magnetic field , the magnetic line of forces do not go pass though it but it takes a path outside it......so much coutions they used to take to protect themself from external magnetic fields...